See All Reviews
Singer Fashion Mate 70-Stitch Sewing Machine 7256
Singer Fashion Mate 70-Stitch Sewing Machine 7256
$157.49
List Price: $259.99
You Save: $102.50 (39%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 55 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Singer Fashion Mate is great I had not sewn in a few years and was looking for a machine that had a lot of automatic features to just push and sew. This machine is all electronic and the stiches are already set to whatever you need them to be. The elctronic dial would be a bit confusing if your not good at using electronics, but it has pictures on the front, so it would still be easy for anyone to use right out of the box. It comes with a DVD if your unsure about the whole thing, so you can see how it all works. It is VERY quite and smooth next to ANY of the Brother machines that I have used and that was a plus too. It DOES have a somewhat dim LED light, so I would reccomend a clip on light for your sewing table. Other than that it is great ! I have done something on the machine everyday since I got it, and still have not done everything it can do. Just watch the DVD and you will be amazed at the features. 07/19/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what I expected At first I thought this was a really good machine. I tried out all of the different stitches and thought it was good, but I was sewing on cotton fabric. When I tried to sew on heavy material it wasn't so good. I was trying to sew on fleece and it just would not feed when I sewed over seams and darts it would not feed and the thread would loop up on the bottom. When I tried to do buttonholes it would not feed at all. I tried everything I knew to make it work but it was hopeless. I tried for several days to get it to work but never got it to work a buttonhole in the fleece. Finally I took it back to Wal*Marts and got my money back. I got a "Singer Confidence 7470" and it works like a dream. If you want to be able to sew on all fabric this is not the right machine. If you will only be sewing on light fabrics the "Fashion Mate" machine will be great. 11/13/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Value As an expierenced sewer I purchased this machine to get back into the groove of sewing after taking a break for a few years. Needing a durable, dependable, machine I chose the Singer based on the metal frame, price, and features. Overall it's a great machine, but does lack a light up display screen for stich selections and the light for sewing is not as bright as I'd hope for. I bought a brother machine but returned it because it was noisy, the stiches were uneven, and the thread kept jamming in the bobbin casing. The singer is ultra smooth and quiet and can sew while others are in the room. It comes with an instruction DVD with sewing tips from Martha Stewart and is helpful if you are starting out sewing for the first time. I love the helpful hints about threading and craft projects. I took this machine out of the box and was sewing within 10 minutes. The cool feature is the needle threader and all the stitches it comes with. I have used many other machines but this one so far has been reliable, dependable, and care free sewing. It's great for mending, crafts, alterations, quilting, and clothing construction. It's trendy looking machine to leave out for quick projects and I love the computerized features and is not complicated to use. Just push on the stich selection you want to use and your off. It's that easy. I look forward to many creative projects I have on my sewing list. Happy sewing! 05/07/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy with my Singer 7256 I hadn't sewn for a while. Had very old machine, and just purchased this Fashion Mate 7256 a few months ago. Very easy to use out of the box, great instructions for threading and bobbin insertion. Very quiet machine and no vibration when using. Love the fact that it winds the bobbins so greatly. Had trouble finding extra bobbins (uses the class 15J) but found them online at http://sewingmachinesplus.com at $4.99 per 10 pk. I'm thrilled so far with this machine. 09/30/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Would highly recommend I purchased this machine as a back-up to my Janome 10001. I wanted to be able to do straight sewing while I was doing embroidery. I was very surprised at how well it sewed. I don't expect to be doing heavy-duty sewing with it, so I don't know how it will handle. I did try out some of the decorative stitches and sewed over 4 thicknesses of fabric and it seemed to do just fine. My only complaint is the light. It really doesn't accomplish anything and I will be getting a desk lamp. 07/06/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 Love My Singer Fashion Mate Although in Automotive Upolstery for years and years, I had never sewed with a machine in my life. I bought this little Fashion Mate and watched the DVD instruction over and over, and it helped me determine what it was that I needed to get started with sewing. Finally, I set up the machine after admiring the unit from the distance, and started making an altar cloth for my coven. People were surprised at how well I was able to sew for a beginner. I love the electronic controls, and the easy thread and bobbin system. My only gripe is the fact you do not get a quilting table like you do with the brother machines- but I think Singer is much better than Brother on Customer Service. Once you become versed with threading and bobbin winding, the sky is the limit. The unit comes shipped with button feet, satin foot, brush and yes, plastic spool holders. Some do not like the plastic spool holders, but they are quite durable providing you do nnot plan on dropping the machine on the floor. Personally, providing you take care of this machine, it should provide years of good service. Singer has informed me that the only time they have had issues with repair is when people use other needles instead of the 2020 and 2045 SINGER NEEDLES and the singer 15j bobbins- you can buy these at JoAnne Crafts or on line. I had an opportunity to buy a Brother machine with much more features- but this is a Mercedes compared to Brother. Just make sure you pause when using the back ward stitch button- as people have complained. Remember, this is a computerized machine, and not a mechanical one. Always pause when using the backward stitch and you will have no issues. 03/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I learned to sew on a Singer and fall in love with it and won't sew on any thing else. My husband bought me a Singer when we had our first child and I sewed for us, made shirts, pants, skirts, and so forth. That sewing machine lasted 38 yrs. So I thought is was time for a new machine and found the Singer 7256 and like what it had to offered. I enjoy sewing on it. It is a pleasure. 12/22/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 Fashion Mate Feedback I have used it to make 5 sets of curtains so far, and I haven't had any problems with it. The only thing I don't like is the reverse button to secure your work. It doesn't work if you are in a decorative stitch, only the very first stitch. And its important to secure your work.... And you almost have to time it out to where you push in the button and the pedal at the same time or it freezes up. It's kind of weird. I am very dissapointed in the reverse button.... I have used thicker fabrics and very thin sheerlike fabrics. It did well with regular to thick, but I had to double up the sheer, and pull it real tight ir it would get stuck and loop up the thread on the underside. It's very easy to use and selecting stitches is pretty easy. Definatly a lot easier than my last machine. All except for that reverse button...... Another thing weird about it, is the thread lays on it's side, and not upright like most machines. And you have to put these little caps over it so it won't slip off. There are different sized caps, for different sized spools. And when you thread the bobbin, you put the spool upright on a separate stick. Very odd. And the sticks for the spool of thread are plastic. They use to be metal. I wasn't very happy with that. Thought it was a way to be cheap.... All in all, it gets the job done, and quickly. However, when you are in a decorative stitch, it is very slow.... some stitches you can hardly tell it's moving along.... 03/07/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Singer Pro Mate This machine does a beautiful stitch when you can get the bobbin loaded properly. I have swollen joints and this machine is awful to use unless you are a 20 yr old seamstress. 07/03/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor quality machine I have had this machine for 3 months now, and will be returning it for an exchange or refund. In fact this is the 2nd of this model machine I have had. The first one had to be returned almost immediately because I was having problems with the bobbin that couldn't be corrected. The 2nd machine has been hit or miss. It seems to be fine when I am sewing lightweight fabrics. But once I switch to medium or heavyweights, that's when the problem begins. The major problem is with the bobbin. It loops up pretty consistently when I am sewing the heavier fabrics, and according to the manual there is no way to adjust the bobbin tension as this was supposedly set at the factory. I run a sewing business from my home, and need a dependable machine to get the tasks done professionally. Sadly this machine is not it. I have sewn exclusively on Singer machines for 36 years now, and have never had the problems I have encountered with this machine. I just hope I can find another Singer model to exchange it for that can do the work I need to do. 02/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this machine! I had had a Singer about 50 years ago but needed to get at "updated" one so bought this one. It is so easy to use and easy to understand. Would definitley recommend this product. 02/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extremely easy to use Easy bobbin winding,easy threading of machine.Digital stitch selection very easy.Sound of machine working is super quiet. I sewed 8 layers of med.wt. fabric with no problem as well as 1 layer.This machine was able to auto adjust with no problem. The owner manuel very easy to read and clear pictoral instruction.I Love this machine and would highly reccommend it to anyone:o) 04/16/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by This was purchased as a gift for my daughter and she is thrilled with it. She says it is perfect. She has already made two little girl dresses with matching backpacks and has started a third. She is especially enthusiastic about the automatic needle threader. 09/12/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Singer has made a great machine. I am an advanced sewer and have owned a pfaff embroidery machine, which I did love. When it died, I looked for a machine with a few fancy stitches and a blanket stitch that was adjustable for machine applique. Of course, my husband checked Consumer reports while I checked out the machines being used at my quilt guild. Several of the ladies were using the 7256, they were please with the machine and Consumer reports had rated the machine as machine of the year!!! Been using my machine for about a month, finished quilt borders, quilt blocks, and been refashioning several outfits. Machine is working fantastic!!! Only one word of caution - watch your bobbins, mine was making the bobbins too loose, so I tightened the bobbin wind tension. Love the drop in bobbin with the see through case!!!! My machine wasn't available in the store, so ordered on line...delivery was faster than stated! Great machine, great service! 03/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a great value I learned to sew many years ago on my grandmother's singer. I was not the best but there was always a dealer who cold repair it. if it ever needed it. Once I got a real job I have purchased brother machines.Several sadly. And yes they have great features... but little or no warrenty. So it was off to a shop for $150 in work. Not worth it. Too much bother over a brother machine. When my last brother machine broke that was it. I had been looking at this model for months anyway. What I like about it over the brother is I can adjust the length and width of each stitch. So to me i can do satin stitches in any size. It is able to sew with a dual needle, great for pintucks. I also like the singer warrenty. It is easier to find shops willing to fix them. Besides... Appleteeni green design. My fav.. now my phone and laptop match too. 09/11/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great machine for new/seasoned I ordered this machine for my daughter. The added value was the DVD that came along with it to quickly get her started. Having never sewed, she made her daughter a sundress in 2 evenings. The threading, needle threading, bobbin winding, and changing to different stitch settings was so easy. She loves it; it was a perfect gift! I'm thinking about getting rid of my old one now. (smile) 04/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Choice! I Love It! It's quiet, smooth running, and easy to operate. The needle threader is a wonderful idea, a little trickey at first, but you soon get the hang of it. I never could get the tension right on my old machine. This one is awesome! 03/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great starter machine! My mother bought me this machine for my birthday. I'm a beginning sewer and I was able to take it out of the box, plug it in and immediatly sew! It was easy to use, easy to follow and runs very smoothly and quiet. I was very pleased with it! 09/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great sewing machine I am so happy with this purchase. I had bought a small Bernina Bernette machine recently and had problems with it after sewing for 30 minutes. I took it back where I bought it and got it fixed, and immediately sold it! This Singer machine was the answer and the one I should have bought to begin with! I had it up and sewing like crazy in just a few minutes and it sews perfectly. Haven't tried all the stitches yet, but what I have used are perfect and so easy! This is a great little machine for anyone, from beginner to advanced. It's a real value, and I couldn't be happier with it. I would definitely recommend it. 03/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by pleased Great machine... performs as advertised. Solid construction and easy to use. Very pleased with this machine. 11/16/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for the money This sewing machine has a lot of features. Easy to use the automatic settings and a very quite machine. I still have not yet figured out how to use the "automatic" needle threader. Great sewing machine for the money. 10/14/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recommended! This is a good sewing machine. So far all I've made on mine is purses and bags, and it does very well on multiple thicknesses of medium weight fabric. Threading the machine and the needle works like a charm IF you read the directions and give it a few tries until you learn its little quirks. I'm not crazy about the bobbin winding, which is kind of uneven, but even so I haven't had any problems sewing with them. The lamp is a little dimmer than I would like, but a work lamp placed close by solves that problem. Overall, this machine is good value for the money and will do most projects for you. 08/03/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall, a good machine for the price. I just wanted something that could do a nice straight stitch without dropping the thread coming from the bobbin, didn't need anything fancy, just reliable. Two quirks that are sort of annoying and take some getting used to: 1) The power and the foot-pedal/controller cords do not attach to the machine at the same place. The power cord fastens into the right-rear of the machine, and the pedal cord fits into a separate place in the right-front -- which means that the pedal cord is too short to wind down behind the sewing table and has to come down the front of the table, basically right in your lap. 2) The reverse-stitch button is very sensitive, and it's easy to reverse back farther than you wanted on the fabric. All in all, it's working well so far for simple straight-stitch sewing projects. 08/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing and easy I got this sewing machine because I have always loved to sew, the ones I was using were very difficult to keep working. So this is my first sewing machine, and it is awesome. I love it. 03/10/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lousy product Just got a refund from WalMart for this sewing machine. I'm a very experienced sewer and had sewn on it only about 10 hours when the thread take up lever quit working. This machine is a piece of junk. Do not waste your time or money on it. 02/23/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by No Guts - No Glory This machine is cheap but it has No Guts and so No Glory. When you use the backward button it does it when it feels like it and quits when it feels like it. I only bought it because my 34 year old Singer died in the middle of a project. Small town so this was the only option to buy within 50 miles. 01/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lots of bells and whistles...... Haven't bought a new machine in 25 years, and I'm pretty much happy with this one. Of course, you have to learn how to work it first and practice everything. Takes a while, but once you learn it the machine works great. Occasionally, the automatic buttonhole maker will skip a stitch or two, but it's not that noticeable. I was disappointed that the DVD that was supposed to come with the machine is the wrong one for this model. After I called Singer, they apologized and mailed me a new one (overnight) but unfortunately it's the same one I received with the machine. Go figure. And I also asked about the extension table that is optional, and no one seemed to know anything about it. They even told me it didn't come with one, although the manual said it did. Again, go figure. It's very quiet, the light appears to be a little dim for me, but I like the automatic needle threader. Again, it takes a while to master it. Threading the machine is simple, like older models. I like the dust cover that comes with it, even though it's really thin plastic. I plan on sewing a fabric cover in the future, using the plastic cover as a pattern. Overall, I like the machine. 07/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Product for the $$'s This is by far one of the best sewing machines that Singer has made. Very easy to learn to use, and the quality of the machine itself is fantastic. One of the best purchases that I have made on Walmart.com. 10/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Machine is AWESOME This machine is great! I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! I have only had 1 machine before this and it was also a singer but it got really old I had it for about 15 years with it finally gave up on me. This machine is so functionally thats whats so great about it. It has an attachment or button for almost anything. Imagine they even made an attachment to turn it into a serger! As soon as I got it I set it up and ran my first piece of cloth through it and it ran like "butter" lolz 03/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sews like a dream My last sewing machine had become a nightmare. The Fashion Mate 7256 is a dream to work with. Bobbins fill flawlessly, there's no bouncing around on the table, and seams are straight and true The number of stitches and ease of use is fantastic. I can't say enough about making buttonholes! Never easier...... Perfect every time.....6 to choose from. As usual, I found Walmart to have the best price around. You get a very nice machine for the price. 11/18/2010
1-30 of 48 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw226
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp