Rated 2.9 out of 5 by 37 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by NOT WEATHER PROOF!! my husband and I purchased this cargo bag and attached it securely atop our suv for a 6 hour road trip. we were able to fit all of our stuff in this bag BUT we ran into some rain on our road trip. By the time we made it to our destination all of our clothes and other cargo were WET!! 05/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by So worth it!!!!! We bought this to use on our trip from North Carolina to St. Augustine, Fl... about a 7ish hour drive and we were VERY pleased!! My parent's-in-law were highly skeptical and they love it now! We fit 2 large suitcases, a duffel bag, two beach chairs, pool noodles, and a boogie board with a little more room to spare. It didn't shift at all during the ride and we did go through some rain, and nothing was wet when we arrived in FL. The only advice would be to make sure you have a chair or something to stand on if you are vertically challenged to reach the top of your car comfortably. hehe Other than that.... SO worth the buy!!!! ALSO!!! for the people wandering about how it effects gas mileage, we usually can go around 360ish-miles on a tank, we got about 340ish-miles when we had to stop. TONS cheaper than having to take another car!!! 07/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Did exactly as promised. We purchased this for a vacation trip to the beach. It was very easy to attach and held all our beach toys, towels, umbrellas and even a 3 ft plastic pool. We had a short rain shower while driving and it kept everything dry. I highly recommend this car top bag. You get so much extra space for an extremely reasonable price. 06/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by It actually is a very good product! Looked at the reviews and decided against purchasing this. A moment of desperate need and low budget had me running into a WalMart to get it. Easy to use, haven't had the torn seams or zippers or loops, the belts and buckles all are in good order, not like the reviews I had read. Haven't used in bad weather. We stuff sleeping bags, pillows and blankets for 5 people in here, along with whatever else doesn't fit the car. Works great. I always have a tarp in the car, so if it rains, I'll just use it on the bag. The first time we used it, the straps were buckled straight and it made wind noise which we couldn't hear if we had the radio up a bit. Easily fixed by twisting the side straps a couple times as we buckled. The front and back straps didn't have any problems. I've used the bag 6-8 times in the past couple months. Packs nicely, don't notice too much wind resistance, nothing torn or broken or problematic. Actually a very nice set up, especially for the price. 08/04/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Would not buy Went on a 8 hour trip with three small suitcases. By the time we got to where we were going the cargo bag was torn and everything was wet. 07/13/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by not a good buy This product is for the top of a car/van, BUT says ok for (weather), but once I got it... IN SMALL PRINT ON BOX IT SAID NOT to use in RAIN! How can a roof rack for a car/van not be used during RAIN???? I couldn't use for my family trip cause a week away from home and in another state... Who knows if it will rain??? 08/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent quality We were very pleased with the size and quality of this item. It even held up traveling through rain!! Great price too!! 05/26/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by NOT WEATHER OR RAINPROOF BUYER BEWARE I purchased this item from my local Walmart to use for our camping gear - sleeping bags, towels, clothing ect. I followed the directions and installed it on the roof of our van making sure it was closed and strapped down properly then it started to rain. We left for our trip after the rain stopped then when we arrived to our campsite I opened the bag to find everything wet and water standing in the bottom of the bag . It wasn't even raining that hard out . I cant imagine what a down pour would have done to it. Everything had to be dried out before use. After returning from camping I immediately returned this to the store . I would not recommend this to anyone. 07/29/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great bag, economy zippers I saw a few reviews saying the zippers broke... they do break. I on the other hand was over stuffing it to the limit with vacuum sealed clothes. after an hour or so messing with the zippers i managed to get them secure. it is not rain proof (hence the vacuum sealed clothes) but very roomy. ( about a 100 articles of clothing , 3 queen comforters, a pack and play, iron, knife bag ect) About to take it on a 4 day moving trip from nevada to new jersey. lets hope all goes well! 02/19/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for the Money! Keeps in small bag. We keep $1 painters plastic cloth in bag to use if we need waterproofing for our contents. Easy to install. Frees up a lot of space in small SUV! 01/10/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible and horrible It riped after 2hours of driving! If I hadn't tighten it right I might have lost everything that was stored in the bag! Not only that but what if something fell of while I was driving!?! Might have caused an accident!!! Don't buy this terrible thing!! 01/03/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worked Great for US We used this bag for a family camping trip. The add said that it is "weather-resistant" but I found on the manual that it is not the same as "weather-proof" since it said that we needed to put our belongings in plastic bags to keep the rain out as the bag was not "water-proof". I felt that was a little misleading, but it didn't rain, so we were fine. Otherwise, the bag performed remarkably well, has ample storage space for our needs, tied down nicely to our car, which only has the cross bar luggage wrack, but it stayed right in place. I needed a step ladder to pack it, but my husband is tall enough that he could do it without any problems. When we left the campsite, I couldn't help him load, so we packed it before putting it on the car and had one of my strong relatives help my husband lift it on. That worked better than trying to pack it on top of the car. I loved that it had a little storage bag and that it folds down to almost nothing. We can store it with our camping equipment and use it every time we go. 07/17/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what I would have expected. My wife and I bought this for a trip to Dallas, Texas and after about 12 hours the side was ripped out and we had to put everything in our car. I was not a happy camper with this product at all. 08/31/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible product I purchased this product to help accommodate a cross country move. Withing the first 15 minutes of loazippding it, the zipper broke. Then the strps broke off. Complete disappointment. 11/10/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by It tore :( After only 5 hours into our trip, it tore. There was no reason for it, we had nice traveling weather. At this price I wasn't expecting miracles, but I did expect it to be intact for the full 15 hour trip. Not happy with it at all, and I will be returning it asap. 06/16/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by It rained all in the bag, don't recommend 06/11/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ripped apart during the first 4hrs of the trip We put this "thing" on our SUV, packed it up, and headed out for our trip. We were excited about the extra space we were able to gain, but the excitement was short. We stopped for gas 4 hours into the trip and I noticed some ripping of the bag. The tearing was surprising, but at that point we were committed to using it for the haul. We got to our destination after another 5 hours and the ripping was noticeably worse. The bag was coming apart with every minute that passed during our travel. For the trip back home we abandoned the bag and stuffed everything in the back of the already cramped SUV. It was a miserable trip, but I can't imagine how it would have been if all of our belongings flew off the top of the vehicle. Needless to say, we will never buy another Reese bag. 10/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by worked well for me we hit a little bit of light rain nothing got wet, plenty plenty of room in it for most of your stuff very little if packed rite will be in your van or truck only cooler and things for the road. tip is to pack the back of it with example the bike cart that folds down and a stroller then pack the corners with school bags or duffel bags to square it off and keep doing that to get the most out it. when tying it down tie the whole stapes till not much is loss then its more secure and you wont hear that rocks hitting the roof sound the whole trip. this year was the first time ever using one and i wondered why didnt i think of this years ago. also online you can buy it for 25.00 and free site to store shipping very cheap and elbow room saver. and dosnt effect on the gas not at all i found. i have a 2000 ford wind star and only took 3rd of a tank to get to va beach from lansdale pa. great deal over all. 08/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Used it for the first time. Easy to load and strap down. Drove through some rain and the inside remained dry. 07/14/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by For $25 it was well worth it! Easy to pack & tie down and fold up and put back in the storage bag. I'm more of a visual person, so it was smaller than I expected. But we fit a Graco baby stroller, a couple bags with beach towels, sand toys and several misc. items. It's advertised as Weather Resistant which I took as water resistant. My daughter read the instructions which say it's NOT water resistant and suggested putting items in garbage bags, which we did. Thank god because it rained the entire drive, from the Keys to Jacksonville. It leaked a little, less than I thought it might. I'm going to spray it with water proofing and hopefully that will solve that. 10/13/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by just spent 7 hours on road and 460 miles so, i too got this last minute, late last night, got home, strapped to roof and begin loading. in all fairness i've been eying reviews for about a month now, for the price i can afford to throw it away, my tools i can not though! i've helped a number of fiends move the past few years and worked for fedex ground, so in all fairness, i also really know how to pack stuff. my car is a pontiac vibe, factory roof rack. i did as follows: 1. unboxed and placed between rails on roof so the zipper is fully closed toward the rear passenger side of vehicle and keeping the zipper shielded from wind. 2. as i used this to carry a number of tools i loaded my ratchet set front driver side, impact hammer front passenger side of the bag, i kept the front load height low and at a progressive slope to the rear, my small shop vac in the back, hammers, nail guns, jig saw, sander, drill set, bits ect. were loaded on top of the hammer drill and 150 piece ratchet set, the heaviest items on bottom and squaring out the bag. 3. use the included straps as directed. 4. use 2 RATCHET straps and attach to front and rear rack cross bars as an 'X' over the top of the bag. THE BAG HELD UP FINE! I HAD NO ISSUES WITH THE BAG AT ALL OR THE STRAPS. BASED ON THE REVIEWS I WOULD NOT JUST USE THE INCLUDED STRAPS AND DO SUGGEST USING ADDITIONAL RATCHET STRAPS FOR SECURING! i read the reviews and the listing "weather resistant", i dont know what thats supposed to mean but so long as it doesnt rip apart then i can throw a tarp on under the ratchet straps if i ever need to. *the way i positioned my bag, the front hood side said reese and the hatch rear side also said reese but the zipper closes on that side. it did feel like a little less mpg, but keep in mind that this allows you to crry more and u probably will adding more weight to the vehicle. i'm not in a rush, found a "mega bus" and stayed behind that for a while to improve mpg. route was from sacramento to san bernadino, ca 07/01/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by ITEM IN BOLD LETTERS SAYS WEATHER RESISTANT.WHEN I RECEIVED THE BAG IN TINY TINY LETTERS IT SAYS NOT RAINPROOF.WHAT?I MUST BE IGNORANT BECAUSE WEATHERPROOF TO ME MEANS IT PROTECTS YOUR ITEMS FROM EVEN RAIN.CONSUMER BE AWARE. 06/17/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by poor quality Zipper came undone as soon as I tried to lift the bag after packing it. It did not have a lot of heavy items in it, just blankets, bed sheets, pillows and towels that I took on a trip for my girls to go to summer camp. 07/08/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Car top bag The first time using it and the zipper snapped! For such a big bag, it's not as sturdy as it should be. Should be more durable and enforced all around. 05/28/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roof top storage. If you have some items that just won't fit in the trunk, then this fits the bill. As other mentioned, it's not water-proof, but if you wrap everything in trash bags or put in plastic bins, it's fine. We didn't over pack it. We mainly put several large (empty) plastic bins and a rear hanging bike rack inside it. We double-knotted the ties. We drove from Houston, TX to Orlando, FL without any issues other than puddles of water inside. 02/23/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by very compact you can carry it every where you go, bring it out and use it when needed ,then fold it backup and store it again,adding your overall cargo capacity 11/28/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for a budget move The storage itself was great we went through a heavy storm and snow and our items were 99.9% dry with the exception of the top couple items. The only thing I would say negative is the straps tend to slip after a while so you have to keep an eye for that 11/25/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ok if there is no rain Not waterproof. 08/29/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great bag for the price! This was a last minute purchase for a family vacation. Although not as nice as some, for the price it did the job and can be used for more trips. We did have a little bit of water get into the bag because of heavy rain, but nothing was damaged. The straps were a bit hard to secure with the rings provided. Otherwise it was very useful for our trip. 07/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value I bought this carrier for a trip from to Texas.We traveled from Marion,IL to Galveston,Tx.Then we went to San Antonio and back home.The bag worked great.It rained on the way there but everything stayed dry.2000 miles and only one small tear by the seam.Easy to strap to luggage rack.All in all,worth the $25 i paid even if I never use it again. 07/11/2013
1-30 of 36 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew231
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp