See All Reviews
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 111 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does what it promises I wanted something that would automatically adjust itself and I could plug it in and forget it. This one does that. I was surprised at the price for what you get, and was also surprised when I opened the box to see how small it was, but it works fine. Would buy again. (turns out the store really had one on the shelf, even though the website said otherwise. Next time I will check first before I order). 05/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great little charger! I purchased this product to keep my motorcycle and lawn tractor fully charged to help extend battery life. It does exactly what it says and automatically shuts off when the battery reaches a fully charged state. I especially like the pigtail accessory (included) that makes charging my motorcycle a snap. No more taking off the seat to get to the battery! Great product with great features at a low price! 06/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great deal ! I had considered the purchase of a "Battery Tender" brand maintainer for quite some time. I found this unit at my local store, and read the previous reviews after returning home. At roughly half the price, I decided to give it a try, and haven't regretted it. The pigtails make using it easy, and my motorcycle is always ready to go when I am. Just unplug and go! Anyone who owns a motorcycle, boat, tractor, collector vehicle, etc. should have one. I only wish I had gotten it years ago. 08/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Schumacher XM1-5 Maintainer, 1.5-Amp I bought this charger on 1/01/2012. I like it a lot so easy to use and has nice quick plugs. The quick plug even mated up to the factory plug on the harley sportster without any mods. This charger comes with a quick connect pigtail for the battery end, and also alligator clamps. I used the pigtail end on my honda cx500 bike which had no quick plug. Then went to another store bought some more quick connect ends and made a setup I can plug this little charger into the middle of the homemade cord, each end of the cord plugs into each bike. So far it's keeping both motorcycle batteries topped off simultaneously with no issues. This charger has no switches. Basically connect to a battery and plug in the wall and done. 01/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great! I bought this trickle charger to keep my riding mower charged and also my wife's CR-V which doesn't get a lot of exercise since we home school and she only goes out on short trips. The battery just wasn't getting fully charged. I hooked up this charger and overnight the battery was fully charged; the same with the riding mower. When the charger is first attached the bottom indicator light turns yellow to indicate it is charging. By morning it was green indicating the battery was fully charged. This is NOT a quick charge unit, but a trickle charge. I like to leave it attached overnight and my AM... it's done. It can also be left attached. It uses I think it says 15W and the built in sensor moderates the units standby so you can have peace of mind attaching it and leaving it on as long as you want. On a side note, it is less than half price of others I found online. It is very small and light so it working as well as it does is very surprising. This thing is great and I highly recommend. 08/18/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Value - Better $$ than Battery Tender Bought this Schumacher XM1-5 Battery Maintainer as a cheap alternative to the big name product, (Battery Tender Jr). 2/3 the price. Was pleased to find it easy to use and that it had the plug lead included, the one that permanently wires to the battery. My use is as a trickle charger/ maintainer for my motorcycle when not riding. Ever price a motorcycle battery? Also using it to maintain my riding mower battery with the battery clip attachment, also included. Highly Recommend for anybody needing this type of automatic charger - trickle charger / battery maintainer. 10/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I wanted a Battery Maintainer that was good bang for the Buck for My Harley. I looked at Harley's maintainer, interstate's , Sears, and Battery Tender Brand, all were double the money and did not do anything better than this prouduct from wallmart. I have been using it now for 2 months to maintain the charge on my Odyssey Battery in my Harley and on my Motor Home, it works GREAT for the price. Cant beat it... 12/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Charging car battery on an idle car I purchased this to charge my car's battery (a 4 cylinder Accord). I do not drive this car much as I normally rent cars with my job. Since the car may sit for at least two weeks at a time, I thought that this product would work well in keeping my battery charged, as the car alarm feature slowly drains the juice out of it. When I connected the charger to the car's battery at 7 PM (after sitting for 2 weeks) the unit stated it was in charging mode (solid yellow/ gold light). Sure enough, by 11 AM the next day the light had changed to a solid green color showing that the battery was now fully charged. So, the product worked as intended. Note that this unit is very light and surprisingly small...but works. 12/02/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Charger I own 4 of these chargers,I use one on my ATV, scooter and two motorcycles they work very well. 03/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Phenominal little charger The Schumacher XM1-5 is a phenomenal value when used for it's intended purpose of charging small lead-acid batteries, up to lawn tractor or motorcycle batteries. It also works great as a float charger or maintainer for larger car or marine/deep cycle batteries. The charger is idiot-proof, automatically selecting 6 or 12V mode, and has protection against accidental reverse hookup and short circuits. It will also flag faulty batteries that won't take a charge. In addition to normal alligator clamps, it also includes a lead with ring terminals, which can be permanently attached to the battery and easily connected via a quick connector. Using this connector, the XM1-5 makes a great, inexpensive alternative to a Battery Tender for a motorcycle, lawn tractor, RV or other seasonally used vehicles. I use mine primarily to recharge Power Wheels batteries, a task it is supremely well suited to. By cannibalizing the ring terminal lead, it can be wired up to a Power Wheels battery connector. In this role it is world's better than the stock "dumb" charger that comes with Power Wheels. 09/05/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the second one of these that I have bought. It is a good product, works very well at just over half the cost. I use them on my motorcycles, lawn mowers and my sports car. FM 12/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A GREAT BATTERY MAINTAINER AT A LOW PRICE!!! I really like to use battery maintainers to keep my batteries charged and to ensure a long battery life. I bought one of these maintainers a year ago to keep my emergency generator charged. I decided to buy two more of these maintainers for my boat, which has two batteries. These maintainers have great features at a very low price. In fact, I just ordered three more maintainers for my lawn tractor, John Deere Gator, and my John Deere farm tractor. I highly recommend these battery maintainers for vehicles and equipment that are not used on a daily basis and often sit for weeks or months at a time. In particular, this Schumacher XM15 is extremely useful during the winter season. 11/05/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Charged dead battery My battery wasn't being charged because of corroded terminals. The battery fully died that I couldn't even start the car, not even get dashboard lights on. I cleaned the battery , took it out, changed the terminals in the car, and used this charger to charge my flat battery. At first the light on the charger went green right away, so I disconnected it and connected it again as I knew the battery was fully discharged. Then the charger turned the charging led on so I knew it was doing the JOb. 36h later the charger turned green. I installed the battery, the car started fine and the battery is working just like new! (I knew the battery was in good shape as the dealer checked it a week before all this happen) Great charger, great maintainer. I have a sports car, this worked great! Dont use it for marine batteries (boats or those small golf vehicles). 12/24/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great On Motorcycles I have 2 of these for my motorcycles. I use the permanently attached ring clips to battery terminals with SAE connector. The SAE connector makes it very easy to attach/detach charger between rides especially in the winter months when the bikes may not be ridden for a week or two at a time because of snow/ice. As cold is wicked cruel to a small motorcycle battery the small outlay belays any frustration of flat batteries. Great price and work excellent on my motorcycles. Highly recommended. 12/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does the job! I bought this to put on my motorcycle in the off season. I used to take my battery out of the motorcycle every winter and put it in the house, charge it once a month, but this battery maintainer makes things much easier. You hook up the ring terminal harness and then all you have to do is plug it in when needed. Well worth the $20. Better than buying a new battery from lack of maintaining it. Excellent for cars as well that don't get driven much. Lead batteries last longer if they maintain a full charge. This devise does exactly that! 11/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for my Motorcycle I leave this on my motorcycle for extended periods when I travel for business. It works great with no need to monitor. The price is great and works as good as the much higher priced battery tenders. I would definitely buy this again. 06/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good charger I've only used this charger on my 97 GP1200 Waverunner for about a year and a half now but it has worked thoughout the summer to keep the battery charged. I just unplug the quick disconnect and go going on the bayou. It comes with alligator clips as well so you don't have to use the permanent mount on everything. I haven't used it on anything else such as a car but I'm sure it'd work superbly just as it has on my ski. 03/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent battery maintainer Excellent value - compact - harness with eye lugs for attachment an excellent feature 03/29/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great charger I thought I needed a new battery when I motorcycle wouldn't start, hooked this charger up over night and it started right up in the morning. Also, the small quick disconnect leads are very convenient since I have to remove my seat and lift my tank up to access the battery terminals. 03/18/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product at a great price I bought this to charge my battery jumper at work. So far it's been working great. I'm pleased with this product & would buy it again. 03/17/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does what it's meant to do A good value. 03/16/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is an excellent product. A great battery trickle charger and maintainer. Schumacher has a proven track record in the battery charger business. This works for lawn and garden/mower batteries as well as ATV's and cars batteries. Keep an eye on Walmart pricing. This item was 5$ cheaper buying it online and picking it up in the store. 03/01/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works as advertised. Pic on pkg is deceiving. Unit is much larger than it appears because pic was taken at an angle. Unit works as advertised. 02/02/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by schumacher xm1-5 I bought this to keep a large truck battery charged that I don't drive during the winter. What can I say it does it's job at keeping the battery charged. The name Schumacher is all you need to know when it comes to battery charging items. Never had any problems with Schumacher products 01/08/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by so far a good battery charger PICKED UP IN STORE. JUST WHAT I WANTED EVERYTHING WENT GOOD. 12/29/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Helper What it says...it does it 12/10/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best $20 I ever spent Easy to use for Motorcycle or Car, especially useful with the bitter cold we get in the winter. The clips can stay on the bike for easy charging while not having to remove seat each time. 12/03/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to hook up charger Works great for charging my motorcycle. A fair price for the product and easy to install with the quick attachments. The hardest part was getting to the battery on the bike. 11/23/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product I have one already paid more for it then this one! This one is for my motorcycle 11/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does exactly what it supposed to do This item, as small as it is, does exactly what it's intended for. The included accessories are adequate to use this device for extending battery life as well as renewing or reviving an older one to extend its useful storage capacity even further. It's a great product at a great price. 07/06/2013
1-30 of 104 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw426
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp