See All Reviews
NOOK Simple Touch
NOOK Simple Touch
$59.00
List Price: $79.00
You Save: $20.00 (25%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 104 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stays charged 2 weeks with wi-fi turned on Love it I owned the other model that is white and I had to charge it every 2 days I had just bought it and then the touch ereader came out so I returned the other one and bought the touch ereader. This one stays charged for 2 weeks with the wi-fi turned on. I haven't tried it with the wi-fi turned off. I have a light that I purchased from barns and noble to read at night, but during the day I don't need one. It is bright and clear in direct sunlight and in normal lighting. I have a Nook Color also and I can't use it outdoors because you can't see the screen so I alternate betwen the 2 of them depending on my location. Don't forget to download your free book every Friday at Barns and noble's website. 07/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by An Amazing Incredible Machine This is an amazing item! I loved my original version of the e-ink nook (the white one) but this one is so much more amazing! I love the touch screen. It's super responsive. This nook has many features that I wished my old one had. You have the option to find any page by typing in the number, unlike the original that had that weird and frustrating page selection bar. You have the option to jump back and forth to any chapter as well from the table of contents. And the dictionary is one of my favorite features. Just touch and hold a word for two seconds and the nook gives you the option to look up the word instantly! No keying it in personally needed! This nook is also great for anyone that's a fan of manga. The original e-ink nook would cut the bottom of the pages leaving parts of conversations unseen, but this nook gives you the option to shrink the page slightly to fit everything on the screen. Now this nook doesn't have a web browser or games like the original but with everyone having smart-phones and i-pods this shouldn't deter you. It's also smaller and lighter than the original, doesn't tire out your wrists like the original dose after a couple of hours. The power button on this devise is also impossible to bump and turn on or off by accident; so no accidental battery drainage. Bottom like this is a great devise! If you're on the fence take the plunge! You'll be glad you did. 07/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nook got me reading again! The convenience of having your favorite books all in one place and being able to carry them with you wherever you go is great! I'm still on my first battery charge, so I don't have experience w/life of one charge, but this edition of the Nook is excellent because the entire screen is touch, instead of just the bottom area like the 1st edition model. The fact that I can make the font larger is a huge plus, because I'm not getting any younger :) 07/18/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great product It was hard to choose between Nook and Kindle, but I read up on both and decided Nook was the best buy for the money. 07/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than original Nook I owned the original Nook but didn't like the fact that indexes had to be navigated using the arrows on the bottom touch screen. That was very slow. With the new Nook I can touch the link to the chapter directly, a much better solution. Word searches aren't any faster than before and I guess that's because ebook readers don't have quick processors like smart phones do. That plus the lack of a color graphics display is why the battery life on ebook readers is much longer. The microSD card slot on the new Nook is externally accessible unlike the internal position for the old Nook. My daughter now has that one. I didn't consider the Kindle because of the proprietary ebook format Amazon uses and the fact that it doesn't have a touch screen. 08/06/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by I was very disappointed with this new Nook. I have the original one and I love it. I purchased the new one for my mom for her birthday and before she even had a chance to download any books the entire thing froze up. I took it back to Walmart, the clerk looked online for solutions and found that this is VERY common with this model. It usually happens within 2 weeks to 2 months of purchase, she didnt even have hers for 2 weeks. So Im getting her the original Nook, I feel its a better product and I sure dont want to take the chance this will happen again! I also thought the new product was a bit cheaply made compared to the original model. I think the new Nook is a great idea and I hope Barnes and Noble fixes the problem as they are aware this is happening. 10/27/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good e-reader, but has some problems I love my nook. I spent a while trying to decide between a kindle or a nook. I decided on the nook because it has better features and I had a gift card for Wal-mart which doesn't sell kindle. I love that I can download books for free from my library and that there are so many choices for books at Barnes & Noble. I do have problem with my nook though. Sometimes there is shadowing from the previous page which can be annoying and the screen tends to freeze up. I learned that if I plug it in and then hold the on/off button for about 30 second that I can force my nook to shut down. But somedays it continues to freeze. The forward & back buttons still work though so I can still read just no do anything else. I would return it for a new one, but my return time frame at walmart has ended. Over all good, but I would get an extended warranty on it. 09/06/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great!!! But... Very impressed. Bought the Nook for my 15 year old son and loved it so got one for myself. Very impressed! Only three negatives that I have found. 1. Almost every book I have found on BN for the Nook is more expensive by at least a few dollars than the exact same book available for the Kindle. This is disappointing.... 2. I actually live in the Middle East. So, when I returned found I am not able to purchase books or newspapers, etc from here. Only for residents of the US. My billing and resident address is in the US! Now, I admit, I probably could have researched this. But, there does not seem to be a good reason for this. I am still a resident of the US! But, there is a way around this... but it is a pain in the... 3. When using in the sun/heat the touch screen does not always work until it is cooler. But the Nook itself is a great product. Light enough for reading. Clear screen. Like it a lot. 08/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellant Product I purchased this for my wife's birthday. She loves it. It was easy to set up & use. And it was a great deal. You really get your money's worth. She loves the fact that she can change the font size and everything. She said the dispalay makes it appear like your actully reading a page from the book, not a computer screen. 09/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value and I love it. The Nook Simple Touch Reader is what it says. Simple to use and navigate. Easy to read even outdoors in full sunshine. My only problem was not with the Reader but with the way it was shipped. Always in the past I have ordered site to store but because it this case the expected time of delivery was supposed to be a few days quicker by mail I went that route. It was a BIG mistake. Took about 16 days to arrive. It was sent by so called Express Mail which then became lost in transit not once but twice. I will never order any way but Site to Store in the future. 08/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's Great! This Nook is so much nicer than the first one I bought. The downloads are completed in seconds and the words are clear and easy to read. It is great buy! Would I buy it again? Yes, I would. 08/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good basic ereader. I like this Nook because it doesn't have all the bells and whistles. It is very basic and works great. It is a basic ereader that I can download books to. The only downside is that there is a lot of steps in order to download a book that is not from Barnes & Nobles. I definetely would buy an Nook again and would recommend it to others. 09/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this e-reader!!!! Easy to use and pleasant on the eyes for reading ...I can read much longer using the Nook. Battery charge lasts & lasts..wonderful product! Just would be nice and would love it if Walmart carried more options for Nook covers,though. 08/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just the reader I would design Finally! A Nook without all the frills I don't need. This is just a basic reader but perfect for those who just want to read and not play games, or surf the internet, check email, etc. Simple to use, very nice size and weight. Holds enough books for anyone and with the expandable memory, you can keep your whole library at your fingertips. I own the first generation Nook but prefer this one as I wanted a basic reader with a touch screen. The battery life is great also. I've gone for two weeks without even thinking about charging it and when I checked, I still had plenty of battery life left. 11/19/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by SCREEN LOCKS UP Ok I loved the battery I still had 57% left from the first charge when I took my nook 2 back.It was also perfect for my purse, But The screen kept freezing up on me. It wouldn't be so bad if you could hold in the off button to reboot it but you have to use the touch screen to turn it off so when it freezes up like that you really can't do any thing but wait for it to fix itself. I only had it for about 2 1/2 weeks and everytime I was on it I had some form of it locking up. I would say locking up because I could still us the soft keys but not the screen. So I could turn pages but I couldn't change books or anything that took the touch screen which was everything else. It also would skip ahead in my books and when I would try to go back the page numbers wouldn't change so I couldn't just go back to the page I remember being on. I had to turn back one page at a time and scan each to see if I had read that page yet. Which really messes up a good book because I would have to read a little if I saw something good which is like just scanning and reading only the good parts so the book should of been free after that. I thought it might be mine since I seem to always get lemons in everything but I just read where another person has had simular problems with it locking up anyways on the Best Buy site. So I'm not sure what I'm getting next. It wouldn't be bad if it had soft keys to do everything as well as the touch screen that way if one didn't work you could still use it but why take the chance it will freeze up compleatly once you can't return it. I might try another one but if it locks up even once then I'm switching to something else. 08/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better Deal than B&N The Nook Simple Reader is the same one sold at B&N and at the same price $99. The difference is that the one sold at Walmart contains the AC charger and the one sold at B&N does not. The AC charger at B&N costs an additional $20. I have bought 2 Nooks at Walmart and one at B&N and both from Walmart (In the store and on line) contained the charger so it is a better value. I am sending my friends to Walmart for this item. 12/31/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by great reader, compact bought this for my 12 yr old..There isn't any internet or games..but kids have so much access to that already! Easy to read in bright light..more like a book then a computer screen so it seems easier on the eyes. small, light and thin so she just puts it in her coat pocket! Nice book! 11/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love my Nook. It is very convenient to carry around, very light weight. I love the way I can move around to the different screens. There is one thing that Idon't care for, and that is the on/off button. It takes me five to ten minutes to turn it off. I have to hold my finger just right and blink just right for it to turn off. Otherwise I love it! 10/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I picked this item over the Kindle because I could transfer items from my old e-reader to this item. That process was easy to do. Item works well. Was easy to set up and use. 09/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Nook Simple Touch is a great e-reader. Since reading books is all I wanted to do with it, it is just wonderful. Having a computer, I didn't need to go to the web with it or play games, etc., so this Nook is prefect for me and I have no problems with it except "operator" ones. Had no problems with shipping to my home (free) and it arrived when they said it would. Since I am not very "technolgy" savvy, I went to my local public library and they helped me register the Nook because I had to had wi-fi to do that and I was having trouble getting one to use at home. Probably no problem to someone else, but it was greek to me. The library personnel also told me what download (free) I needed from their library for my computer. I went home and downloaded the software. I then went to the library site on my computer and "borrowed" a book from them and then side loaded it to my Nook at home - no problem, no wi-fi. Notice I said "side loaded" - I am gettting better at this. I researched the Kindle and Nook very throughly and I found this Nook to be the only one that said you could download books from a public library. Kindle may have that capability, but it was not stated in anything that I read. The Nook Simple Touch is a great product for the money. I love it! 12/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing! And I got it for $60 less!!! This is an amazing thing. It is perfect for me because I read none stop but never want to cary a book around. I love the touchscreen, the wifi (only to on Barnes&Noble site though..), and everything about it! And the screen isn't like an iPad, its more durable. Now my story on how I got it $60 less! BestBuy had it on sell for $79.99, while it was $139.89 at my local walmart. There is no BestBuy anywhere near me, so I toke the printed page and went to Walmart. They gave it to me no caution And to make it even better they gave me a free 3 year warranty! I was so amazing and happy! Thank you walmart! That made my birthday. 11/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great eReader, easy to use Love this eReader. It allows me to borrow eBooks from the library, download free books from various sources and of course utilize Barnes and Noble for free or purchased books, magazines or newspapers. Reading books on the Nook is wonderful. Not thrilled with magazines/newspapers but that is due to the content being different than paper magazines/newspapers and not the ability to read them on the Nook 08/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by it works great the wife likes it and thats what counts 11/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bought this for my wife. She loves it. Great value for the price. 10/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I LOVE IT! I am very satisfied with my purchase! Given the amount of time comparing it with other ebook readers, this won me over with its compact design, very much light-weight, and its crisp text display (It's not like reading through your computer screen, it's like you're actually reading on an actual book which I really love). The battery life is amazing! I bought this on December 30, 2011 and until now it still doesn't need recharging. I use it everyday, and I find myself reading more. I am really not interested in playing games on Nook or listen to music, so this really met all my expectations because I just want it solely for reading. Great choices of books from B&N, I love the highlight feature and also the quick look up definition feature and you can also change the font size. Above all, it's very user-friendly. I didn't even need to read more on the manual because right when I open my Nook Simple Touch for the first time, it has a quick and easy tutorial that helps you navigate your device. From the name itself, it's very simple to use, it turns the page faster which makes reading so easy. I love the design, it's small and I can just put it in my purse and it doesn't even take so much space in it. I love that it can read .pdf files and I can transfer my files on my Nook Simple Touch. I enjoy everything about this device, and I would recommend it to anyone. 01/17/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good and Bad Points I have thoroughly enjoyed my nook simple touch reader. Quick on/off, quick page changes, easy drag/drop loading of books. A little too much garbage on the home page for my taste, but it probably keeps the cost down. On the negative side: The on/off button on my first nook stuck. Sometimes I would have to finagle for a minute or two in order to free it so I could change its status from on to off or vice versa. Walmart replaced it without hesitation and the replacement worked beautifully for a week, then it would not unlock from sleep mode for one of the sleep screens (the others worked fine). I simply turned it off and then back on and was able to proceed. After a few more days, the nook failed to wake up from sleep mode. I could not turn it off and on, could not activate it using USB, and the chat rep and I could not perform a hard reset--doing so requires the machine to be off first and I couldn't get it to turn off. The nook's performance was such that I will try again. The first exchange was easily accomplished and I suspect the second will be equally painless. If I can find one that works, I will be a happy camper; otherwise, I may need to change brands. 12/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use, less eye fatigue, glad I bought it. 11/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The NOOK rocks My Nook was a gift. The best gift ever.It's easy to use and fun to read. The type is adjustable so you can see it easily and enjoy reading without getting a headache. the Nook can go any where with you,it's size and weight are perfect. I'll be reading a lot more books because the are so easy to download I'll be giving Nooks for gifts thats for sure. 01/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product! Absolutely love it! I purchased it last summer and have had zero problems. It's extremely portable, easy to use, and the font size makes it easy to read. It's easy to check out books from the library, and there is also free book Fridays from Barnes and Noble, plus the free books from the Barnes and Noble site. Wish I had one of these years ago! 11/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great eReader Great product at a good price. Huge selection of books available. Long battery life and it is easy to learn to use. 09/24/2011
1-30 of 88 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw485
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp