Similar items in stock

Space Solutions - Galvanized Steel 5-Shelf Unit

This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.
Customers also viewed these products

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

The Space Solutions Galvanized Steel 5-Shelf Unit is a sturdy shelf that can be used to store files, stationary, gardening tools and other utility household items. The rust-resistant shelving itself offers a lot of storage space, helping you organize things properly at home, in the workstation or in the basement. Each galvanized steel shelving unit has a strong body that allows even distribution of weight. It can hold up to 300 lbs, ensuring that you can store nearly any item on it while remaining stress-free about the unit breaking. It can also be used as a garage storage shelf to keep your spare parts and garage work tools separate from other items. This storage shelving unit is easy to assemble and comes with thorough instructions to guide you through the process step-by-step. Since it is lightweight, it can be shifted or transferred to any room easily by simply carrying it. This prevents the need to tear down the shelf when moving it from room to room.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

The Space Solutions Galvanized Steel 5-Shelf Unit is a sturdy shelf that can be used to store files, stationary, gardening tools and other utility household items. The rust-resistant shelving itself offers a lot of storage space, helping you organize things properly at home, in the workstation or in the basement. Each galvanized steel shelving unit has a strong body that allows even distribution of weight. It can hold up to 300 lbs, ensuring that you can store nearly any item on it while remaining stress-free about the unit breaking. It can also be used as a garage storage shelf to keep your spare parts and garage work tools separate from other items. This storage shelving unit is easy to assemble and comes with thorough instructions to guide you through the process step-by-step. Since it is lightweight, it can be shifted or transferred to any room easily by simply carrying it. This prevents the need to tear down the shelf when moving it from room to room.

Space Solution Galvanized Steel 5-Shelf Unit

  • Lightweight storage shelving unit
  • Will hold up to 300 lbs. of evenly distributed weight
  • Rust-resistant galvanized steel with bolt assembly
  • Measures: 30''W x 12''D x 59''H

Specifications

Condition: New
Brand: Space Solutions
Show

Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews | 261 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

261 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

261 reviews | 3 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
52
4 stars
61
3 stars
46
2 stars
29
1 stars
73
1-10 of 236 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Canning Shelves
2/13/2009

Customer review by MyOwnReview

5.0 stars 2/13/2009 by MyOwnReview
by MyOwnReview

I bought this unit to make canning shelves. I bought 3 sets of shelves and combined them to make one unit with 8 shelves and one with 7 at the height I need them for my canning supplies. I turned the shelves upside down so the jars would have a lip and not slide off the shelves. It works perfectly for the use I had in mind. Putting it together is a lot easier if there is a second person to help hold, but I did it myself.

Was this review helpful? (166) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MyOwnReview
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Unstable / Difficult Assembly
6/3/2010

Customer review by MoniqueRenee

1.0 stars 6/3/2010 by MoniqueRenee
by MoniqueRenee

This thing is so flimsy and ridiculous to put together. Honestly you need two people to do it because there is not support when you are trying to put the multiple shelves. When you are trying to put on the washers you must have little fingers to screw it in because the screw is under the side. It is seriously flimsy and looks like aluminum foil to me. if you touch it the right way it slants. I'm surprised it has some decent reviews. Honestly I'm gonna go back and buy the cheap plastic looking one. Though I'm wondering if we are gonna have to take this all apart! :( The only reason we got it is my husband wanted extra food storage space.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MoniqueRenee
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Suggestions to make shelf stronger
3/16/2009

Customer review by Rob4G

4.0 stars 3/16/2009 by Rob4G
by Rob4G

I read all of the reviews before I bought 4 of these. I found by leaving all of the bolts/nuts loose before placing them in their final position there were no problems in leveling the units. Then I secured then to the wall beams (with 1 1/2 screws & washers) and these baby's will now hold lots more than advertised and will never move (plus they are alot stronger!). I have all of my power tools, parts and lots of other items on these shelves and they work great for me. Like others have said, it takes awhile to assemble them but you're not spending $100 either. I will be buying maybe 4 more and will end up with the best organized garage on the block. I would definitely recommend these for their value and versatility. Not for those who can't stand assembling things but each one only took me 10 minutes with a cordless power screwdriver and pliers. You can't beat the price and I looked at $200 shelves that were not much better. Anyway, who is going to want to shelve 400 pounds? Get commercial units if that's what you want to do and spend 100's~~whatever~~

Was this review helpful? (202) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rob4G
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Serves the purpose for us!
7/14/2013

Customer review by JSandJW

4.0 stars 7/14/2013 by JSandJW
by JSandJW

When wire wall shelving collapsed in the storage room, I went on the search for free standing units. Although not quite as sturdy as I had hoped to find, the price was good and we ordered 5 units to help reorganize the storage room. Assembly was not all that difficult, but I found that a hex wrench or socket came in extra handy. Once in place, they seem sturdy enough but I will in no way, shape, form or fashion, "push" the advertised weight capacity! Keeping things with an even weight distribution will be the key to these shelves lasting a long time. I would have liked to pay a few dollars more to get an "X" brace for the back side and just a little thicker shelf material. The thin shelves did arrive with bends and damage but straightened out with a pair of pliers. Be cautious that you don't cut yourself on the shelves during assembly. All in in, we're happy with the purchase and received pretty much what we expected from the product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JSandJW
Brandon, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good!!!!!
6/30/2015

Customer review by lissis2008

5.0 stars 6/30/2015 by lissis2008
by lissis2008

I ordered 4 of these for the garage. I put them together by myself, yes it took me about an hour and a half for the first one and the rest about 45 minutes each, but i did this by myself so i had no one to help hold things, if two people team up, these can be put together in no time. Also i was so overwhelmed with all the pieces that i built the first one upside down which did not help me at all...:) All screws included and washer too, the washers are a bit small which makes it a bit harder to handle, but its no biggie. When i finished the first i thought; wow thats flimsy .... but as i started filling it up and distributing the weight on the shelfs, it became very sturdy, the garage looks great, and they are holding pretty good. Im very please with this product and the price was fantastic. I will order more in the near future to finish straightening up the garage. Also these are very light weight, so they can be picked up with one hand when empty.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lissis2008
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very-light. be very careful.
6/19/2010

Customer review by coconutstudio

3.0 stars 6/19/2010 by coconutstudio
by coconutstudio

Pro: It's affordable and cheap. Works great as a shelf. It is already full with about 100lbs of stuff from top to bottom. Very light so it is easy to carry and transport, even with one arm. Con: Takes forever to assemble, with all the nuts and bolts. Took me a good hour to finish. It is also noisy. Everytime you put something on the shelf, it makes creaky loud noise since it is bare (but very thin) metal. Be careful about putting something heavy in the middle of the shelf. I put something (about 20 lbs) in the middle of the shelf and now that shelf is bent and can't be repaired. I moved that shelf to the bottom so that it wouldn't be noticeable. I suggest you fill up the shelf evenly from left to right. Overall, it's a good deal given the price, and perfect for garage, although I have it in my room.

Was this review helpful? (45) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coconutstudio
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Light Duty Utility Shelving!
3/16/2014

Customer review by Renditions

4.0 stars 3/16/2014 by Renditions
by Renditions
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These shelves are perfectly sized for any medium to small closet, hallway or wall space where there is much needed organization. They aren't as heavy duty as I would have liked, but I was able to cheaply & easily reinforce them with 1/4 inch poly coated foam-core boards that were cut to fit each of the shelves. I love that there are FIVE adjustable shelves on each unit, as most of the available plastic shelf units I found had only four. Strong shelving that fits small spaces is expensive & hard to find, but these are going to work out really well. They took a little time to put together, but it was simple and only required my electric screw driver. All told, it was a good investment and really helped clean up & organize my space!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Renditions
Toledo, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/20/2011

Customer review by smittyWV

1.0 stars 11/20/2011 by smittyWV
by smittyWV

This is the cheepest, thinnest shelving unit I've ever seen. If I had seen an example of one at the store, I would NOT have bought it and wasted my time. It took over an hour to put it together. It is very thin material, like aluminum, and bends very easy. I got it in place and started putting pantry items on the shelves. Not even 5 minutes later, the sides BENT. The middle shelf bent in half. I started taking things off to prevent it from completely collapsing. I didn't even put that much weight on it. The next day, I went to another store and purchased a shelving unit that is MUCH sturdier, easier to put together (maybe a half hour, no tools required), and does exactly what I had hoped this product had done. If I could give this ZERO stars, I would.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smittyWV
Would recommend to a friend? No
well worth it!
3/1/2008

Customer review by naturescauldron

4.0 stars 3/1/2008 by naturescauldron
by naturescauldron

This seems flimsy, but it's ALOT sturdier than what it seems it would be. Holds alot of stuff and the more you put on it to weight it down, the sturdier it becomes. These units have been a true spacesaver for my organizing and storing. I have 5 of these and I'm planning on getting several more. Cheaply made, yes, but overall value? EXCELLENT!

Was this review helpful? (66) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
naturescauldron
Krotz Springs, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for light storage needs
4/24/2014

Customer review by southernhands

5.0 stars 4/24/2014 by southernhands
by southernhands
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had purchased 2 of these shelves about 3 years ago to use in my craft room. They worked so well I wanted more. However, at that time Walmart had stopped carrying them. I was thrilled when they returned. I ordered 3 more. They are advertised as standing shelves but because of their light weight they work great as hanging shelves. I use them for my fabric and other crafting items. I do not believe that they would work well with heavier tools or equipment because they are so light weight. They are perfect for laundry rooms, potting shed and crafting areas. They are light enough for one person to handle as far as assembling, hanging and/or moving. My husband assembled the first 2 shelving units and (being the typical man) did not look at the assembly directions. It took him about 2 hours per unit to assemble. I assemble the 3 recently purchased and, using the directions, had all three assembled in less than an hour. When I hung them on the wall I did turn them upside down so that I had a lip to keep things from rolling off of the shelf. Of the two that have been in use for more than 3 years, full of fabric, I have had no warping or bending on any of the shelves. I am completely satisfied with these shelves for my light weight storage needs.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
southernhands
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-10 of 236 total reviews See all
1-10 of 236 reviews

Customer Reviews | 261 reviews | 3 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Was this review helpful?
Was this review helpful?

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 24 questions
1-3 of 24 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

Back
by claudia 3/4/2013
11 answers
  • A. You can put in only 3 shelves but it might not be as sturdy. I placed the shelves at different heights to accommodate larger items on the bottom and small items near the top.
    by Madvito558/17/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes the two near the top or bottom . But I would put all the shelves in to help stabilizeit.
    by TimeHasCome6/6/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes.
    by Melonhead25/29/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. The shelves can be moved up and down and you can put as few as three in.
    by SomeGuyOnTheInternet5/25/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Well u have to screw the shelves to side rails and would have to take the screws out every time u wanted to lower or raise them up and u could just put three shelves if u wanted to but I can tell u I bought the same one and after awhile it weekend cause it is so thin and not made to hold anything really very heavy. What happenes is the legs end up buckling under pressure and then they bend and once they bend there is no fixing or straightening them out and like they started out to be. You would be better off to spend the money on a sturdier shelf unit instead of this cheap thing.
    by rhondag263/11/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. The center shelf is stationary but all the others can be moved around. I dont know if I would put just three. The shelves provide it with rigidity.
    by WalmartHeartHeart1/1/2014
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes you can use as per your requirement. But the frame is not sturdy enough. There are only 4 metal strips given to fix on the sides and the back. These strips add less stregth to the stand. So better user all the shelfs given to make the shelf bit stronger. I have used all the shelfs but still the stand winggles even at a gentle push.
    by TestMaster12/11/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes. The main thing is that you put the top and bottom shelves where indicated and then the middle shelf exactly in the middle where the two side pieces meet. That way you can place the support bracket on the back from center of middle shelf to sides as described in the instructions. The side support brackets can then be positioned halfway between that center shelf.
    by 122122de5/14/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Yes, the shelves can be moved up or down. I didn't take any of the shelves out because I needed them and it seems that it would help support the frame better. Play around with it to see how comfortable you are.
    by MarieMd25/1/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. I moved 2 shelves up to create a TV stand, just make sure you place screw/bolt in the circles not the squares.
    by MzTyie4/30/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
Back
by an anonymous customer 11/23/2010
11 answers
  • A. Yes, I will rust & the metal is fairly light gauge. You need plastic or resin for outdoor use.
    by onGSP35/6/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. The specifications state: •Rust-resistant galvanized steel with bolt assembly
    by MarieMd25/1/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Other reviewers I read stated that they think the unit will rust if exposed to weather so they coated with a rust resistant coating and painted with water resistant paint.
    by CritterK5/6/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. It would rust eventually. For you I would recommend plastic or have a shed.
    by twoxtreme5/6/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. definately rust over time
    by BFromElmonte5/6/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. They should be on covered area... you'll need to paint if if you want it to be exposed outside... c",)
    by fasm87i5/6/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Im not quite sure, but i wuold say it might.
    by ShoppingQQueen5/6/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (1)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. I would not use this outside. Not sure if galvanized steel rusts, you can look that up on google. BUT it is very unsturdy and right now I have it in my pantry and I don't trust it. It will definitely not hold up outsides without reinforcement.
    by MoniqueRenee5/6/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Being galvanized they shouldn't rust. But considering their quality, or the lack of, I wouldn't recommend it without painting them.
    by ColoradoHermit8/19/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. no, yes
    by vagrantsteve3/22/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
Back
by an anonymous customer 9/8/2010
11 answers
  • A. We distanced them ourselves, it's self assemble. Shelves go where you want them. Only exception may be if you want a shelf at the halfway point because you'll connect the top of the shelves with the bottom.
    by shortansweet9/29/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. You can arrange the distance as you like based on where you want to put the screws and bolts in.
    by brownmama9/11/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. you can make them whatever space inbetween u need. I'll stack bars of zest soap to give u idea...about ten bars of soap, u could stack between, however, you can place them where ever you like.
    by ShoppingQQueen1/29/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. evenly spaced about 14"
    by wilshel1/26/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. The distance is up to you. The corner posts are 58 inches high, and you can space the 5 shelves where you like.
    by Duplicate1/25/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. adjustable
    by An anonymous customer11/16/2010
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. You can set the space between the shelving to the height that you need.
    by Megatone101710/22/2010
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. It depends upon how the shelves are placed; there are many places on the support bars; simply choose a slot and use screws provided to space as you like. There are 5 shelves with many possibilities
    by thriftypricer10/11/2010
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. adjustable
    by kilaru1/8/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. it should say on the product specs how long and wide
    by MoniqueRenee9/23/2010
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
1-3 of 24 questions See all
1-3 of 24 questions
Customers also bought these products

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.