Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 68 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by my dog had a skin irritation and I read that some dogs are allergic to corn. Well most dog food is made from corn. I switched her food to pure balance and in just a couple of weeks her allergy has cleared up. She is more active now and her coat is black and shiny again. I won't feed her anything else now. I just wish I could get it at our local Walmart instead of having to order it online. 09/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Inexpensive "Premium" Food I switched to this from a more expensive holistic food. With 2 dogs, we needed to cut down on how much we're spending. The ingredients on this are very similar to other more expensive premium foods. Both of my dogs seem to like this food, including my dog with a sensitive stomach. I definitely recommend it! 09/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great dry dog food at the right price. I did plenty of research on-line and found Pure Balance to contain much of the same ingredients of other "premium" dry dog foods. What sold me was that it contained no corn products. Other foods may list corn or corn meal as the #1 ingredient. The vegetable list is what I found recommended on a number of sites. The fat is not animal fat or tallow, but derived from flaxseed and poultry fat. Animal fat/tallow is found in many of the low-end dog foods. When I started to convert my 11 year old pooch over to Pure Balance Chicken & Rice Formula by mixing in the new food, she spit out her old food and picked out the Pure Balance. She is a self feeder, has been on this for several months now and is doing great. Her stool is firmer and her coat is as shiny as ever. Don't get fooled by the "Ol Roy" brand of manufacture. I have been buying and paying almost double for her old food that doesn't have near the quality ingredients of Pure Balance. I would recommend Pure Balance to anybody looking for a great dog food at a reasonable price. 12/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than Blue and Wilderness We tried the big names you see on tv, and Pure Balance beats them all. The dogs clean the dish everyday, and have been doing so for 3 years. They eat less- 2 dogs (1)a 95 lb lab/husky/border collie, 2)a 45 lb jack russell/gsd/??) 5 cups a day And the vet said our big boy could stand to lose some weight The quality of the ingredients rivals the big names, but beats them all on price. Our dogs are healthy, they're coats are shiny and soft We tried Blue, we tried Wilderness, and we have healthier dogs and we spend less for them. 12/09/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Dog Food Pure Balance compares to the much higher priced dog food of the same quality and is better in quality ingredients to many other brands. I have 2 large dogs and they both love this dog food, it has improved their coats, and they are healthier. I recommended the Lamb and Rice to my sister for her dog that has an allergy to both chicken and corn. I just wish Walmart would give coupons on this once in awhile. 01/02/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by IAMS move over Did plenty of research online before making any purchases for my new pooch. Product exceeds expectations and the new and old pooch love it. 10/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very high quality food for a very good price Pure balance is such a great food for such a great price! Owners have no excuse to buy things like "beneful" for their dogs because of price. Beneful kills dogs, pure balance makes them healthier! The ingredients are great, there aren't food colors, etc. We feed this to all of our fosters and dogs because it's cheap and great quality. I am a dog trainer and sitter, I have seen many owners feed low grade food because of price differences and suggest switching to this brand. The differences in their dogs has been remarkable. There's no reason to feed a low quality food due to pricing now, pure balance has it both. I say this because I've witnessed first hand how much a dog's skin, coat, body type, and personality can change with a good food. Don't believe me? Go to dogfoodadvisor.com which rates dog foods and see why this one is so good and cost effective. If you're unable to spend a lot then this is the food for you -- quality isn't sacrificed for price. 11/04/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT I have been using this dog food for over a month. I had to switch dog foods as my Pitbull was having constant stomach upset with his old food. It was recommended to me that I switch to a grain free food. I searched a few stores and was surprised to find the cost of many of the grain free foods that were out there. I came across Pure Balance Dog Food while looking other treats for my dog. Well I have been using this dog food for over a month and it has been nothing but great. Dog loves it. Stomach upset has stopped. Stools continue to be firm. Thank god. 11/10/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Cost Effective Dog Food for Puppies I have a 4 month old German Shepherd that weighs a little more than 50 pounds. I wanted a modest priced dog food that was good for my pup. The Pure Balance Dog Food seemed to be a good product because of the absence of fillers in the food. However, Pure Balance does not have any information on the package as to what age the food has been formulated for -- which I think is an unfortunate oversight on Ole Roy's part. I called Ole Roy and was assured that the formula was good for dogs of all ages, to include puppies like mine. By the way, I encouraged them to add such language to the package to help consumers. So, I bought the Chicken and Brown Rice product and my pup loves it. He has been eating it now for a few weeks and seems to be more active, his coat seems brighter, and his dumps in the backyard are smaller and less frequent. He also is scratching less. I wanted to point out something very important from a cost standpoint. Nearly all other dog foods prescribe 5 cups of food for a dog weighing 50 pounds. Pure Balance only prescribes 3 3/4 cups of food for the same weight. I asked Ole Roy whether their directions were accurate and I was told that since the food had less filler, it required less food to nourish the dog. I can tell you that I free feed my Pup and he is satisfied with around 4 cups of food per day. Whereas, he was eating 5 cups of both Ole Roy Puppy Food and Purina Puppy Chow fed to him in the past. So, this food may be more expensive, but you actually feed the dog less food -- this food is actually cost effective. Plus, I can pick it up at my local Wal-Mart during regular shopping and not have to make a separate trip to a Pet Store. For these reasons, I concluded that this a great cost effective dog food for puppies. The less dumps in the backyard is just icing on the cake -- okay, bad analogy. 01/23/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is good food. Most reviews on here are GOOD.....If you would like to see more GOOD ones go to dogfoodadvisor.com he rated it a 3 1/2 star out of 4...not bad for me...I have 7 dogs and switched form high $$ to Pure Balance...and they love it..One had a bad tummy and lots of gas since on this it is ALL gone and we are very happy for that...lol I find it to be very good for the price and see alot of people do like it as well...So please check out the website above and you decide on what YOU want not other people. I would start with the small bag....just like people everyone can't eat the same thing so why would animals be different??? My gang says....give it a lick...you will see.... 04/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much smaller stools I had started my Lab on another grain free dog food, Rachael Ray Just 6, before I noticed that it contains the synthetic VitK that is getting so much attention now for causing organ damage. My PURE BALANCE came yesterday and I've fed two meals. I can already see much smaller stools when I pick up in the yard. Believe me, a large Lab can leave huge amounts.The gas problem has almost entirely gone away. I just don't know why people think they are getting a bargain with the foods that are full of corn and other grains. They have to feed more so they don't really save any money. But, it's hard to convince them. All they see is that cheap price tag. I have the Chicken and Rice Pure Balance as I think my Lab is sensitive to Lamb and I know he is to Salmon. I am so happy to be able to get a grain free and very good dog food at such a reasonable price. 03/13/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best dog food for the money Don't hesitate to try this for dogs with sensitive skin or stomachs! Our 2 Akitas and Pom. Puppy are truly thriving on this food and we have tried any number of high priced,boutique, specialty dog foods over the past several years, and have never been completely satisfied...until now. No more irritable bowel issues, their coats are amazingly soft and silky and much less shedding! :). Plus, they all lick their bowls clean every time! This is a big deal for me to find such an awesome product from Walmart. I will be buying this product as long as it remains available. Also, noticed we don't have to feed a lot of this food to keep them healthy and they have all done some nice filling out on the same amount of kibble. 12/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Value High Quality Food This is not your typical Ole Roy type of dog food you would get from Walmart. This is a highly rated, highly reviewed, high quality dog food for a fair price. It's main ingredients are actually good quality meat based as opposed to corn meal or fillers that are in most brand name foods you would think you could trust if you've never looked into dog food quality. For example, forget about all those brands that you know, even if their packaging and marketing claim its good for your dog. I'm referring to Purina, Iams, Pedigree, just to name a few. Do your research, your dog will appreciate it, and your dog will bring you and/or your family more happiness for a longer time if you feed it well. 11/13/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 A GOOD FOOD If you want to find out more about this food go to dog food advisor.com....it rated Pure balance with 3 in a half stars out of 5....because of a breakdown of things, but over all they recommend this food!!!! There are High end name brands that are not.....you will be surpised, also it explains alot about what each ingredent is made from. This is a good dog food!!! 01/24/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by good dog food Got my grandson a boxer...got him the ole roy dog food as I was dog sitting, very loose stool. Did some research, found they can be allergic to corn products. Found the pure balance seemed to be what was recommended for this breed, and stool immediately firmed up. A bit expensive but less so than other brands. 11/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dog loves new food! We fed our dog Pedigree for years but felt like we needed to upgrade her diet as she's gotten older. Our vet recommended Pure Balance dry and canned. Our dog loves it! She licks the bowl clean after every meal and her energy has improved. 07/05/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy I bought it Purchased this dog food as my dog was getting sick on Beneful. He loves this Pure Balance Chicken and Brown Rice and has been feeling much better. He's 8 years old and has begun to get all that energy back. I will purchase this again from Walmart.com. 04/08/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT DOG FOOD!!!! I have two mixed breed dogs (part Lab & part spaniel & I have been feeding them Iams for two year. My daughter recommend that I try the Pure Balance w/Real Chicken & brown rice. She has three dogs of her own & that is what she feeds her dogs. They love it. They are very active & really seem to enjoy it. Plus the cost is great, as I'm now retired. 03/29/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great ingredients, great price. My lab mix had serious stomach issues and is a very picky eater. She seems to like the food especially if I sprinkle it with parmesan cheese. I think the price is right. My dog is very lively and has a nice shiny coat. I've gone through almost thirty pounds of the chicken and rice blend with no problems so I'm getting set to order more. Unfortunately, not all Walmarts carry it so for now I have it shipped to the local store for pick-up. 10/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good inexpensive NO FILLER dog food My dogs love it. Because they don't make a specific brand for puppies or small breeds I wet their food with a little water and they go to town. I switched from a Nutro brand and Pure Balance is just as good. Someone made a comment about the ingredients, my comment to that is NO FILLERS, NO FILLERS, NO FILLERS this dog food has no fillers, it's affordable, the dogs love it and its good for them. The only con is they don't make a specific brand for puppies. So for my puppies I had to mix it with another all natural dog food for puppies. Also,I usually feed my 2 year old adult dogs small breed puppy food because puppy food usually has more nutrients. 03/16/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top Shelf Commerial Brand I've tried many foods only to look up the reviews and find poor grades:( . I'm so happy Walmart is carrying Pure BAlance! I have many dogs and it can get very expensive. Pure Balance is recommended with close to a four star review and the Price is excellent for the quality of this product;) 02/10/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT Dog Food - Even better PRICE! I was really surprised to find such a high quality dog food at such a reasonable price! 01/02/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Two very fussy dogs, LOVE THIS! I was recommended this by my groomer since once of my shihtzus has allergies. She told me to buy something with "no grain" in it and this was one she mentioned, along with several others. I ordered it online and it took about 7-9 days to get here which disappointed me but it is a huge bag of dog food (so I didn't have to lug it home from the store). My dogs are VERY VERY fussy but took to this food IMMEDIATELY...we still can't believe they eat it all every day! 03/17/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by no corn soy or wheat My dog is allergic to corn.i had been buying him other foods without corn but they are very expensive.this food isnt my dogs love it. 07/07/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good food without fillers My puppies and older dog loves the food. 04/03/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for dogs with skin allegies. My dog loves it. 02/16/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Grain Free Dog Food I have a rescue pit bull who had many skin issues. No hair on the back half of her back. Within 2 weeks of switching to this food, all the hair has grown back and she doesn't itch anymore! My other 2 dogs have sensitive stomachs and they love it. Their coat has become so shiny and soft. For the price, this is the greatest food I have found for my fur babies! 08/06/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great food horrible availability! This food has been great for my sensitive lab. His ear infections have cleared up and his itching has subsided. Unfortunately, I cannot find this food anywhere. After going to 4 different Walmart locations I ordered it online and the shipping is ridiculously slow. It is a super big inconvenience to not be able to purchase this when I run out especially due to my labs food allergies. Looks like I am going to have to switch to something with better availability. 02/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The dog food I was looking for! I have two Scottish terriers and they love it!!! 11/13/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice pictures don't always make a good food The bag looks great but a quick look at the ingredients tells a different story. Chicken as a first ingredient is misleading. At 80% moisture (water) of course it weighs more. Also they are ingredient splitting, rice is split into 3 ingredients, when combined rice could be the # 1 or 2 ingredient. My wife bought this because it looked good but the dog is not thrilled with it and the ingredients don't hold up. Sorry WalMart 10/31/2012
1-30 of 67 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw386
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp