Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 264 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by South Shore Queen Platform Bed... WalMart site-to-store service is exceptional. Great value for price. Not bad to put together (best to have two people) . Because of the assembly, I am guessing it would be hard to move. I would buy this product again. 12/24/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by This bed looks great, I have a beach theme going and it works perfectly. It is the 2nd one of these I have purchased. Very sturdy, easy to put together. 07/19/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to put together I managed to put this bed together by myself in short order with no trouble, though I did find using a drill to make things alot easier. Good, but simple, bed frame. 07/02/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for college students This bed is a huge compliment to my room. It looks great, fits well, and gives ample room to walk around or place other furniture in the room. It doesn't "creek," squeek, or shift when I toss and turn at night. It took me a little while to build it, because I had to do it by myself. However, the instructions were fairly easy to understand. 08/24/2007
Rated 1 out of 5 by no instructions It's hard to rate this bed at this point but wanted everyone to be aware of a potential problem. We received this bed at what we considered a fair price. We also purchased and have put together the dresser and nightstand. Unfortunatly we could not assemble the bed as no instructions were enclosed. We tried calling the 800 # on the box but had to leave a message. 08/19/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by firm sleep Firm sleep. Heavy folks not a problem. I never want a box spring again! 12/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bed for the price Purchased this bed earlier this year for our guest room and absolutely love it. We also bought the matching 6 drawer dresser and night table to complete the look. Our guests all say it was very comfortable--no complaints. Assembling it you should definitely use your power drill. Overall it's a nice bed frame for your kids or guest room. 08/27/2007
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good quality for the price! The bed actually came ahead of the estimated ship time which was great. The box was VERY heavy and it took two adults to get it in the house. It was easy to unpack and was packed neatly and in easy order according to the assembly instructions. All of the pieces and parts were there and the holes lined up exactly when assembling. It was super easy to put together. It is very sturdy and does not move or make any noise at all. I am using with the 12 inch memory foam mattress and it is the perfect height. It gives great support to the mattress and much better than the box spring that it was originally on. The product is particle board with a paper layer over the top, which is what I expected for the price. If you are looking for a wonderful finished product then this probably isn't the type of thing you should purchase. If you are looking for good quality, solid construction and a utilitarian platform bed this is a great product. 09/20/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Almost worth it. I had low expectations given the price and other reviews. The bed arrived and I immediately set to assembling it myself - I am a 37 y.o. single-mom to a 4 year old. The assemble wasn't that bad. I've put together plenty of assemble-yourself furniture so following the instructions wasn't too bad. As other reviewers noted, the holes often did not line up. This was the worst when it came to attaching the platform sections to the frame. Nothing lined up well and I ended up driving screws in to the front and messing up the finish. It's not very visible so not a big deal but, still...my bed is essentially already ruined. The unfinished platform section is visible unless my comforter is resting over it. Overall it is a really cheap, not very attractive yet fairly functional piece of furniture. I cannot really recommend it unless you are looking for a completely disposable piece of furniture. 01/01/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by The large particle board section was damaged. Although the packaging was intact, the product was damaged upon opening the box. The large particle board section used to hold up the mattress was cracked, rendering the bed frame unusable because of structural integrity issues. I returned it. The frustrating part of this is that due to the weight of the box, each piece of the bed was carried upstairs separately and then carried back down again to return the damaged product to my no-so-local-to-me Walmart. I built my own DIY bed frame. Interestingly, I received another (non-Walmart product) the same week where a fork lift had pierced the box, creating entry and exit wounds. I must be an unlucky consumer or maybe the large stores who ship freight should review best practices of their shipping partners. I'm not a satisfied customer, and it may not be Walmart's fault. I've observed here and other instances that best shipping practices do not meet expectations (no damage). 11/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than expected, in all aspects... When researching this bed, I saw that a majority of reviews were positive, but was drawn to the negative ones, as one should be, what went wrong, what could have been done better, etc... I am happy to report, that everything I read was either uninformed or has been addressed by the vendor and Wal-Mart. The only part about the assembly I would like to have seen go easier was the molding as the holes are still not pre-drilled in the molding itself, and the screws are tough to get started. I found that because of the type of screw used, a few taps with a hammer to get them started was all it took. The packaging for the product has been improved so much since some of the older negative reviews as such, that everything arrived safe and sound with no issue. I found no issues with the holes lining up as had been reported by some, and the screws never 'stripped out' on me. That being said, I heeded the warning on the cover of the instructions that clearly states that you completely read and understand the instructions before beginning. I was able to complete the entire assembly in a little over an hour, and all I used was two different size phillips screwdrivers (one large head and one medium head, for the two types of screws used) and a hammer. It also appears the 'damaged in transport' stories have been addressed both my Wal-Mart using Fed-Ex to ship this, and the improvements made to the packaging. Once completely assembled this bed is sturdy, moves around the room easily, can be picked up without fear of it 'coming apart' as has been reported, and it has simplistically elegant styling. I went for the natural wood finish so the exposed pieces would be laminated, and I am very happy with that choice, it looks great. I think if one uses the right tools, reads all the directions first, takes their time, and waits to move the bed around until you have completed assembly, one should experience no issues with this bed, and be happy with the result. 01/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than expected After searching numerous stores for a platform bed, we came across this one on Wal-Mart's website. I am pleased to say, that this bed is fantastic. My husband put it together by himself without too much trouble. Other than needing to buy corner covers, this bed is definitely worth the purchase. 02/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Platform bed I would just like to say for the price its worth its value! I found it not to hard to put together but i would recommend that you use a power drill because your hands will get tired of the many screws you have to use. I am currently using a air mattress an for some odd reason it feels better that sleeping on the floor so i will write back when i put my mattress on it. 08/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bed for less! I am very pleased that I purchased this bed. I was afraid it may not be very sturdy, but it is & I got a great deal! My husband & I put it together without any trouble and I love it! This purchase was an A+ all around! 09/15/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what it looks like. Beware!! Recently bought this platform bed to go with a head board of similar finish but the actual product after assembly is quite different from what is shown. The box at the bottom (on top of which the platform sits) is actually very small then what is shown in the picture. So small that I fear the actual platform might get de-attached if I use edges of the bed more. Now the actual problem, this bed does not assemble at all. I mean the platform doesn't align with the base box. I tried every combination possible but I couldn't fit the platform on the box as described in the manual. It is simply not aligned together. Trust me, I am an engineer myself and know how things can be assembled and am pretty good with different views of an object (basics from Engineering Drawing subject). I think its a complete waste and I may have to buy another one because don't have enough patient to re-package such a heavy thing and send them back and also can't stay without a bed either. Look at the picture attached and see the various pieces of platform doesn't align in a straight line and hence not all screws are in place to join it with the box below. This is the best possible combination with the given pieces. 12/01/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Packaging was not the best. Product as arrived is defective. The screws etc were loose and perhaps damaged the product in transit. Not satistifed with the product. I would like to return and get a refund. The product cannot be put back together for shipping. Whats tha path forward Thanks Vaman 05/28/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great platform bedframe. I put this together BY MYSELF, so it doesn't technically require two people. Only thing I'd note to someone else is make note of -how many- and -where- the holes are, and use the pictures. I love how there's just enough room at the end to fit my shoes... Your FedEx driver may refuse to carry this to your door because it is so dang heavy, and claim you "moved." But oh well. I was able to load it into my car from the FedEx Office location and then carry it to my place piece by piece ... 06/22/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Being 7months pregnant, this bed was quite easy to put together at first. The instructions were clear, but could have been more clear and the labeling of each piece could have been more clear. After the base was put together. The "platform" part of the bed could have had a better set up to make sure that each side was even and not lopsided. The company included 2 pieces of wood to "measure" each side. Finally, the worst part of the 2.5hours of putting this together, was putting the "rails" onto the platform. The rails are to be screwed in from the bottom of the platform, which a very short screwdriver is needed, along with someone else applying pressure to the top of the platform in order to puncture the screwhole to attach the rails properly. Descent bed overall, will last for the few years that I had bought it for while moving back home. Just want others to be prepared on what you may be in for :) 05/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for the price Instructions were easy to follow. One problem I encountered was a board that wasn't predrilled. Fortunately I have the tools to drill holes, so that was overcome easily. However, without those tools it would've been much harder to assemble. 01/13/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not happy Came in with a crack on the platform. Super heavy. Had to find someone help me to move it up and down (3rd floor). Although returned it, wasted my time. Now I have to find another bed. 09/09/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great bed/Great price. This is a great looking and functional bed. You certainly can't beat the price. Since we only had a mattress and no box spring, it worked out perfectly. I would agree with one of the reviewers. Don't go picking this up from the store without any help. The box is very heavy. BTW, you will probably need to unpack it before bringing it into the house. It is just too bulky and too heavy to handle. 05/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Platform bed Great product, looks fine, however it is different than pictured, seems to hang over the base a little more than pictured and the front part of the bed extends to help support that overhang which is also not seen in the picture, no big deal though. Need some common sense when putting it together, the instructions are helpful- however the directions could be more detailed in areas, and a power drill on a low setting will help 115%. 05/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by south shore queen platform bed i already had maple pieces of bedroom furniture in my bedroom but my box spring wouldnt fit up the steps, soooo i purchased this bed online...LOVE IT!.. very easy to put together, and the holes lined up fine for me! it also matches perfectly wit my other bedroom pieces! 02/26/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Square This bed was a little difficult to put together because it could not be squared up with the blocks that were provided with the bed, if you put the block near the top of the bed it threw the whole thing off to where the holes for the screws wouldn't line up over the wood pieces that they were to be screwed into & vice versa, if you put the block near the bottom, it threw the top off. So we did our best to put it together so the platform boards were flush with the top end of the bed frame base and we didn't realize until we were attaching the trim pieces that some of the screws had gone threw the wood at the bottom of the bed and messed it up. Other than that, the bed does seem sturdy & nice looking, but they need to have better instructions with it & top, bottom, etc. to make it easier to put together. 10/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value Good value for the money. Not so hard to assemble. Get a power screwdriver. Wish the pieces were labeled better. Hard to tell what is top and bottom and caused assembly to take longer than it should have. Instructions are not good, but even a novice like me figured it out! Looks great! It recommends 2 people, but I put it together by myself. Not too bad. 10/04/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by You sleep on it... I put the bed together in about 1.5 - 2hrs by myself (with just a screwdriver). What took the longest was putting all the boards flat across where you rest on because the directions were wrong so I had to rescrew some things (it had you use a piece of wood it came with to measure, but it was WAY off using it). The middle of one of the sides is kinda loose since all you do is snap it in, so when we moved the bed, it popped off in that section. Also, the beveled edges seem kind of weak, so make sure not to stand on it. Overall, it looks nice. We got the matching headboard with this. There's no wobbles, or creaks, or noises when you move on it, so it seems stable. 09/30/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by The bed is not what it actually looks in the pics!!! hard to assemble.....and the peices did not fit well....overall not so good. 09/20/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Impossible to Assemble The bed is packaged in a long narrow box which made it easy to transport. All we had to do was lower the back seats in our hatchback, stand it on the narrow side, and slide it up in between the drive and passenger on the center console. However, assembling this bed was another story. It came in a bunch of long slabs of wood. The instructions weren't very clear, and even prohibit the use of a drill to put this together. We didn't even get that far. The plastic sleeves that you're supposed to turn the screw into were WAY too small for the screw itself. No matter how hard we tried we couldn't get one screw in. Either we received a defective unit or it's just a cheap piece of garbage. We ended up giving up after two hours and had to haul it all back to Walmart to return. 12/01/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor instructions Poor instructions for set-up. Quality not very good. 04/25/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not with the money The measurement of the part are completely off and the part are all mismatch. I found this very disappointing. 03/11/2014
1-30 of 226 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew200
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp