Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 42 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Alternative I bought this to first of all connect problem hard drives to my computer to try to recover data for friends. The beauty is that you can connect your own spare drive for day to day back up of your own data as well. With connections for both SATA and IDE as well as a cooling fan they pretty much have everything covered. Nice product. 03/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent This product delivered everything it promised. I'm using it to copy files from old drives to my new 1tb hard drive. It works flawlessly. No setup required. Just plug-and-play. Having the ability to do both ATA and SATA drive is a definete plus. Eventually I'm going to use this as a back-up drive but right now I haven't even closed the case. I just keep switching between old drives. Walmart delivered this product on time as promised. It was cheaper than Ebay, Amazon, Newegg, and Tigerdirect. 12/27/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Value My computer died and I saved the old hard drives, but they weren't compatible with my new computer. I saw this, wondered if it would work, and bought it. It does exactly what it says it will do. I have been able to recover all my old files and, after reformatting the old drive, I use this as my backup for all my work. 12/03/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hard Drive Enclosure This unit can accomodate either IDE or SATA and has a cooling fan. Hard combination to find. This came with a small screwdriver just in case. Recommended 09/13/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value for the Price I bought the Sabrent EC-UEIS7 USB hard drive enclosure first and foremost because it was an inexpensive enclosure with a cooling fan. For the price, you can't bet it. It worked right out of the box with the hard drive I have. I must note, there are no clear cut instructions for installing the hard drive. If this is your first time utilizing a hard drive enclosure you may want to Google the process for more detailed steps. In any case, if you're looking for a dependable enclosure for your IDE or SATA hard drive the Sabrent EC-UEIS7 is a great deal worth looking at. 06/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice I really like the idea of the built in cooling fan. It is not loud. So, if your having issues with noise its probably your hard drive not the fan. The unit itself is kinda big, but no bigger than a standard external HD. Hard drive fits in tight, so be careful not to break anything. I used it temporarily to remove data from two 80GB HD's with no problems. I now have a 500GB Seagate Barracuda permanently installed. Its on most of the day and doesn't seem to get hot. The supplied USB cable is short. I replaced it with a 20' cord so it can be connected to my MacBook Pro even on the other side of the room. 05/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does the Trick Very good product. Good construction, good cooling! 03/01/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Did not work The Sabrent EC-UEIS7 hard drive enclosure didn't work at all. Very poor directions, but easily figured out. Drive was very cramped inside the case. I tried 2 hard drives that I knew were good. (I tried the enclosure with an XP SP3 PC and a Windows 7 laptop.) Unit powered up and drives spun up. PC/laptop didn't recognize that a new USB device was connected. I tried 2 USB cables that were known to be good. Tried the master, slave, and single jumper connections, but nothing worked. Neither the PC/laptop's Device Manager nor Disk Manager could see the drives. Unit was returned to Walmart. 11/19/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by DOA Enclosure This thing did not work right out of the box. I have over 10 years of experience in the computer industry, this certainly wasn't do to improper configuration or installation of the drive. Everything fit perfectly well and seemed well enough, but when I hit the power.. nothing.. I had to jiggle the plug and tweak it around until it finally clicked on. Once it came on, i couldn't get the USB or eSATA to recognize on my Windows 7 laptop, Windows Vista laptop, or on my Macbook Pro on OSX. I saw several other reviews of this thing acting the same way so I'm not surprised. This was quickly returned to my local store for credit.. DO NOT BUY! 06/07/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't buy it Piece of junk No useful instructions came with it on the proper way to disassemble to put in hard drive 06/03/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Internal Fan is DOA I bought this because the internal connector supports IDE and SATA drives which is different than most external enclosures. I opened the case and the I noticed the fan didn't spin up which it why I gave it 2 stars. Pros: Has IDE and SATA internal connectors. eSATA and USB outside which makes this compatible with many different systems. Cons: I just installed a full-height 3.5" SATA drive and it seems not to fit. There's only enough room for a slimline drive. 02/12/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by USB hard drive case It works great. I have been using it as s backup on a server and it has been running non stop for over a monthe so far. 01/19/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Item was okay and working out of the box. Four months later, it was junk! And I hardly turn on my external hard drive. It would not read my hard drive anymore. I knew it wasn't my hard drive that was the problem. I bought a new enclosure which read my hard drive just fine. The price was great at the time. But you get what you pay for... JUNK! 11/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Instructions were weak but can be figured out. Case worked great. 11/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works as advertised; more than reasonable price. Bought unit to salvage & make use of HD from desk top computer that died, along with attempt to make use of other individual components that were still functional. As commented by others, buyers should open unit (with supplied screw driver!) to perhaps secure fan assmbly., (mine was loose) or to assure airflow is in proper direction. Easily done as fan can be easily flipped over and is held in position by "detents". Positives: Will handle both SATA & PATA HD Supplied power cord w/on-off switch. Pictorial instructions for those that can't read. Sturdy aluminum case - additional heat dissipation. Stand for vertical mounting included. Unit can be used to retrieve existing data from HD; or, used to run secondary external HD. 04/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great case for the money This is my second purchase of this case. I am using this case as a swappable removable media case for my Windows Small Business Server Essentials backup swap-out. It supports Sata and ATA drives internally and supports E-SATA and USB externally. It has a cooling fan which is a must for drive reliability. It also has status LED lights letting you know when there is drive activity. The case is well built and provides exceptional reliability due to the cooling fan and the low price is an added boost. Why would you pay $10-$15 or even more for a case with the same capabilities just for some brand name. I totally recommend this case for its intended uses. 02/07/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Used merchandise I purchased this item expecting a factory fresh, sealed unit. What I received was a previously opened and hastily repacked, used item. The inner bags were open, the accessory wires and connectors were loose in the box, and the screw heads were damaged by someone with Popeye-like screwdriver skills. The product seems to work, so I will decide later whether to return it. (Hopefully, it would not be re-sold to another naive customer. I am somewhat disappointed. 01/07/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice enclosure for permanent drive installations This is a really nice little enclosure that does what I want it to. It fits IDE and SATA drives and connects plug and play through the USB ports. The only con is that the connects aren't really designed to have drives swapping out on a regular basis. I busted the power connector for the drives because I was swapping out multiple drives of an evening and the effort needed to disconnect the power plug from the drive caused me to loose one of the wires from its mooring. I say mooring because the wires are not soldered to the plug but are a quick connect type with a sort of cut-connect that strips the plastic from the wire when you attach the wire to the plug. I reconnected the wire and hobbled through the drives I needed to download. I'm happy. It worked for what I needed it to, but if you're looking for something that is no hassle, use this only for permanently installing the drive in the enclosure. It's not designed with enough sturdiness to truly handle regular drive swapping. 12/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Simple Install Instructions are worthless, and are really unnecessary. Super Simple Install of your pre-formatted hard drive (ten screws, two cables, one usb cable and power supply later) takes less then 5 minutes and your up and running. Everything needed is in box, including the screw driver (an unexpected, but very nice touch). Please note: Make your life easy and pre-format your NEW hard drive first. If your using an older/used drive you can format them from within windows if you wish, but you do not have too. 08/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Periphial I purchased this to use an old hard drive from a dead desktop, so that I could use it for an external hard drive. It came in at the appointed time, took me about 5 minutes to set up and it has worked great. I can actually leave it plugged in and running continuously with out the hdd overheating. Admittedly it is a snug fit, but it has to be to keep your hard drive from banging around and becoming damaged. Kudos WalMart for stocking this product! 07/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works perfect. Easy to assemble. I put an old hard drive in the enclosure and now can access photos and music from the drive. It was ver easy to assemble and worked almost immediately when inserted in the USB port. I use it daily and have had no problems. 06/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional value Product does everything it is advertized to do. Fan keeps the drive cool. Comes with everything needed. I have been able to recover my data from two bad drives. Great product. 06/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice product, large fan The large fan helps to keep whatever HD you put in quite cool (which helps service life). I've bought a few dozen of these (from various sources) and have never had a problem. Only downside: The stand isn't affixed firmly so moving the drive lets the stand fall off. I usually use a piece of packing tape to hold the stand on. Problem solved. :D 05/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by quality product Drive fits in case perfectly. Up and running in minutes using Windows 7. Very quiet. Might buy another Thank you Walmart. 05/03/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hard Drive Case Good Product, Good Price, Works Well. 04/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Inexpensive and does what it says. The fan is quiet, which is great. 04/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly what I needed When our desktop died and we replaced the tower (another excellent WalMart purchase, by the way), we needed a way to get photos, videos, etc. off the old hard drive and onto the new one, but the new tower had no expansion bays. Then I spotted this device on Site-to-Store for under $30. It arrived inside a week, is actually more attractive than the pictures suggest, and is so easy to use. The drives are a bit snug in the case, but are easy to swap out, especially if you remove both sides to better manipulate the drives in and out. It was plug 'n play easy once attaced to the new computer, and it was a breeze go through files of the old hard drive and copy important items to the new computer. And now we can still use the old hard drive as a backup device. This thing was perfect! NOTE: You can only use the eSATA port on this device if the hard drive you place in it is the SATA type, and your computer also has an eSATA port. Otherwise, don't buy an eSATA cable since you won't be able to use it. Which is OK, since the USB works fine. 03/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Helpmate Used to house a drive from a dead pc and though not used every day has done its job. 03/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by MicroPac EC-UEIS7 Thie is a very nice product if you want to be able to swap out IDE and SATA hard drives to retrieve data. Both types of hard drives are supported and automatically recognized when connected and powered on. The enclosure can be used with USB or ESATA for faster copying of files. 03/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by works with windows 7 works with windows 7 64 bit. windows picked it up fast and is plug and play 02/10/2011
1-30 of 38 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw501
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp