See All Reviews
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 213 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Sturdy Shade At 12' x 12' this shade is a little larger than most others on the market, but it is a good value for the money. I'd searched for other similar sized shades and was unable to find anything of similar size and cost. The color scheme is particularly appealing, you can't tell by the pictures, but the legs are brown and the top is beige and they go together quite nicely. My friends who bought cheaper shades have had problems with the shades being blown over by the wind. We've had no such problems with this shade. Overall, for the money, if you're looking for a shade this size with these colors, you can't go wrong. 07/03/2007
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good value, but too long Our soccer team purchased this canopy to use during the season, then one lucky family's name will be drawn and they'll take it home at the end of the season. The value is great, it's well made, easy to put up and down. However, it's very long once it's down... if we didn't have a large SUV we wouldn't be able to fit it in the car! I would recommend this product but I think the description should state the size when it's folded up and in the carrying case. 11/16/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by 12 x 12 canopy The canopy was very easy to use. We took it to the beach and it was great. The bag however ripped on the second trip to the beach. Not very sturdy. 06/30/2007
Rated 1 out of 5 by 12' x 12' Instant Canopy When the item arrived it was damaged with broken brackets. But i would have returned it anyway because it was not what i expected. The Brackets on the main poles where plastic. We have had other canopy but they all had metal brakets. the plastic ones do not hold up to any kind of weather. I would not recommend this product unless the brackets were metal. 11/20/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not a true 12x12 The canopy measures 9x9, 12x12 must be the measurement of the slanted leg area. It is made of solid construction, but we wanted a larger or true 12x12 canopy. We took it back to the store for a refund. 07/28/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Short lifespan After 1 year of use the canopy's fabric is brittle and shredded. Very poor quality. The stitching has torn away at all the velcro tabs and the center post has pushed through the top of the fabric. Nice design and easy to set up but what good is a sun canopy that cannot survive more than a year of sun. 02/09/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice and cool Having had a canopy before, I expected shade but not the coolness that this one gives. The UV undercoating made such a difference in the hot Florida sun. Definitely looking forward to a good beach day now. 04/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Canopy This beats our old one by a mile. It folds open like an umbrella and closes the same way (2 people would be a lot faster because of its size). For the price, nothing comes close. 06/29/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product, Good quality Purchased this item for tailgating, along with the optionalquik shade (separate cost at the Walmart web site) screen. It goes up quickly with two people, each standing opposite and with a slight lift and pull on the sides, it opens up. Put the cover on the top, velcro the corners to hold the cover on and then as one person holds one of the corner legs, the other lifts each leg with the spring loaded action. Very easy to attach the screen as well with velcro attachments. Sturdy, good quality and folds down, stores in a wheeled roller bag and has an outer pocket for the cover. The optional screen also has it's own storage bag. No parts that can get lost and includes 4 good quality stakes to hold down if windy. We are pleased with the product. 10/27/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Measurements are WRONG I purchased this canopy because I wanted to replace it with the 8' x 8' canopy I've had for a few years. When I got it home and set up it didn't look any bigger than the one I already had. I pulled out the tape measure and it did not measure 12' x 12', it measured 8' 11" X 8' 11". Word of caution. If it doesn't seem to be what it is advertised to be, get out the tape measure. I plan on returning this and buying the 10' x 10' canopy that they have in the store that is cheaper than this one. 05/31/2008
Rated 2 out of 5 by size. I still don't know how they get the 12X12, at the top is only 8 feet, at the bottom with the legs extended is less than 10 feet. it looks good but not the size i was expecting. 07/06/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by 12x12 Instant Canopy I have been wanting a canopy for several years, but could not find a 12x12 at a decent price. I chose this for the price plus it matches the awning and stripes on our camper. We have used it several times and it is great!! Only downfall is that the bag is not very thick and I do not anticipate it holding up as long as I hope the canopy does. 06/29/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by wind-proof except storms I borrowed this canopy from my friend who has used it several times at the beach. It anchors very firmly and holds up quite well to wind. Unfortunately, we found the limit in a pretty brief rainstorm at the beach when a good gust broke it. I would still recommend this item, though, for its easy set-up and great shade. Easily fits in a car trunk. 08/16/2008
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a Value After reading the reviews, decided to purchase the canopy. Upon receiving it, when my husband opened the box to start to put it together, the item was broken in 4 different places. Rather than take a chance by calling customer service and ordering another one, we just returned this one without a problem. 06/22/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great awning Love the color. Love the easy up and down. It did get blown over in moderate wind first time out. Ended up ripping the awning in a few places, but feel that was my fault for not staking it---didn't think it was gonna get windy! :-) Now, I need some iron on patching done and need to get some good weights or make sure I stake it next time (it did come with 4 tie down stakes). 04/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good buy This is a sturdy canopy which is user friendly. Very easy to put up. The only issue I had was I was expecting the canopy to be 12'x12' and it wasn't. The support posts are what measure 12'x12'. it widens out at the bottom and tapers at the top. Non the less, I love it. I did notice after a good rain there were a couple of pockets of rain which collected and didn't pour off. If thats my only issue I'm happy. Good price,well made, and easily assembled. I bought canopy lights which I'll put up this weekend to give it that final elegant touch. I would recommend this. 06/17/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quick Shade 12X12 I purchased the Quick Shade for my son and daughter-in-law; they really needed it and appreciated it. However, when they picked it up from their local Wal-Mart and took it home to set up they noticed a flaw in the canopy that was obviously from the factory, but was shipped out. It was easy to see that someone HAD to see the flaw and they had tried to repair it, it was inches from the logo but was shipped out anyway. Oh well, the kids really needed it in this Florida heat and didn’t want to wait two to three weeks for a replacement so… 08/23/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't buy this one. There are much better options. Bought this in a camping bundle just to have a second canopy, and I would not recommend it. The lowest setting for height on the legs is too high, so it lets in a lot of sun. It does not have any tie downs, only ground stakes. A thunderstorm came through an hour after I set this up with the stakes firmly pounded into the ground, and the wind took it right out of my yard. The construction is not nearly as solid as a First Up. Go with a 10 x 10 First Up brand if you're considering a canopy. I won't buy this brand again. 08/14/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 Okay Canopy Good product for the price. You should really follow the instructions, not only for the set-up and take-down, but more importantly for the general usage. When the instructions state that you should not leave the canopy up during heavy rains / winds, take this info very seriously. We set-up our canopy at our camp, and during the week we were not there a very heavy downpour occurred at least twice. When we next arrived at camp we immediately saw that the canopy was pulled down on two sides by the accumulated rainwater. Although the canopy fabric seems somewhat thin, it did not tear, but ballooned downward instead. The top side framework also bent to some degree due to the weight of the water accumulation which we think was approximately 3 - 5 gallons on two sides of the canopy. We hope that we can salvage the canopy if the stretched fabric retains its normal shape after drying, and if we can reinforce the frame work that was bent. A lesson to be learned !!! 06/29/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far So Good Just purchased this item, and got to use it this past weekend on a camping trip. Its easy to set up and take down. A good size, had two picnic tables under it. So far the materials seem to be of good quality. We are happy with this purchase. 03/21/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Too flimsy! Ordered two for an event, after putting one up decided it was too flimsy to bother putting the other one up. Ended up renting "real" tents at the very last minute for the party - they're both going back today. This product would only be okay if it was for one time only use and only for shade purposes. Not good for much else. The material is so thin you can see through the weave and the metal parts are very, very light and flimsy. 04/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by EZ to use and beautiful, too! This exceeded my expectations! The price was right. The size was huge. It's fittings are tight, but glide nicely. The cover has the neatest velcro stays. The colors are beautiful and the material is substantial. It was the easiest canopy I have ever set up. All around--a nice surprise! 09/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Value I purchased this canopy to use at football games as a 'team tent'. I priced and compared over 75 Shade Canopies at 6 different stores/websites. I chose this canopy based on the larger size, great price, and good reviews. It is very easy to put up and take down, and easy to place back into the rolling storage bag. It isn't extremely heavy and the color is quite nice. On the downside, the canopy is made of a fabric that appears to be a little on the cheap side. It has not been a problem for us so far but I'm being careful with it. To avoid tears or rips, I keep the canopy in a cloth recyclable grocery bag. We are very happy with our canopy and the team loves the shade it provides! 09/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by PERFECTO! I just bought two of these for a backyard party and was AMAZED at how quickly it was set up and taken apart. Seriously, it was less than 5 minutes! Yes it's a bit of a hassle to lug around on a constant basis since none of the parts come off but that's what makes it a dream to put up and take down. Good and bads but total worth it! 06/22/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 shade It is a wonderful product at a reasonable price 10/11/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 Good Enough One of the metal retaining pins was broken and I had to decide if I wanted to return or fix myself... I guess I shouldn’t be surprised to see the use of cheap materials in a popup shade under 100 bucks but at least they could have put a 25 cent metal clip instead of a 2 cent one, or include a few extras. So after I improved the design of the retaining pins it works and does what I expect it to do. I understand it was an affordable shade and if I wanted high quality I would have spent a lot more so you get what you pay for. With a little caution setting up and closing and insuring it is dry the shade does its job well. This shade is good enough for the money but just be prepared that you may have some surpises. 09/09/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by yes and no recommendation Really liked the size and ease of putting up. Did it alone in about 20 minutes the first time. Top seemed sturdy and was a nice neutral color. I really liked the case with wheels, it was actually easy to fit back into the case after taking down. Problem was that one pin on 2 of the legs did not "pop out" to hold the leg up. So it was a mechanical issue rather than quality. So unfortunately I returned it. Other than that I liked it. Actually considered keeping it with that problem...but didn't. 07/25/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Complete garbage! Paid $150.86 from Kmart used it the first night woke up to it on the ground in a pile! apparently the way it is designed the canvas dose not shed the water of it collects and when the no one is around to push the water out it buckles under the weight! so i went to wall mart and found a 10 x 10 First-up and used it for two days and it held up well..so far! 09/14/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by WE PUT THE QUICK SHADE UP TOW DAYS LATER ITS BENT ALREADY 06/11/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Misleading advertising! Misleading advertising....canopy is 9x9 ft, not 12x12 ft. Feet are spaced 12 x 12 feet. 08/24/2011
1-30 of 182 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew494
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp