Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 125 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great size for cats! When I adopted my cats they told me I had to take a carrier to bring 'em home. I wasn't sure which size to buy but I figured X-Small would do so, I bought it. And they did fit! My biggest cat, who is 12 pounds, fits in the carrier just fine. Also, it takes like 3 minutes to assemble. 2 if you know what you're doing :) I would recommend this purchase to anyone who is not sure! 02/04/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Be careful if choosing this product I bought this to carry my cat to the vet. It worked fine getting him there and back to house until the last few steps leading to my deck. It fell completely apart, in 3 pieces and he was dumped in the grass still groggy after surgery. He weighs 10 pounds, and that is the limit listed on this carrier. He was not over the listed length or height for this carrier. Therefore, my suggestion if purchasing this product is make sure your animal is well under the 10 pound limit. Also, in doing research, airline regulations state that the bottom and top must connect using screws and not latches as this one uses. Luckily the return was easy and I am not unhappy with Walmart in any way about this. I will make sure that I buy a different style of pet carrier in the future. 06/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Four Cats Fit! I just moved across country with my four cats, the heaviest of which is pushing 15 pounds. I purchased four carriers due to the price - when you have four, sometimes you have to get the cheaper option. All four cats fit - from my 9 pounder to the 15 pounder. They were comfortable and could turn around, though they mostly stayed snuggled up. I gave them soft towels to lay one and they were fine. The carriers held together perfectly and were very sturdy. I never once thought they were going to fall apart. The doors stayed shut even after my notoriously clever male fiddle with them. After all was said and done, the carriers were easy to clean and broke down nicely and nested inside of one another making storage easy! Excellent value for your money. 11/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Carrier is the perfect size for my kitten and gives him plenty of space to grow in.... I might not need to get a larger when he get older unless he get fatter... LOL I would recomment this to any one that has a kitten or small cat! 01/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Medium is 24" L x 15.2" W x 11.8" H I just bought this cage 1/24/14. It is by the company Doskosil pet taxi and says "it is ideal for pets up to 15lbs". I bought the Walmart Medium size and it says 24"long x 15.2" wide x 11.8" high for sure on the label and I also measured it myself to affirm this. The color is black on the bottom and beige on the top. No food dishes...included. I was not sure what the sizes were either when buying this item. But I am sure now that I own the Medium carrier. 01/25/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by For the price, it's okay I got this pet carrier to bring home a 2 yr.-old cat, and to later take him to the vet when necessary, so I didn't need something the cat would spend a lot of time in. For that it's okay. It is pretty flimsy as containers go, but so far has done what I expect of it. It is put together with screws with caps made of plastic, and one of the plastic caps wasn't threaded, which made threading the bolt very difficult. Even though the weight limit expressed in it's advertisement included the weight range of this cat, it was a tight fit, so you might want to go bigger if your pet is in the upper range of the weight limit specified. If you plan to be transporting your pet often, you might want to check out a sturdier model or brand. I'm also taking care to keep it out of direct sunlight when I don't need it, because I think it would succumb pretty quickly to the sun's rays. The reason I recommend it is that it worked for what I needed it to do, but I don't think it would hold up to much more than occasional use at best. It's made in China, so draw your own conclusions about that. The instructions leave a lot to be desired as is the usual case with Chinese products, but if you are good at interpreting pictures, you won't have any insurmountable problems. 10/17/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good inexpensive pet taxi I found that although this was an inexpensive Pet Taxi and convenient, it was difficult to fasten. I had a problem with one of the fasteners that just wouldn't line up and snap. I finally got it to snap and I probably won't take it apart again. It was just right for my cat though and I liked the way the door fastened. For the money it was a good deal. 07/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Good Sturdy Carrier I bought this carrier because I wanted a good one for my new pup. It's easy to assemble, sturdy, and comfortable to carry. It has clips that work well for in-home use. The company added screws if you need to secure it tightly for travel or heavy use. The latch on the door is easy to open and close. I bought a large for a 13 lb Shih Tzu and she fits in well and can stand up in it. I ordered another for a second Shih Tzu. It's reasonably priced and a quality product. 03/11/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wrong Size but Well Made I have a medium sized dog, just under 30lbs, so you would think I would need a medium sized crate. Not with this brand. It turns out I should have gotten a large. Other than that it is well made, easy to put together and light weight A wonderful choice if you get the right size. 12/02/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great carrier for young Westie! This is our 2nd Petmate Pet Taxi Travel Kennel. The first was medium size which we used for our Min Pin dog from puppy to 15# adult size. We liked it well enough to purchase the intermediate or large size. This time we have a Westie which has outgrown the medium size. Westies' have long bodies and short legs, but they need the length and height. Karli is 11months old and weighs 13#. We thought that this size would work well to her adult weight of 15# to 20#. My husband put the 4 screws in upside down so Karli would not chew on the plastic covers. The 4 screws one each corner makes the bottom very secure. 05/18/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Travel crate This is what we use for crate training and shipping puppies. We are a very small home based breeder of Australian labradoodles. We have found that Walmart has the best prices in general for travel crates and they are airline approved. We recommend after about 6 months to go to the black wire crate, but this is a great beginning crate, easy to clean and the smaller grid on the door is safe for puppies verses the larger grid. 12/24/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for my Yorkie puppy This is a great crate for my yorkie puppy. Lets be real, potty training / crate training is not easy or fun. I have always crated my dogs at night, and the new puppy is no exception. When he has accidents, this crate is a BREEZE to pop open and clean out. The snaps are a little tricky just because you have to be sure you fastened it to the bottom half and not just snapped it down onto nothing, but that is the only thing you need to know about using this crate. If I return to "a mess" in there, its so easy to pop off the top, put my puppy's nose to it, and tell him "no." (rather than the crates with 10 metal screws holding it together, where you have to reach in to get to the mess). It is also super easy access for cleaning, and no tricky ridges inside that could potentially hide parts of the mess (like there is in my beagle's giant crate), which makes me a happy "mommy" :) I plan to travel with this crate, and use it for trans-continental air travel. I will try to remember to update with how well it fits / works for air travel in the main cabin (as a carryon). To top it all off, my puppy is very comfortable in there, and should still fit him when he is full grown. My full grown miniature doxie would fit in here just fine too, for any doxie owners out there. All in all, you will not be sorry you bought this for your puppy or small dog. (I do not use the clip-on tray because I don't leave food or water in with my dogs, but I'm pretty sure any dog would have food and water all over the place in seconds if it were used.) 03/07/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Serves it's purpose I bought this to simplify my kitten's trips to and from the vet. In between times, we leave it open for him to play in, or know that he has his own little cubby- he enjoys it! It is great for cats, but couldn't imagine using it for a puppy or dog. Using the handle alone, I feel like it could come apart, I carry it from the bottom! It definitly serves it's purpose in our home and is useful, although I believe it could have been made a little more sturdy! 04/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by AIRLINE TRAVEL Best Kennel-Must Have!! Just picked up mine from the store today. It includes food and water tray to easy snap on kennel. I was concerned about the size and what reviewers say about the snaps not being secure. Intermediate size is what I purchased, came as 26.2x18.6Hx16.5. I did not measure it, but that is the size indicated on the packaging. Just what I needed for my cat to fly, allows extra inch at top, so his head does not hit the top (what airline requires). As far as security of the latches, don't worry about what reviewer are negatively saying. No one has talked about how the kennel has a top to bottom hole at each corner to insert a screw into and give extra security. Also the instruction booklet explains you can also use a nylon zip tie to extra secure each latch. Screws and ties are cheap at any local hardware store. Or most people have some strong ties around the house. I personally removed my screws from an old kennel I had an used it on this one. Great Looking and Great Buy. I am no longer worried about the security of this kennel when we fly because Pet Mate was smart enough to give 3 means of security (latches, holes to tie latches, and holes at each 4 corners to secure with screws. 05/10/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice cage for my kitty It's a simple cage for my 6 month old cat. Although the cat got out of it lol, it's still very good. Putting it together was easy and simple. 05/23/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by VERY Tiny! The dog that is showing could NOT fit into this tiny carrier and stand up. Carrier is much smaller than it appears in this photo. After I finally got my small chihuahua in, he couldn't even stand up. Had to guide his head down just to get him in the door, the opening is very tiny! There's no way I can use this. Please be advised that it might be fine for carrying a guinea pig or ONE 8 week old kitten to the vet, but NOT for small dogs or even a toy breed of dog. Will have to box up and send back :(. 02/21/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Pet Taxi I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the pet taxi that I purchased. Came dissembled but were relatively easy to put together with directions. These are not flimsy and the fasteners are sturdy with screw on backups. 11/08/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Junk This thing is a piece of junk IMO. The latches do not latch. I would NOT use this thing to carry my dog in anywhere. It is OK for the car, but when I arrive at our destination he is not carried in this thing, but taken out of it and put on a leash. At the time I bought this, I had to have a carrier that day, and this is the only one they had at the time. I would not recommend it. Get one that has a safer latching system than this thing does. It's not worth $5 IMO. 12/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by very helpful product I bought this over a week ago for my 9 week old puppy and it works great for crate training. 04/16/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Needed something to carry my cat around. Found this on the walmart website, then checked around at other stores. Walmart won - hands down. The carrier was easy to put together. Had it up within 5 minutes. My cat is now 8 pounds and the carrier is very sturdy for her. I returned the "small" size for the "medium". The price was very reasonable and it was sent out to me quick. Thanks 01/11/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by These cat carriers are a great deal! 07/22/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Kennel for small dogs and average size cats. My cat loves his new kennel more then his bed. 11/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by No complaints I have found these to be adequate to my needs. Sturdy and comfortable for both cats and dogs. Am actually using two as winter housing for cats. I do use cedar chips and warm bedding as well as wind protection. The cats tend to prefer the smaller units. 02/02/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by solid and well built. appears to be comfortable to my french bulldog. 08/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 This is the third carrier that I bought for my ferret. The first two were made of cloth and he managed to scratch off the interior lining (in both), and even scratched a big hole by the zipper and made an escape. The pet taxi is like Alcatraz! He can scratch all he wants to no avail! If you have a ferret, this carrier is definately for you! The price is awesome, and has a few features like a water and food dish, as well as two top compartments where you can store small things like a collar and leash. It's also easier to clean when he has an accident. 07/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Shipped wrong size The crate is a very nice one, but I was shipped the wrong size and thus ended up purchasing one a pet store chain where I had to spend more money. I ordered a medium and got a small. 05/08/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by roomy but not strong enough My 17lb cat was able to push his way out of the container. The container is large and roomy. I was able to carry the cat to the car. My cat is not a car cat. As the car is driving, my cat gets upset. My cat was able to push through the front and side (clasp) locks, and squeeze out of the container. I will have to permenantly lock the top half to the bottom 01/27/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by We bought this for my Bichon Frise/Yorki mix. She is a puppy and is small. It is big enough to put a soft dog bed inside and for her to be able to climb in and even behind the bed. She loves it and often goes there as her safe place when kids are attacking her. 10/25/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Kennel does not meet airline approval This crate just has clip down fasteners on the side and is not a pproved for air travel for any pet. It will come apart and that is why the airline will not allow you to ship a pet in this kennel. the top and bottom have to be held together with a screw/toggle apparatus. so this is a waist of money for shipping. if you want it just to keep at home and let your pet sleep in it is is great. 05/23/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT cat carrier!! This carrier is just perfect for my male and female Maine Coons!!! It seems to be very sturdy and the price was just what I was looking for considering the rarity of it's usage!!!! 08/15/2014
1-30 of 114 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw458
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp