Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 77 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 Absolutely works, U NEED TO READ THIS!!! ~ Despite what other's review's said, I went ahead and bought this online to be shipped to the store for pick up. I read the instructions... A LOT OF YOU are not letting your machine run for 2 minutes BEFORE adding the popcorn. It's important it runs 2 minutes to heat up! I only had THREE kernals pop out into the bowl when it first started popping and that was because when the first few pieces start popping it brings the couple of kernals out with them because pop corn is fluffy and big. That's not even worth mentioning. To expect ANY sort of popcorn machine to pop every kernal is out of-this-world NOT possible. ~ I had ZERO problems operating this popper. A few popped pieces get hung up behind the silver bowl part that the corn pops out of, but that is all easily retrieveable when you remove the top to wipe it clean when it has finished and you're preparing it for storage. ~ It pops corn SUPER fast! It was like the second it began it was almost over! I LOVED that aspect honestly. ~ The clear lid part which the chute is at is slightly flimsey...like it seems as if you were to accidentally drop it it would crack, so don't drop the lid and you'll be fine =] ~ DON'T USE EXPENSIVE NAME BRAND POPPING CORN! The expensive brands won't pop because they require a hotter temperature to pop at. Stick to Jolly Time (i use that!) or Great Value from a walmart super center store. ~ I also use a rectangular ceramic bowl to catch my popcorn in. Circular ones, no matter what machine I've ever used, even if the circular bowl sits against the popcorn machine, some pieces will hit the counter because the sides start to curve out into the circular bowl shape, or the roundness of the bowl shape where it starts to angle upward from the bottom..pieces tend to hit the bottom and slide up the wall like a skate board in a empty swimming pool. I've found using a square or recantgular bowl from either Pottery Barn (i use the ceramic Easter basket with handles then drape a towel over the handles to keep the popcorn warm) or a square bowl from Crate and Barrel catches everything and NOTHING lands outside of the bowl. ~ The air that comes out of the chute is surprisingly NOT hot at all! Only the very top where the cup is at gets hot because it is a metal frame. ~ If you get this machine and is does not work you NEED to take it back and have them replace it! 9 times out of 10 damage happens in shipping. It's not a problem and it's not a big deal. ~ I also don't recommend using this machine longer than 10 minutes without a break to cool off or else you will damage it from over heating. ~ There is a faux handle on the machine and I use to shove the electricity cord thru for storage =] This product is not bad at all. It's a 5 star in my book! Your cooking is only as good as your supplies & appliances. GET THIS POPPER! 08/02/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT GIFT!!!!! MY GRANDSON REALLY WANTED THIS OLD FASHIONED MOVIE TIME POPCORN MAKER FOR HIS 6TH BIRTHDAY. HIS EYES JUST LIT UP WHEN HE SAW IT. THE ONLY PROBLEM WAS THAT IT DID NOT POP TOO MANY OF THE KERNELS. MY DAUGHTER CALLED THE MANUFACTURER AND WAS TOLD NOT TO USE "ORVILLE REDENBACHER'S" POPCORN. THAT WAS THE PROBLEM. SHE PURCHASED ANOTHER BRAND OF POPCORN KERNELS AND IT WORKED JUST GREAT. 08/17/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Looks nice I got this for a gift.I was so pleased when I saw it.I was so excited to use it.The popcorn was flying out 6 feet out of the maker from my kitchen into the front of my dining room.I used it again trying to figure out what went wrong once again it started launching out all over my house.It made a huge mess both times and took a long time to clean up and vacum.I did not get a gift receipt and never retured it.I never told the gift giver what happend.I did not want to seem ungrateful.I have it on my counter and it looks very nice but I never use because I end up with more popcorn on the floor than in the bowl! 11/05/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by MOVIE TIME POPPER Love it! Very cute looks just like the picture. 07/10/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Healthy popcorn This machine is great for those who enjoy popcorn and like it fresh and healthy. 11/29/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Cool I purchased this item for my daughters carnival theme party and our home theater. It works perfect. I had no problems at all. Just make sure you use a bowl that fits flat or as close as possible to the front so all the popcorn gets in the bowl. Great family fun activity. Works really quickly. All my daughters friends thought it was the neatest thing. Now it's in my movie room for use anytime. 10/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by "VERY COOL" I bought this for 17 year old nephew, for Christmas, I thought it was a little pricey for an (air) popcorn popper, but my niece, said he would love it, so I went ahead and got this one instead of one of the cheaper, regular popcorn poppers. My niece was right, when he opened it , he said, "Oh VERY COOL" he was impressed and he did LOVE it! I even scored a big hug, and a "Thank You", from this boy, and that hasn't happened since he was about 9, and I got him "Ice Age" the Movie for Christmas that year. 01/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Popcorn Maker I love the look of this product. It is just what I ordered. The only feature that I wish it had is the capability to add butter during the popping. It pops great and is cool to look at. 06/11/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by This purchase was a gift for a 4 yr old and she absolutely loves it, you have to follow the directions and let the machine warm up before adding the popcorn. I know others have poorly rated this item but I give it high marks it was purchased as a christmas gift and we have been using it every friday and also letting our 4 yr old operate the machine under supervision. Great way to involve the little ones in family time. 02/03/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Product I am like so many others on these reviews.... great looking machine....... just doesn't work well at all. The Popcorn that it makes is air popped, so it has zero taste. You can not add butter or salt to the popping process leaving the only option to add it afterwards.... not really a good option. I also had similar issues to the rest of the reviews. After following the instructions carefully... The popcorn as it pops kicks all of the unpopped kernels out on the floor, or the kernels that are about to pop come out then pop and go all over the kitchen. It is much easier to cook popcorn the old fashioned method on the stove ........ and the popcorn tastes much better!!! I'm taking mine back! 01/01/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product! Excellent purchase, the item might be noisy as other reviews say, but it is worth the smile that puts on my daughter’s face. She loved it and we loved it too! 02/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Looks Great! Works Great! As the other person mentioned you really do have to READ the instructions! I started the machine and let it run 2 min then shut it off to add the popcorn kernels then restart it again. My kids had so much fun watching the popcorn POP! I only had a couple kernels that didn't pop. There is one downside it is very NOISY! But that's the only one. Other then that I love it! 10/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by old time air popper This was a gift, & she loved it!! So do her kids!! Quick & easy to do, & no oil involved! 02/17/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by works great! this popcorn maker is great. 1 bad thing we found was sometimes the corn will pop in the bowl. makes a little mess but its fun. 02/04/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by works just fine. Got what i expected for $31.00. you get what you pay for. 01/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by This popcorn maker works perfect for my need. 07/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great gift I bought this for my daughter and grandchildren and they love it. They use it everyday. I am so happy that I bought this machine. 06/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by We love fresh air popped popcorn. My sister received a bigger one for Christmas. Although it has the nostalgic look, It is huge ,hard to clean, and was expensive. I love this machine. It is a great size, and a great price, much cheaper than other stores. 02/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by It is a fun retro gift This is great for people who like retro stuff. It mkes popping popcorn fun. The kids like it. 01/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cute product Works as I expected it too.... I know some complain about the popcorn going everywhere while popping. Easy fix.... I use a plastic strainer about the size of a large mixing bowl. The air flows through the strainer... so the popcorn doesn't fly out. 07/07/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cute novelty idea but a disappointment Popcorn flies everywhere but in the bowl! Has way too many unpopped kernels and only pops a very small amout of popcorn at a time. You have to wait 15 minutes to cool down if you want to pop another batch. Also very loud during operation! If you're looking for a cute novelty item to display, this is it. If you're looking for a popcorn maker, look elsewhere ... 01/14/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for the Price Popcorn machine works well and the kids love it. Looks great. Good deal for the price. 01/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I was very pleased with the popcorn machine. I was looking for a popcorn machine that fix in with my daughter's decor. This was a gift for my son-in-law and we have watched a movie and the popcorn was great! 01/06/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed I bought the popper to use for the 4th of July. We plugged it in and it blew hot air for 30 seconds and that was it. I will take it back and try another one. I really would like to have one that works. 07/15/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Piece of Junk! this is the biggest piece of junk I have ever bought from Walmart. Would not do ANYTHING!! when you flip the switch to start it, the light would turn red but the motor would not go and no air would come out to pop the corn. Have no idea what the problem was, but needless to say we didn't get to use it for my daughter's movie themed birthday party- Very, Very Disappointed!!! :( 05/17/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by uggg This was a Christmas gift for my child. The box came with HOT AIR POPCORN MAKER on the side. The only way it could have been worse was if there was a picture on the side of the box. Thanks walmart for letting everyone know what I bought!!!! 12/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Tasting Popcorn EVER! This popcorn machine is very attractive and is just the right size to fit on your kitchen counter. Remember to follow the directions and heat the unit by turning it on 2 minutes prior to use. Turn off unit after 2 minutes, add popcorn, and turn unit back on. Works great with no burning. I melted some unsalted Crystal Farms butter in a kettle and added a couple pinches of fine sea salt to the popcorn. And, remember to use yellow corn. The directions recommend it. I used the Walmart Great Value brand . It was SO delicious! The popcorn machine made the living room smell like a real movie theater! You will not be disappointed. PLUS, the popcorn machine is made in the USA! This popcorn maker would also make a great gift for any popcorn-movie-loving person!!! 10/16/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This look like a good product BUT after making one and a half batches of popcorn it gave out only had it for two days NOT A HAPPY CAMPER. 02/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Adorable and affordable. 01/02/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by you get what u pay for would not recommend to others unless only using it for decoration, works but its slow, very loud, and popcorn tastes like garbage without seasonings. 01/02/2012
1-30 of 63 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw471
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp