Basic Aquarium, empty 10 gallon

$14.30
$14.30
Only 2 left!
FREE shipping on orders $50 +
If your order totals $50 or more and you select Value shipping, this item and any other qualifying items ship for free!
Loading options...
Sold by Walmart.com

FREE shipping available

 on $50+ orders
 

Shipping

Type
Arrives
Cost
Value
Data unavailable
$4.97
Standard
Data unavailable
$6.97
Expedited
Data unavailable
$12.00
Rush
Data unavailable
$18.48

Pickup not available

 

Pickup

Want to pick up your package for free?
Walmart offers free pickup for most orders placed online - for many items as soon as today! Tell us where you are and we'll show you which Walmart stores and partner locations near you are available for package pickup.

Gifting note: This item ships in the manufacturer's original packaging. If intended as a gift, the packaging may reveal the contents.

Customers also considered

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
This Basic Aquarium is suitable as a first tank for nearly anyone. It has a 10-gallon size and is ideal for use with smaller, non-aggressive fish. You can add a filter, light and other accessories, each sold separately, to make this fish aquarium a safe sanctuary for your pet.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

This Basic Aquarium is suitable as a first tank for nearly anyone. It has a 10-gallon size and is ideal for use with smaller, non-aggressive fish. You can add a filter, light and other accessories, each sold separately, to make this fish aquarium a safe sanctuary for your pet.


Basic Aquarium, Empty, 10 Gallons:

  • 10-gallon aquarium
  • Empty
  • Accessories sold separately

Indications: 

Animal Health Concern: Fresh Water

Specifications

Shape: Rectangle
Color: Clear
Capacity: 10 gal
Size: 10 gal ,  1
Form: Solid
Material: Glass
Brand: Perfecto Manufacturing
Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H): 20.00 x 11.00 x 12.00 IN
Show
Best seller ranking:

Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews | 117 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

117 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

117 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
82
4 stars
20
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
8
1-5 of 100 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

11/11/2011

Customer review by GerbilOwner

4.0 stars 11/11/2011 by GerbilOwner
by GerbilOwner

After discovering cages are a bad option for gerbils due to chewing, digging, and burrowing - I needed a quick fix as I'd ended up with a gerbil that was being picked on in the pet store. Most places want double the price of this for a ten gallon, or 50 or more for a 20 gallon. I needed a tank and pronto. I had remembered seeing a ten gallon at Wal Mart a few times and decided to give it a look-see. The price was great - half the price of what many places want for a tank of the same size. I bought the tank and a topper (Wal Mart carriers a screen cover that fits perfectly with the tank and locks in place) and set it up with bedding, hide aways, and cardboard. Plopped in gerbil and waited. He loved it and if he could, he'd give it a five star review. It's great for lone gerbils if you have a loner for any reason (they do better in pairs, but sometimes, we end up with lone ones) as the size is fine for one gerbil. It can fit two, but you might have to upgrade once they reach maturity to a 15 gallon. However, this one will work if they're young and you made the same mistake I did (buying a cage first). The tank has held up fine with a rodent and the topper hasn't popped off on its own yet. My only complaint is the way the sides are held together with some type of glue (someone who knows more about fish than I do might know what it's called) that some rodents might chew on and it was VERY hard for me to fit a water bottle (even the ones made for aquariums) on the side with the screen topper on it. I ended up having to use the bottle from the cage and tying it up with velcro and bread ties. I have two of these now and will be buying more for future rodents. It's a good starter tank for mice, gerbil, and hamster owners. It's not big enough for most pairs or bigger rodents, however. I will be buying a 20 gallon in the next few weeks as I will be split tanking my gerbils and hoping the introduction works. 10 gallons is said to be okay for two, but I think it seems it would be a bit cramped. For rats and guinea pigs, just get a decent sized cage.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GerbilOwner
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great!
3/10/2013

Customer review by Cenazwiffeyx3

5.0 stars 3/10/2013 by Cenazwiffeyx3
by Cenazwiffeyx3

Great aquarium at a super great price. Very spacious for my single betta.

Was this review helpful? (16) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cenazwiffeyx3
Los Angeles,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great little tank and good price
11/5/2011

Customer review by 123AZ

4.0 stars 11/5/2011 by 123AZ
by 123AZ

Have had it for about 2 weeks. Overall a great aquarium for the price. I had this shipped to me and it arrived without any problems. There were a few scratches (from production) on the glass at the corners but not too noticable. This is just a cheap and inexpensive tank, so I wasn't expecting it to be perfect. It is exactly what I needed and holds water fine. I have it filled to the top. The other reviews state not to completely fill it or it will break. If you just follow simple rules that all aquariums require: tank must be level, not carried or moved unless empty, must be carried while supporting the bottom, then you won't have any problems. I purchased a glass versa top for it from another retailer. I will be setting it up as a saltwater tank for seahorses.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
123AZ
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
AS ADVERTISED
2/15/2011

Customer review by elmgal

5.0 stars 2/15/2011 by elmgal
by elmgal

I bought this aquarium to house my gecko. It was priced right and appears to be well made. I can't speak for its performance full of water, but as I said the price was right and it fits my needs perfectly. I also appreciate the great customer service with quick shipment.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
elmgal
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Thanks Wal-Mart
1/7/2013

Customer review by Kianna1270

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by Kianna1270
by Kianna1270
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great service. Order came before expected. Pick up was efficent and friendly. Everything was intact. Although I called to find out it was ready (I mostly was anxious because I had a leak in my other tank I was actually surprised it was there when I called). The text alert idea is amazing as well as email. The fish are very happy. I would recommend this online service.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kianna1270
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-5 of 100 total reviews See all
1-5 of 100 reviews

Customer Reviews | 117 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

Customer Reviews

Was this review helpful?
Was this review helpful?

Customer Q&A

Back
Questions & Answers 23 questions
1-3 of 23 questions

Ask a question

If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


Q&A tips and guidelines

Q&A Exchange Guidelines

When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

  • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
  • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
  • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
  • Do: Write your question in English
  • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
  • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

  • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
  • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
  • Advertisements or “spam” content
  • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
  • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
  • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
  • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


Preview Question

Thank you.

Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

Back
if so, how secure is it?
by an anonymous customer 12/7/2008
8 answers
  • A. No lid or hood sold with it, purchased separately and available online at a site called, "Pet Solutions". It is a drop-in wrap around full hood, it doesn't have any fittings to secure it, but it is a snug fit. However, it would not stop an escape artist like an octopus from getting out. It would keep small jumping koi in, but even a lobster going through a molting phase would probably be motivated enough to push the hood open in hopes of finding a different, hidden location to go through the vulnerable molting. Also, the plastic hood has areas that can be cut out for placement of filter(s), etc. All of which should be installed as tightly as possible.
    by PleasantPain2/14/2016
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (1)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. no lid included
    by ALTHEPAL556/14/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No it doesn't come with a lid. You have to buy it seperate.
    by 2011MomOf310/18/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (2) (1)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No lid. Buy the one that is sold separately. I think its about 4 dollars and it fits perfectly.
    by jet360dog7/21/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No the lid is seperate. The lid I got also from walmart.com is secure but a little tricky to lock down. I suggest going to a petsmart or pet shop to look at the lids and choose from there.
    by ratequeen4/18/2011
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. It does'nt come with a lid, but if you are using it for reptiles they have a lid for it in the same area where you would have found the tank. It has a screen top and two little hatches you can open to gain access inside. It also has little locks on the edges to secure it to the top of the tank. They're about 5-7 bucks.
    by RickyOBobby2/23/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (6) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. No, This fish tank does not come with a lid.
    by ctowncorndog8/22/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (3) (2)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. The hood can be purchased seperatley. The tanks don't come with one.
    by An anonymous customer8/5/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (4) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
Back
by bear23 6/1/2009
7 answers
  • A. Not how many, but how much. Rule of thumb for basic setups is one inch of fish or equivalent per gallon. 10 gallons = 10 inches of fish. So, ten 1 inch fish, OR one 10 inch fish, OR 2 one and a half inch fish with 1 seven inch eel (or whatever) for a total of 1 inch per gallon, etc. Usually invertebrates are NOT factored into this formula, shrimp, snails, etc. Those types of critters are able to exist in overpopulated environments with little threat to their livelihood. Main concerns with tank occupancy are adjusting beneficial bacterial levels (so water toxins remain constant and don't fluctuate), amount and type of dissolved gasses (so suffocation or retardation doesn't occur, even during midnight power loss), and selecting a suitable community of co-habitable fish. Factors to consider should include, optimum temperature levels, food types and frequency of feeding required, behaviour type, preferred swimming depth, and specific environmental concerns; such as, needing smooth sediment to avoid bodily injury OR rough sediment to encourage burrowing behavior and trap floating food for bottom feeders, etc.
    by PleasantPain1/7/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. 3 small fish (guppy size) would be good
    by Carena24/20/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (1)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. look at the fish you going to buy at pets mart if it says 1-10 gallons then you can buy it. it says how you can buy of that kind of that fish that would work best.
    by ALTHEPAL5511/30/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. A basic rule of thumb is one inch of fish (adult size) per gallon of water. The larger the fish, the fewer you can have. So you could have ten 1-inch fish or five 2-inch fish or three 3-inch fish. This is assuming you have an adequate filter and do frequent partial water changes.
    by Chiaroscuro8/19/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (3) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. it is recommended that you have no more then 10 fish in that tank the general rule is 1in per fish per gallon. so if you get a fish that grows 3in long, 5 in, and 2in you can only have three fish. hope this helps
    by FishGuy178/19/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (3)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. TKAB is right. 1 gallon of water per inch of fish... for fish 3 inches in length and less. For fish greater than 3 inches in length, 2 gallons of water per inch of fish. Keep in mind that this rule is general. Some fish need more space depending on their territoriality, energy level, body shape/size, and waste production. For example, goldfish require more space than your typical tropical fish, mostly because they produce so much waste. One fancy goldfish (in other words, the kind with fancy fins and strange body shapes) requires 29 gallons all to itself. And as for Tiger Barbs, they need a longer tank so that they can zip around. Think of them as a high-energy dog who needs a big yard to run in! It pays to do your research on the species you purchase. Every one will have its own specific individual needs.
    by RainyGray10/14/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (5) (2)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. General rule is 1 inch of fish for every gallon. For example. 5 fish that are 2" long.
    by TKAB6/1/2010
    Was this answer helpful? (8) (5)
    Was this answer helpful?
Back
by an anonymous customer 12/11/2011
7 answers
  • A. There is a web-site operating under the name, "Pet Solutions" that offers Perfecto brand hoods for each basic aquarium model. 10 gallon hood is a single light flourescent (sp?), stock ballast suitable for operation off plug-in timers, has plastic cut-outs for equipment, filters, etc. and costs roughly $27... eek. The hoods for the 24" models have two lights, and are more expensive.
    by PleasantPain11/6/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (0) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Walmart sells the Aqua Culture LED Hood for 10 Gallon tanks. It's a decent fit but the LEDs are not very bright.
    by TicTacFriend4/8/2016
    Was this answer helpful? (2) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Walmart.
    by Drake993/11/2013
    Was this answer helpful? (1) (3)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Walmart sells one (Pet Select 10-Gallon Deluxe Screen Cover) I would highly recommend it. If its for a fish tank they also sell ones with built in lights.
    by ReptileEnthusiast9/11/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (5) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Walmart.com has one =)
    by Kmagic379/27/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (4) (3)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. Walmart sells the "10 gallon aquarium lid" for about 4 dollars.
    by jet360dog9/25/2015
    Was this answer helpful? (7) (1)
    Was this answer helpful?
  • A. walmart has lids that will fit your 10 gallon aquarium. should be right next to the 1o gallon tanks
    by needtoknowbasis19/6/2012
    Was this answer helpful? (4) (0)
    Was this answer helpful?
1-3 of 23 questions See all
1-3 of 23 questions
Customers also viewed these products

Policies & Plans

See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

Gifting plans

Gift options are not available for this item.

Pricing policy

About our prices
We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.

Returns

Returns are easy at Walmart
Not happy with a purchase? No problem. We've made returning items as easy as possible. And, most purchases can be returned for free. Learn more about our Returns Policy.