Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 42 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by New to All This! I recently turned 50 and during a routine physical was told my blood sugar was 229mg. I have been on medication for 2 weeks now, and have changed my diet. My Dr. said to test at least 3-4 times a day for the first month, so I was definately looking for value. I chose the Confirm Blue because the strips were only $20 for 50ct. It works great and very quick and easy to do, no codes to enter and very little blood is necessary for strips to work. I also called and got the control solution (no charge) just to be sure everything was working right, and it was accurate. I like being able to just scroll back and see how my numbers have continued to drop over the last 2 weeks since starting my program. I'm very happy with the product and the price can't be beat!! 08/12/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Does everything I wanted in a blood glucose monitor. I notice some people are concerned about the accuracy of these home blood glucose monitors. One thing to consider is that consistency is more important than absolute accuracy, and this monitor is quite consistent. That is, you want several samples taken right after one another to give close results, even if all those results are somewhat high or low, since you can later calibrate the monitor by comparing with lab results. Or you can use the control solution, which I've sent off for (free from Relion) but haven't yet received. I have no reason to think the monitor isn't accurate in an absolute sense, I should note. In any case, the monitor definitely does do what I wanted. Namely, show me which foods tend to cause blood sugar spikes and allow me to do home glucose tolerance testing to see how my insulin sensitivity is coming back now that I've lost weight. This device is much cheaper than the other monitors (only 40 cents per test strip versus a dollar for the others) and the fingerprick device is fairly painless. 01/28/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice meter, great value I was happy with my old glucose meter, but my insurance company raised the co-pay on the strips, and they were too expensive for me to afford. I decided to buy the Relion solely for its cheaper strips. I wasn't expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised. The meter is accurate, the lancing device much better than my old one, and the strips require much less blood. My only quibble is the non-intuitive interface. I'm very happy with the Relion meter. (And it's cuter than my old one, too.) 01/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't beat this Works great and the test strips are the best price there is! No reason not to use this. 06/08/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 I wish these were more consistent I've been using a Bayer Contour meter which Consumer Reports rated as "average" in accuracy. Since the Relion strips are cheaper, I switched to them with a Confirm meter, which was rated as 'above average' in accuracy. But, it measured 15 points higher than the Contour meter from the same blood drop! So I bought a Relion Micro, which was rated "excellent" in accuracy. Since both the Confirm and Micro use the same strips I didn't see how there could be a difference in accuracy, but there was. If, for example, the Contour measured 100 and the Confirm measured 115, the Micro measured 108 - again all from the same blood drop! The FDA requires accuracy within 20%, which all these meters meet, but that's potentially 40-point difference!. My advice? Get the Micro. 11/22/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great product but... I bought this meter because I had inadvertently purchased the test strips for it thinking they were for the old Reli On meter I've had for several years. After I opened the box I realized I had the wrong strips. Since I couldn't return them I decided to upgrade to the new meter (it was only $9.00). It's a great meter, but so was the old one. I only gave it 4 stars for the overall & features ratings because of a couple of fairly minor things. 1st, there are not as many pockets to hold everything as the old meter (only two). At first, it was difficult to tell when enough blood had been absorbed, but that's a matter of learning how to use it. Also, I think it may be more difficult to tell when you are running out of strips because of the container - it would help if it were transparent. It reads as quickly as my previous Reli On. My suggestion for those who have the older Reli On meter is to keep the old one until it stops working. But for those who don't have a Reli On, buy it! It is a great buy compared to the major brands. 04/16/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Basic But Works Well And Affordable I have been using the Relion Confirm for one week now, testing about four times a day, and I feel confident in recommending it to others who are not sure of which blood glucose meter to get. It seems to be: 1) Accurate 2) Consistent 3) Easy to use 4) Requires only a small (3 ML) blood sample (some other meters require a blood sample two or three times as large) 5) Affordable 6) Automatic coding of test strips The negatives of this meter are that: 1) Less memory than some other meters (350 tests compared to 450 or more tests) 2) No control solution included with it (have to send away for it from relion - but it is apparently free) 3) No included cable or software to download results (to be fair, most other meters require you to buy the cable and software separately, too, and if they HAD included it, the price would be significantly higher). 4) The carrying case is a little bit on the small side. Some people might think of that as a plus, since it will be more convenient to carry. However, I like to carry my glucose tabs and logbook in my case, and putting both those in there makes it too difficult to close the case. All in all, an affordable meter with affordable test strips that gets the job done. 03/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not fancy, but does the job well Don't think you can beat the price on this. $9 for the meter and then you buy 100 strips for $39. That's amazing compared to other systems. Under $50 for the whole shebang. (the lancets are additional $3 for 100.) Not all the features as on costlier machines, but you can buy TWO of these and still be money ahead. Very happy with the purchase. It's very accurate most importantly. 07/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use I did have to read the instructions-lol. I am new to doing this procedure, however I had a very short learning curve with this meter. It has memory storage, which is helpful. It came with a case, lancet holder, sample lancets. I was pleasantly surprised with that. I like this product line and would recommend it. The test strips are not as pricey as other meters I researched. 04/27/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do not use this device Despite the attractive price point for this product, this meter is very unreliable. After purchasing this meter, I conducted two tests. First, I executed two test readings on a bollod sample from the same site, 30 seconds apart. The test results revealed a variance of 55 points. In the second test I tested another sample using this device and another, more expensive, device that has proved to be reliable over a number of years. The test used the same blood sample five seconds apart. This device delivered a reading 55 points higher than my older device. Three similar tests produced similar results. 10/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great little meter. Bought this meter because of price and because i don't have insurance.I compaired it with my freestyle meter and the relion meter was 4 points lower.I took it with me on my last visit to see my doctor and checked it with his test at the lab and it was right on the mark. my freestyle was 3 points higher.my doc was impressed because it was so cheap and worked that good. 09/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great value!! I am an insulin-dependent diabetic. One of the most important factors in maintaining control of diabetes is frequent blood glucose testing. Unfortunately, maintaining a supply of glucose test strips is one of the greatest expenses for diabetes. I have used Relion blood glucose testing equipment for several years now, and have recently switched to the Relion Confirm model. The Relion Confirm meter has worked great thus far -- I have had absolutely no problems with it. The test strips are extremely cost-effective, and require a much smaller drop of blood for each test. 02/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works Great! The Glucose Meter workins perfectly for testing my diabetic cat. Would recommend it to other pet owners who can't afford to buy the expensive feline glucose meter. 01/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great little meter I wasn't sure what to expect but I am very pleased with this little meter. It is replacing a OneTouch Ultra (which I loved) and I have found they come up with the same reading when testing!!! n And this one is a LOT more affordable!!! 02/11/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Great product. This meter is much more accurate than my previous meter by another manufacture. Easy to use and much much less expensive to operate and maintain. Very happy and pleased with this product. 02/01/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Value! I was looking for a meter and strips that is cost effective. Have had Diabetes 2 for 2 years now and quit testing myself 8 months ago. My sugar was up and I measured into the 300's. I am now using this meter 3 times a day and have had only good results. The device and strips certainly are value for money! 09/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Had for about 3 days, very on target results and you don't need a bucket of blood to get a result, less blood needed than one touch. NOT ONE WASTED STRIP SO FAR, great deal, saving a ton of money on strips. VERY HAPPY :) 02/04/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by RELY ON CAN NOT BE RELIED ON HAVE BEEN USING FOR A WHILE..GETTING LOW READINGS (50'S AND 60'S) AND LOW PRINT....RESULTS ..BUT I FELT OK. SO FINALLY I GOT MYSELF ONE TOUCH AND FREE STYLE...WITH THE SAME BLOOD SAMPLE FROM THE SAME FINGER, I TESTED NORMAL 82... I HAVE GOTTEN READINGS ON RELY ON OVER 230 AND IMMEDIATELY RECHECKED SAME RELY ON METER SECONDS AFTER AND IT TESTED 98...THE READINGS ARE UNRELIABLE...I HAVE TWO RELY ON METERS..SO IT IS NOT THAT ONE METER IS INACCURATE..THEY BOTH ARE.. SO I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS METER 11/19/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for testing a diabetic cat I bought the meter to test the blood glucose levels of my cat. For this purpose, my number one requirement was a meter which required as small a quantity of blood as possible. This meter requires 0.3 microliters, which ties with the lowest amounts required by any other commercially available meters I could find. I have used the meter for about three weeks now, and so far, I have no complaints whatsoever. It was easy to learn to use, the capillary action of the test strips is capable of sucking up a tiny drop of blood even when I can barely see it, and the results seem consistent and reliable (the first result was very close to that produced by a recent laboratory test). The meter stores the most recent results-- I forget how many, but at least a hundred-- which is a convenient aid in keeping records. (I think having the results transmitted to a computer via wireless is overkill, but this model doesn't have that feature, if that's what you want.) The test strips are not the least expensive ones on the market, but they are fairly low in price. Three weeks is a short time for reviewing any device, but if it continues to function as well as it has so far, I would say that it is an excellent purchase. I tested it on my own blood, too, so it is not only useful for cats. :-) 12/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good procuct The meter works fine. Great for anyone on a budjet. 10/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by relion meter I ordered the relion test meter for the price and it is great its easy to see and read and manage your sugar and the test strips are cheap as well love it very good product for the money 02/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by reliable and not insanely expensive 50 test strips for $ 14.98. Nuff said 03/11/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by this one runs high numbers to other meters , i used my daughters meter and the doctors office meter and this one gave me a much higher read 05/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by FAST I have tried others but after you set this up you need little blood and it is faster than others 08/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great little upload able meter I bought this because it syncs to the Glooko cable/app that works on iPad/iPhone to make recording your readings a snap. Plus the blood collection strips for this meter are the cheapest I could find. This is where the real expense lies in being Diabetic. 11/10/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good machine This is my first one, and I really like it. Glad I decided to get this instead of one like the Accu check. 11/02/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Seems to be consistent This system seems to work okay. However, its carrying case is very poorly designed, compared to a couple of others I've had, so I swapped it out for one of them. 02/11/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very inaccurate THe numbers I receive are about 100 points higher than what I get with the Lite Touch. Mine MUST be junk from the factory. 04/24/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Inconsistent Readings... The kit itself is nice in what it contains. I bought it mainly because the test strips were so much cheaper than most other BG meters. However, I end up using 3 strips to get an 'average' reading, as this meter is so very inconsistent. Example being AM readings such as this: 116/137/107. For this reason I can't suggest or recommend the ReliOn Confirm Meter. Maybe other meters with triple the price test strips are more accurate in readings. 03/04/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by info No sufficient info to get the right products to go with this product 01/24/2013
1-30 of 39 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew159
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp