See All Reviews
Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
$399.00
List Price: $599.99
You Save: $200.99 (33%)
Special Buy
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 130 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Totally Awesome TV! I was a tad skeptical before purchasing this TV, Sceptre isn't a well known name. But I bought it anyway because at that price and with the plethora of features, it was looking real good!, It was delivered in two days. When I lifted this thing out of the box, it looked enormous!, I was shocked on how big a 50" TV can be! I hooked this baby up and tossed on an HD channel! The picture is so clear I can see ingrown hairs on peoples faces, and i can see razor burn on faces too! This TV has surpassed my expectations, I am in love with it! Quite Frankly, if it were legal I would Marry this TV today! For $499.99, this TV cannot be beat. The same TV with the same features made by let's say Sony, will cost you well over $2000.00, I did good, I did real good with this buy! I recommend this TV to anyone who does not want to waste money, you can have your cake and it it too with this Sceptre TV! I can sum this TV up with one word......"Wowsers" Buy one now! 05/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absoluetly love it! For being my 2nd Sceptre product, I am completely satisfied and amazed. This unit replaced our 6 year old 42" Olevia in the living room. This 50" Sceptre works superb with a PS3, Blu-Ray Player and a Roku player all connected via HDMI. This unit is a definite best buy for those looking to upgrade to a larger size. 05/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sceptre 50" tv for $499.00 I just received this TV last week and installed it. This is by far the best deal you will find on a 50" size LCD. I have had a Sceptre LCD in my bedroom for 3 year which this tv is replacing. I moved my 46" Sceptre to my sons room which is still working strong. Paid $699 for that one in 2009. This 50" is about the same size as my 46" Sceptre from 2009 in respect to the way it is constructed with the housing and plastic, but the 50" has more view area for sure and lighter now with the way they build them now. Dont't buy into the hype of all the over priced name brand tv's this gets the job done hands down. I would only go for something better in a main living room but this tv will still handle that job too if your not to picky, for a bedroom its great. The sound is ok but most will always add a surround sound with a flat screen tv. Almost all flat screen tvs have moderate sound at best. 05/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great (not so) little television for the money! I found the television sound to be weak and hollow when set up on the stand. However, once mounted on the wall, the sound was much improved. I wasn't impressed with the picture quality until I connected HD. With active HD, the Sceptre picture looked as vivid as those you see in the department store floor models, i.e., Sony, Panasonic, etc. Easy set-up. From the box, to the stand (connect cable and scan channels) to watching tv. It was just that simple. I connected my laptop with only inserting HDMI cable and switching television from TV mode to HDMI mode. Super easy! If you want a lot of television for the least amount a money, you have HD and are going to mount on a wall, this is the right television for you. Without HD and wall mounting, Vizio may be a better choice for you without breaking the bank. 06/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great deal for a 50" HDTV So far, I am really pleased with this purchase. For $499 with free delivery to the local WalMart, this TV was a bargain and a long overdue replacement of our 10 year old monster of a 42" TV. Not only does it weigh a fraction of the set it replaced, it pivots on the stand, has a great picture and was an easy set up for my husband and 16 year old son. Sound quality is good, but I'm spoiled by the surround sound system we have in our family room with our home's only other big screen TV. My only complaint is getting the correct code to allow the TV to be controlled via the cable controller. The Sceptre codes work for everything except volume. I called Sceptre and they said to use Sony codes...those work for all but the TV power on/off. Kind of annoying. Quick delivery to the store and helpful employees to load it into our SUV. We're really enjoying this purchase and I'd buy a Sceptre TV again. 06/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by love it tv is really big i love picture is great price is wonderfull 05/29/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Didn't work Plugged the TV in and turned it on, it came on for just a couple seconds, then turned itself off. It just kept doing this over and over again. 06/13/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by DO NOT BUY!!! Weird that all these reviews look so similar...I ordered a Sceptre Tv a little under a year ago. Within the first month I had problems with it! All I can see now is a big blue screen! I have been trying to get ahold of Sceptre for months and they will not call me back. I do not know what to do with this huge piece of junk now. 400 bucks down the drain. DO NOT BUY SCEPTRE!! You will regret it. 06/11/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poorly made tv set I bought this lcd from walmart.com due to the sale for $499 they had. I had it shipped to Walmart store for free, so that was good. However when I assembled the tv stand, the stand was so poorly made that it didn't hold the TV steadily and the stand was not set correctly, I actually had to unscrew a lot of screws just to straight out the TV and stand. The picture and sound was ok. But the TV was very thick. If you buy this unit, be prepared to get what you paid for. I ended up returning it within a week. 06/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I was extremely surprise about the excellent quality of this product. I particularly like the sound quality and ease of operation. This will be put to good use by the family for a long time. 06/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 WHAT A PIECE OF.......HEAVEN!!!!! O.K. folks....Here's the deal. I was VERY hesitant to purchase this baby after getting the big one from an internet site that rymes with "1 sale a day". So anywho I take a chance on another 3rd string t.v. I'm telling ya, this baby is SOOOO worth the 499.00 price tag it's SICK! I've only had it for a week but I cannot in good concious delay the review any longer and let some other folks pass up what I believe to be a fantastic buy. The 1080 picture is to die for and the ease of use/setup is idiot proof! The sound from such a thin T.V. isn't going to be theater quality, but it so much more than you need for watching cable! Such a t.v. for the money should really be considered! 06/12/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible picture quality I purchased this 50" LCD model on the basis of the good reputation of Sceptre, a company known for quality computer components. However, the picture quality of this HDTV was certainly NOT HD, and in fact was the worst I've ever seen (using a high-end HD receiver and HDMI cable). I subsequently returned the item to my local Walmart store for a full refund within the first 72 hours. Ironically, there was a store display model (Visio 55" LCD smart HDTV) for sale at the same price of $500 (normal retail of $1000). The difference was analagous to a go-cart vs a Ferrari. Despite it's size and features, this Sceptre model is not worth buying at any price. 06/12/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great for the price Overall I would recommend this to a friend but only as a temporary TV or at least for a TV that you wouldn't use too often. The sound on it isn't the best. I don't know if it is because the speakers are pointing down under the TV and bouncing off of the stand but it sounds muffled. When playing the DVD player, the sound has to be turned up to the 70's-80's just for a comfortable sound but don't forget to turn it down when switching it back to the "TV" setting. Another problem I had with it was turning it from "AV" to "TV", my brother decided that it'd be funny to turn the TV off right then and when turning it back on I had a blue screen for about 15 mins. Nothing worked to get a picture. I then had to unplug it, plug it back in and it finally worked. And for a one time thing, I hit the mute button and it randomly turned to channel 5. Yes, I panicked for a while but I turned it back and it never happened again. I wouldn't suggest getting Wal-mart's 2 year warranty package because the manufacture gave it a 1 year warranty so you'll just be paying for an extra year. 07/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Great experience with Walmart.com and I am very pleased with the product. This is my third Sceptre product and have been very pleased with all 3. This TV has stunning picture quality and has all the features I wanted. I had recently purchased a Sanyo that did not have a program guide and it was very difficult to navigate among the inputs. Unfortunately I did not have a way to know that until I got it home and hooked it up, but this TV is great. Program guide capability and easily navigate among inputs with one button ease. Sound is good, but I have external speakers with a subwoofer which I would recommend to give you sound that is on par with a vivid and excellent picture. 06/11/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed I ordered this tv online and received it yesterday. We hooked it up, and the picture quality was decent, but the sound was horrible. No matter how we adjusted it, it sounded very "tinny." Today a pixel burned out. I read the reviews before purchasing it, and it seemed like everyone else had good luck, but us, not so much. I probably wouldn't order one online again. :( 06/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome TV for living room Recently purchase this Sceptre 50" TV which replaced my old fashion huge & heavy projection TV in my living room, and this is my daddy's day gift for him. He loves this TV. He is always watching his favorite drama now. My family have no problem with it. The picture looks good. At this affordable price, it really helps to bring lots of joy and fun to family. Thank you Sceptre. 06/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific picure quality and excellent remote I've been using it for a few weeks now and have it connected to an outside antenna. I receive about 50 broadcast channels most which are in HD some of the time. The picture is crystal clear with brilliant color. The remote control is well designed with excellent grip and button layout. Setup was a snap and hope to add a dolby 5.1 sound system with blueray player soon. The sets sound quality is pretty good as is. I've heard these are made by Hitachi but I haven't researched it thoroughly yet. I couldn't believe the ad when I saw a 50" 1080p LCD HD tv for less than $500, WOW! I thought they may have been refurbs but there is no indication of it. I can't complain about a thing as yet but time will tell. 07/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great TV for the Price! This unit replaced my old 32" 1080 HD flat screen that I have been using for over six years. It's true that the Scepter is not a $2k TV... but it's not far off in features, picture and quality. I've only had this unit for about a month but I am completely satisfied in all respects. It worked fantastic right out of the box, set up was easy and the picture and sound are both excellent. I run a PS3 with it along with a Roku box and just use the built in digital receiver for local news and sports. Streaming videos typically has very good quality (not quite HD), regular DVD's up convert to excellent quality via the PS3 and both Blu-ray and HD channels are amazingly sharp and detailed. The only 'slightly' negative is that the base the TV mounts to is not as sturdy as it could be. If you have wild pets or children (or are clumsy :) this could be a slight issue. It is not really an issue for me though and seems to be sturdy 'enough'. This of course would not be an issue at all if it's mounted to the wall... which I may do anyway soon enough. Anyone that gives this TV, for the price, only 1 or 2 stars either got a lemon (it happens) or is just bitter for some other reason. 06/28/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great TV for the money. 1 Small Problem ! I love the TV, picture is awesom, sound is a little cheap, but all features work well. The only problem is when mounted on its base, it leans 1/2 inch lower on the left side than on the right. Contacted Sceptre about it and they said it's normal and I would have to live with it. I recommend anyone buying this TV ,buy a wall mount for it if you like looking at your picture straight. 08/06/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Perfect for its price. TV is not compatible with some surround sound systems. It was not compatible with my RCA surround sound system; it would not play DVDs nor Netflix. It said that HDCP was not working for the TV, but it worked when it was connected directly to the TV (everything worked perfectly fine for my old 32" Emerson). Customer service is terrible, so I figured it out myself. I had to pay $18 for a coax cord so whatever sound goes to the TV, goes to my surround sound. 08/10/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good but not great! This TV was excellent for its price but the sound was kinda bad and needed speakers hooked up because of it and also the remote needed to get replaced. I guess with a TV this cheap you get what you get :/ 06/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Phenomenal deal! I've been wanting a larger screeen for a long time but was not willing to pay the price, most of which are over $1000 for a 50" screen. I purchased a Sceptre 32" for my office several months ago and have been super happy with it. When I saw the price on this 50" model, I couldn't resist. I ordered it on a Friday and it arrived the following Wednesday. I had it set up and was watching it within 10 minutes. It's truly an incredible TV for the price. I must admit that I was somewhat leary back when I bought the 32" model because I'd never heard of the Sceptre brand before but I'd certainly buy another of their products knowing what I know now. I have two neighbors who have 46" branded name sets and they are jealous because I got this one for a third of what they paid for theirs. 06/16/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by The picture is horrible! I ordered this tv because I thought it was a great deal for $500 and after reading the positive reviews. But when I got it home and set it up, I quickly realized it wasn't a great deal after all. The picture quality is terrible. I don't know if it's my hdmi cable that is poor but I am not satisfied at all. 06/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleased with our purchase. TV is light weight compared to our 6 year old 42" Sanyo Plasma. Very easy to connect to existing cable, surround sound, ect. The picture is great. We upgraded from a 42" to a 50". I thought the TV would be overwhelming in our small den. Not so. The picture is 50" but the size of the TV is the same as our 42".V ery sleek design. We bought the TV 2 months ago and so far we are very pleased with the purchase. We have surround sound so I can not comment on the factory sound. 10/23/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great big screen LCD for the money As others have said, the sound isn't great. But if buying a tv like this, there's no reason not to have it hooked up to a seperate sound system in which you turn the tv speaker off anyway. It has a coax digital audio out that outputs in 5.1 (I previously had an LCD that only output in PCM stereo). The picture quality is great. Mine had no dead or stuck pixels. If you will be using the televisions tuner for over the air channels (in otherwords, not hooking it up to a cable box or sat box), be aware that it is kind of slow changing channels. Other than that, I'm very pleased with it and would recommend it to my friends. 10/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent value for a 50 LCD TV Can't go wrong with this purchase for the price. Very easy setup. Seen a few ratings criticizing the stand but my TV was extremely sturdy. U must follow the instructions and make sure the 2 little plastic mounts r lined up with the stand holes prior to fastening the bolts. The volume was a little weak for a 50 inch but i just hooked some computer speakers that I had, and now can only increase the volume to about 3 or 4 and it is too loud. Sound was amplified about 10 times and is now excellent, no longer an issue and better sound quality then any higher priced TV. 10/12/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by worked great then... Unit was working fine, then developed a red thick line down at the bottom that came and went. Then oneday while watching it, loud pop... and no tv. 09/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great TV, Poor speakers As others have noted, the speakers leave a lot to be desired. However, there is a headphone jack on the tv. I plugged a set of computer speakers into this, and the problem is resolved. The picture is nice, and otherwise, I'm very pleased with the TV. The speakers are pretty much worthless, though, so I knocked a star off for that. If you buy this tv, plan on adding speakers immediately. 07/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Deal So far so good with our latest replacement Flast Screen after having 3 go out within the last 6 yrs. This is our first Sceptre TV and I was a bit worried about not konwing much about the brand, but after reading reviews here first I decided to go for it and I can't complain, good deal for a 50 inch screen. Picutre quality is great, sound quality not so much, but I have my surround sound speakers hooked in anyway. Easy, fast set up. Only "con" would be that the stand is not very sturdy, it seams a bit weak to handle the size of the screen, we put supports under either end of the screen to help keep it stable. Really like that I do not get any glare from this screen as well. I would recommend this TV to my family and friends. 07/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great tv! I can see the blemishes and bad make up jobs on actors and actresses so the picture quality is great. Looks good and the sound is great. Very affordable TV and I'm glad I made this purchase! 07/27/2012
1-30 of 115 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew394
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp