See All Reviews
Samsung 40" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz  HDTV, LN40C630
Samsung 40" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, LN40C630
$809.98
List Price: $899.00
You Save: $89.02 (10%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 30 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Simple TRUTH SO there I was, staring at a bunch of TVs at my local Walmart. I narrowed down the size, 40" perfect. First, the Hz choice-- gotta be 120 vs 60 due to action and sports...now down to name brands and price. I was stuck between the Vizio and the Samsung. It was close...Based on pure "gut instict", I bought the Samsung. Ok fast foward, there I was unloading it from the car...solo! Less that 40lbs and got it up the stairs, unpacked, mounted on the TV base, hooked up to the Dish network and the DVD player within 15 min! Did I mention, my husband was thrilled! VERY user friendly! Picture is so realistic it looks like you are actually on the set while they are filming!! 04/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth the extra money I researched for a long time before buying. Decided to pay a little more money for the quality of a Samsung. Glad I did. Good value for a 1080p 120hz Samsung. Well made. Heavy for an LCD. Metal backed instead of plastic. Great picture and sound. TV mounts easily and securely to stand. The only minus I have found is a sound feature that is supposed to regulate the volume of commercials that does not work very well. This is my first hd tv. It has more connections than I will ever use. The friend who set it up for me is very tech savvy and a gamer. He said it had plenty of connections. He also confirmed that the picture is great and sound good. 04/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice I went from the 40" Samsung model that was offered before this model was released. I switched to this new model because of the better specs, and I couldn't be more pleased. The picture is beautiful, the 120 hz is very nice but you have to give your eyes a bit to adjust to the change in the picture, going from 60 frames per second is a lot less than 120, so if you don't like it at first just give it a little bit. The blueray picture is stupendous, I also play video games and I've got all three of the consoles out right now and they look great on this tv. The tv has very good speakers and the Tru- Surround feature is nice. All around it's a good tv and I would recommend it to anyone. 04/08/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rated: BEST CHOICE Of anything we've seen (under $825), Samsung's LN40C630 (40-inch) has the best picture quality, best sound, special features and value; quite honestly...this model has it all. True-Story: we were so impressed that we bought another one as a wedding gift for our son and his fiancee. 05/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by 40" Samsung HD TV I've had this TV for 2 weeks. This is my first HD TV. So far I love it. Great picture!! It's the perfect size for my family room and TV stand that I already had. It shipped quickly with free shipping and fast set-up instructions. L O V E IT!! 07/27/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by First flatscreen This is my first flatscreen and HD TV purchase. I did a fair amount of review shopping online until I decided to buy the Samsung LCD 40 inch. I was hoping to buy a 42-inch, but the 40 inch is fine for my apartment living room. I've had this TV for about three weeks now, and haven't had any problems. I think the sound could be a bit higher quality. I only have a regular DVD player plugged in at the moment, other than my Comcast Cable. The DVD works fine. My biggest surprise is that closed caption does not work with HDMI. My family is hard of hearing, so when they visit, I can't turn on the CC, unless someone can tell me how. The picture quality is great and the TV swivels on the nice looking black and clear, acrylic stand. The TV was very easy to get out of the box and placed onto the stand (I did this myself but had to ask for help to lift it onto the credenza). Remote is easy to use. The price was about $104 less to buy online vs. picking it up at the store, which I found a bit odd. So I ordered online, with the savings paying for the tax and delivery to my home basically. This Samsung model had the number of HDMI and PC inputs that I was looking for, as well as the 1080 resolution. In my research, I opted for an LCD vs the new LED/LCD TVs, which are much higher in cost and not proven in technology yet. This Samsung LCD is a beautiful TV, so here's hoping to a long lasting purchase. 12/05/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great T.V. Best picture in its class. I was actually surprised by the sound quality considering what people have to say about LCD sound. It probably helps that I have the t.v. on a stand rather than mounted on the wall, which may help project the sound. The Auto Motion Plus feature is great for sports and video games, but when turned on it gives off the “soap opera effect” for movies. Some don’t mind it, but it looks like you’re actually watching events in person, rather than watching a movie. It took me a while to figure out that when you turn off the Auto Motion (or set it to low) the picture looks much more like a movie. 11/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Samsung 40" LCD 1080p WOW WOW WOW!!! I have been shopping and waiting to find just the right piece of equipment to fit our unique entertainment center. It will hold up to a 40 flat screen LCD, but only if the outside dimensions were less than 38 5/8". Samsung not only built a unit compact enough to fit, but the quality in this monitor is bar none the BEST!! I was so glad that I went with the 1080P and the 120,000:1 contrast ratio. This gives a 3D effect on everything I watch. I have a dvd/vcr combo progressive scan unit that I hooked up to the Samsung TV and when I threw in an old Abbott and Costello vid, wow, it looked like a black and white home movie!!! I don't think there is a better TV for the price on the market. Samsung has blown away the competition. I looked at LED models for $250 more, but with the Dynamic view option on this unit, it wasn't necessary. Oh, and the 1080P just wouldn't be right if you don't have the 120Hz refresh rate. I mean, this TV is flawless. I also liked the remote. Very user friendly. I hate manuals, like any guy, and put the stand on in minutes. I also figured out all of the settings without the manual. It was fun and simple. I haven't said the best part yet. I have only tried the old fashioned white red yellow hookups so far. I can hardly wait to see what it looks like with the HDMI hookup!!! I'll have to get a newer dvd/vcr combo. I see Samsung has one for under $100! 11/02/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love It I love this thing. This is my second LCD tv. I also have a vizio 32 inch. This thing is by far a better TV. As they say, you get what you pay for. This thing is crystal clear and a pleasure to watch. My kids came to visit and could not believe how clear it was. The price is right and I'd definately get this if your in the market! 11/25/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product We purchased this Samsung TV, because we liked the features and the price. When we got the TV home, we were thrilled at what a fantastic picture it produced. The HD channels are crystal clear in clarity. All of our friends are amazed at the fantastic picture the TV produces, and so are we. We would certainly recommend this TV to others, who are looking for a great TV that produces a great picture at a reasonable price. 05/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT TV I DID MY HOMEWORK AND WAS QUITE PLEASED WITH THIS TV. I WAS A LITTLE AFRAID WHEN I PICKED THE BOX UP FROM MY LOCAL WALMART AS THE BOX WAS TORN AND RIPPED OPEN IN SEVERAL SPOTS BUT IT SEEMS NO REAL DAMAGE WAS DONE TO THE SET, IF I WERE NOT IN A RUSH THAT DAY I MAY HAVE REFUSED TO EXCEPT IT IN SUCH CONDITION. 11/08/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Pleased I will be calling in the morning because I am not pleased with my purchase. My television is making a loud static noise when I turn it on that will pierce your ears and make your jump out of your skin. It is not every time you turn it on, but it should not be happening at all. You need to replace my product immediately. Samsung is suppose to be top of the line, I'm not convinced. I expected quality!!!! 08/31/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by bad tv picture is blurry and it has no 120 hz as listed on the box. will be returning to store tomarrow. 11/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great TV bought this TV back in July/11 works great beautiful picture... has many ports for everything under the sun...smart buy...get it !! 08/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Have only had the product for 2 weeks but was very impressed with how easy it was to set up and the quality of picture. Others that have seen it also remark on the picture quality. Would recommend this product to everyone looking for a great HD TV. 12/18/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great TV scetchy screws for TV stand Just bought this TV today and the picture is amazing. I have owned LCD's before but never 1080P and 120 Hz's. Takes some getting used to with the very crisp picture and smooth motion. Only complaint is the mounting screws for the TV stand. The screw heads are soft and strip very easy. I hope I don't have to take the stand off anytime soon to wall mount it, I'm afraid I will not be able to get the stand off. Bummed! 11/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by This TV exceeded my expectations! For the last couple of months I had been comparision shopping between retailers and brands. Walmart won as the best retailer, while the TV was between Samsung and Sony. Samsung won, it exceeded all of my expectation when it arrived. Easy and quick to set up, had it on in 40 minutes and what a great picture. Thanks Walmart for helping me make the right choice! 10/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great buy! I bought this TV as part of a package deal with a DVD/sound system and HDMI cable. The TV that was shipped to me had a small pixel flaw. I took it to my local store and was able to exchange it with no problems. The second TV has excellent picture quality and good sound quality. We have been very pleased with it and look forward to many years of use. It has many kinds of connections, and we haven't had any problems hooking up our game systems and other accessories. 08/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this TV! Excellent picture and size for the price. Would buy another one if I needed to replace another TV. Item shipped day I ordered it and I got it the next day. Will use Walmart.com for future purchases. 07/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Samsung 40" Excellent picture, competitive price and free home delivery convinced me to buy this TV. I was able to set it up by myself with no problem and am very happy with my purchase. 06/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Samsung Tv Great TV, good picture, sound and easy to set up. 06/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by can't beat samsung value needed to get my mom into the 21st century and decided she needed to go high def. i had purchased a 46" samsung led and was totally blown away by the set. my mom didnt need all the bells and whistles i got with my set so i set out to research what was out there. considered sony and vizio but they didnt compare to the LN40C630 from samsung. easy to set up and use and now moms in 7th heaven watching her tennis and golf matches in high def and with brillant color and sharpness. 06/06/2010
1-23 of 23 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew195
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp