See All Reviews
RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player
RCA RTD317W, DVD Home Theater System with 1080p HDMI Upconvert DVD Player
$89.00
List Price: $199.00
You Save: $110.00 (55%)
Special Buy
See All Buying Options
Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 896 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Basics This item is for someone who wants a traditional five speaker stereo system. The DVD player is the real value. It plays wonderfully in both picture quality and sound. Wow. However, on a scale of quiet to very loud, this system stops short at loud. Definitely not enough volume for a house party, but enough to feel the effects of watching a movie. The surround sound speakers are wired only, so it would take too much reconstruction for me to hook them up. It would be much better if they offered wireless back speakers. Instructions and set-up were a breeze. Definitely for someone who just wants the basics. 03/05/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall good deal We purchased this product as part of an LCD 42 inch television bundle and I think this is the perfect size system for us with a small living room. The DVD player works great and it was simple to hook up and operate. The looks and size of the system are nice. You will need to purchase a sound/audio cable to hook the system up to the television to listen to the television in surround sound, if not, it will only come through the speakers when the DVD player is used. 05/12/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Deal! I have a 24'' RCA boob tube flat screen that i purchased about five years ago. It would be nice if i could afford a flat screen, but i'm in college and my 24'' has a good picture for not being a LCD or Plasma. I wanted surround sound to go with this, so i purchased this model at another store for $99 bucks. It is great for surround sound. It rumbled the room when the movie reached its peak sounds. People need to remember that this is a home theater and not for Music. If you want something to pump out your tunes then this is not for you, but if you're looking for something to spice up your home movie experience then i would reccomend this to you. Make sure you read the booklet and adjust individual channel volumes. You might want the surround speakers up louder than the front ones, and the sub woofer should be on "powerful" to get the best contrast between treble of the 5 spearks and the 1 subwoofer. You might experience a tinny sound when you first put it together, but adjust the different channel volumes and place them right and you'll solve the problem. you can't beat this item for the price. Especially $99 that i paid on sale. 10/04/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by I really like this product. The install instructions are great. I had this puppy up and running within 30 minutes. All of the speaker cables are color coated so you don't have to wonder what plugs into where. The best part is, it is a great value. 12/05/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Two thumbs up This is by far one of the best piece of equipment I have invested on. The sound quality is great and I just purchased a second one as a gift for a friend of mine and she is extremely happy. Quality of the sound is so crisp and vivid. 09/02/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for the price Let's start with the complaints first. -The instruction "manual" was actually nothing more than just a poster, rather than being a booklet. That was a pain. They couldn't have put it into book form? -Let's say you're watching your tv show and someone needs to get the dvd out of the dvd player. When they push the "open" button, the sound automatically switches to dvd audio and you can't hear your tv show. Minor annoyance. -the dvd player and sound system are together as one component. Someday the dvd player will stop working, and you'll be left with dead electronics taking up shelf space. They should have had the dvd player as a separate component so it can be easily replaced if needed. -they got cheap with the accessories. They could have given us better cables Now for the good stuff. -It was easy to set up. I had mine ready to go 20 minutes after it arrived. -even though this sound system is a different brand than my tv, they seem to work well together. I turn down the tv's own volume, and the stereo's volume automatically adjusts too. I like that. -Even rented and worn out dvd's work great, never freeze up like they do on my computer. -Usually generic electronics tend to disappoint me, but this one is a great deal. Turned out to be a great value Overall I think the average person would love this product, especially people that don't have much money to spend. It's not really for the biggest electronics experts. But I recommend it for busy people with little free time, and people with strict budgets 11/24/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Deal!! I didn't need one of those $1000 systems, just something small for us, so didn't expect more than I paid for with this system. I was pleasantly surprised after setting it up, it certainly exceeded my expectation. The entire system is quite advanced, and has great picture and sound. I'm impressed to say the least. 01/13/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good enough for the price. The system is great for the price. However I have two complaints. One is the bass isn't quite enough but for he price... And the other one which is quite annoying when living in an apartment with paper thin walls, trying to be quiet...if that's possible is that the difference between Volume level 1 and 2 is significant. It sounds more like going from 1 to 5. The picture quality is great though. 02/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by The performance is above average with a surprisingly low price. 02/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superior quality I have been wanting a home theater system for sometime but could not find an affordable one. I purchased this product based not only by price but also on the brand name reputation and experience I have with RCA and it paid off. This system provides theater-quality sound, was easy to setup and is very user friendly. I would recommend this system to anyone wanting better quality sound for their entertainment system. 01/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT SOUND & QUALITY It was easy instructions and great design. I love that is came with the surround sound speakers. We watched paranormal activity 2 with them and it sounded like we were there. It really scared us. It's a great buy and we love it. 03/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply Amazing Sound! This RCA sound system was very easy to hook up. All the wires are color coded and easy to connect. The surround sound is very clear and sounds like your at the movies. The am/fm radio is also a very cool feature. The HDMI Dvd upscaler makes regular dvds look amazing too! The RCA Dvd Home Theater System is well worth the price of admission. I’d recommend it to anyone that likes sound. 07/05/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Quality Good sound and picture quality have had this for a year....Just wish it had a sleep timer 08/13/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT ! EASY TO HOOK UP. EASY TO USE. GREAT SOUND. 04/05/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by happy with the purchase I bought this for my husband for Christmas. I was a little bit concerned that it wouldn't be that good considering the price was so low, but I decided to go ahead and buy it because Walmart has a pretty flexable return policy. I could always return it if it didn't sound good. It turned out that I didn't have to return it after all. The sound is great and my husband is very happy with this product. A special note- we did have to buy additional, longer wires for the speakers so that we could stretch them behind our sofa. The wires that came with the system were not long enough to stretch the length of my livingroom. THis means they are extremely short because I live in an apartment and my livingroom is not big at all. So you may want to go ahead and buy additional longer wires at the same time you purchase this surround sound system. 01/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT PRODUCT I REALLY LIKE THIS PRODUCT. IT MAKES WATCHING DVD'S FEEL LIKE I'M ACTUALLY IN THE MOVIE THEATRE. IT ALSO PLAYS RADIO (AM/FM) WHICH IS A ADDED FEATURE. I LOVE IT. 11/18/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for Me I purchased this as part of a bundle about 6 months ago and love it! Not sure about the other reviewers' complaints regarding surround sound only working with the DVD player - mine works excellent with DVD, Cable, X-box, everything. Maybe they just don't have it hooked up appropriately. I live in an apartment and the cords reached to where I wanted them behind my sofa. No complaints. 01/29/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cheap, Do not purchase Cheap, does not have any tone controls. No equalizer just a three level bass boost. No treble settings at all. The woofer weight so little it can not reproduce clear bass. This sound unit came in a bundle package with a HDTV. Purchase the bundle then return the sound system. The RCA HDTV is excellent. And when you considerer the price the TV deal can’t be beat. 01/21/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Inferior equipment We purchased this system along with an RCA TV in February, 2011, by May 2011 it had stopped working properly. It keeps making a loud popping sound and the sound goes off. Now I find I must pay to have it shipped to RCA for attempt at repair. I will not purchase any more RCA equipment. The TV that came with the package isn't much better. 09/12/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by this is a good product for the price,the remote could be better,there is no open for the dvd player,you have to use the receiver to open the door. 01/19/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by My mistake for the 2nd time I had purchased the lower model of this, had to take it back, kept on telling me there was no disk in the DVD player. Bought this system, the sound was worst that the first one. Couldn't get any HDMI cords to work properly on it, I would get sound for the dvd, but not the televison unless I switched it to Audio x and NOT throught the HDMI cord. We actually had to use rca cords. We purchased this to enhance the sound of our television in our bedroom. It was horrible. Of course I returned it yesterday. Ordered something else from walmart.com. Crossing my fingers and hoping that what I get is better, if not that will go back as well. 08/04/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extreme value for the dollar Note: You will need to purchase an audio cable for this or you can use an old a/v cable from an old TV (the kind that connected VCRs and DVD players on the pre-digital TVs). If you use the latter, you will only need to utilize the red and white cable endings (not the yellow). You will also need one HDMI cable to go from the player to the TV. If you elect not to use an audio cable, you will only be able to hear sound from the RCA speakers when you view DVDs through the player. The audio cables will enable you to hear surround sound via the RCA speakers coming from your new TV. When you open up this package to assemble, you will need to wire the speakers into the back of the DVD player. Don't worry, the've made it bryan (me)-proof. The wires are color coded, and the process is simple to figure out. I have never done anything close to wiring in the past, and it took me less than 5 minutes to complete. It is really easy. While I still haven't had much of an opportunity to get the sound just the way I like it, I can say that the quality of sound is much better than what I was expecting given the price that was paid. It isn't Bose quality, but I didn't pay Bose prices for it. This unit is a good deal for what you get. We purchased it as part of a package deal with a Sceptre 42" TV. I sure hope this helps someone out there. 12/02/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by It's cheap and it's cheap I read the reviews that said this wouldn't last. I should have listened. I got this in August had to send it back last month, it would just freeze up and no sound. Sent it back, pd. the postage, just got it back, sound goes in and out. Two hours on the phone with cust. service and it still doesn't work. Spend a little more and get a better system. 04/04/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by poor sound I purchased this item along with a 40" RCA TV. The sound out of the surround was extremely weak. Had to turn it up to max and still got no real surround sound. Also turning on and off the unit is strange as it delays for some reason, so you end up turning it off when you wanted to turn it on. Also it does not save the last settings of volume when turned on and off. 07/23/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product I purchased RDT 315W, the lower wattage model below this, and I must say it has far exceeded my expectations. For less than 100 dollars it is quite a deal! I was looking for a unit with an optical input for my TV and had a small foot print when I stumbled across this at our local Wal Mart. I just watched “Across the Universe” and was very surprised at the quality of this unit and the many adjustments it has. The only problem I have is a work around HDMI handshake issue with the 720P TV I am using. Not the fault of the unit just the stupid movie industry with their copy protection HDCP. I have had this for about 6 months and I have been very pleased. 10/07/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by You get what you pay for. Sound is not real bad but not very distintive. 12/06/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by great for the money This RCA home theater system was included with a 47" Element lcd tv I purchased online. I am on a budget and decided to take a gamble with both the tv and home theater system. The dvd player works great and even burned movies play good on it. The surround sound's "max volume" does not go that high but it is plenty loud enough for me. When speakers are adjusted and installed in correct spots, it mimics watching a movie at a cinema. I am pleased with both tv and home theater system and would recommend BOTH to anyone on a budget like me. 09/27/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Junk The DVD player DID NOT WORK. Would not read discs. Called RCA Customer Service and they said to purchase a disc cleaner to clean the lense, which I did. It would not read the disc cleaner. I returned it and (after a similar adventure with the TV) I will not buy RCA ever again. 07/18/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by DVD/ Home Theater Remotes DO NOT WORK!!!! We recieved ours and our remote does not work, we contacted the company and they told us that we had to buy a new remote, so I would not recommend this product because the company will not stand by it, they sent us a defaulted product and will not fix it!!!!! 11/29/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Save Your Money Even if you cannot afford a really good surround sound system DO NOT!!!!!! purchase this system. Although it is easy to install the sound leaves something to be desired. When I turned it on I tried it the movie "We Were Soldiers" because of the explosions, shooting, and helicopters it is a perfect test. I played with all of the sound adjustments for more than two hours and the best sound I could get was if someone was playing the system in a trash can. In order to be able to hear the voices clearly the music ended up too high and their was this tin sound echoing resonance that made it sound like an old school fischer price record player. To sum it up best is you get what you pay for when you buy this system. 12/06/2009
1-30 of 634 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  22 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw291
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp