See All Reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 by 31 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Upright Bike I read the reviews and decided this was the upright bike for me...and it is! I've only had it for 2 weeks and love it. Small enough to fit in the corner of my living room, so quiet I can watch tv while biking and comfortable enough despite some reviews that said otherwise. My only concern is that the instructions for the console isn't well written so some things I haven't quite figured out yet but, like all gadgets with as many bells and whistles etc, it will take time. 01/19/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by took it back Had it a week and then bump bump hum with every turn of the pedal crank. One complete turn equal a bump bump hum. Needed to purchase a 9/16 crank puller to fix it with factory help. Only bike like it I will order again and get the crank puller just in case. Just did not like being forced to buy the tool. Out side of that a very nice bike. The return policy is very nice. 09/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it It is quiet and smooth. You can also choose your intensity level. It is the next best thing to riding my mountain bike. I wish I would of got it sooner. This is the most I exercised all winter. I only had a few weeks and lost a pound and half. I only did 10 to 12 min,. and a few 20 min. rides. It also alot better than my treadmill since I have a job on my feet all day. It feels good to sit and still get exercise. The price is right. 03/13/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unhappy This bicycle does not have nearly enough leg room for tall person. I could not use as knees hit handlebars. They should tell customer this in specs or make adjustable upward for tall person. I had to return. 03/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by schwinn 140 great bike seems very high quality so far i really like it. 10/12/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Bike This is my first upright excercise bike, so I was not sure what to expect. I do like it, it is very quite and you do get a good work out. It was easy enough to put together, although it did take two people almost 2 hours! And I found it very hard to tighten the seat. The other fault I have with it, is the seat itself - it is very uncomfortable, so will probably have to get a new gel one or something. Also, the console is kinda hard to read in certain lights, I think I should have paid a little more for a bit better of a bike. But I guess as long as I get a good work out at the end of the day, I am happy enough. My daughter loves it, and she is 15. She is on it now almost 2 hours a day.. so any excercise is good! 10/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded my expectations I was hesitant to purchase the Schwinn 140 exercise bike because of some reviews I read, but I decided to go for it. It has exceeded my expectations. The ride is smooth and feels like I am riding a bike. It is also very quiet, so much so that I can ride it while my wife is sleeping (it is in the bedroom). I highly recommend this product if you are looking for a relatively inexpensive exercise bike that is almost as good as those more expensive models in the gyms. 05/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't be beat for the price!! I am 5'10" 235 lbs. when I started riding my new Schwinn 140 Upright in Oct. I was over 250 lbs. Since Jan. 1st 2012 I have rode it for more than 900 miles and my wife rides it a couple days per week as well. It makes no noise and very smooth. Easy to adjust height of seat and to set seat further back as well as handlebars forward. My wife is 5'4" and we both ride it very comfortably. I have done a 50 miler on it and countless 20-30 milers. No problems to date. My brother has the Schwinn recumbent 240 as well as my sister and they both have over 1000 miles with no problems. Great piece of exercise equipment from Schwinn. Thank you Walmart for providing this product and the reviews are very helpful in choosing this product. I would give it more stars if i could. 02/17/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bike meets expectations. Read many reviews for upright bikes. Was apprehensive to purchase without seeing the bike or sitting on it. Bike was delivered to WalMart. Read how boxes can be beat up. Box looked good. All parts in box and in good shape. Instruction manual not very descriptive as others have mentioned, but as long as you have put things together before, it was not that bad. With laying out all parts and flipping through the manual it took about 45 min. Did use my 9y/o to help hold the front pole and hold the wires while I screwed in the bottom. The LCD display is easy to read and setting are easy to adjust. Seat was a bit uncomfortable for the first week but once you get use to it, it is not that bad (it is after all a bike seat). It is extremely quiet and the magazine self can hold a small DVD player or an ipad without difficulty. I have had it a month and ride 30-40 min Mon-Fri. As of now I am very satisfied and worth the investment. I would recommend to anyone looking for an affordable exercise equipment. 01/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by if you are looking, get this bike bought this bike as an average cyclist and use it 6 days a week. 4 people in my family also use it, so its been getting a lot of use and is solid as a rock. I did next day shipping and it arrived same day if left the warehouse. pros - easy to set up. challenging. custom workouts available. no sound made when using it. gives you tips as you work out. cons - heart rate monitor has to count up to read your rate if you use the metal bars. it starts at 70 everytime you let go and grab back on. takes about 30 seconds to accurately read it. Thats it! I would buy another one so my wife and I can cycle at the same time, just have to save up! 03/13/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Di not work when assembled COuld not pedal forward . Had to call Schwinn who said the problem was that when shipped this model sometimes experienced an internal part that shifts necessitating dissaembly using a special part that they ship to you. I couldnt utilize the special part-crank shaft puller. I then had to have a Schwinn repair tech come to the house. I do not recommend this product. 06/19/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Soft Metal - Poor Quality Do not stand on one pedal while trying to get on. That's what they say caused the pedal metal to strip out of the crank in less than a year. JUNK! 04/04/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ive owned schwinn upright bikes befor they lasted for years. The last one I had just gave out, so I did my homework on this bike the 140 upright, and I thought it would be a great purchase. Well I brought it home and put it all together pluged it in and it lit up the monter, I go to peddle it and all I heard was this grinding noise I couldent get it to work. These bike are supposed to be super ouiet well this one was a pice of junk!!!!!Sorry walmart I took it back the next day. I beleave it was a fluke, Iam gonna try the 150 and see if that one will work. Its about 90.$ more but hey some times you gotta pay a little extra to get what you want. Sargentsparky citrus heights 10/18/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worked for 3 revolutions Assembled this unit in about 2 hours. Instructions ok, but could be more detailed when it comes to installing handlebars. Got on the bike and it worked for about 3 revolutions and it became extremely difficult to pedal. I called Schwinn/Nordic Track and explained the problem. The tech said it's an easy fix, that the magnets froze and that I would need to buy a "Crank Puller". At that point I told the tech that it was going back. Took the bike fully assembled back to the local Walmart and got a refund. 08/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My husband wanted to get back into cardiovascular shape and strengthen his legs. He looked at a number of exercise bikes online before deciding to go with the Schwinn 140 Upright. He has not been disappointed. This bike is a wonderful exercise tool for keeping in shape! First of all, it came just two days after we ordered it. It was packed very well and wasn't scratched at all. My husband loves the ease of programming on it and the informative read-out. The bike actually seems to interact with you, even reminding you to drink water at certain times or encouraging you to keep going! It's very sturdy and solid; my husband is 200lbs. and feels very comfortable on it. We can't believe how quiet it is too! It's very easy to assemble (pay attention to the pedals which are marked for left/right), my husband had it together in no time. It's a good-looking bike and worth every penny. You won't regret it! 07/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great exercise bike I am 6' tall 300 lbs bought this to try to get into better shape. I am extremely satisfied with this bike. it is virtually silent so using it with the tv is no problem #helps fight boredom on the bike#. Took a little to get it programmed but not too difficult, after that press a couple buttons and your off. Overall this bike is comfortable and quiet, excellent all around exercise bike. 03/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Assembly instructions are in pictograph form with minimal written directions. Not very detailed and sometimes difficult to understand. I assembled it myself in about 2 hours. Bike itself is great - just the right amount of features, whisper quiet, and solidly built. The seat that came with mine is heavily padded. My butt was sore after the first session but since then, no problem. Drink holder is in an awkward location and too small for 1 quart sport drinks. I wish it had a place to hold the TV remote since I ride while I watch. Bike is so quiet I do not have to increase the volume at all. Overall, I am extremely satisfied with my new Schwinn fitness bike. 11/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very good Bike very quite and gives you a great work out. 09/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Durable; lots of features; quiet Lots of features to help you keep track of your workouts. (Heart rate monitor, speed, time, calories burned, etc.) My husband had it put together in about 20 minutes. Remarkable wuiet and very sturdy. I'm 5'6" so it fit me comfortably. I can also roll it out to the living room to watch TV and then roll it back to my bedroom to store it. In my opinion this bike gets the job done and you don't have to spend thousands of $$$ on good exercise equipment. 09/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great gym quality exercise machine Ordered this and received it in only 3 days and at $40 less than I could find it at other places online, including Amazon. Did lots of research and found that the Schwinn is absolutely the best value, rugged, lots of good features, including onboard heart monitor. Manual is a bit lacking and the seat can be uncomfortable unless you sit towards the back, but nothing is a show stopper. With a couple of extra dollars that you already saved you could make this a super machine by changing the seat! One of only a few true upright style bikes. Most of the rest on the web are "spinners" and have you lying flat across the handlebars. For us older folks who just can't bend that way comfortably, you can't beat the Schwinn! I ride this for a minimum of 30 mins daily. 07/08/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Caution: Assembly issues Walmart did their part very well, the item shipped quickly and tracking information was provided. The time from unpacking to a fully assembled bike will take about an hour and may require 2 people. The instructions are very vague and they rely mostly on diagrams, for example; "Attach seat to frame assembly" with a sketch of a seat and a post - nothing more. If the instructions were better written it might take less time to assemble and give you more confidence that you did it correctly. After using the bike for approxmately 2 weeks, the right pedal fell off and I was unable to reattach it because the threads were mangled. I am not sure if I contributed to this during assembly of the bike. The instructions for attaching the pedals; "attach pedals to frame assembly." - they should have mentioned that there is reverse threading on one pedal and clearly diagramed the difference between a left and right pedal. I contacted the manufacturer and I did receive quick and courteous help and new parts were express shipped to me. The operation of the bike was otherwise fine and it is quiet too. I would also agree with others that said the bike may not be good for taller people. I am 5'9" and with the seat adjusted all the way back, my knees still come pretty close to the handlebars when pedaling. 06/13/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by More than expected. Just got it today...was going to buy a LeMond spin bike off Craigslist in Seattle but guy sold it out from under me and had been researching upright bikes and liked this for the $$$$ . Went FED EX 1-2 day...right on time. Assembly around 2 hrs by myself. I agree w/ reviews that instructions are horrible.....but if you were ever a kid that toyed and tweeked his bike a bit ...it is no sweat. I further agree that seat not so great....will upgrade...did my first workout, 45 min and very pleased.....this thin is whisper quiet and has nice graphics and computer was easy to figure out. It is in no way an advanced bike but it will work you out, be space efficient, and not make you feel like you got ripped off. It is well worth what I paid even w/ the delivery....I live pretty remote and closet WAL MART 70 miles round trip. I will have this unit a long time! 04/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seats hard, but better then a gym bike. I can honestly say this bike gives me a better workout then the ones at my gym. I was very impressed. I now have the ability to roll it in front of the tv and bike for an hour no problem. I literally have to turn it to level 6 to get the same workout as the bike gym when it's at 8. Highly recommended. Seat is hard and bought a replacement immediately. Try to find a gel seat since I can't find one that is great... 03/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kick Butt Item! I really like this bike, the computer is easy to operate, and the bike is very quiet. 03/15/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 Everything went well untill I noticed that the hours counter in the display wasn't registering right,example;I would workout 2 times for 1 hour each time but the reveiw display would show a total of two workouts for only a total of 1 hour. 03/07/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid bike, good value Had been in the market for an upright for some time. Saw this bike on Amazon and ultimately on WM.com for a slightly better value. Construction is durable and sturdy and holds my 220 pound frame without issue. Operation is whisper quiet but upping the resistance can give you a stiff workout. Only complaint is registering the rider each time you board the bike. Once you start moving the wheel, you get locked out of registering a workout. The bike is very sturdy and doesn't move side to side or rock like cheaper bikes do. Assembly took about an hour and did require some initative to assume parts went where they went. Overall, could have spent $800, but feel like this was a much better value for the dollar. Shipping from WM.com was delayed almost three days. 02/28/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Assembly was fairly easy; however setting up software displays was not well explained. 02/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product! Great value. Well built. Takes about 2 hours to put together. Did by myself, would be faster with two as they recommend. Very, very pleased. Seat not as bad as others have stated. 02/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Schwinn 140 Exercise Bike Great Product, well made with very good materials. 02/05/2011
1-30 of 30 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw357
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp