See All Reviews
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 179 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Gun Fire Safe For the Price Bought this yesterday on sale ($397). Only 300 lbs, not too hard to move around, took it home in my truck. Everything is as described (use the specs on the Stack-On site, not the Walmart site, as there seems to be some confusion in their specs--the actual size is about 20" wide x 20" deep). Several shelves and easy to configure. Sturdy and well made. Also packaged carefully to prevent damage to the keypad and corners of the unit. This same unit and similar ones sell for $700+ elsewhere. Includes "stand-off" barrel supports for rifles with scopes. Comes with two large bolts and anchors if you want to attach to a concrete floor. Can set codes up to 8 digits, and includes two keys in case you forget the code or have a problem with the electronic keypad. Bottom of unit is smooth so you can slide it on dense carpet, etc. A good value. If you're a big gun collector, this might not be large enough for you. But for most of us, with a couple of rifles, a shotgun, and a handguns, this is perfect! 09/17/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good value for the money I did my research pretty carefully before buying this safe by checking out all the major local hardware and sporting goods/hunting outlets in my area. I had a price range in mind and I knew I wanted somehting fire resistant with an electric lock (quick access) and heavy enough that it wouldnt be able to walk away easily. I picked up this safe off the floor at my local Wal-Mart and was very pleased with the weight (300lbs empty) and the sturdy feel and appearance of the safe. I like the adjustable shelves and the additional brackets included for scoped rifles. Lets be real, most people have scopes on their target and hunting rifles so they are very useful. As is true with any safe you buy the capacity is a bit stretched. The 14 gun capacity quickly dips as you add rifles with detatchable magazines and scopes. The only real thing that I didn't like was the quality of the carpeting on the shelves and floor of the safe. The carpet was loose on the floor and the shelves were not carpeted all the way around. If you sit on the floor or lean down you can see bare wood on the bottom of the shelves so I fixed these issues myself and didn't try calling anybody to complain. Keep in mind that none of my gripes even come close to a deal breaker. I think the price I paid for what I got was a very good deal and I would recommend this to anybody who is looking for a good, solid entry level safe for the avarage gun owner or collector with a modest rifle collection. 10/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great all around value for the price This safe is slightly bigger than my old safe and fits in the same area with little alteration. I encountered no negative issues with the order process. The delivery driver delivered the safe to my door with no problems. Installation went well and as expected. Electronic lock set up was a breeze. The safe exceeds my expectations on fit, form and function. 08/03/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by WalMart has the best price on this item. Mainly purchased for handgun storage. I have 5 long guns and 6 handgunds plus assortment of holsters, magazine holders and speed loaders. Wanted a fire resistant and more secure safe than current long gun cabinet and handgun cabinet. Plenty of room for my guns. There is room to add more homemade shelves to safe. I like the convenience of electronic lock, but also like the key backup. WalMart employees were very helpful in reviewing safe with me and loading into my vehicle. Weighing almost 300 pounds it took two people and hand dolly to get into my location. Drilled through bottom of safe to mount to floor with long bolts and nuts I provided. Lag screws provided with safe were too short to fully fasten through safe, carpet and floor. I could pull them out by rocking safe. Large bolts, washers and locking nuts provided secure mounting. Have researched and found WalMart best price. Would recommend safe as good low priced unit. 11/16/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Received the gun case and one of the plastic gun holders was cracked at the factory while over tightening the screws. Several pieces of materials used to manufacture the safe were lying about inside and fabric lining not fastened down inside. I didn't want the hassle of shipping it back so I repaired it myself. Quality control is lacking. The problems may have happened during shipment not sure. 04/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than expected When I ordered this item, it said expect delivery in about 2 weeks. Well I ordered this on a Sunday morning and had it in my house on Tuesday. Awesome! Solid construction. Heavy enough that nobody can just walk off with it. It comes with hardware to secure it to the floor. The safe has plenty of room inside for my purposes and I had it setup in a few minutes. Carpet lined inside. Four adjustable carpeted shelves to hold ammo and handguns and other items on one side and my shotguns on the other. Perfect for my purposes. 11/22/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do Not Order Online: WILL be damaged in shipping. This safe seemed like a good deal online, but I had to call the shipping company MULTIPLE times just to arrange the delivery, and then (just like all the other reviews have stated) it arrived damaged. I don't know what the shipping company does to these things, but the outer cardboard box it came in was pretty much destroyed. Upon initial inspection, the outside of the safe appeared fine, with the exception of paint scraped off of one of the corners. However, when I opened the safe, all of the shelves had been knocked down, and upon closer inspection, the actual ceramic/plaster fireproofing material had broken away from the ceiling and was falling down. I will spent the extra $$ and pick one up at my local gun shop. 10/11/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect gun safe for hubby After talking about getting a gun safe to store our guns, and mostly to store our ammunition that is stockpiling - awaiting the inevitable revolution that our country is apparently headed towards - I finally bought the old man this gun safe for his birthday. He loves it! For the guns that you don't have placed in various necessary locations around the house (what use is a hand gun against intruders if it is locked up?) - It is a perfect size if you have several but not too many guns, and there are several shelves that are adjustable. We have the long guns on one side and the shelves on the other side. It's heavy enough that no one is going to pick it up and walk away with it in the dead of night, but not so heavy you can't maneuver it into position or move it on a heavy-duty dolly. We rolled it into the basement through the garage on a heavy-duty dolly, no big problems. No scrapes or dents in ours, it arrived in perfect condition, well packaged, and it was quite easy to set the combo. And it has an emergency unlock key in case you have memory loss or you don't leave the combo in your will - future generations will be able to open it, provided you let someone know where the key is. A very good purchase for our $$. We are very pleased. 01/17/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by When I opened the door a piece of plastic fell off the top of the frame. It only needed to be glued back on, but, it's brand new. There also was a tear in the lining along the back wall. 03/11/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This seems to be a good safe for the money. I prefer the digital lock to the standard combination lock. It is much faster to open. The only drawback I have found so far is that the fireproofing material cracks when the bolts are tightened when bolting it to the floor. I have fixed this problem by making and installing steel plates on the floor of the safe. They could also have done a better job of installing the felt lining material. I had a can of spray adhesive handy so I fixed that too without too much trouble. 10/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great safe for the money! For your everyday collector with a few rifles, shotguns, handguns this FIRE SAFE can't be beat. You can configure it how you want, easy to set your code, easy to anchor to the floor. Really impressed that it was here in less than a week with 97 cent shipping, the guy even helped me get it in the house. I looked and looked for the best deal and this is it guys! Only bad so far is the made in China label on the back, wish it was the USA. I would have paid a little more for the USA. 09/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Convertible Safe if you only have a few guns I have been researching safes for a while. If you're a serious gun collector, step up to a Gardall or American Security (at easily 2-3x the price). This is an excellent value in a fire/security safe. I needed something that would hold valuables and keep guns safe from the "average" criminal. It was $100 off when I bought it with no tax and free shipping. For just under $400 you cannot beat this safe. It's well made and pretty heavy (nearly 300 lbs). I recommend borrowing/renting an appliance dolly to move this into place. 10/27/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good starter safe I got one of these as a Christmas present, but guess what...I filled it up! Money been tight, so instead of waiting to save up to get one huge safe, I got another on of these. The safe is a good beginner's safe if you only owned a few rifles with scope. Any more than that, you need to get something a lot larger. But at least this one is fire-rated for 30 minutes. I think the price point is on the high-side, but it's a good safe that you can keep inside your house instead of the garage. I want to be close to my "toys", and it fits very well in any walk-in closet. My local Walmart did a great job with the site-to-store delivery. They let me drive my truck to the back of the store, and loaded it into the bed of my truck-no sweat. Two guys and good working dolly, and you can put this safe anywhere in your house. Just remember, this isn't a Liberty Safe, you are getting what you pay for. This one fits my needs nicely...twice... 12/13/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by MOST BANG FOR THE BUCK Bought the stack-on fire resistant safe at Walmarts Black Friday sale. This is one time it wasn't too good to be true as they had to be giving them away to get folks into the store. It meets all of my security expectations and when lag bolted to the floor and screwed to two walls in a corner it isn't going anywhere. The locking bolts on and the steel plated door are certainly industrial strength. The sheetmetal walls could be thicker but as I've put the safe in a corner leaving only one exposed side, access is limited. I suppose the lock could be beefier but doesn't compromise security and is adequate for the job. I'm not a big gun collector but what I have is very expensive and irreplaceable so this safe is the perfect size for the space I'm putting it in and the number of fire arms and documents I want to protect. 11/24/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by DO NOT BUY Just brought this home and set it up... I noticed that, with the door closed and locked, there was some play in the handle. When you adjust the handle slightly and give a good tug on the door, it comes right open. This "safe" is not SAFE. 02/14/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 VERY NICE SAFE JUST RECEIVED MY SAFE WAS PACKAGED VERY WELL AND WAS IN GOOD CONDITION OPENED THE BOX SAFE LOOKS IN PERFECT SHAPE OPENED THE SAFE AND INSTALLED THE SHELVING THAT CAME WITH THE SAFE AND FOUND YOU CAN NOT INSTALL THEM LEVEL THEY TILT TO RIGHT OR TO LEFT BECAUSE THE BRACKETS ARE BOLTED IN AT DIFFERENT HEIGHTS SO NO MATTER HOW INSTALLED THEY ARE UNEVEN REPOSITION MY SELF AT ALL THE SAME HEIGHTS AND SHELVING ALL SITS LEVEL OTHERWISE I WOULD HAVE RATTED 5 STARS 11/14/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Res Safe FS-14-MB-E This safe shipped to my home free. Thought it was a great deal, until i opened the box to find it badly damaged from shipping. Then upon opening it discovered the poor manufacturing/assembly of the shelving and components of the interior! The shelves were only partially wrapped with the cloth/carpet, and the center divider was warped and out of place. HORRIBLE QUALITY!! 10/13/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 WILL NOT FIT MORE THAN 6 normal long guns I bought this safe to replace my 10 gun wooden gun cabinet. This safe is WAY too small to be usable. poorly designed. The divider in the midle makes using the side gun racks imposible, only the back six racks are usable. and without the divider you have NO shelves. and if you place a longer gun on any side you can NOT use any shelves as the mounting system will not alow for repositioning the shelves. This safe is nice quality for the money, BUT the steel is thin like TIN and easily dented and the paint scratches and chips easy. The interior mounting rails for the shelfs are right where the guns slide in and out of safe. Only problem with that is IT SCRATCHES YOUR GUN everytime you get it out and put it away. I wouldnt buy this even if it was only $300 I paid $347 and regret even bringing it into my home. I am returning it tomorrow. 12/24/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by keypad malfunctioned The electronic keypad malfunctioned after initial personal code programming. Initially the lock worked after programming. Then it was stuck on unlock position when I tried to lock the safe. I opened the back of the door and disconnected the wiring and reconnected it several times. Then all of a sudden the lock worked. It's been working so far. Next time I'm going to get a combination lock Heavy but I was able to slide it easily on the carpet Interior is average but better than expected The door has a little movement when pulling it while locked I might put some thermal strip to tighten it 11/02/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sigh I was very excited reading other reviews on this safe. The day before it arrived was like the night before Christmas. It was much smaller then I expected. Even with the scope stand offs, fitting 14 guns is a estranged pipe dream. Sadly the door of the safe is slightly off so u have to push hard on it every time you want to shut it. That's not that big of a deal since I don't need to open it all of the time, What is a big deal is the electronic lock dose not work. Stack-on is sending me a new circuit board, Fingers are crossed that it fixes the lock issue. In hind sight I should have bought the manual combination lock, and spent a few more dollars on a bigger safe. If the replacement board dose not fix the issue I will be returning the safe. I think stack-on needs more quality control and Walmart should ship their products better. My two cents for what it's worth. 03/15/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid Safe It's going to work perfectly for why I bought it. It's going to keep my child from accessing my guns, and it's going to stop would be thieves from stealing my guns. Hopefully I never have to test out the fire resistancy. The electronic lock works great so far and after opening and closing the safe a few time the handle operates smoothly. The safe is much heavier than I thought it was going to be for it's size. Be prepared for a serious workout if you plan on keeping it on a second floor. Filled with guns and ammo, even if it's not bolted to the floor or wall, would be feat of strength and will power. My only complaint is the carpet on the inside is a little rough. By that I mean uneven cuts, weird overlapping, and on the shelves missing carpet. None of these things hurt the function of the safe, it just looks bad. 02/21/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by I can't provide an accurate review because I would not accept the delivery. The safe I received had several major dents and a very deep 12 to 15 inch scratch. One of the dents on a top seam looked like it was hit with an eight pound sledge hammer. However, the Walmart customer service representative was very cooperative and helpful. She quickly refunded my purchase price. I have ordered a new safe and hope that this one is in much better condition. 09/19/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ovarall good safe I ordered this safe online for the sale price. Went to pick up at Walmart. When I got home and opened it up noticed dent on front right corner. that wasnt an issue for me until I opened it and saw the the center divider was torn off the top of the safe. It looks like during shipping it may have been damaged by the loose shelves in the safe. Called Wallmart.com they were eceptionaly helpful in trying to find me a replacement one. They were willing to get me a better model for the same price. I was able to find the excact same one at another store so I called the store and told them my problem. They were aslo willing to give me a better one if they did not have the exact same one for the same price. This is my first time dealing with Walmart on exchanges and it was a great experience. Thank you Walmart.com and Walmart Simi Valley. :) 12/12/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Satisfied Gun Safe was received with no visible outside damage but once the item was out of the box there was a scratch at the bottom and the shelving screw holes were stripped out for the center divider. As the item weighs 295 lbs returning it seems impossible at this point. 12/09/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Key pad worked when it decided to. A friend suggested a gun safe w/ the electronic key pad so you can get in it in a hurry if needed. Purchased this on for myself for Christmas. In Jan. I got it set up. Shortly after setting it up, the key pad stopped working. I replaced the cheap batteries that came with it & it started working. A couple of weeks later, it stopped working again. I tested the battery it was good, but I replaced it anyway and it still didn't work. I tried contacting Stack-On with no success. So after a couple of weeks having to access the safe with the key, I took it back to Wal-Mart. I would not recommend this safe to anyone. 04/06/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product for an acceptable price! This safe is perfect for storing a small gun collection and a few small to medium sized valuables. It is possible to store up to 14 rifles with this safe if you do not use any of the extra small shelving. If you do use the small shelving, it only holds 7 rifles. This is not clear from the item description. The carpet is good quality and the locking mechanism is great. I love the shelving option. You can use the shelves to store pistols, magazines, and ammo if you wanted. The safe fit perfect in the corner of my closet. It looks great and stores alot for its size. 11/30/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by It Works for Me I bought this safe to store 4 guns and to secure other valuables. It weighs 300#, so it can be moved, but it's not super easy to do so. When I unboxed it, it was dirty with some sort of white powder. I'm guessing that it's part of the safe's fire protection system. I cleaned the safe out, configured the shelves, and moved it to the basement. This safe is described as being a 14-gun safe. No way! I had a tough time getting my 4 guns in the one side. Guns with scopes or "tall" guns like an AR15 are tough to fit in. I got my 4 guns in and other valuables, but there's not much room left over. That's OK with me. If you are looking to store 14 guns, better get a bigger safe than this one. I was looking to store a few guns and valuables without spending big bucks, so this safe worked well for me. 11/23/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by shipping mis-handled I love the safe... for the price its fair but when I received my package the top corner of the safe was damaged obvious mishandle by the shipping company.. the paint had chipped off and a good size dent was present.. I feel for the price I paid I should have received a little better care of my package then what was given.. I am satisfied only because it took 2 weeks to get and I really needed it so other then that im not sure I can get any reconciliation on the matter 06/01/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by so so safe at a decent price You get what you pay for! I picked up this safe at my local Wal-Mart store for $397.00 (good price). The 2 young stock boys really worked to load this in my truck so I figured it was really heavy and it was probably the 300 lbs. as advertised but I unloaded it by my self very carefully and walked it in the house by my self. When I un-packaged it I was surprised it was not damaged and looked very nice . then I wiped off the dust and opened it up - it did as some other reviewers said smell but that is from the materials and glue on the inside not a problem . The fit and finish on the inside left a lot to be desired - there was a screw missing from the door panel -the material was wrinkled in several spots the shelves are to narrow and the carpet is not attached very well. Room on the inside is very limited , I chose guns on one side and storage on the other which unless all of your guns are made of one inch dowel rod you are not going to get 7 on one side and if you have scopes it is not possible even with the extended barrel rest they are definately not made for see through mounts. The electronic lock with key back up is a very nice feature and so far has worked flawlessly . Over all nice safe on the outside not so much on the inside. But again for the price it's fine. It stands true like many others have said when you want a safe and you pick one out look very closely inside and out in person if possible then go at least one size bigger. 08/31/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Immediately broke - check your back up key!!!!! The bypass key would not come out of the safe. I called Stack-On and was shocked to be told this is a common problem with their safes. They wanted to send me replacement parts so I could fix it myself. Stack-On actually asked me if I could first get a bolt cutter to cut the jammed key off. I couldn't believe that they were very used to the key getting stuck and expecting consumers to fix it. Not to mention that doing ANY modifications/repairs void the warranty. It (all 300 pounds) went back to Walmart. 01/30/2013
1-30 of 166 total reviews
2 3 4 5 6 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw173
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp