See All Reviews
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 115 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by great tv show!...but don't like the packaging This is a very interesting show to watch. I'm watching the 5th season and still enjoying it. However, I had to give this a less than excellent review because of the packaging. The dvds are stored in pockets in two accordian style cardboard cases inside the outer box. The cases are very thick and awkward to handle and I'm always afraid I'm going to scratch the dvd when I'm trying to get it back into the pocket! I like the commemorative booklet and the outside box is very nice looking....but if I'd known how the dvds were packaged, I probably would have found a way to buy the seasons individually. (Then they would have fit inside my dvd cabinet too!) 09/04/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderfully Entertaining For those who truly love the Stargate series, this is a must have item. You can watch at your leisure and not miss a single episode!!! You can also skip around in the seasons and not worry about whether or not a particular episode will be re-run for you to see. My husband LOVES this gift!!!! 01/03/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great It is great to have this collection in one boxset. All other sites besides amazon, are selling this sg1 boxset for $250. plus. The only thing I would change is the way the DVDs are sitting in the boxset, to something more sturdy. 01/28/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great Price, Horrible Quality. To start the packaging is terrible. Most if not all of the 54 discs were damaged to some degree. Some were scratched, some appeared to have been scuffed up before shipping, while a few had what I can only guess was some sort of organic material stuck to them. Besides that the quality of the discs is horrible to begin with. Some play just fine, some discs won't even boot while others just stutter and lag. I didn't get to a completely non playable episode until season 5. Several of the discs are also misprinted. The quality of these discs make me wonder why Walmart would even sell them. If you are considering this set please don't. I made the mistake of buying it and now I get to return it. Just from my own experience and that there's 54 discs to go through, I doubt there's even a fully working set of these ever sold. This is such a great show, but avoid this set and just buy the individual seasons. 01/05/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Good Deal Terrible Manufacturing My Suggestion to anybody considering buying this product dont. When I purchased it over 8 discs were scratched beyond repair. i returned it the next day and did not order another one. Do not do what I did and overlook these reviews. it is on about 70 dollars more on walmart.com to buy the individual seasons. 02/29/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 Full Series Set So far, About half of the DVD's have scratches on the discs. They are installed in a cardboard box sets for all of the 54 discs, in 2 sets of the disc containers where the discs are scratched on the installation of the box. Most of them are running normal, but so far 1/5th of them have issues on the operations from a regular DVD player. 10/07/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by BAD PRODUCT I purchased this because it was cheaper than buying seperately. Some of the discs were scratched but they played ok. The ones that had not been scratched were not formated. I tried them in more than one player but they still would not play. I do not recommend them. 09/06/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by bad buy DVD's are all scratched because of the cardboard sleeves. I tried to make one of them work but I just scratched it more. Could not take it back. They may be badly copied too 11/23/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by STARGATE DISK HAVE A LOT OF RUB MARKS DO TO POOR PACKAGING 11/10/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor quality The show itself is really good, but the DVD set is pretty bad. Some of the discs came in bad shape and for the price, its unacceptable. I've read reviews of other people experiencing the same problem, so my case wasn't the only one. Some people mentioned its because the sleeves don't hold the discs securely and you have to be careful when handling it...but I was very careful when handling it, and the discs were still scratched. So I recommend the show, but not this DVD set. I ended up returning it...hopefully a good quality set will eventually be released. 05/03/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Discs are poor quality. The quality of the actual discs themselves seems low. They are not smooth on the edges and make a terrible noise when I put them in my iMac. They work fine in a regular DVD player, but in the slot-load drives on my iMac and MacBook they are very noisy and I worry about damage to the drive. 04/29/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by It was awful.First off when opened they all fell out.Then checking each cd,they all was damaged.I played a few just to see and each one stalled or was broken up pixels.I was very disappointed and returned the all set with no intention of getting another one. 10/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stargate SG1 Fan During my working years I missed a lot of the Stargate episodes. This product is great. I am able to see those episodes missed and to review those seen years ago. They are wonderful. Richard Dean Anderson is a favorite. I would recommend his MacGyver series also. Deana 02/29/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible packaging; awesome series You would think that after two years of complaints, that they would have fixed the packaging. They have not. Out of 54 discs, 36 were scuffed up. The box is beautiful, but I am going to have to return it, which breaks my heart, because I love this series. What got me even more was they lowered the price by about $60 more dollars a week after I ordered it! 07/09/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by We enjoyed viewing this series. We had difficulty with one disc, but it was viewable. This was the only disc that was visibly scratched. As previously stated by other reviewers, care is needed when removing and reinserting the disc in the cardboard sleeves. 04/29/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Buy 2, Return 1 These discs are so poorly made we are on our 3rd set. My husband and I love this series and were so happy to find it so inexpencive. The first set atleast 5 of the 50+ discs were unplayable. We hoped rather than believed that this was just a glitch. We returned, and bought a new one, this one also had discs that would not play. We almost would have have kept it but of course the worthless discs contained a good number of our favorite episodes, sooooo we returned that set too. We almost didn't buy a third one until my husband had a genious idea, buy 2, take the bad discs from one and replace them with good discs from the other and return the one with ALL of the bad discs in it. The downfall is that you need a bigger innitial investment, the upside is you get the entire series for a dirt cheep price. Aaaaannnnnddddd pray that both sets don't have the same defective discs (so far out of the four we have bought none of the bad discs have been repeated so your chances are good). Buy 2. Watch. Find the bad discs in set 1. Replace with good discs from set 2 Return set 2 (containing all the bad discs) Keep set 1 (containing only good dics) for your cheep and greedy self :) That's what we did! 11/14/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by lower resolution menu functions difficult. resolution lower than normal. layout of discs in box makes it impossible to find an episode or even a season without cursing. otherwise SG1 11/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stargate SG-1 I read all the reviews before purchasing this collection. I was aprehensive after reading about pooly packaged DVD's or scratced DVD's from falling out of accordian style cardboard sleves. I picked up my order at my local Walmart and... every DVD was in it's own slot and none were scratched or fell out as others mentioned. I did however, get plastic envelopes for each DVD to prevent scratching. After I watched a DVD I put it in the envelope but.... you have to fold the bottom corners to get DVD back in cardboard slot and it doesn't fit all the way down but... better than getting scratches on the DVD's. I was thinking of purchasing each Season separately after reading reviews but... decided to take a chance on complete set as all 10 Seasons would have been close to $300 if bought separately. So far, I'm half way through watching the 1st part of the set and haven't run into any problems. If you're careful removing a DVD, you shouldn't have a problem. If I had to order the 10 seasons all over again, I would still purchase the entire set. Also compared prices with Best Buy and Walmart is the best so far. 10/01/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Minor scratching A few of the disks had some minor scratching. Using the Skip Doctor disk repairer has fixed the problem in every case so far. The scratching is directly related to the method of packaging the disks in the box. Poor design on the part of MGM. The series itself is outstanding and an excellent value at less than $2 a disk. 08/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nerd Alert! So I can barely stand watching this show, but of course my husband loves it. I got this as a christmas present for him, so im hoping he likes it. I havent opened it yet but some of the reviews said the discs aren't packaged very well, so im just going to get some cd sleeves to store the discs in so they don't get scratched. The box does look pretty cool though 11/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional experience! Great value and received the next day! 02/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by fantstic buy!! I am thrilled to get this for a christmas present already! 11/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is an excellent series. I especially ejoyed Richard Dean andersons(Jack O'niel) Though he plays Dumb most of tyher time he's as smart as the rest. though he doesn't always understand. He knows how to lead and when to follow. For an ensable cast this is one of the best I've seen and whould recommend this. Produst to my friends 10/11/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by The DVD's don't have the play all episodes option on them like the original sets did, I wouldn't have purchased it if I knew this in advance. 01/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome!!! This product exceeded my expectations, and it is exactly what i wanted 09/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great price, very convenient. Sales associate helped immediately when product picked up. 08/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great price you can't beat walmart's prices and this collection of the whole series is no exception...we love you walmart! 07/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but 8 scratched disks I've watched the entire 1st season and there were a few "skips" on the playback. Not until Season 2 did the play back stop in places. When reviewing all the discs, about 8 were defective: scratches, rubs and just odd artifacts on the reading side. The package is going back for an exchange. Hope the replacement set is better. 03/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good for the most part! So far three disks don't work, still working on watching the rest to know how many I have to replace, but overall outstanding. 02/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vary Good Show 02/19/2012
1-30 of 95 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw477
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp