See All Reviews
Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 28 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by no frills just adequate a simple toaster oven (rack can be adjusted up and down) that gets the job done. 01/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A greater toaster oven! Excellent for the price. I had a similar one for six years! It just died! 04/10/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointed Our family received this oven as an Xmas gift. We have since tried toasting bread and heating up food. Evenly toasted bread impossible and knobs needlessly difficult to set. Had to take toast out early no matter how dial was set. What ever happened to a simple lever to make toast? Heating up food on tray was also a disappointment. Heating elements are placed so that food is heated unevenly. Save your money and get something better! 12/31/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not functional Purchased based on simplicity of use. If you use the toaster part of it choose something else. The knobs are not easy to turn if your hands are wet and you will never get you bread toasted the same. No matter if you put it on "lite" you will have to remove your toast before the timer goes off. If you want to use the "oven" part of it you have to turn the "toast" button and then the other button to "stay on". Better to use one that keeps the settings the same all the time. 12/21/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good for the price There are a couple of things I don't like: the door closes if you don't have it open all the way; since you can't put the tray in the middle, toast gets too done on one side. A couple of things I do like: pegs in the back prevent it from being pushed against the wall; heats quickly; nice size; good price. 08/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Glad I ignored the negative reviews! I REALLY like this toaster oven. I used to have a cheap tiny little one and this one is WAY better. We are vegetarian and we cook alot of veggie burgers. Our old one could only fit 2 at a time, this one does 5 comfortably. The temp. control does work (unlike the other reviews that say it doesnt) and you can see the heating elements go from glowing bright less and less bright as the temp. knob is turned down. As far as items burning, I have not had any problems. I guess if people are impatient and walk away and dont watch it when toasting bread then it may be a problem. Im really glad I got this and did not take the bad reviews seriously. I did give it 4 stars for features because the knobs are a little tough to turn backwards (like to turn it off when its done but the timer still has time left). The price is nice and low so it definately makes up for it! 12/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by RIVAL 4-SLICE TOASTER OVEN I BOUGHT THIS AS A GIFT FOR MY NEPHEW. HE JUST RAVED ABOUT IT. HE'S BEEN USING IT ON A DAILY BASIS EVER SINCE . IT MATCHES HIS KITCHEN PEFECTLY. WANT TO THANK WALMART FOR THE GREAT PRICE AND QUALITY. BEST PART I DIDN'T HAVE TO LEAVE MY HOUSE,IT WAS SHIPPED RIGHT TO HIS DOOR!!!! 09/10/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cheap but not great This oven does most of the cooking the way you want it to. But when I had to bake anything, it almost always got burnt. This oven does not support temperature settings for baking. It always stays at 400-425 degrees. Most of the baking that I need to do is at 350 degrees. So, if you want to cook well, go for a better model that lets you select temperature, mode and time separately. However, this is probably the cheapest toaster oven in the market. So, if price is more important than cooked product, this is a good option. 03/03/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by excellent value and functionality/would be a better product if top was insulated to stop high heat transfer 07/31/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by TERRIBLE AS TOASTER!!! DON'T BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!!! sorry I didn't read reviews before buying. I put toast on med. It came out hard and black. Put it on light. came out the same. put it between light and off and the ends came out burnt. I now put the toast between light and off and watch it until it gets toasted. then I put more bread in and complete the cycle. It's horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! hoping I can return it even tho' used. 06/04/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by GREAT VALUE !!! 11/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can bake a small chicken! Great smaller unit. Broils, bakes or does both at the same time. Will hold a small oval Pyrex baking dish. You can roast a small chicken if you remove all globs of fat, the tail and wing tips, and cut out the back bone. Just line the included broil pan with foil, spritz it w/oil, season the bird how you like & bake a couple of hours. AND you can keep other foods warm on the top of it while waiting for what's inside. I use it most every day for English muffins. Gets 'm nice & toasty. This unit, an electric griddle, and a little microwave...perfect bachelorette kitchen. 07/20/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible!! This toaster oven is truly a complete waste of money. I think it has burned every single item I have attempted to warm in it. There is really nothing redeeming about it - an absolute piece of junk. 09/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than I expected. Easy to clean, store and use. Awesome product! 07/03/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Almost worth the $18.00. As I sit eating my overtoasted mini bagels (vs. tossing them like yesterday's burned toast), I echo what others have said: the toasting feature has two settings: "off" and "burned to a crisp". You have to sit there an watch your toast. And the timer dial is both tapered (like a cone) and super smooth, plus it is spring wound (for the clicking timer) so there is little grip to turn it against the power of the internal spring. Bought for office use, I wanted "inexpensive" but got "cheap". I didn't expect it to be so bad but I'll try it a bit longer. 05/25/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Save your money and buy a better unit! This baby gets hot! All sides will burn your hands. The door is spring loaded and will flip closed while you're adding or removing items, to burn you. It is a pretty small oven so don't expect to make a full meal in it. Thermostat is off badly and not very accurate. It's very hard to control the oven temperature. Once you add your food, the temp will drop drastically and take forever to climb back up again to bake properly, throwing you baking time off. The Bake Option is useless! It will send the temperature up to 450 with no control over the temp. Very few things can be baked at 450 max. It has two slim heating elements. One across the bottom and the one across top will brown and burn your food with a streak across the center of it. I believe the lack of insulation anywhere on this model is the main cause of very very poor baking abilities. It's a complete waste of money and I do not recommend it to anyone. Rick 05/06/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by uneven toasting, flimsy I have no idea of the durability, but the toaster is light and flimsy. You have to hold it with one hand while setting the toaster dial with the other. Toasts unevenly - one piece of bread will be burned in parts and untouched in others. It's not even on a side-to-side thing, where you could turn the bread around and get an even toasting. Its only good point is it is small, so it doesn't take up half the counter like my old one did. It's cheap, but not cheap enough to make it a good value. 10/21/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Knobs The knobs are a little difficult to turn. The unit is a nice white and compact. I bought two so my cabin will have the same unit as the house. 10/26/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Better than most small TOs, but not Bake mode. Bake mode, which uses only bottom element, is not controlled by the thermostat setting, rather it runs at a fixed 450F.!! Too hot for most purposes. The thermostat only controls Toast mode, both elements active, where it is unnecessary, as the timer is sufficient. Rival is a Walmart exclusive house brand, built for and to Walmart specs by Sunbeam. Walmart could correct this design error if they would so choose. Then they would have a 5 star small TO! 08/19/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Burns - not toasts I had a Black and Decker toaster oven for more than 10 years. One day it stopped working so I went down to Walmart to get a new B&D. They didn't have the size I needed in stock and since I needed one right away I chose this Rival model figuring they were all the same. Wrong. The first thing I noticed is that once I put it on my counter and slid it in place the little feet left black marks along my counter. I was able to wash them off but it's really a pain that every time I need to move this (to get it away from the wall since it gets SO hot or to clean# that I actually have to pick it up and can't just slide it or I have to clean the counter of the black tracks. And I have had trouble with the bottom door (crumb tray# staying closed. When I set the dial to 450 degrees to toast it burns a line on my bread where the heating element is while the rest of the bread gets barely toasted. I tried turning the temperature down #even though they say toast is 450 degrees) and that helps but I ended up having to cut my bread in half and arranging it on either side of the element to prevent this. Besides toast, anything else I put in there I have had to keep a careful eye on since its so unpredictable. This means extra time in the kitchen because I can't walk away and do anything else or I end up with burnt food. There is no way to turn this off if I'm done toasting/baking. I can turn the temperature down to zero and the heating element shuts off but the timer keeps going even if I turn it to zero. I also don't like that the oven stays on even when the door is open. #My old one shut off when the door was open and back on when I closed it). This means I have to be extra careful trying to re-arrange the food - as I have since it burns so much - because the heating elements stay on. The baking tray fits in slots which I find hard to see and get the tray into smoothly. Overall, the only good thing I can say about this is that it is ok looking, a good size for my kitchen and the price was very low. But as soon as the B&Ds are back in stock, I'm getting rid of this Rival and getting a toaster oven that actually works like it's supposed to. 07/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I read some reviews before I ordered this toaster oven and most were negative and some were positive. But I decided to take a chance anyway, well am glad I did because it works great, I haven't had any problems with it. It does what it has to do and that works for me. 04/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by You get what you pay for Its great in some ways but it will burn toast quick. Its hard to explain but the heat mostly goes to the center, so you have to make sure to watch the toast. 03/12/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor design makes it very hard to use I bought this a few days ago to replace an old oven that I left behind when I relocated; as a single person I prefer to use one of these rather than a big oven. This one seemed to have all the features I needed, and the price was right. But the first time I tried to use it I knew there would be problems. The biggest is that the knobs are very, *very* hard to turn. For one thing, they don't move easily. But even worse, they're smooth, which makes them really slippery; even with dry hands (and dry knobs) I had to use a towel for extra traction (one of those jar-opener things would have been better, but I didn't have one). Also, the oven comes with a timer; the owner's manual said that in order to set a shorter time, like 5 minutes, you had to turn the knob past 10 minutes and then move it back. I've seen those instructions on other timers so that wasn't a surprise. But trying to turn the knob *back* was even harder than turning it forward - almost impossible, in fact. And if your food gets cooked before the timer runs out, forget about manually moving the knob to "off"; it won't go there. I had to remove the food, pull the plug out of the wall (for both safety and to save electricity), and then let the timer just run out on its own. So far I've used only the "toast" setting, but that doesn't work well either; on the "medium" setting I've had to manually remove the bread before the timer was finished just to keep it from burning. (And then pull the plug and let the timer run out, of course.) So, would I recommend this to anyone? No. Am I keeping it? Also no. It's going back to the store as soon as I have transportation to get there. 02/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value This toaster oven toasts very fast. I have to put the dial on the lightest setting. Good size. The dials are difficult to turn, if you've turned too far and need to dial back. But overall, it's a very good item for the price. 02/10/2012
1-25 of 25 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew214
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp