SentrySafe Model 1170 Fire-Safe Security File, Black

$39.84
$39.84
FREE shipping on orders $50 +
If your order totals $50 or more and you select Value shipping, this item and any other qualifying items ship for free!
Loading options...
Sold by Walmart.com

FREE shipping available

 on $50+ orders
 

Shipping

Type
Arrives
Cost
Value
Data unavailable
$4.97
Standard
Data unavailable
$6.97
Expedited
Data unavailable
$8.97
Rush
Data unavailable
$9.97

Pickup not available

 

Pickup

Want to pick up your package for free?
Walmart offers free pickup for most orders placed online - for many items as soon as today! Tell us where you are and we'll show you which Walmart stores and partner locations near you are available for package pickup.
  • UL classified for 1/2 hour at 1550 degrees F
  • Interior: 10-3/8"H x 12"W x 8-1/2"D
  • Gifting note: This item ships in the manufacturer's original packaging. If intended as a gift, the packaging may reveal the contents.

    Customers also considered

    About this item

    Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
    Keep important documents secure and easy to find in a SentrySafe Model 1170 Fire Safety Security File. It's ideal for tax returns, receipts, birth certificates, death certificates and other important paper documents. You can also use your SentrySafe file box to store important business papers, such as RFAs and stock certificates. This box gives you the convenience of paper documents along with the security of electronic storage. Each SentrySafe fire safe file box is UL classified to withstand temperatures of up to 1550 degrees F for up to 30 minutes. Survivacast insulation surrounds your contents in the file cabinet for fire-rated protection. The lid and body of this black fire safe file are designed to weld together in a fire. They form an airtight seal to protect the contents. The heavy SentrySafe Model 1170 Fire Safety Security File portable storage cabinet also includes a unique key lock, for added security.

    About this item

    Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

    Keep important documents secure and easy to find in a SentrySafe Model 1170 Fire Safety Security File. It's ideal for tax returns, receipts, birth certificates, death certificates and other important paper documents. You can also use your SentrySafe file box to store important business papers, such as RFAs and stock certificates. This box gives you the convenience of paper documents along with the security of electronic storage. Each SentrySafe fire safe file box is UL classified to withstand temperatures of up to 1550 degrees F for up to 30 minutes. Survivacast insulation surrounds your contents in the file cabinet for fire-rated protection. The lid and body of this black fire safe file are designed to weld together in a fire. They form an airtight seal to protect the contents. The heavy SentrySafe Model 1170 Fire Safety Security File portable storage cabinet also includes a unique key lock, for added security.

    With its .61 cu. ft. interior capacity, the file box can easily accommodate large file folders in both portrait and landscape configurations.
    SentrySafe Model 1170 Fire-Safe Security File:

    • This fireproof safe is UL classified for 1/2 hour at 1550 degrees F
    • SentrySafe file features key lock for privacy
    • Black fire safe file box securely holds hanging file folders
    • Capacity: 0.61 cu. ft./1058 cu. in.
    • Exterior Dimensions: 13 9/16"H x 15 1/4"W x 12 1/8"D
    • Black fire-safe file box interior dimensions: 10 3/8"H x 12"W x 8 1/2"D

    Specifications

    Condition: New
    Manufacturer Part Number: 1170BL
    Brand: Sentry
    Assembled Product Weight: 30.90 Pounds
    Show
    Show

    Customer Reviews

    Customer Reviews | 200 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    200 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    200 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

    91%
    Would recommend to a friend
    5 stars
    129
    4 stars
    43
    3 stars
    12
    2 stars
    7
    1 stars
    9
    1-10 of 170 total reviews
    91%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    Good brand but one was defective
    2/12/2016

    Customer review by kesa76

    3.0 stars 2/12/2016 by kesa76
    by kesa76
    Top 250 contributor

    I bought 3 of these fire safes, one to keep sentimental personal belongings in such as autographed items, pictures, jewelry, and a few items from loved ones who have passed. I think maybe one was just a defective unit because when this arrived, it looks to have cracks in the bottom inside. None of my other safes are like this. I have purchased a total of 3 of these for my daughters and myself so overall I would recommend this safe. It's just this one I have a problem with. I will return it and get a replacement. For the most part, the other safes like this one that I purchased are made well and seal well and are very secure. You cannot pull the key out until it is locked. It is big enough to hold the hanging folders neatly and is deep enough to hold several items. I do recommend this safe but just make sure you check it over for any defects. No company is perfect and there is bound to be a few defective units to slip through quality control.

    Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    kesa76
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Top 250 contributor
    1/1/2013

    Customer review by DPRSafe

    3.0 stars 1/1/2013 by DPRSafe
    by DPRSafe
    Verified purchaser
    Verified purchaser
    Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

    I have owed a similar safe box for many years also made by Sentry. This model appeared to be sturdy and of high quality but the trouble began Christmas day. Apparently, we misplaced the keys while opening the present. (They where found the next day across the room). Sentry's web-site lets you order new keys for $15 but it was my opinion, the safe never had any keys in it. I wrote that to the company and they were kind enough to respond the next day and promised to send me a new set of keys for free. Which they did. In the mean time, having found the original keys, we were unpleasantly surprised to find the keys did not work in the lock. For some reason, they would only insert about a third of the way and yet they still turned the locking mechanism. I returned the safe to Walmart the next day. I have since ordered and new safe model H2300 and received it yesterday . Although it is not the same size as the original, we are VERY happy with it. 5 stars for the new one.

    Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    DPRSafe
    Southlake, Tx
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:55 - 64
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    Verified purchaser
    Verified purchaser
    Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
    Does the job well.
    5/7/2012

    Customer review by Karich

    5.0 stars 5/7/2012 by Karich
    by Karich

    I have several of these Fire-Safe files. They are great and they work. I'm sorry to say that I had the oppertunity to find out and they did exactly what it says. The lid sealed shut and it melted, and I mean melted. We put it in a vise and used a grinding wheel to cut off the bottom of it. All papers and disks inside were perfect.

    Was this review helpful? (174) (5)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Karich
    Age:55 - 64
    Gender:Female
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Usage:Every day
    Excellent Value
    4/19/2016

    Customer review by Ricosfo

    5.0 stars 4/19/2016 by Ricosfo
    by Ricosfo

    Half the price and more than other sources compared to Walmart.....saw it for a s high as $115.00 !

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Ricosfo
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Very pleased with this purchase
    2/2/2016

    Customer review by JennJenn68

    5.0 stars 2/2/2016 by JennJenn68
    by JennJenn68

    I have had the product a few weeks, and am very pleased with my purchase. The size for the price cant be matched. Holds my papers perfectly with room left for hard drives & family treasures. Hope I never get to test out the fire/waterproof feature.

    Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    JennJenn68
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Bargain security
    4/12/2016

    Customer review by Linie

    5.0 stars 4/12/2016 by Linie
    by Linie

    This brand is recommended, price was great, size is perfect for documents.

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Linie
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Sentry 1170 Fire Chest "safe"
    3/4/2010

    Customer review by cloudcroft

    4.0 stars 3/4/2010 by cloudcroft
    by cloudcroft

    I have found these simple Sentry Fire Chests "safes" to be nice solutions if you have a non-fire-rated safe/RSC but want to add at least SOME fire-protection to its contents: You get one (or more) of these Sentry Fire Chests, put any papers/vauables into it/them, then put it/them inside your steel safe/RSC. These are not REAL "safes" of course, but take it to mean they are "safe" (for 30 minutes MAYBE) from fire, certainly NOT from theft as they can easily be pried open or carried off. But put into a non-fire-rated safe/RSC (which is bolted down to the floor/wall) they become more useful. This particular Sentry (model 1170) Fire Chest fits almost perfectly in my Cobalt S852C B-rated (but NOT also F-rated) steel safe. I have had some other models of Sentry Fire Chests (assorted sizes) for years, and put them in two other safes/RSCs I have (both fire-rated and non-fire-rated). You can put as many Fire Chests as you can fit in there, and keep your papers, jewelry, ammo, cameras, whatever in them. Yes, they MIGHT still bake in the safe even if inside a Fire Chest, but it's better than just putting those items into a steel safe with ZERO fire protection and have them destroyed FOR SURE. And, I found (2-11-10) this Sentry 1170 at Walmart.com for a great price PLUS 97-cent shiping...can't beat that! So yes, I would recommend these kind of Senrty FireChests for this purpose -- put into larger safes/RSCs -- rather than to be kept alone under a bed or in a closet somewhere. I didn't give it 5 stars simply because I would have liked to see a bit longer fire protection (45 minutes at least) but 30 minutes is better than none. Also, I saw a video clip of several of these "safes" being put on a pallet and set afire by a local FD, left to burn for a few minutes and then the FD put the fire out with their hoses: Even the non-waterproof rated Fire Chests kept out the water, as the lids "weld" themselves shut in a fire (as designed to do, not a defect) and the contents were fine, so I'm not sure it's necessary to get a "waterproof" rated Fire Chest, which is definitely more expensive. Whatever, even the cheapest Sentry Fire Chests are better than no fire protection at all...at least your stuff has a CHANCE of surviving!

    Was this review helpful? (99) (11)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    cloudcroft
    Galveston, TX
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:55 - 64
    Ownership:Longer than one year
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    Great safe!
    4/6/2016

    Customer review by Rescue

    5.0 stars 4/6/2016 by Rescue
    by Rescue

    Nice safe for the price. Holds lots of file folders and misc. things. I would recommend this.

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Rescue
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Fireproof File Box
    2/26/2016

    Customer review by SJMW

    5.0 stars 2/26/2016 by SJMW
    by SJMW

    Excellent.. Sturdy. Holds a lot of files.

    Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    SJMW
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    great safe
    2/21/2016

    Customer review by dusty828

    5.0 stars 2/21/2016 by dusty828
    by dusty828

    we had a house fire an 90 percent of the item in the safe came out fine so it show us how good it was bought 2 more

    Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    dusty828
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    1-10 of 170 total reviews See all
    1-10 of 170 reviews

    Customer Reviews | 200 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

    Customer Reviews

    Was this review helpful?
    Was this review helpful?

    Customer Q&A

    Back
    Questions & Answers 30 questions
    1-3 of 30 questions

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    Back
    by TBeard 4/20/2010
    11 answers
    • A. No it doesn't
      by Lynnrx5212/28/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (6) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No it doesn't as a lot of people won't even use it for hanging folders. The good news is, it does not need a folder stand, they have grooved it so the hanging file holders fit in the grooves and you can drop your folders right into them, they move easily too.
      by CreativeLicense4/17/2016
      Was this answer helpful? (17) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No, does not have file folders.
      by Deercreek9/18/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. no
      by Danielcl789/18/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. no it does not come with hanging file folders i had to go out and buy those separate
      by gamerguy119/18/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (3) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. no but for the money it's worth buying the folders and tabs
      by thecougarlady9/18/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. This product does NOT come with anything but a copy of the Owner's manual & two keys!
      by djwalmartshopper9/18/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (4) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No
      by titia9/18/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No, it is an empty box. You add your own hanging file folders. I decided to just throw in a few big manilla envelopes, with contents listed on each one.
      by shewolflinda9/18/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No. The safe is empty so you must supply the hanging files.
      by mcda239/8/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    Back
    model # of this product is Sentry Safe Model #1170 fire safe security file.
    by an anonymous customer 1/11/2010
    10 answers
    • A. Can't bolt down, but it's quite heavy. It has a place to grip on front and back
      by BonVoyage19499/8/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No it doesn't
      by Lynnrx525/11/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I think you want a much bigger model than this one. Remember this is under 50.00, it does not have a handle, I believe that would cut into the thickness of the fire retardant in the walls/top of the item. This is meant to keep your very small precious items in or your most important papers, its not large enough that anyone would bother bolting it to the floor.
      by CreativeLicense1/2/2016
      Was this answer helpful? (4) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. no and no
      by Danielcl783/15/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No, it is not meant to be bolted down. It is portable.
      by jimmaw889/8/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. no
      by thecougarlady1/21/2011
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No. No and No none of these come with this safe.
      by titia10/12/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No way to bolt this down. Does not have a handle. Would be nice if it had a handle on each end.
      by mcda2311/27/2014
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I answered this question earlier but it's not showing up so I'll try one more time: I don't have mine bolted down and I don't recall if it had "drill-guide indentatons" (for bolt-holes, you drill them yourself) on the inside bottom or not -- and since no bolts/screws came with MINE, so I think not. But I don't bolt mine down, I put these into other safes (see below). But it's no big deal because frankly, bolting any of these Sentry Fire Chest down is pointless as they are FIRE "safe," not a THEFT "safe" as the locks are so simple/crude they easily could be pried open with a screwdriver. Consequently, IMO, they SHOULD be used INSIDE another larger "security/burglary" rated (but not fire-rated) safe/RSC that IS bolted down. My Sentry 1170 does NOT have any handle...it's like a small heavy box that needs both hands to carry.
      by cloudcroft4/19/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. I wouldnt worry about bolting it down...the lock is so simple just about any screwdriver could pry it open. These Senrty Fire Chest "safes" are better used when they are put INSIDE a larger safe (such as a real safe or RSC NOT fire-rated) as the Sentry Fire Chests are rated for FIRE protection, not THEFT protection.
      by cloudcroft9/8/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    Back
    by muttons 3/16/2011
    8 answers
    • A. This safe is strong and heavy. No top handle, but a place front and back to grip the safe.
      by BonVoyage19499/25/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (6) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No there isn't
      by Lynnrx529/18/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. NO, ON THE SIDES
      by LOIE79/18/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No, very hard to lift.
      by Fobo8/11/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. No, there is no handle on it, I think if they were to put a handle on it they would of had to thinned out the wall thickness and that would not be good, as the WHOLE idea of this is for fire protection, so you want the walls to be equally thick..and they are. Its pretty heavy, I am an older woman but I have been able to move it around so I think most people would be able to also.
      by CreativeLicense9/25/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (4) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. no there isnt..it is very heavy and good if you dont have to carry it around. more stationary
      by Tmasterson8/2/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. There is a handle on ALL these smaller "fire-safes" but they are on the SIDE, by the lock.
      by cloudcroft9/18/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. no handle
      by MtownGirl9/18/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (0) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    1-3 of 30 questions See all
    1-3 of 30 questions
    Customers also viewed these products

    Policies & Plans

    See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

    Warranty Plan

    Walmart Product Care Plans
    A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

    We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

    Product warranty:  1 year See details

    Warranty Information: 1 Year Manufacturers limited warranty, After Fire Replacement Guarantee. For more information, contact Sentry Group customer service dept. at 1-877-736-8794
    Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.

    Returns

    Returns are easy at Walmart
    Not happy with a purchase? No problem. We've made returning items as easy as possible. And, most purchases can be returned for free. Learn more about our Returns Policy.