See All Reviews
Rated 2.9 out of 5 by 15 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by To All With Algae (Green) Pool This product WILL NOT kill the algae in the pool which is usually the cause of a green pool. The Shock Xtra Blue in the orange box at Walmart does. This product is equivalent to the Shock Plus in the orange box. This is the maintenance shock. It will work just as well as Shock Plus; a maintenance shock. 05/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our pool was just starting to get slimy, and I bought this product because it was cheaper and it worked very well! Just 2 hours after I used it my pool was crystal clear! I will totally continue to use this! 05/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This works well I don't understand why the others get no results with this product. I use it and get the same results as the other brand (in the orange package). my pool is 22,000 gallons and I use 2-3 bags per add and always get expected results. 04/30/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 ****WARNING**** Do Not Use! Bought this product, and it turned my liner white, which was blue to begin with, and in addition to turning it white, also shrunk it....Hoping my liner lasts thru the summer, but do not for see being able to use it next year. Have talked to several other people this year, who also purchased this product and it did the same thing to their pool liners as well. DO NOT USE!!!! There is too much of some chemical in this brand shock, that is causing it to have this affect on the pool liners. 07/06/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 STAINS LINERS WHITE..... I am totally mad.....It stained my pool liner WHITE.....It costs $1600 for a new liner.....Don't buy this JUNK!.....DO NOT USE!!!! There is too much of some chemical in this brand shock, that is causing it to have this affect on the pool liners. 07/09/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Does not work as well as other comparable products I agree with the previous reviewer. This product does not work. I tried all 5 pounds in my inground 25000 gal pool and did not get any appreciable results. After I switched to HTH shock, the results were much better. It is the cheapest shock but ineffective. I would neither buy this product nor recommend it to anyone in the future. 04/15/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't ruin your pool!!! we usually buy the other brand in the orange box, but decided to get this because it was cheaper. My husband learned from a friend to put your desired amount of the bag into a 5 gallon bucket, stir it, and then dump it into the pool. We tried it with this brand, and it wouldn't dissolve. It bleached out the bottom of my pool. With the other brand, this procedure worked perfectly. I tried this brand again, waiting until the water in the hose got hot, to see if it would dissolve faster. No such luck. I left it in the 5 gallon bucket, poured boiling water into the mix, and it still took about 2 hours to dissolve. The product may be cheaper, but not when you have to replace your pool/liner, because the shock destroyed it! Stick with the stuff in the orange box. We've never had problems with it. I plan on calling pool essentials and let them know 07/26/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by DON'T BUY THIS GARBAGE!!!!!! I was trying to save a buck and bought this instead of the orange bag.HUGE MISTAKE!!!!! This stuff will not dissolve in water no matter how much you stir.It sticks to your liner after a couple days and will not come off.I hope this stuff is taken off the shelves because it is total trash.I gave a friend a bag of this before I used it myself and it ruined their liner as well.As far as I'm concerned,this company owes at least 2 people new pool liners.It's a shame I couldn't give less than 1 star because it deserves much less.Only use this product if you want to ruin your pool. 07/14/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by does not work !!! Put one bag in pool (under 10000 gal.) with 2 chlorine tabs checked 24 hrs. later no chlorine reading on test .Added another bag, 12 hrs. later no chlorine reading.Poured a teaspoon directly into test kit, turned only a very pale yellow.do not buy!!! 06/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by cheaper and works great! my green pool was crystal clear in 2 days! if your pool gets a lot of direct sunlight, (or you live in the south and get easily 100 degree heat every day) you have to add stabilizer 06/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works well This product cleared the green water in my pool in minutes. Can't be beat for the price. 06/12/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very bad product I have used the all 5 lbs. in a 4 days span and it did not clear my water, and my pool turned green. Cheap is Cheap. I would not buy it again, and definitely would not recommend it to others. 06/12/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't waste your money! Please don't buy this product. I thought I would save a little by trying Walmart's brand but it actually made my pool worse. I have not been able to get rid of the algae even after using all 5 bags. It does not work! 04/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by i use and it always works on my pool. previous reviews said that it does not dissolve when mixing. If you read the directions. It specifically says do not mix add directly to pool. Great product. I had a black pool with tad poles in it put 2 boxes of this stuff in my pool and 2 days later it is crystal clear. 09/04/2012
1-15 of 15 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw181
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp