Consider these popular products

Panasonic 42" Class Plasma 1080p 600Hz HDTV, TC-P42S2

This Item is no longer available
We're unable to show you buying options for this item.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.
The Panasonic 42" 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV provides you with the ultimate in picture resolution. A clean touch bezel design keeps your TV bezel looking crisp and clean with a smudge-resistant finish.

Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the 42" Panasonic plasma HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.

About this item

Important Made in USA Origin Disclaimer: For certain items sold by Walmart on Walmart.com, the displayed country of origin information may not be accurate or consistent with manufacturer information. For updated, accurate country of origin data, it is recommended that you rely on product packaging or manufacturer information.

The Panasonic 42" 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV provides you with the ultimate in picture resolution. A clean touch bezel design keeps your TV bezel looking crisp and clean with a smudge-resistant finish.

Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the 42" Panasonic plasma HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.

Panasonic 42" 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV, TC-P42S2:

  • 16:9 plasma panel
    With a 1920 x 1080 Full HD resolution
  • Built in ATSC/QAM digital/NTSC analog tuner
    Watch conventional and digital broadcasts, including HDTV programs where available
  • 2,000,000:1 dynamic contrast ratio
  • 42" Panasonic plasma HDTV HDMI inputs: 3
    Enjoy a superior HD experience with HDMI one cable experience
  • 42" Panasonic plasma HDTV VIERA Link
    Control multiple devices with one remote
  • 2 built-in speakers
    Get great sound with these 20-watt speakers
  • 41.60"screen measured diagonally from corner to corner

Connections:

  • HDMI 3 In
  • Composite A/V 2 In
  • Component Video 2 In
  • Digital Audio 1 Optical Out
  • Analog Audio 2 In

    TV stand sold separately. See all TV stands.

    TV mount sold separately. See all TV mounts.

  • Specifications

    Aspect Ratio: 16:9
    Original Languages: English, French, Spanish
    Resolution: 1080p
    Memory Card Type: SD Memory Card ,  1 x SD Memory Card
    Series Title: VIERA
    Display Resolution: 1080p (FullHD)
    Is Energy Star-Certified: Y
    Manufacturer Part Number: TC-P42S2
    Connector Type: Component, composite, HDMI ,  2 x HDMI ( 19 pin HDMI Type A ) - rear ? 1 x HDMI ( 19 pin HDMI Type A ) - side ? 1 x composite video input ( RCA phono ) - rear ? 1 x composite video input ( RCA phono ) - side ? 3 x audio line-in ( RCA phono x 2 ) - rear ? 1 x audio line-in ( RCA phono x 2 ) - side ? 2 x component video input ( RCA phono x 3 ) - rear
    Dimensions: With stand ,  Panel without stand - 40.6 in x 3.7 in x 26.1 in x 50.7 lbs ? Panel with stand - 40.6 in x 12.1 in x 27.8 in x 55.1 lbs
    Brand: Panasonic
    Show

    Customer Q&A

    Back
    Questions & Answers 19 questions
    1-3 of 19 questions

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    1-3 of 19 questions See all
    1-3 of 19 questions

    Customer Reviews

    Customer Reviews | 62 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    62 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

    4.5 stars

    62 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

    94%
    Would recommend to a friend
    5 stars
    50
    4 stars
    8
    3 stars
    1
    2 stars
    2
    1 stars
    1
    1-10 of 29 total reviews
    94%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    Disappointed
    11/23/2010

    Customer review by SpendtotheEnd

    2.0 stars 11/23/2010 by SpendtotheEnd
    by SpendtotheEnd
    Top 50 contributor

    After doing extensive research, I settled upon this Panasonic 42" S2 model, and I am extremely disappointed. I bought it for it's "anti-reflective filter", which cuts the glare on the screen. Unfortunately, that same anti-reflective feature also decreases picture clarity, and has a negative impact on picture quality. In short, the picture looks flat and dull. Instead, I would recommend Panasonic's 42" U2 model, which is basically the same as the S2 (1080p), but has an ultra-clear screen, and superb picture clarity. The U2 model does not get much press, as everyone seems to think that the S2 is inherently better....but it's not. The U2 line is Pansonic's entry level 1080p line, and is also deemed a "best buy" according to Consumer Reports. If budget is important, I must add that the C2 line, which is Panasonic's lowest level plasma, is superb. It's only 720p, but at 42", you cannot tell. While the C2 and U2 models do not have anti-reflective filters, I can attest that it's not a problem...it's really a non-issue. So if 1080p is important to you, get the U2 line. But if money is more important, the C2 line is also a great choice.

    Was this review helpful? (55) (18)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    SpendtotheEnd
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    Age:35 - 44
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    Top 50 contributor
    Great product...poor shipping!
    12/20/2010

    Customer review by bwhntr30

    4.0 stars 12/20/2010 by bwhntr30
    by bwhntr30

    This TV is amazing for the price. We had a 32" LCD, but wanted to get a larger plasma for sports and movies. We've only had it for about 3 days, but the contrast is amazing and the colors really "pop." Took us awhile to get the settings figured out because they recommend using the cinema setting, but it seemed really dark. It just took some getting used to because it really looks amazing now. It really picks up on the different colors. Just watched a football game and a basketball game on it today and we love it. The colors on the field/court, in the stands, and the on the players are great. You can see the grain on the baskeball court and even the beads of sweat on the players. We are just blown away by this. We haven't watched a movie yet, but I'm sure it will be great because the sports were the true test for me. I would highly recommend this product. Just make sure you pick it up from the store, because it was the worst shipping I've ever had. It took over three weeks for us to get the TV.

    Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    bwhntr30
    West Lebanon, IN
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    AWESOME!
    12/8/2010

    Customer review by enpsmooth

    5.0 stars 12/8/2010 by enpsmooth
    by enpsmooth

    We go this TV online through Walmart for $578!!! And OH BOY was it money well spent. THe picture exceeds my expectations. Sound is good for built in speakers. Set up was so easy a caveman could do it. =) I set the set up last night and was blown away by the picture quality. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HDTV. To get an LCD with this picture quality you'd spend well over 1k. I used these calibration specs I found online and they worked extremely well: Picture Settings o Picture Mode : Cinema o Contrast : 71 o Brightness : 60 o Color : 47 o Tint : +9 o Sharpness : 0 o Color Temp : Warm o x.v. Color : Off o C.A.T.S. : Off o Video NR : Off o Blur Reduction : Off (turning this to On supposedly gives the full 1080 lines of motion resolution, but does some frame interpolation/insertion) * Aspect Adjustments o Screen format : FULL o HD size : Size 2 * Advanced picture o MPEG NR : Off o Black level : Light o 3:2 pulldown : On Service Menu Offsets WB-ADJ MENU R-DRV: +5 G-DRV: -11 B-DRV: -11 R-CUT: -2 G-CUT: 0 B-CUT: +4 Note: These offsets must be entered for both Color matrixes. You access the different matrixes by using a 1080i/p signal for the HD matrix and 480i/p signal for the SD matrix. The WB Method Select option should be set to 00 instead of 03. The thread can be found on the AVS forums if you want to do the service menu offsets and want to learn more about the set. Ok so stop searching and buy this TV. Seriously! =)

    Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    enpsmooth
    sacramento, CA
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    Best value on the market!
    12/7/2010

    Customer review by notalmeda

    5.0 stars 12/7/2010 by notalmeda
    by notalmeda

    After researching HDTV's for over a year, (bought a SONY Bravia 32" in the meantime) I finally found one that my fiance would love! I had to choose between LCD-LED and plasma and am very happy with the plasma! I chose the plasma because it is ideal for low lighting situations and we usually dim the lights for movies. For those concerned with well lit rooms, Panasonic has developed an automatic light ambience detector that adjusts brilliance and contrast according to room light conditions. Perfect! With a 2,000,000:1 contrast ratio, the images are sharp and crisp. A 600 refresh rate surpasses any LED-LCD capability and assures blur free fast action. Ideal for sports as well as special effect movies. The HDMI inputs allow WiFi viewing of Netflix from a laptop or desk top PC with no additional USB adapter. There are also various digital component inputs and out puts to retain the integrity of digital signals. Setup is a breeze and the remote is adequate. Not a lot of bells and whistles but easy to use. Sound quality is good enough without hooking up to home theater although there is a tendency toward distortion and high treble when played at maximum volume. The feature is two 10 watt speakers that can be adjusted for bass, treble and balance. If you're an audiophile, you'll probably want to set up external speakers. Overall, the picture adjusts easily for natural flesh tones and colors and provides a sharp, crisp scenic view. I purchased this set for $599 with free shipping (took a little over a week from CA to NY). A true value driven HDTV that should please even fussy folks. And don't worry about burn in or loss of pixel resolution. Panasonic has developed a screen that makes burn in less hazardous (although they do warn about a still shot for over 15-20 minutes) as well as a screen "eraser". Also has a slot for SD cards so you can shoot pictures or video digitally and view them right away. A great value for the money and better than many 42" HDTV's that are higher priced! I love it!

    Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    notalmeda
    Schenectady, NY
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    8/14/2010

    Customer review by ports72

    5.0 stars 8/14/2010 by ports72
    by ports72

    For the price category, this flat screen is on top of the list, as well as its features and display quality.

    Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    ports72
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    8/14/2010

    Customer review by minco12

    5.0 stars 8/14/2010 by minco12
    by minco12

    Lots of features, crisp colors, clear sound are the offerings of this beautiful tv.

    Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    minco12
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Great TV for a great price!
    12/22/2010

    Customer review by Tigerfantothebone

    5.0 stars 12/22/2010 by Tigerfantothebone
    by Tigerfantothebone

    Consumer Reports listed this tv as a great tv and recommended it, and I couldn't agree more. The picture quality (the most important thing) is excellent. I had to play with the colors a little bit to get it to my liking, but it was very simple to do so. I chose a plasma because it has a better, crisper picture than an LCD, and watching football over the weekend helped reinforce why I made that decision. No "motion lag" with 600hz, and the blue ray and true 1080 lines of moving picture resolution was amazing! Panasonic is the top manufacturer of plasma televisions, and I would recommend this tv to anyone. The only problem is that it takes a while to receive it through Wal Mart since they don't carry this tv in stores. It also lacks some of the "extras" but you don't have to pay for them with this tv. Great buy!

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    Tigerfantothebone
    Marana, AZ
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    BEAUTIFUL PIECE OF FURNITURE
    10/27/2010

    Customer review by CREDITCARDBURNOUT

    5.0 stars 10/27/2010 by CREDITCARDBURNOUT
    by CREDITCARDBURNOUT

    EASY SET UP. LOOKS GREAT, SOUNDS GREAT AND HAS A OUTSTANDING PICTURE. LOVE IT!!

    Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    CREDITCARDBURNOUT
    AZ
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:65 or older
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Every day
    An excellent value in a 42" Plasma TV 1080p
    12/13/2010

    Customer review by bobmunch

    5.0 stars 12/13/2010 by bobmunch
    by bobmunch

    I and my wife are really pleased with our new TV and its performance - especially with movies! So far, we haven't gotten the HD tuner from DirectTV for true 1080p performance, or a Blue Ray player, but it does amazingly well even at 480 and its signal processing is generally very good at making the best of a lower standard signal. If it performs as well as other 42" Panasonics in HD mode we have seen, it should be stunning! The setup and the remote have been both easy and genuinely intuitive with no weird programming/adjustment rituals like with some other units we've had. Also, I would definitely recommend serious consideration of a Plasma set like this over the majority of LCD units as they really seem to be able to overcome some problems, like motion glitches and image transformations more gracefully than many LCD units. Audio is very good given we are using only the set's speakers at present. Panasonic has always delivered decent sound in all their products I've had, so no surprise. And it should get better once it is connected to our home sound system. Our only negative in this whole experience so far has been that "free to the home" shipping was slow (almost 2 weeks). Probably due to both Xmas and cost savings by Walmart for the free shipping offer. Still, the unit came in "as left the factory" condition, so I don't guess we can complain too much. We would rate it a 5 star bargain as well as a 5 star TV.

    Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    bobmunch
    Eastern Oregon
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:55 - 64
    Ownership:1 week or less
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    Excellent Plasma
    12/17/2010

    Customer review by ChrisLD

    5.0 stars 12/17/2010 by ChrisLD
    by ChrisLD

    I did my research and I was not disappointed. Awesome TV for my bedroom, easy setup, sound quality is above my expectations.. especially for TV speakers there arent typically all that great. Overall I am very satisfied, I will be looking for a bigger one for the living room. Great product. The only thing I wasn't impressed with was the freight company chosen by Walmart to ship this product, Seko Worldwide. They are very slow and seem to be extremely backed up with deliveries. I ended up going right to their dock for a pickup.

    Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this review helpful?
    ChrisLD
    Rochester, NY
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:Every day
    1-10 of 29 total reviews See all
    1-10 of 29 reviews

    Customer Reviews | 62 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

    Customer Reviews

    Was this review helpful?
    Was this review helpful?

    Policies & Plans

    See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

    Warranty Plan

    Walmart Product Care Plans
    A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

    We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

    Product warranty:  year Years See details

    Warranty Information: 1 Year Limited Warranty - Parts and Labor
    Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.