See All Reviews
Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron
Remington S5500 Anti-Static Digital Ceramic 1" Flat Iron
$14.92
List Price: $19.99
You Save: $5.07 (25%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 339 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by straight and steady! After my super expensive flat iron ceramic plate had fallen out, i decided a twenty dollar straightner would do just as well. As i was so happy i was right! This straightner heats up in less than a minute, and although the plates may seem small, they can get any hair job done. Personally i have thick curly hair, but if this straightner can flatten out my kinks, im positive this product can make your hair beatuiful too. 03/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bang for your Buck! Needed a dual voltage hair straightener for my trip to Ireland. Been using now for a couple weeks. Works better than those expensive ones. Heats quickly!!! Works great! Im glad I purchased! Worth every penny! 02/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by finally found the right straighter ok so first of all this product should be $100 for its value. my hair is thick curly poofy and only managable in the water. it usually takes me 4 hours to straighten my hair, this time it only took an hour. simply amazing. a day after my hair is still shiny and not a frizz in sight. i wish i could upload pictures or a video. if you have poofy hair with tight curls this is the answer to your prayers. just add some olive oil (for hair) after your done to give your hair some moisture and added protection against frizz. if you dont buy this for $16 you are insane and missing out on beautiful hair. 07/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Straightener is AMAZING!! I got this straightener Saturday and tested it out and it works amazingly. Usually my hair is a giant poof after i wash it but this straightener definitely fixes that problem. Its a great flat iron for such a low price. I've definitely recommended this flat iron to everyone that i've seen lol 05/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Buy I had recently owned the Remington Wet2Straight for about 4-5 years, And it Finally broke. So I was in desperate need for a new flat iron. I had planned on purchasing another Wet2Straight But I seen this one instead. So I figured I'd give it a shot. I automatically fell in love with it. It use to take me about 30 minutes to do my hair. Now it takes me about 10. Don't let the little plates fool you. It gets the job done. 06/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST FLATIRONS FOR THE PRICE I love these flatirons with all my heart. They straighten with ease and they curl amazing. I'm not a professional but I'm pretty good at doing my own hair and I loved these because they made the prettiest curls. Unfortunately mine broke but I am about to re-purchase these. That's how amazing they are. DO NOT LET THE PRICE DISCOURAGE YOU!!!! They are amazing and good quality. Mine broke from my own misuse, it had nothing to do with the flatirons. 11/29/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Straightener! So this is like the best flat iron that i have ever used. My mom and I used to share her straightener but I really wanted my own but I didn't want to spend the same amount of money that she did for hers. So I went to Walmart to find a cheap affordable but also good quality straightener. So I saw a few, but then I saw this one. This is really good on any kind of hair. I love everything about it. I love how long it is. And i love how there's a swivel cord that's long. I love the color and i love how you can lock the temperature by holding down the minus sign and i love how you can lock it when you're done with it to store away. I also love how it takes on 30 seconds to heat up. The only thing that I have negative to say about this Remington Straightener is that it take like 20 mins for it to cool off and that's a long time to me. But over all this is a very good straightener and its a pretty color. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a good flat iron. 07/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My hair has never looked better! I have bought $20 hair straighteners before and was disappointed. I have been using a $40 one for a few years and it worked "ok" but my friends who had more expensive ones always had smooth straight hair. I have blonde fine straight hair but even when using my previous straightener I was never fully satisfied with the outcome of my hair. After looking at the reviews for this one I decided to give it a try and since the price was so low I figured that it wouldn't hurt my wallet too much. I am so happy with this straightener my hair has NEVER looked this good. There is NO reason anyone should pay alot of money for a good straightener anymore! 08/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My first flat iron is the best flat iron! I love this straightner my hair is poofy and curly and I always used to have it in a ponytail because everyone made fun of my hair but because of this straightner I can let my hair down and not hear any mean things come out of peoples mouths instead I get compliments :) 12/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great flat iron, especially for the price! I've been needing a new flat iron (or hair straigtener) for the past 2 years, but I never wanted to dish out about $70+ for a new, amazing one. About a week or 2 ago, I was shopping at Walmart and just decided to take a look and saw that this particular hair straightener was on sale for $14.97 (orig. price $19.97, still NOT bad). Quickly, I took out my cell phone and looked up reviews and saw it always got at least 4.5-5 stars for most of the people who purchased it. So, I bought it. Right when I got home, I started to use it and saw that it heated up in 30 seconds (VERY TRUE) and I even figured out how to curl my hair with it right away. It's such an amazing product and very worth the $15 I spent on it, right now it looks like it's on sale for $16.77 online, which still isn't bad. IF YOU NEED A NEW HAIR STRAIGHTENER + HAIR CURLER, THIS IS IT! BUY IT! 08/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This flat iron is actually really good on my hair, the reviews really didn't help me at first because you know, most inexpensive flat irons don't work on african american hair. i have between a 3b and 4b type hair and it comes out straight with just enough body. the iron is also pretty good at making flips and curls too. hope this helps 04/02/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Don't expect magic So, I got a wild hair and decided to try a different flat iron to see if I could find a good quality one much cheaper than the CHI I had already invested in. I settled on this because of the mostly positive reviews, the ability to reach temps over 400 degrees (I think the CHI only goes to 370, and the temp cannot be adjusted), the digital readout and the swivel cord. The product was delivered to my door two weeks ago on Friday July 1st. For a point of reference, I have thick, coarse, relaxed African hair. Pros 1) It heats up fast. It took about a minute to heat up to 390 degrees, which was the highest temperature at which I felt comfy flat-ironing my hair. The digital display blinked while heating and stopped when it reached the desired heat, so I could be sure I was at the temp I wanted to flat iron my hair at. 2) The wide blades made the entire flat-ironing process much faster. It normally takes about 45 minutes to an hour to get my hair flat-ironed (I have hair to my shoulder blades but there's a lot of it, and I'm not very fast), but I was able to flat iron wider sections at a time and therefore finish faster (in about a half hour). Cons 1) I don't know if the specific product I received was defective, but the blades were rougher than I expected. Because of that the friction was quite high as I could hear my hair sliding through the blades during the process. I didn't particularly care for the feeling. 2) Other than getting my hair straight, it didn't do anything for the texture of my hair or the shine. At the time I thought it may have been the products I used to wash and condition my hair, because I had bought a whole bunch of new ones to try. So this past weekend I used my usual shampoo and deep conditioned as usual. To truly test the iron, I sectioned my hair into two parts and used this flat iron on the back section, and my CHI on the front section. While I was able to finish the back much faster because of the longer blades, the back section felt distinctly rougher to the touch than the front section, which felt much smoother and a lot more silky. And the shine was more obvious in the front section too. Conclusion I'm not an expert but from my experience, I would say the ceramic coating on the blades of this iron isn't thick enough to produce any noticeable benefits to your hair, aside from straightening it. My hair did not feel softer or smoother or more silky after using this, compared to the CHI. It will do a good job of straightening your hair, but don't expect more than that. 07/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! This product was absolutely mind blowing! I DON'T REGRET IT & NEVER WILL! I bought this to go away to college with because I couldn't take my other Remington iron with me since I shared it with my mom so I decided to buy my own. I decided to get this product because I know how fabulous Remington irons are. (As I mentioned earlier I already had a Remington iron before so I knew I was getting my money's worth.) Actually for the performance level of Remington irons the fact that they are usually under $20 is amazing within itself. I LOVE IT!!! This iron is actually the newer version of the one I already had. This one has a digital temperature setting which is absolutely perfect. It comes with a guide to tell you which temperature is best based on your hair texture - I use 350 degrees (normal) and when I tell you it works well that's an understatement! It works way beyond my expectations each and every time! It heats up extremely quickly! 30secs max and I mean max! You can lock and unlock the iron if you want & the swivel cord is convenient. The cool part is how it tells you that's its done heating up. No I lied the way it straightens your hair is amazing. I usually bump my hair because I hate completely straightening it & it can curl beautifully. I STRONGLY RECOMMEND THIS IRON! I lent it to both of my friends - one has fine textured hair and the other course & their hair came out as beautiful as mine. The best iron I've ever had which says alot because the other Remington iron I had was also remarkable so the fact they improved on it was surprising. I didn't know it could get any better! 11/01/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by perfect for "ethnic hair" I was hesitant on getting this because I have tried several straightners from stores that were under $30 that barely did the job. This one gets hot and straightens the hair well. I am nigerian and have very thick "black" hair. This removes all the kinks and naps in my hair. I love it. I would recommend it to anyone including my white friends. 02/12/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by its a pretty good straighter for it to be drugstore the rounded plates are great for curling temperature setting are good it has a swiffel cord and its long very decent 01/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Awesome! I ordered on Wednesday got it on Friday, so super fast shipping. I ordered 2-3 day shipping, and after the handling day it was only one day. I have really frizzy curly hair, and it took less then an hour(when slightly damp) to straighten it. I usually end up in the bathroom for an hour and a half with other products. The color is nice, and the lock feature is great and easy to use. It is an inexpensive copy of the chi brand. It is worth it!!!! 02/12/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Value I really like the temperature settings - I can get by with the lowest temp and still get away with one to two passes and my hair is straight. Great bargain for the price! 03/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING. I have extremely thick and curly hair. I have used so many straighteners at so many different prices, and I can honestly say that this is the best straightener I have used. It heats up very quickly and it makes my hair VERY straight. This is perfect for any hair type! PLEASE USE A HEAT PROTECTOR! 07/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really Great Flat Iron! I have used the professional grade CHI for the past few years. It stopped working and I needed a new flat iron. After reading the reviews I was encouraged about the product, plus the price is ridiculously inexpensive for what you get. The flat iron works as well as/if not better than the CHI. My hair is thick, frizzy and wavy and this flat iron made it silky, smooth and straight with one pass. The plates are not as smooth as the CHI but I find it hasn't damaged my hair yet. This is a great buy and with the two year warranty how can it get better? 09/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Buy This product is just as good as other, very expensive, brand name flat irons. Everything gets five stars with the exception of color. Having said that, color doesn't matter to me with such a great priced product. The heating temperature reaches 410 in literally seconds and is constant for extended periods of time. Definitely recommend this product! 01/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it♥ I've owned a CHI for years but it was starting to pull my hair so it was time for a new Flat Iron.. Saw the reviews and just to tell you its awesome! Love it! 11/20/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Biggest bang for the buck I just bought my second Remington flat iron. The plates on the first had begun to wear the coating off the edges after 18 months of daily use, and it was taking longer to heat up. But all in all, I have been so pleased with both. The new one hits 410 degrees in less than 30 seconds. When I got my first iron, I wondered how I ever lived without one. For the price, it is an excellent value. There are other irons far more expensive, but I doubt they do any better of a job. I have thick, wavy hair that is usually smooth, but live in a humid climate in the summer which wreaks havoc on hair. So this iron gets a lot of use in the summer especially. I have never had any fried hair or complaints that I felt it caused any damage. But I always use a heat protecting serum. Why spend a fortune on a flat iron when you can get the same bang for fewer bucks? 11/15/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Flat Iron Super great product. I purchased three of them! One of them for me and two for Christmas gifts. I actually bought an instyler and not impressed and it was $100 and only paid $17 for this one and it is way better. My only complaint is that it sometimes pulls on some of the ends of my hairs but not too often. Heats up super quick and temperature adjusts very quickly and easily since it has the digital temperature. Also, the anti frizz really means anti frizz, love it!! It will actually make your hair really flat and sleek looking it that is the style that you like. I do not like the poofy hair style the instyler gave me. Guess it is a preference thing. 12/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product for a great price. I got this for my girlfriend and her 4 sisters. They all use it daily and have been extremely happy with it. It's quick, easy and they have fun trying out different styles. One thing my girlfriend mentioned was how easy it was to make curls with it by twisting it on its way down. Great product. 07/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Remington always prevails! This flat iron heats up quick, stays hot, and makes your hair super sleek and shiny! The locking feature is amazing, making it so much easier to store. And I love the swivel cord, the iron just rotates as you use it and doesn't get tangled. I've always only trusted Remington products over others solely because they last so much longer and their quality is superb! I have thick hair, so it usually takes forever to section it off and straighten it, but not with this... It only took about 5 minutes, and the narrow plates allow to get the shortest of hair as straight as can be. And having the longer plates allows for an even larger section to be straightened at once. No frizz, no static, just great looking salon hair for a great price! I would highly recommend this to anyone looking to purchase a new straightener. 10/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW! BEST IRON I ever bought! My hair iron broke so I was in a hurry to buy a new one. I purchased this one because of the great reviews. I was leary about buying it because it is so cheap and I paid MUCH MUCH more for my last hair iron. I have frizzy, coarse hair and this iron did wonders for my hair! It made my hair silky and smooth and straight. I love it!!! I also like that it will shut off after 60 minutes if I forget it on. I paid $19.99 for it at the store but for some reason it is a few dollars cheaper on line but I didn't have time to buy it online since my old iron broke. You will be happy with this flat iron!! 06/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trust me, you'll love it!!! ;) I love, love, love, this flat iron! I have natural curly, thick, corse hair. I have never worn it straight until recently. I just turned fifty and my precious sister-in-law treated me to a hair salon visit (make-over), for my birthday. The stylist cut my thick shoulder-length hair in a bob & straightened it. Everyone loved it, because they were used to seeing me with curly hair. After that, I decided to purchase my first flat iron so I could continue wearing my new look. I purchased a Revlon flat iron at first & was so disappointed. (Always read the reviews!!). I returned it and decided to try this flat iron. I have only used this two times and can already tell you it is amazing! It is so easy to use and my hair looks & feels like silk!! I purchased my flat iron in the store and it was a few dollars higher than the online price, but, it is sooo worth it! Trust me!! ;) 04/09/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staightener LOVE IT! So I just got my flat iron today, I was so excited to try it out. I thought it wasnt going to be all that but shooooooooooot its better than the expensive ones. I have thick hair so I was kinda nervous to get a cheap one but it straightened my hair real good. I used my sisters until mine came and hers is more expensive but let me tell ya, you think cheap ones are bs but it sure worked better than hers, she may needed get her money back and get the REMINGTON ANTI-STATIC DIGITAL CERAMIC STRAIGHTENER lol. (buy this one ladies) ;-) 05/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love This Straightner! <3 So I looked up this morning at all the hair straighteners at a couple of Walmarts in my area, and only one that really caught my eye was this one. So I decided to get it after doing my homework on this and tried it out, and L O V E D it! My hair is a thick wavy hair type, I color it all the time, I didn't put any product in it (literately, nothing.) and its still straight, shiny, no fly a ways or frizz, nothing. My hairs super smooth, and nicely done :] I absolutely love it I can't get enough of this straighter! I would totally recommend it to anyone who really wants a good product for such a cheep price! 10/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great but hot This is a wonderful value straightener. I purchased this for my daughter as a starter flat iron. It has almost everything you want in a great straightener except the popular or expensive name brand. It doesn't catch or pull on the hair, it has a swivel cord, & floating plates. The temperature can get up to 410° but you can control it for a lower temperature. It is ideal for a young girl when you are not ready to pay a lot of money. She's been using it for a while and I have not seen any damage to her hair. I've used it a few times on my own hair and think it is comparable to a Chi I've used before. My biggest complaint is that the sides of the iron get really hot. Otherwise it is a wonderful flat iron that does the job. 05/07/2014
1-30 of 316 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw316
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp