Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 22 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by 150 A Charger We use this charger at the race track. Most of the other teams use our charger in the pits. Love the digital read out and amount of charge in the battery and how much charge is being delivered. 04/28/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Read the instructions carefully. This is a great product. The instructions and controls can be confisuing, so take the time to learn how to operate it with the instructions in your hands or you may be frustrated. The controls are not "intuitive". 06/19/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by A very helpful product This little machine exceeded all my wants and wishes. My only drawback, it it,s digital. Just a couple of buttons to do all the stuff that it does. Which just confuses me to no end. I have to have the instruction book to follow step by step. I,m more of an old style guy, flip a switch,turn a dial and go. But, after 20 minutes of reading the instruction and then doing, then reading the instructions and doing. It works great....... 09/05/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb Performance Charger Does what it says...need I say more? It is a very handy charger and so far has performed very well in the Auto Shop where I work flawlessly. 02/09/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by misleading First off you don't get the charger pictured, received a different one. The one received has different graphics and controls. It arrived with a small dent from poor packing which isn't a real big deal I guess. It was double boxed but only one small piece of crate paper to take up the slack which was not even close. Ok now onto the charger. It does not have a battery or alternator tester as stated. It will read battery voltage but will not put a load on the battery or alternator. YOU CAN'T TEST A BATTERY OR ALTERNATOR BY SIMPLY READING VOLTAGE. A voltage reading can be misleading, doesn't and does not tell you how healthy a battery is. Also I have a problem with what the charger does when a battery is charged. It is supposed to go into "float" mode. However the depending on whatever charge rate you had selected the charger stays running in this mode. It may not be putting voltage to the battery anymore, but you still have a loud hummmm and fan running. It depends on which charge rate selected as to how loud the fan and hum is. 55 is pretty loud. Also I guess this thing is using a lot of electricity if it is not going into a more power friendly state after the battery is charged. One last thing I don't care for is you can't select or elect to desulfate a battery. It's supposed to be automatically detect if a battery needs it. I was really expecting more for what this thing costs. The biggest disappointments are that it doesn't really kick off or shut down when charging is complete and the lack of a battery tester. 07/19/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by The product quit working after the 90 days. So far no return to Walmart. Will not buy this item and will not recommend to anybody 10/24/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Multi-Purpose Charger! This charger has just the right features, some good, basic diagnostics, and an option for manual or automatic charging. As a maintenance man I own several larger Schumacher Battery Chargers and they are all up-to-snuff! I really like the digital read-out, and the buttons are easy enough to figure out after a little experimenting. The cooling fan is fairly quiet and it wheels around easily. My only suggestion to the manufacturer would be to use a bit heavier sheet metal on the cabinet. Otherwise, it is a really good unit. You can go bigger and better, but for most mid to upper level do-it-yourselfers, this charger (along with the great price) is hard to beat. 08/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does the job perfectly I bought this charger to help charge/start an old 72 Ford car. The car had engine issues and the battery was discharged from frequent starting. This charger was fairly easy to assemble and charged the battery fully. The auto charge function is great so I haven't used it in manual mode yet. I have used the start function a few times and it also works as advertised. As other reviews state, READ THE INSTRUCTIONS. I read about the "flimsy" case from other reviews so I was expecting it. It really doesn't affect the function of the charger so I don't see that it's an issue unless you plan on banging it around the garage. 09/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good value charger Prompt shipping to my home, as described, works well, good value 10/28/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product with one exception,the RDC people are a little heavy handed with the product.the one corner was damaged pretty bad.But I straightened it out myself! 08/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is my new "GO TO" charger. Absolutly GREAT!!! This charger is the best buy I have made in a long time. The second day I had it I fell in love with it. I work on cars for my family members. I buy broken used cars and fix them up for my grandchildren. Needless to say, there are always battery problems when you do what I am doing. I have 2 other chargers - both old skool high output wheeled ones. One is a Xtra Duty commercial one. They are strictly manual operation. Get out the hydrometer, check the state of charge, figure out how long and at what rate to charge the battery and set the timer. If the timer will not go long enough, set it to a endless charge cycle and walk away. Problem is - if you forget that you have the charger running, you can cook a good battery to death.. NOT GOOD. After the timer goes off, you have to draw the battery down with a load tester and get the the hydrometer out and start the cycle all over again. PITA. But that is the way battery charging works. Well, DID WORK in the past! Not anymore! This AUTOMATIC charger is absolutely wonderful! I had 7 "questionable" batteries in the garage. My big, 250 AMP start, 20+ year old charger was flakely - sometimes it will give a full charge, sometimes not. I was going to buy 4 new batteries, but decided to get a new charger first, and give the batteries another try. Researched chargers - wanted another 250+ amp start capacity charger, but could not afford them. I came to the conclusion that I seldom used the boost charger to crank a car over, so the 150 amp boost was not a issue. 2 amp, 20 amp and 55 amp charge rates are fine, even if you are a commercial garage. The automatic charge cycle was interesting. For less than $108, tax and all, how could I go wrong?? This is where it gets really really good and where I fell in love with this charger.. I bought it late late in the day - midnight?? and brought it home, assembled it, hung it on the wall where my old one had perched, surveyed the manual and hooked it up to a battery. Set it to 20 amp / automatic and went to bed. Went to work that morning without checking the battery and charger. Got home at 3:30 and went to the garage. Charger was in "maintenance" or float mode. Flipped the push button thru the state of charge and voltage modes - all was supposed to be well. Dragged out the hydrometer and checked the state of charge - it was at 100% - the first time this battery had exceeded 80 or 85 % - it had never exceeded that with my old "questionable" charger. Did the carbon pile load test - the battery was good and did not need to be replaced!! WOW. Over the next week I did the same thing with the other 6 batteries. 3 came up to 100% and load tested fine, one came up to 100% but failed the load test. The other two - both charged to 100% - went into the float mode - and, after several hours in float mode, failed - the readout on the display gave me a code. Looked it up - low and behold, the batteries both had a internal draw - that was why they would go dead every couple of days if the car was not driven!! Bottom line - IT WORKS!! And works well. Also, this battery charger kept me from buying 4 new batteries that I was worried about - ones that would have cost me close to $400! Best value I have gotten from a tool in a long time! Paid for itself in one day! Read the manual - this charger is EZ to use if you read the manual. 10/24/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product for the price Just picked up this charger last night after I ran down my truck battery. Brought it home, connected it, sparked it up, set it over to the 150A setting and hit the starter... my 351 Windsor cranked over and fired like I had a brand new battery installed! Nice, thinks me... I shut the engine down before the battery was charged so I could try the other modes and settings to see how they worked. A real nice piece of equipment for just over $100 after tax. It's a keeper... only thing I don't like is the tin can sheet metal they use for the enclosure (actually... I think even a real tin can has heavier gauge metal than this... I pulled it out of the box by it's top cover and it was bending in my hand.) Whatever, not like I'll be haulin it around all the time and I can always build a roll cage type frame for it if it starts gettin banged up. I didn't look inside the unit but I'm guessing the transformer secondaries are probably aluminum... but it didn't get hot after an hour of charging. Also, a tip... the voltmeter on this unit agrees with both voltmeters installed in my truck (the factory analog "steam gauge" type as well as the digital one on my console, BUT the "percent charge" indicator seems to indicate low while charging. It read 95% after charging in Manual mode for awhile, then I turned the output off (set the timer to OFF) and the % indicator immediately went to 100%. Hmm... not a big deal for me, I go by voltage anyhow. A fully charged six cell 12V lead acid battery will show 12.6V (2.1 volts per cell), so it's an alright indication of charge too. Put a load on the battery (headlights or heater fan) for a couple minutes before you read the voltage to get a more accurate reading. Other n that, a good deal for the price. I'm happy and would recommend this to other folks lookin for a battery charger with enough juice to help crank engines. Can't really complain bout the cheap sheet metal... I'd rather Schumacher go cheap here than on the internals... 04/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great But For the price, this is truly an exceptional buy. I'd definitely recommend it to others. I've had no problems like I did with my other battery maintainer I bought cheap from somewhere else. I have a yellow top optimum battery and it was fully charged within 2.5 hrs using the "slow" charge. Great!!! 04/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Charger Works great for reconditioning or charging a battery. Need to know the process for the best effects. Auto off after charged. Would definitely get another, if needed. 03/18/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by CHARGER RUNS VERY HOT This charger runs very hot . It also takes a long time to charge a normal group 35 automotive battery . I have a 40 AMP continues charger and it charges faster then this 55 AMP intermitent charger. If you need a wheeled charger that won't take 5 hours to charge a battery dont buy this model. I tryed it out on 2 diffrent batteries and both took 5 hours ! Also the % of charge is not accurate neither is the voltage of the battery hooked up. for 29.00 more there is a way better model from the same company. 03/16/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by disappointed in Georgia I was very disappointed with the quality of the battery charger the cabinet seemed to be made of a light gauge metal which was damaged due to improper packing by the shipping dept. The charger was sent in a box three times the size of the charger box and the item just bounced around and suffered major damage to the cabinet. I returned the item to my Hinesville Ga Walmart. 12/30/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by This product is a real loser! I found major cabinet damage to the two of them that I had! One of the two would not charge at all! On both metal cabinets there were large dents and dings caused by poor handling in shipment! Do not waste your time or money with this lemon! 12/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value and very dependable 11/30/2011
1-19 of 19 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew242
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp