See All Reviews
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 129 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best Bought this bread maker 2 weeks ago we use it everyday. we make white bread, banana nut bread, dough for pizza, everything. it comes with a recipe book. it is very easy to use. the settings are perfect you just hit the setting you want then walk away it beeps when its done. the pan is very deep we make bread and then cut it in half because the pieces are twice the size you would buy in the store. the loaves are rectangular shaped. it has a window so you can see exactly what it is doing. My husband loves this thing he cant stop making bread it's awesome we have bread in the freezer because we don't eat this much bread he makes it faster then we can eat it!! 11/17/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Gift I bought this breadmaker for my 82 year old Mother that loves to bake. Thanks to the easy directions and simple receipes, she is back in the kitchen. We have found it to be better than the previous machine and look forward to many tasty treats from the kitchen 10/30/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bread Machine This bread machine is very easy. I was making bread shortly after opening the box. Their recipes are so simple for the basic white and wheat but also has many other kinds. I figured there would be a lot of prep for it but it all goes in the pan and mixes everything itself and off it goes. Most of the time it takes to make the bread is for the time used on mixing and rising. The only downfall I've seen is that it wobbles on the more heavy flour recipes. The good thing is that it smells great and makes other things like jam and pizza dough. 01/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I use for gluten-free bread I bought this machine before Christmas specifically to make gluten-free bread. So far, I have not tried from-scratch recipes, but have had good luck with mixes for cinnamon-raisin and whole grain from B.R.M. The short cycles do not work for gluten-free bread. The mixes recommend the basic over 3 hour setting and that seems to work. Even though the time is long, I can put in the room-temperature wet ingredients ( liquids plus oil and egg), then the dry on top with a hole in the middle for the yeast, set the machine and forget it. One trick I use is to warm the water in the microwave before whisking with the oil and somewhat cold egg(s). That way I don't have to leave my eggs out of the fridge. I'm hoping to graduate to from-scratch recipes, but the mixes are convenient. I am a fan of whole grain. Never liked to eat doughy white bread, even before I discovered I needed to go gluten-free. 01/26/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Breadmaker I really like the breadmaker. It is smaller than my previous one so it takes up less counterspace. One note, during the initial kneading cycle the user needs to scrap the flour from the sides of the loaf pan so that everything mixes up properly. The bread is delicious and the maker is easy to program and use. 10/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this machine! This machine was a gift for myself for Christmas and I've been making bread every other day since! Great machine. I use the user guide and other sources and this machine works 'em up just fine. Only issue I have had is when I made a dense loaf, the machine literally walked off the counter! I ran back into the kitchen, picked it up, plugged it back in and it finished the cycle and baked the bread into as beautiful a loaf as all the other recipes. Have tried all different sizes from 1, 1-1/2 to 2 lb loaves with no issues. This is a workhorse of a breakmaker. It's not my first machine. My first machine was a DAK back in the early 80's (very heavy machine) and I've had other makes since then. This is the best so far. Right size, right weight, pan easy to put in and take out of the machine and it doesn't pop out or dislodge like some others, display is easy to read. Suggestions for newer models: I like to remove the paddle before it bakes and would like a few beeps that it's ready for the final raising cycle. The user manual could use a little revamping in the recipe department. Other than that -- it's great a great product. Oh, used Walmart site to store -- awesome service. Hope it never goes away! 03/08/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bread Machine! Great Machine, I use mine every other day if not every day and It has held up great! 10/13/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great deal on a bread maker I purchased this bread maker at my local Walmart for just $30 yesterday. The red sale sticker on the box said $35, but it rang up for $30. I made bread last night and it came out perfect. I followed a recipe from Allrecipes.com that said to put the yeast, warm water and sugar first, then the flour, salt & veg. oil. I did a 1.5 lb. loaf on the basic setting with medium crust color. I used all-purpose flour not the bread flour that it called for. The bread came out soft with a flaky crust perfectly baked. I will try the method (liquid ingredients, then the dry ingredients, then the yeast on top) as stated in the manual next time to see if that works. Also, I will try with bread flour in the future to see the difference. Definitely a great product for the price! It seems to be sturdy, easy to use, and easy clean-up! 05/02/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really Nice!! Would Highly Recommend!! I used to make homemade bread by scratch. The kneeding dough part was particularly time and strength consuming. It is so nice to just load the ingredients and let this breadmaker do all the work! It comes with recipes and utensils, (tsp/tbs, measuring cup, etc). Since their cup measured 3/8 inches, I use that one and put a small piece of electrical tape at the line to see it, (old eyes), but use my glass cup for the other measurements. Another customer mentioned the machine jumping around the surface its on when kneeding. I found that to be true the first time. However, I think it all has to do with measuring and placement of the ingredients because it hasn't happened since. When I mean placement, I mean making sure that it's evenly distributed, (the flour), in the baking pan. And, as directions say, making a hole for the yeast. They want everything room temperature and I think that is also key in a good loaf of bread. All and all, we love it. We've baked 1 loaf a week and it's getting better and better. Highly recommend this product for those who don't want to spend a lot of money, but want a really yummy loaf of bread. Can't top the aroma of baking bread in the house either. :) 12/25/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pennsylvania This works great for gluten free breads. Measurements have to be exact. Worth the price. 09/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! I got this as a gift for Christmas and have not bought a loaf of bread or jam since! I make a couple of loaves a week and have made jam twice in it. My 4 year old tells me I am the best bread maker in the world! I have manipulated some of the recipes that come with the machine to reduce the fat and eliminate the sugar and they have turned out great! Some helpful hints- The blade is fairly small so I find it doesnt always mix up the dough enough during the kneading cycle, so if you check after a few minutes, stick a spatula in and scrap the flour of the edges it will then mix (a little annoying but not a huge deal) For making jam put some foil over the pan and put a few small slits in it. The jam splashes quite a bit and will get all over the inside of you machine if you don't. 04/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! I bought this item a two days ago, so I don't really know how durable it is. We needed a bread machine when our 3 year old was diagnosed with soybean allergies because in our small town we couldn't find any other bread then rice bread (which is like a brick) that is soy free. I've made two loaves so far and they are fantastic! It is extremely easy to make, and I love the express option. We just made sandwiches for lunch from bread that was made in 58 minutes! And it was delicious! 11/04/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Breaks Easily Oster is great about replacing the bread machine at no charge but only 3 times and I have exceeded my 3 time limit. They just don't last and it is a hassle having to get them to send you a new one only to have it go out within a year's time as well. Product is shoddy. 06/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Great Buy for gluten-allergics! As a huge bread fanatic, I had been going through bread-product withdrawals after discovering my many food allergies including gluten, milk, and eggs. We have yet to find an edible store-bought gluten free bread, so this product was a life saver! It makes GREAT gluten free bread that even my wife admits is just as good as the regular stuff! (and her "bar" for good food hasn't been lowered like mine has due to a multitude of food allergies). My wife just throws in the flour mix, egg replacer, yeast, etc, turns it on, and a couple of hours later we have a mouth-watering loaf of bread! It does everything for you--you don't even need to mix the ingredients, and the only dirty dish you end up with is the pan which comes out quite clean actually when you take the bread out! We haven't yet tried making anything in it other than "plain" bread, but for that alone we both agree that this is the most worthwhile thing we've bought in years, and for a lot less money than most of the other bread-makers we've seen! 01/19/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love this machine I have thought about buying a breadmaker for years and used a Walmart gift card to buy this one. I chose it because it was close to the value of my gift card and I have had good luck before with Oster appliances. In the first week, I have baked 3 loaves - two from mixes and the last one from scratch. Every loaf came out great. Read the other reviews before using - their tips are helpful. Follow the instructions exactly (other than you should NOT press the "start/stop" button to "clear the screen" at the beginning of a cycle as the instructions say to do. That will start the cycle.) You can select all the menu options without pressing that button. Also, it's best to make a "hill" out of the dry ingredients by spooning them over the stir/knead blade, rather than pouring them in evenly in the pan. That keeps you from winding up with unmixed dry ingredients in the corners. Also, it helps during the first stir cycle to use a rubber spatula to scrape the dry ingredients from the corners. Note also that the instructions do not make clear that on certain bread-type settings, you cannot choose the crust color or the loaf size. For the price, though, this appliance makes very good bread. You could pay a lot more and maybe have a few more options or better instructions, but I doubt the bread would be any better. I marked the durability 4 stars only because I have had it such a short time. It seems to be very well built and should be durable. Also, clean up is exceptionally easy - the bread comes right out with very little residue in the pan. 03/01/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Versatile! I love this bread machine! I have had it for about 2 weeks now, and have used it for all kinds of things! I made bread, of course, coffee cake, banana bread, pizza dough, and strawberry jam! It does a great job, and we are very pleased! 08/31/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Bread Just bought this week & we are enjoying excellent bread. Bread without preservatives ! So far have tried the whole wheat & white bread recipes. Next will try the dough making for oven rolls. Sure beats wrestling with the heavy mixer & uncertain dough risings. Buy quality ingredients & enjoy. 12/02/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic! I have made eight loaves so far of Whole Wheat bread with this breadmaker and every loaf has been the same.....Fantastic! The best whole wheat bread I could find off the store shelf had so much preservatives (one famous brand has a chemical similar to fertilizer) that I decided to make my own. The ONLY ingredients are Whole wheat flour, water, a very small amount of brown sugar, yeast and small amount of salt. The bread holds up well for several days, I eat a loaf every four or five days (2 lb loaf). The taste is wonderful. The texture is quite dense and the bread is heavy, so you can use thin slices. Very easy to clean, super easy to use, just dump in ingredients and wait three hours and enjoy. The loaves are slightly "stubby" so your slices might not go into a toaster. I toast mine in a toaster oven. I calculated the cost of a loaf about $1.60. I found King Arthur flour to be the best whole wheat flour. available at Wal Mart. I love the machine and recommend it highly. 08/07/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I love this! only one draw back I love every feature I love every piece of bread I make on it. The only thing that I wish I could change is even on a light setting the crust is till pretty hard/ crunchy. before I bought it I read the reviews and saw a lot about the bread not working ect. If you follow the exact recipe in the order they tell you to I get perfect bread. This was my first time making it bread and Its so easy! I love it!! If you are looking to buy a bread machine this one is the winner! Its a great price and it makes wonderful breads. Its a little big but we keep ours in our pantry when I'm not making bread so it doesn't really effect our cupboard space. Don't buy another one buy this you will be happy that you did! 01/10/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Huge Disappointment I have owned and worn out several bread makers so this was not my first experience. There were problems from the beginning. Some loaves didn't cook properly. They all looked terrible (and I used mixes as well as scratch). Then after less than 10 loaves it quit cooking all together. It mixes but then stops during the raising process. Literally turns off. Unfortunately, it is past the 30 days and I can't take it back. Product was a HUGE disappointment and I would not recommend it. 05/09/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Reluctantly Recommend This is my first breadmaker (owned three days). I have trouble removing the breadpan. It doesn't lift straight up and out easily. Other than that, the basic white bread recipe turned out great! I like the size of the machine, the display panel, user friendly settings with nice range of options and window on top to watch bread making process. Although I find the breadpan itself difficult to remove, the bread comes out of the pan very easily due to nonstick coating. Would like to give a higher rating but uncertain due to breadpan removal issue. Will try contacting the Company again which wasn't accepting calls due to heavy call volumn. Yikes! 03/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just a bit of HOME... I have baked a few loaves of bread now and the TEAM morale is HIGH! We are deployed to Iraq and the aroma of fresh bread baking is exciting! Reminding each of us of home in different ways; Sparking great conversation with personal stories of home. Oh yea, great product performance too. 04/07/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by This product has been a super frustration. Even though I snap it into place during the 2nd knead cycle the whole kitchen starts shaking because the pan unlocks. I have now tried 3 loaves and I am ready to never try another breadmaker again. I just want to throw the ball of dough in the air and shoot with a shotgun. Please do not buy this product. It's not worth the tears! 12/31/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by A good basic bread maker I have used mine every week for over a year to make a loaf of honey whole wheat malt bread for sandwiches and this machine has performed reliably every time. Here's the recipe that I use for some really good bread for sandwiches or toast. 375 gm King Arthur White Whole Wheat Flour 125 gm King Arthur Whole Wheat Flour 300 gm distilled water 7 tbsp honey 3 tbsp unsalted butter 2½ tsp salt 2½ tsp Fleischman's Active Dry Yeast 2 tbsp Vital Wheat Gluten 1 tbsp Diastatic Malt powder 1 tbsp Non-Diastatic Malt powder Make a sponge out of 1 cup of the flour and 3/4 cup of the water, all the yeast and half the honey in a bowl and cover with plastic wrap, and set it aside for an hour or so. Dump the rest of the ingredients in the bread maker (liquids on the bottom). When the sponge has doubled in size dump it on top of the rest of the ingredients and start the bread maker on cycle 3 with dark crust selected, 2lb size. This makes a moist, sweet, flavorful, delicious loaf that could have been store bought. Slice in thin slices because the protein content is high. 11/27/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty Good Good value for money compared with top rated machines. If you want to do bread every day it might be better to pay for a more up-scale machine. For occasional use 2-3 times a week this is fine. Hard to find fast rising yeast (needed for express loaf) 03/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by love it I bought this bread maker specifically to make gluten free bread for my kids and it works great. my kids love the bread that comes out. I haven't tried to make anything else but so far so good. 11/08/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Perfect Loaf Of Bread I've owned a bread maker in that past and wasn't too happy with the quality of the bread that came out. It may have been the baker though. I bought this after looking at some recipes online, many of which were fantastic sounding bread recipes. All of them were made in a bread machine. This was the only one left at my local Walmart and I got it for only $25 today. I brought it home and was surprised at all the features it offered. After reading the book thoroughly I tried the Basic White Bread recipe. It worked beautifully and the end product is one of the most beautiful loaves of bread I've ever made. It is shaped beautifully and the crust turned out a light golden brown which is exactly what I wanted. I think the key to this is to add the ingredients exactly as specified in the instruction manual. I don't believe I was that careful with my old bread maker which may be why my bread was always gummy looking. This bread is light and has a wonderful texture. The paddle does leave a small hole in the bread but it's not really that noticeable. The aroma is outstanding and the hardest part was waiting for it to bake and cool before trying a bite. I didn't have any problem with the pan coming loose during the kneading process and because I put the dry ingredients in a hill in the center I didn't have any flour left on the sides either. The loaf was shaped nicely and did not fall in the middle during the baking process as others have complained about. This machine is also a lot quieter than my older machine and looks great on my counter top. The baking pan came out easily and my loaf slid out onto the cooling rack without any problem. The pan does get very hot so be careful when removing it from the bread machine. I'm very happy with the quality of the machine and the pan. I also noticed that the blade is metal. My old machine had a plastic blade. I have a feeling this is going to be used a lot and I'm already thinking of some great breads I can make for Christmas presents. 06/21/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by disappointed I made my first loaf by following the recipe for whole wheat bread. It turned out pretty bad. I could tell that the dough wasn't kneaded adequately and the loaf ended up dry on the outside but too moist in the center. This machine is a real disappointment compared to my last bread machine. 10/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great machine! I love my breadmaker! I've been using it almost daily for over 2 years now. I use the bake setting a lot. I have made sweet breads, dinner rolls, meatloaf, cinnamon rolls, green bean casserole, cornbread and more with it. Depending on what I am making, I just set a timer and test for doneness, as it doesn't always need the full length bake setting. I like the expressbake feature too, great tasting bread in under an hour. I found that you don't have to buy the special quick rise yeast though. Regular active dry works just fine. The booklet it comes with is filled with a wide range of yummy recipes. Regular white bread, sourdough bread, French bread, Whole wheat bread and more! I have been very pleased with the durability and quality of this machine. 08/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Machine I was surprised at the previous reviews. This machine works fine, I had to adjust the settings to my personal preferences. Crust is set to light because I do not like hard bottom crusts. I also add dough enhancer to every recipe. If using Gold Medal Bread flour I add 1 teaspoon dough enhancer to every cup of flour in the recipe. The basic white 2lb loaf did get a little too tall but was still delicious. I am not fond of the Tall loaf wish it were longer and not so tall, but the taste and texture is great. I did not add vinegar like I usually do to my home made bread because I wanted to follow the original recipe in the book as close as possible the only change I made was the dough enhancer which I have learned through years of homemade bread making, makes a big difference. My first loaf fell (no enhancer) the second loaf was perfect other than too tall but thats due to the shape of the loaf pan that comes with the machine. Making beer pizza dough now, going to have pizza for the grand kids tonight. Add dough enhancer set the crust setting to light and enjoy. This is a good machine for the price. You really just need a little enhancer or vital gluten to keep the bread from falling. I do not like bread mixes . If you do add a 1/2 teaspoon of vinegar it should be fine. Always add yeast last, and make sure its the correct yeast. Regular or Rapid Rise, there is a big difference. The only reason I give it a 4 star is because of the loaf pan, I would like a more traditional loaf pan in the machine but thats just my opinion. Been baking home made bread from scratch for years without a machine, so I am quite impressed with the out come of this little machine. 04/26/2012
1-30 of 106 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew214
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp