Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 186 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best buy for our needs When I went to get a blue ray player I didn't know much. I want to connect to the internet through my player and I wanted it to be an easy setup. I knew I wanted it to be wifi ready not internet ready. I did not want another adapter in the clutter. This machine does it. Within 10 minutes I was hooked up and was comfortable watching a Netflix video from the internet. Sound and picture are excellent. The remote is easy to use. The few extra dollars is worth it and it is an easy set up. Be sure to check the box for "INTERNET READY" and save yourself some hassle as well as you want an HDMI cable. Took me 2 trips to get it right! 08/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value Very nice blu ray. Easy set up and install with a HDMI cable. Netflix and Pandora were a snap to activate. Picture quality is great. Built in Wi Fi works very well. Buy it...you will love it! 06/10/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Blu-ray with lots of features Works well. Wireless network setup with no problem. Iphone remote app connected with no problem. Occasionally hangs and locks up and has to be power-cycled. Nice built in apps and easy to navigate menu. 07/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I really like this player. It was simple to set up and the remote is simple and easy to use. I love the extra apps as well. 08/05/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rich in capabilities for a disk player Has a web browser allowing you to input URLs using the clunky remote only (why not a USB keyboard/mouse I'll not figure out) Does not run "flash" mandatory websites like very many are. Still can't get DLNA to work with Media Player on a Vista machine (or any other machine) and all firewalls off, all ports opened, sharing enabled, etc. etc. No Blockbuster. Most internet apps as installed are monthly pay services. Pricey but highly functional and configurable. 10/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Blu-Ray Player with all the bells & whistles This product was better than advertised. The sales person rung it up, and the check out listed it at $199.00, which was definitely not what the website, nor the sales price tag stated on the shelf. The CSR had to call a CSM to overide the price differiantial, but that for the most part was the extent of the hassle with this product. Every thing else in regards to Sony was above and beyond expectations. I was really impressed. The setup was a snap. No issues. I connected it to My Samsung Plasma Screen. It synced right away. After doing that, it prompted me for a new update that was available. So while it updated I checked out another channel and watched the programming. After it was done I clicked back over and agreed to the update and that was it. The Wireless Network setup was a breeze also. I took literally seconds, not minutes to setup the security WPA2 and sync. The Blu-Ray Scan, then it synced, then it secured the password, 123. Done. For me that was the best part, it may sound meaningless, but it was a big thing for me. It automatically synced the on and off timer from my Samsung with the Blu-Ray. So when it shut off, so did the Blu-Ray. For me that's way cool. That's making life easier, the way technology is suppose to be. Thank's Sony, you have my vote on this one. It's a winner. 11/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sony BDP-S580 Blu-Ray I got this mainly for it's built-in WiFi. I had it on my network in less than 5 minutes without a whole lot of effort. So far it's worked without a hitch. Streaming movies and music is seamless. The only complaint is a minor one, and that's the internet browser. It's a little clunky. If you have an iPod, get the remote control app. The picture quality is outstanding. I have a Sony Bravia TV, but I imagine it will be the same with any HD TV. Regular DVD's show an improvement in picture quality compared to my DVD player. Overall I'm very pleased with the Sony BDP-S580. 11/27/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Value for price I replaced my Sony Blue R,ay To get 3D ability. Took less than 10 Minutes to set up and begin to view Blue Rays, and DVD.Picture on both is excelent 1080p. Sound thru my Sony SDH 850 also from Wal Mart blew me away. I read several reviews for this player and found only one to be a minnor issue. This being when loading you hear the disk rattle a few seconds but stops when movie starts. Connection to my wire less router was instant after typing in password. It notified me of a update and took less than 2 minutes. I keep a open mind on reviews as some can be the fault of the person and lack of knowledge on set up as well as problems with their router,and cable hook ups. I have this player,NetGear router and a Vizio 65' 3D theater HDTV,And A Sony 7.1 SDH 850 sound/video processor all hooked up thru HDMI 3D cable and works flawlessly.All came from Wal Mart friends and family say I have a in home movie theater that is better than going to theater. The price and value are of each is fantastic. The choise is yours. 11/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My husband loves it! Shopped around for a Blu_ray player for weeks and read all kinds of reviews. Finally decided on this one. Purchased it for $108 the weekend before Thanksgiving. I basically bought this because it had Pandora. Easy to setup. Apps are easy to activate. Wouldn't trade this player for any other player. 12/07/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by BLURAY 3D DID WHAT IT WAS SUPPOSE TO DO.THE ONLY COMPLAINT IS THAT THE PLAYER WOULD NOT LET PLAY IN 3D .I USE TV ITSELF TO CHANGE IT TO 3D .I HOPE I DO NOT HAVE TO DO THIS EVERY TIME I PLAY A3D MOVIE .THAT IS THE ONLY COMPLAINT RIGHT NOW. 10/03/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Be careful, do more online review before purchase. Not a happy camper. Bought this 3D Blue Ray to go with my 3D Projector. Turns out the only way to get this to connect (from sony rep) and work with 3D is through the HDMI port. I do not have an HDMI input on the projector. My projector finds the 3D Blue Ray and sets itself for the 3D signal, but the Sony Blue Ray player refuses to produce the 3D signal. I like the name brand, but I really wish I had waited for something more compatible with my projector. This is a great buy if your TV or Projector is a Sony with 3D HDMI input, but beware, because the sony rep only guaranteed this player to work woth other Sony 3D products. Nothing else. 10/03/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by not so good. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news. But this product does not meet its expectations. It runs very slow. Constantly crashes. It is slow to reset too. 02/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value Does everything I need at a great price. 02/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by good buy wonderful color good sound 02/17/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Does not work well online The reason I bought this was to watch online content on the TV. The way you enter a url is the same as texting on an old cell phone. no keyboard. it is extremly slow in responding like a very old computer. most of the web sites I tried to access wont display properly. Like abc.com. the blu-ray part works ok. its slow at first when you want to skip previews it takes time for it to read the info on the disk. Very Disappointed. 01/10/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by MUCH better than the Visio boat anchor it replaced I bought this to replace a Visio unit. One I got it set up, it works wonderfully, wish I had bought it first. The only problem I had was the directions are ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE!!! I did muddle my way through them, but it was so bad at one point I wanted to take it back for a refund. Please manufacturers, pay to have manuals written that can be understood! I love this product, it is easy to navigate, and unlike my old Visio, I don't have to waste time waiting for it to respond to inputs, and dealing with freezes and hang ups. 01/04/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by works good, easy to set up. Would like the manual was a little more user friendly. 12/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great player and value. It would be helpful if you could attach a keyboard to type in URLs and words when searching. For those of us who never read the manual, it is helpful, especially when learning the remote. 12/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product, Excellent Price! I purchased this last X-Mas for our family as we had not upgraded our dvd for a long time. Set up was easy to figure out, we love the quality and upgrade to Blue Ray but can still watch our old dvd's. Connecting to our broadband internet to have Pandora and stream Netflix, etc. is so great! It works wonderful, our whole family loves it. I will be getting another one for our downstairs family room also. 10/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works Well Has added web movies not available on other systems. Setup was fairly easy except you cannot access added content unless you register your purchase. I found this out by googling for info. Once registered I had no other problems. 08/24/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Wi-fy weak As above, it is poor and dose no connect 02/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by truonggia Fast shipping, Blu ray working perfect. 12/23/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by We purchased a sony blue ray player to use for viewing Netflix. It wouldn't work. We upgraded our internet for a faster connection - still wouldn't work. We then purchased a more expensive sonly blue ray player - it didn't work either. we returned them both and bought a samsung player (allready had one in the other room). Samsung works great and we have been using it ever since.... wish I could get that month of wasted time and energy caused by the Sony blue ray players..... I won't let that happen again. 12/27/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Doesn't perform as well as I would have liked We purchased this player to use primarily for Netflix streaming. It constantly stalls! We haven't had this problem with any other Netflix streaming device. It is extremely irritating! 12/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow Factor!!!! 10+ I bought 3 of these 3D-Blu Ray, Wifi, DVD players!!!! My kids love them, plus so does my wife!!! I bought all 3 at the same time, just for the WiFi so family can watch Nexflix. The price was so great that is why I got 3 of the players. Set-up was a breeze, very easy and instantly after registering the unit with Nexflix....BINGO! The family was watching the programs they wanted all in their own rooms!!! That left me to my FOOTBALL, without hearing a peep, yea!!!! Go buy one or order it Today! You will be glad you did!! 11/27/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is a good blu- ray player but... I was pleased with this product until I went into a Sam's club a few days after it shipped and found one just as good with all of the same options and a well known brand name for $50.00 less. 12/28/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by move on to another player.... ive had this for a little bit and i must say i wouldnt recommend getting this. the start up time is slowwwwww. then it always says its connecting and downloading info (really annoying). it also comes with a ton of annoying apps. apps i wish it wouldnt have come with. like ones for really cheaply made movies or one for movies that people did stupid voice overs on. i dont want those apps but they're their and theres a lot of them. in fact 2 apps (by the same company) DO NOT WORK! they always say they cant connect to their server. so theres 2 apps that are pointless and shouldnt even be on there, but they are and its annoying. you also can not download or choose apps. to connect to blu-ray live, you HAVE TO have a usb drive plugged into the back. this player does NOT have internal storage,so you will not be able to use the live portion of blu-rays unless u have a usb drive plugged in. its also loud when it reads the disc. again, annoying. sony must also love their psp menu design because this player has that EXACT same design. i dont like it at all, but if u do, then this is a plus. now for the few good things. once its on and its downloaded its info and finally loads the disc, it does work fine and like it should. as for workmanship, ive had no problems their. it connected to my network just fine and plays my movies just fine. I havent tried it with 3d yet though.... bottom line? move on. i only got this because the 3d playback, but ive found there are other 3d players now (to late for me, but not for u). 06/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Sony Blu Ray I have only recently received my blu ray player as a gift, so I have not had much occasion to use it. But the times that I have I can honestly say have been great. It has an excellent picture and I know it will work a lot better once I have it properly connected to my wireless router. I am not electronically adept, so when it comes to new devices like this it takes me a while to get it working, but Sony support ran me through it very easilty. I am a happy camper. 05/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by BDP-S580 most adaptive and compatible device of my home entertainment system. works perfectly with my WiFi system. very pleased with my purchase 05/15/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointment This player was purchased to access online films from Netflix but stops and will not finish a movie. I have a new router and a router enhancer. My screen displays 5 bars and 11.5 Mbps. i can view the movies perfectly on my laptop sitting next to my tv. I guess this is why this player is now unavailable. 03/27/2012
1-30 of 164 total reviews
2 3 4 5 6 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew366
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp