See All Reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 30 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome I have 3 cats, a dog, and a child on the way. Needless to say, I figured I would go all in on a good steam cleaner especially after we had bought 2 others for $200 and both have broken since. I have to tell you, after one use, this thing was fantastic. It sucked up things in one swoop that usually took 5 or 6 passes with my old steam cleaner. I was able to do my entire basement in 30 minutes vs 1 and a half hours because I only needed to do one or 2 passes with each cleaning stride. This thing is the real deal I promise you. I told my wife that it was the best $398 I ever spent and I totally mean it. It may sound weird, but I actually found it fun to clean my carpet. That is how good this thing is. 04/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best of the carpet cleaners I've tried many other carpet cleaning machines and have always been so unhappy with their performance. This machine is 5 stars all the way. Yes it is a bit more money but worth every penny, it cleans in one swipe, is dependable and built to last. 06/15/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by NOT as good as the commercial models I've rented!! I purchased this machine about a month ago and I was very disappointed with it. My biggest complaint is that while the commercial models that I have rented in the past have brushes that constantly vibrate this one only scrubs the carpets while the cleaner is being dispensed. With the commercial ones I would normally make a pass while adding cleaner and then make another pass to scrub and vacuum up the remaining water. Repeating as necessary. With this machine you have to be dispensing fluid for the brushes to scrub so if you go back over a strip of carpet with the brushes going you're just adding more water. Speaking of water, with my carpet, which is a short plush piled carpet, I find that only about 20% of the water is recovered even if I go back over it a second time with just the vacuum running. The commercial version did a much better job of water recovery. That being said, this is still a decent machine and does a great job of scrubbing out stains but since most of the water stays in the carpet I don't know if I'm really cleaning it as much as just scrubbing the stains and letting all the dirty water sink into the padding. 05/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE THIS MACHINE Between my parents and I we've own both the the other brands. While they are good products they don't compare to a Rug Doctor clean. I recently invested in the Mightly Pro because my folks own several rentals that I've been cleaning and I knew the cost would pay for it's self in no time with rental savings. Plus it's nice to have on hand when the urge hits to clean the carpets late at night. No time limit, I can clean a room and a week later clean another. Or in my case, my shampooer no longer dispenanced soap, so when I did the bathroom I had to do the hallway, then I saw how dirty the carpets were and I had to do the livingroom, lol. This week I took it over and did a heavy use area at the folks house. When we get around to it, their living room is next, well maybe the 2 rentals and then the living room. It's nice to have choices. 09/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow. Really Impressed. I just moved back into a house I had rented out. and man were the carpets trashed. Had a professional company come out and clean and the carpets looked good the first day, but after that the stains came back. I cleaned half my carpet a week ago and the stains are still gone. Stains that have been here over a year are gone. WOW... Simple to use and alot better then every other cleaner i have ever wasted money on. Even though this was a little more money than some it works 1,000% better than any oreck or hoover i have ever owned. Only issue i have is it uses water fast, but that maybe me more user error since i was moving really slow since the carpets are so dirty. 12/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product WORTH EVERY DIME. IF YOU'VE EVER USED THE RENTED VERSION, THIS WORKS JUST AS WELL AND HAVING IT AVAILABLE 24 HOURS A DAY IS PRICELESS IF YOU HAVE PETS AND DOGS. THERE ARE NO NEGATIVES TO THIS UNIT! 12/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth the money. After wearing out 2 Bissel machines, I tried the Rug Dr. It's SO much better! Cleans better and leaves carpet dryer than the Bissel. Wish I bought it years ago! Very happy with this purchase. Miss the on-board attachments, but they can be purchased separately and I plan to do so. 03/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have lived in apartment complexes for 50 years in four states, and I have shampooed my carpet every 3 to 4 months. I recently moved to a new, larger apartment with a thick, fabulous-looking carpet, and I decided to investigate purchasing a carpet-shampooing machine. I visited several online vendors for rug-shampooing machines. I inquired with the manufacturer first and was disuaded because of price. Bizrate.com listed the Rug Doctor Pro 3 with Walmart for a discount of $300. Walmart stated the machine was in stock and could ship it free to the Walmart store in Houston, Texas, that I frequent in just two days, and would send an e-mail to me when the machine arrived in Houston. I am very pleased with the Rug Doctor Pro 3, and it performs just as advertised. The fact that the Rug Doctor Pro 3 was awarded a Good Housekeeping Seal confirmed my decision to purchase the machine from Walmart. 10/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by It works just like the ones in the store to rent..My hubby used it. He loved it..Worth the money! 11/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding appliance I always wanted one of these commercial carpet cleaners, I have rented them in the past but it's nice to have one on hand so you can clean one room at a time, let it dry, then do another room the next day. You can clean rugs too, and there's also an upholstery wand you can use to clean the carpet in your car, or your sofa. This cleaner is so easy to use, there is a huge 3 gallon tank, a super long power cord, and this package already came with the cleaning chemical. Call me weird, but it's quite satisfying to see how filthy the water is when you drain it out, it's so nice to walk barefoot on super-clean carpet. This machine is not going to remove really stubborn, deep-down stains, you'll have to scrub those out by hand if they will even come out at all. It's louder than a vacuum cleaner, and quite powerful, but it's easy to use and you don't need a lot of muscle to maneuver it around. I'm very happy with this carpet cleaner, it's quite small and the handle folds down so you can store it anywhere. Don't let your neighbors see you using it, or they'll want to borrow it, LOL. 12/22/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 Uses way too much Water/Formula. It cleans great but I had to returned it because the amount of water and formula that it uses. With a full tank of water/formula mix, about 2 gallons, I could only clean an area of about 10x8 feet and that was by going over only once. 10/11/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Does a decent job I called rug doctor direct to find ot if this machine makes steam. I was told that it does but that is not true, it does not even heat the water that you put in. I bought the machine and have used it after my 2 dogs shed and messed up my rugs. It did not do as good a job as Stanley Steamer, but long term it will be less expensive and more convenient...the job it does is acceptable. You can see in the recovered water how much dirt you are extracting The pros are that it is rather simple to use and the products that you use with it are effective, readily available, and somewhat reasonably priced. The cons: The machine is not commercial quality as the advertising would have you believe, it is not really very sturdy and wants to tip over backwards unless you are wary of this, it does use a lot of cleaning soluton ( water with cleaner), and does not really let you know when you have run out of it unless you are really looking for it. Not realizing that you have run out of liquid can ruin the machine, according to the instructions. The handle is not firmly attached, it "gives" a little. After I used the machine, I looked underneath to get a better idea where the solution comes out and where the brush is. I found a mess of wet debris stuck all over the bottom, that had I left on would have been a source of mold and mildew. If you buy direct from Rug Doctor you pay $300 more (believe it or not). When I had them on the phone and mentioned this to them, they hung up on me. Overall, if I had it to do over,I would probably still buy the machine...the urine treatment that comes with it does work better than any other product that I have tried, including "nature's miracle" which is supposed to be the best. 05/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very tough and powerful carpet cleaner I purchased this as a replacement for a Hoover SteamVac 77 - the Hoover lasted two weeks then began to leak water from the accessory hose. The Rug Doctor is a commercial grade product, it's supposed to be the very same unit you can rent from almost any hardware store. The just color it blue so you don't try to rent it out yourself. The rug doctor is designed to clean when it's going BACKWARDS (I read the manual last night) - the water jet is in the rear, the brushes are in the middle, and the vacuum is in the front. This is so you don't walk over the wet carpet. I had just cleaned the carpet with my Hoover MaxExtract / SteamVac 77 on Saturday night - on Sunday evening, it broke. On Monday night, I returned the Hoover and purchased the Rug Doctor - and just for kicks ran it over the carpet again. I'm amazed at how much more dirt the Rug Doctor sucked from the carpet - just 48 hours after using the Hoover on it. It even sucked out small pieces of gravel I hadn't even realized were in the carpet. 07/31/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Pass on this one. I'll get right to the point, buy this cleaner if you want a work out from filling the tank every two minutes. You get two passes before the water needs to be changed. Carpets professionally cleaned a year ago so not really that dirty. The tank is just too small for a cleaner this size. Wish tank was bigger. It does clean decently if you have the patience. 05/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I've gone through two home machines in the past two years and they just don't hold up. The cost of the Rug Doctor with it's 5 year warranty cost me less than the two previous machines combined and will last much much longer. 01/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3 It works as well as the rental ones in the stores. I only wish that it came with attachments. But, you can purchase them at Rug Doctor's site as well as replacement parts. I got the extended warranty, but then realized it has a 5 year warranty already. Nice steam and vac! 12/18/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I have 3 dogs that still can't make it outside all the time. Needless to say, my home is not the right place for a white carpet, but thanks to the mighty pro, I can clean the rug anytime I want with professional results. The extraction process is superior to most rented systems and it has a good capacity in both the dispenser and extraction repository. It is easy to maneuver and use. 12/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best you can buy. After renting the Rug Doctor many times in my life, i decided to buy one. It will pay for itself in 5 years. I like the fact the repair parts seem to not cost too much and look pretty simple to replace myself. It work perfect, if you know how to use it the way it was made to be used. 07/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Effective tool. Handle folds to retain space. The Rug Doctor effectively cleaned the carpet. It has a small water tank requiring frequent refills. Walmart had the best online price for this product. It is nice to know I could return it if I was dissatisfied. I ordered it online, and picked it up at a nearby store within 4 hours. Walmart beat Amazon on price here, also on service if needed. The unit is not remarkably heavy. It seems to be made well, and I expect it to last a long time. BE sure to research out cleaning fluid for the Rug Doctor. Fluids can be more effective and cheaper if purchased right. My carpet now looks just like the professional cleaning guy's job, at a fraction of the price. It is kind of an oxy looking thing, but quality of the clean makes up the difference. 04/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by i have rented this many times ;and hav purshesed other cheper brands that woked well 2 or mabe 4 times utell thay failed,this time i saw the rug doc i know worked but spendy,just two rent! but have spent way more buying cheper brands.that worked but did not last.2 and a have rentesl paid for the doc;so i bit the bulet and got my own.i thout if it can with stand the rentel abuse thing ;it shuold do me just fine if it is the same one thay rent/ther i hade fear it would be a cheper,model-well it is not .i love it.it is the same one you can rent;it kiks but over the other ones iv had to replace'.it was as much as thay said is was and more'and walmarts order and pickup.free shiping.is the best-i have orderd other things from them that arived brokin .i took it back to walmart .thinking hear we go the run a round; i was plesantly suprised thay gave me cash right ther no guff,ya i had to go back on line and order agin;becus thay dont carie on line stuff in the store.but thay were.very nice,didnot give me any troubel att all,with free shiping ya cant go rong .if you check pricing.at other places.walyworld cant be beat .and thay have a lot more stuf online.then thay have in store.so i am ok waiting for my replacment,and the price being much cheper than any where else dose not hert.just wait for he e mail .stop on my way to work.and thats it.and the cool thing is there on line slection is so much more than any store could ever carry 05/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent shampoer cleans carpet much better than reular shampoers.It is compact for a comercial shampo cleaner 10/07/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by I really like the rug doctor, but when I got it, it did not run. Had to get someone in and they checked the connections and discovered that they were not connected. Then Sam's Club sent me a notice that they were selling this item for the same cost and they included the furniture attachments, which I did not receive when I bought this machine. 09/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Had to get one Rented one of thes Rug Doctors from our local Lowe's. Was just about done with the rug and went to do my steps and it broke. Returned it & rented one from Price Chopper, that was broken when I went to use it. Search the valley I live to find another and I couldn't. Went online and I am purchasing one of my very own. Nobody else will use it and nobody else will break it. I don't blame Rug doctor for the bronken ones. They had to be serviced and weren't prior to my using them. I called the company and they told me what to do and what the problem was. I got a number and was able to return them without any problem and get my money back. I can't wait until mine arrives. I am going to have the cleanest carpets ever. 05/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The mighty pro max 3 is so excellent I bought one for my sister!! When someone in Your family realizes what you have, they're constantly borrowing it. Walmart sells them cheaper than anyone! Site to store is your best option. My other recommendation is to get the floor attachment and hand attachment. Walmart doesn't carry but you can get them online from rugdoctor.com. As you can tell, I absolutely love the mighty pro max 3 and highly recommend it to everyone that needs a easy and efficient way to clean your carpets and floors. The hand attachment allows you to clean upholestly in your home and in your car, motor home, basically whatever you want! It's a great investment. Get yours now!! 04/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This thing rocks! This is the best carpet cleaner I have had. We have three dogs and I am constantly using a the rug shampooer. I got sick and tired of buying the cheapo rug shampooer every six months to a year and after having this for a few weeks, I am certain it will last quite a bit longer and probably end up saving me money as I will not have to keep replacing it. This leaves my carpets far cleaner than the other cleaners I have had in the past. If you are thinking about buying this one - I would say definately do it! 04/09/2012
1-26 of 26 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw513
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp