Rated 4 out of 5 by 74 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by No problems ith grinding fat For those haqving problems with fat clogging the mechanism, you can avoid that by slightly freezing the meat prior to grinding. Yo can also keep the grinder cool by running a few ice cubes through it between loads. 05/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by it does the job My mother called me and asked me if i remembered her mothers paminto cheese spread and i remembered the delicious taste and then she gave me the recipe and i thought i want to make this now, but I did not have a hand grinder and mom said you had to make it with the hand grinder only! So i looked around and also looked on line and low and behold Walmart had one and at a very good price in fact it was the lower of all the ones i found. I had it delivered to the Walmart closest to my home and got it before the delivery date. Walmart sent me a text message letting me know it was in and i went down and got it along with the the list of stuff mom gave me and went home and made the spread and it was great. I will also be making deer sausage with it this fall it works great 09/03/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good value for the money I have used this twice and it works pretty good. The shipping took 5 business days, that's good. The first time I used it, there was some meat that came out gray because I had the plastic bushing reversed and I had metal to metal contact between the auger and housing. Be prepared to throw out some of the first meat coming through the grinder plate because it will be somewhat dirty. The fit between the auger shaft and the hole in the handle is very poor and should be redesigned. I used 2 washers behind the holding screw to fix that. Snug it up tight with a small shaft like a screwdriver and it will not slip. A square key should have been used rather than this cheap design. I was expecting a plunger would be needed, but did not need it after all. I am hoping there won't be any rust the next time I use it.. 10/07/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by It snapped in two while attaching it to the table It looks and feels very sturdy, but it snapped in two while we were attaching it to the table. Our family does not work out, we have no muscles to speak of, yet we broke it in half while trying to screw it to the table, so while it LOOKS good, it's flimsy. 03/05/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 Prago Weston #10 meat grinder works great. clogs fast with fat but other than that it is a great little tool to keep around the house. I use it for deer and use the attachment with the bigger holes first then run it through again with the attachment with small holes and it isn't so bad. Great product for the money 11/02/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Old timer This product is an "old timer". Has been around since I was a little girl and that is a long time ago. The one my Mother passed on to me was lost over the years, so when it came time to make Hamsalad, I tried with my food processor, but didn't care for the texture. So found one at reliable Walmart, and it's back to old fashion Hamsalad. Thanks, Walmart for saving the day. 11/11/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by price is good, functions not so good Got this product and was disappointed. I was grinding chicken with skin for my special homemade ravioli. The skin was getting stuck in the tunnel and all the grinded meat was coming up from the top. It was a mess. The tunnel is too long i think, my mom has one from 1970 and the tunnel is not as long and the whole thing is not as heavy, easy to operate. Product is very heady and hard to clean. Assembling the product also is not hard but difficult. You need some sort of tool to lock it in place, otherwise it moves on the table. 09/28/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Won't stay still I guess you get what you pay for. I went for the cheapest and although it grinds okay, the fastener that tightens and attaches the grinder to the edge of a table or a counter will not stay tight even with the protector underneath it. I have not tried it without the plastic protector. While grinding the grinder continually becomes loose so that I have to try and hold it still while trying to feed the meat into the grinder all with one hand. Not very convenient or easy to use. 09/23/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible idea to buy this product This was a terrible buy! I thought it was going to be great. The ring that holds the entire thing together is made out of cast iron and is course threaded, it needed to be fine threaded. The threads wore out after only five minutes. I literally had just pulled it out of the box, put it together, and started using it, and it broke. I had even cut the meat up into small chunks so that it wouldn't be to much strain for it, and it still broke. I would not recommend this product to anyone, espicially hunters who want to process game themselves. 01/13/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by would not recommend The price is good, but I would not recommend this product for the following reasons: 1. It is very heavy. 2. Instead of grinding the meat it kind of chops it to small pieces. 3. After washing it once – inner parts started to rust. 12/22/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by it does the job. Its not my grandmothers old meat grinder however. I really loved that thing, but oh well things just aren't made the way they were before. It does do a fine grind and a coarse grind, I haven't tried the sausage maker yet probably won't until next fall at the earliest that is if my dear husband manages to finally get any wild game. Only drawback is the clamp for clamping it to a surface. I had get a block of wood and use my husbands c clamp to clamp to my countertop and then I was able to clamp the grinder onto the block of wood because the clamp doesn't open far enough. Other than that, for the money its definately worth it. 02/04/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by junk The threads on the face plate are junk, and the plate will not screw on right, and then blows off while you are grinding. wish i would of bought a better one. 01/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Worthy Grinder Overall, I am happy with the performance of this meat grinder. It does a good job of making ground meat. It would probably do a great job if I used completely fat-free meat. If you have fat in the meat, you will eventually plug the strainer. With me, this happens after about a pound of meat. Luckily, it is relatively easy to remove the strainer and unclog it. There is not much support for the grinder. The legs only extend about 2 inches into the table, so it tends to wiggle when you turn the crank after a while. This could be due to the screw clamp on the bottom not wanting to stay tight. An easy fix, when it starts to wiggle, tighten the screw. If you put the meat in the feed ramp just right, the grinder will guide the meat from the feed ramp into the grinder. If you don't, you will have to use something to push the meat in. There is no plunger included. These are all relatively minor inconveniences. As I said before, I am happy with this purchase. 03/09/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by It is exactly the same grinder that my great aunt used to have. It allows me to grind my own hamburger or Tatar steak. For family of four members or more, I suggest that they opt for an electric grinder. 01/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by good product I use it to grind 5-6 pounds of meat at a time. I really like it. It works good and easy to Clean. 01/21/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by the pork i used for sausage continues to get caught in the strainer, necessitating constant disassembling and cleaning 10/05/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product I've been looking around at getting a meat grinder for awhile now, and walmart had the best price for a manual grinder by far. I was very impressed with the quaility of the product, it should last for many years to come. 09/30/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Didn't work for me The part that clamps to the table snapped off on the third use. It worked great the first two times. 01/01/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Breaks easy BEWARE: Do not tighten the mounts too tight!!! I had mine less than 30 minutes and it broke, it needs to be tightly mounted or else it moves around while grinding, but too tight it snaps the mounting. So, cannot really rate the performance as it broke during first grinding. 08/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works like the one grandma had When I recieved my grinder I was very impressed with the quality of the product because it was made with care and reminded me of the one grandma used to grind meat. So far I have ground pork, deer, and wild hog. Trust me , if it can turn some of those parts into sausage then it deserves to be called an all in one product for hunters and homeowners alike. Next week I'll be grinding turkey ! 02/09/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by absolutely no-fat grinder After several attempts, I returned this meat grinder to Walmart. Even with very little fat, the fat will get collected on the surface of the cutting plate and stuck it. So you have to take off the plate and get rid of the fat before you can continue. 10/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works Great I use it primarily for grinding chicken meat for both human and animal consumption (cat food :) ). I had a hard time getting the clamp to work on my table (there's not quite enough room under my table for it to get a good grip) but my husband has rigged up a platform out of plywood for it, so I don't have to worry about that now. Easy to clean and assemble. It works well and efficiently. One tip - make sure that your meat and the grinder itself have been chilled in the freezer to ensure smooth grinding. Also, turn the crank backward occasionally to clear up any lodged materials (just like with a food mill). 06/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Right Tool for the job I hate to admit it, but for how I needed to cut up/mince the peppers and onions for homemade relish, a modern (electric) food processor just wouldn't do. Mom and Grandma always used a manual (meat) grinder. For about $30 (including shipping) this grinder is the way to go. The Prago Weston #10 grinder did exactly what was needed. Thank You #WALMART for continuing to stock items that real people need to do real work. Thank you Prago Weston too! Mission accomplished; the relish was a big hit! 11/12/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Handles my meat perfectly I had some trouble at first because I didn't have all the fat and sinew trimmed off my moose properly, but the slightly frozen chunks that were trimmed went through the grinder quickly and easily. Good product. Could use a better clamping mechanism to keep it stable, there was alot of movement, but I can rig something up. Could also use a tool to push the meat in. I used a plastic water bottle that seemed to work ok. 08/17/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Grinds well. But very hard to screw it to the table. The base is very short and narrow 06/10/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do NOT buy this product!!!! The meat grinder arrived promptly in secure packaging. It was incomplete, however, missing all of the sausage stuffing attachments. The manufacturer had inserted a card with a phone number to call if there were parts missing, as if they expected there to be missing parts. I did not bother: I returned the item to my nearest WalMart Store. I had no problems with the return process, but WalMart should not carry products by substandard manufacturers. 01/05/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Kind of OK Well, even though I know it wasn't going to be a top-of-the-line product, I at least hoped it would work OK. First, it took me a while to attach the handle to the grinder; I used pliers to screw in the nut that holds the handle in place, which is supposed to be done by hand. The knife seemed sharp, but it didn't cut the dry bread (I just used it to try to grind something) the way it should have. I didn't try it on meat, but I don't think it will do a much better job. I returned it because the morning after the metal piece where the meat comes from began to rust. 09/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use We used it 3 times and we love it. I only had for 2 weeks though. 06/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works like 100 years ago I was looking for the grinder with three screens as standard product and heavy duty. Walmart had it for the best price. Excellent! 06/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by no pink slime its a workout i did 10 lb. of beef.these burgers was the best . O AND NO PINK SLIME 05/09/2012
1-30 of 56 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew162
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp