See All Reviews
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 230 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAAAZING! I originally bought this espresso machine hoping to reduce my expenses on lattes ($4 a day is too much!) -- I thought that since I didn't know anything about how to make lattes/cappuccinos/etc, I should just get the cheapest one on the market. OHH MY GOSH this product is unbelievable! I had NO EXPERIENCE and my FIRST CUP was delicious and tasted like it was JUST from Starbucks! (Granted, the coffee I used was Starbucks brand). It is definitely worth every penny -- I highly recommend it!!! 10/29/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by DIE HARD ESPRESSO DRINKER So, this is about my 4th machine, the others range in price $60-$250 the higher priced being the first. I still have the parts from the previous machines, (metal cup and other filters). 1. This very reasonable priced machine is a great size for small areas yet can produce 4 cups at once. 2. It works very well if you have some of these extra parts to replace the filter it comes with. the filter it comes with is more of a perk kind of filter and produces a strong cup of coffee kind of midway between coffee and Cappuccino. By switching the filter with a previous "Mr Coffee" machine I am able to get a very good Cappuccino. 3. Frothing with the plastic cover over the chrome frother does not work well but if you remove the plastic and use a metal cup you will get perfect forth. With the plastic on it produces kind of foamy milk. I lightly move the milk around in the cup while I am frothing and allow the forther to work at the top of the milk after the rest of the milk is hot. Produces perfect forth in less than a minute. (you need to put the dial on steam with a bowl under it and allow the water to drain out first and I also use the metal cup I saved) OVERALL WORKS GREAT. WHEN YOU GET USED TO IT TAKES ONLY 2 MINUTES TO MAKE. I AM VERY HAPPY WITH THIS MACHINE. I USE IT ABOUT 4 TIMES A DAY FOR THE LAST MONTH. I HOPE IT WILL LAST BUT IF NOT, FOR THE PRICE IT IS WORTH IT. ENJOY THE MOMENT. :) 09/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 Buy 2!! I've been making 4-shot Iced Mocha Latte's every morning for the last 20 years. In all those years I have stuck with THIS espresso machine & bought it when I found it at a huge bagain (between $25 - $35) it needs to be replaced about every 3-5 yrs. My sister advised me that the pump machines were far superior so I splurged and got one. I hate this thing! If I can't get a Tony Soprano sized espresso machine - I am sticking with THIS BRAND & THIS MODEL! Stick with the old fashion, bottom price point, Mr. Coffee espresso machine. It takes a few minutes to heat up but so does the pump machine and chances are the pump only makes 2 shots @ a time, plus when you're dumping your grinds for the next brew the pump will drip (filling your drip tray w/one drink) making a huge mess! Sorry for going on but I used to work in a super quality coffee shop and I have mad passion for the bean. Steam is easier, neater, far more convenient. and out lasts the pump by years. Oh yah, the pump machine costs about 3Xs more. I just purchased that pump machine 4 months ago and its not operating correctly. Ready to toss it! 03/15/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good value for price Excellent choice if cost is priority. Drawbacks are that decanter doesn't "fit" as well as it could and tends to drip/spill if not poured carefully but perfectly satisfactory considering cost (least expensive) 02/17/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product I bought this espresso maker yesterday and have already used it 4 times! The espresso comes out very nicely and it makes really good foam. The only thing I'm not too fond of is that the frothing arm doesn't move. But hey, it was a great bargain at less than $40. Make sure to read the instructions about releasing the pressure. 10/17/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great coffee maker for the price I have had this Expresso maker for about a week now and I love it! I gave it a 4 star rating because I had to go out and buy a milk steemer set from Starbucks which cost me an additional $30.00. Still for the price it is well worth it. It took me a few days to get everything down to make an almost perfect "Starbucks" style latte (I even purchased coffee from starbucks and syrup flavoring to try and make the coffee taste similiar to starbucks). The latte that the machine makes taste almost exactly like a latte I would buy at Starbucks so I am very satified with this machine. 02/29/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb quality for price The Mr. Coffee Espresso maker may be one of the least expensive machines on the market for under $40, but don't let that fool you. While Mr. Coffee is not known for their line of espresso machines, they have come up with a quality product. This machine has the ability to make 2 or 4 cups of espresso. Fast, easy to clean, good coffee. Can not beat the quality you get for the price. I use this maker twice daily in an office. Excellent product, great for beginners as well as long time espresso makers. 11/17/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great little Machine Well i Bought this Machine from the Super Wal mart in Springfield. And so far it has done wonderfully for me and my Wife we love it so much that i went and bought two more to give as gifts. 07/24/2007
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not for "on the go" folks Received this product as a gift. You cannot steam milk and brew espresso at the same time so it takes at least 10 minutes to make one drink. Not ideal for most of us who like to run out the door, drink in hand. After several months the time it took to create hot water increased dramatically. Now mine doesn't even brew properly and is of absolutely no use. Waste of money. I used to work in a coffee shop so I know a good machine when I see it. Believe me, you get what you pay for so if you LOVE espresso, spend the money to get a decent machine. 10/16/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Received it as a Xmas gift I have owned a few espresso machines and this one is great. Tip: while the coffee is brewing, when it reaches the "steam" icon, start frothing the milk. It works really well and fast too. After the milk is frothed, turn the knob back to brew and finish the coffee. Hot coffee and hot milk! Perfect latte and cappuccino. 12/26/2007
Rated 2 out of 5 by Don't bother I went to purchase a different esspresso maker but the store didn't have it in stock. I saw this one by the same manufacturer at half the price and thought I'd give it a try. While the espresso part works okay, the steamer/frother is a joke! I tried 6 vessels and every way possible to give it a chance to work and all I got was milk sprayed everywhere. No froth and while the steamer portion does steam it also scalds the milk. Yuck! I am a chef and have worked as a professional barista so I have some knowledge of how this is done. I have used so many different types of esspresso/cap machines the idea that I failed to do it correctly isn't a very real possibility AND even though I was pretty sure I knew what to do I STILL read all of the instructions before trying to use the machine so I am returning it. Unfortunately. I hope this review saves you from wasting your time on this unit. 11/19/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Fraps We make espresso then pour into ice cube trays, freeze then use the cubes to make our own fraps. Blend the espresso cubes, 2% milk, some sugar & hershey's chocolate. Ta da...a healthy frap for a lot less cash. 08/18/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Inexpensive but REALLY cheap Our previous expresso maker gave up the ghost after ten years. We thought that any expresso maker would deliver satisfactory results and bought the Mr. C ECM150. The machine makes decent expresso, (but no matter how we do it) THIS MACHINE DOES NOT FOAM MILK. It even does a lousy job of warming the milk while attempting to develop foam. 09/07/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by it's a nice little machine, i've worked for Strabucks and learned all about the right espresso, latte,.... tastes. to me it kind of has a funny after taste from metal of the inside of the machine. also the water temperature isn't right which makes the espresso taste burned. well the froth is ok, you can't expect more for the money. It does the job, but if you're Starbucks spoiled...don't buy this! You would be disappointed in your expectations! hope this helps. 08/21/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great for one, no so much for 2! I love Mr. Coffee brand products. And usually don't have problems with their performance. This machine does a great job. BUT..it doesn't tell you in the manual that it doesn't have enough steam to froth the milk after you make 4 shots. You have to vent the machine. Refill it, heat it, then it will froth 2 to 4 cups of milk or more. Once you have that down and you work out a system then you can still put out a couple good cups. Wish there was a heating element for the espresso while you were venting and reheating the machine for the frothing!! That would make it alot better. 12/18/2007
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing Purchased this 1-4-2010. Set it up and no matter what we did, could not get it to make the milk hot. Found the steamer spout in awkward position on the unit. Took it back the next day. 01/06/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do Not Buy The first one of these I received as a gift. It lasted just 11 months. The frothing mechanism simply stopped working. The second one I purchased - I figured I'd try again, because the price was right. That one lasted one month before the frothing unit broke down. I recommend investing in a more expensive unit. If it lasts longer, it's worth the extra $. 05/12/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just the BEST lil' espresso maker for the $$$ I must be lucky but I have had this machine for 4 YEARS and I use it 365 days a year to begin my day with. I start with a 12 oz coffee mug, just because it allows me to make a huge 'head' of foam on the top of my leche (milk). I use all different flavors of coffees in making my cafe con leche (espresso with milk). The main thing with the coffee is grinding it fine enough for espresso. I fill the glass carafe to the metal band that goes around it and that usually fills the water boiler to the tip top. Only if I clean the machine, or if I brew more espresso past the 4 cup line do I need to add more water than the one glass carafe. I do use a tamper to pack the fine grinds in the metal filter. I like to put 3 saccharin tablets in the glass carafe before it brews the espresso, as I don't use sugar to sweeten. It brews the cafe quickly and without issue. I then switch the lever to steam and use a metal milk frothing pitcher (purchased at a kitchen store locally) to heat the 2% milk OR the vanilla almond milk I occasionally use. I have a pedestal I made out of an overturned ceramic coffee mug, that the pitcher of milk can sit on as the milk is heating up and it keeps the steam nozzle just barely into the milk. I can tell by the sound changes of the milk as it heats when it is ready to froth. I remove it from the pedestal and slowly remove the nozzle from the milk and slowly move the pitcher back and forth which produces a nice 4" thick froth of milk. I pour the steamed milk into the espresso in the large mug. Some days I use Torani flavored coffee syrups to add flavor and some days I top the froth with colored sugar crystals (all purchased at Walmart). I've been making cafe con leches since a kid, and can make simple pictures in the foam with a toothpick and the colored sugars depending on my moods or holidays. I've not had one problem with this machine. It did leak once AND it also had steam blowing out the seams of the top over where the coffee is located, but upon reinspection, I found that the top was MIS-tightened on the screw-on part of the boiler. It never happened since with MY use. My son used it several times, and was careless with the screwing on of the top and had leaks, too. It also must be tightened very tight when in use or it lets out lots of steam and then won't steam your milk enough. I think 4 yrs of use for a $40. espresso machine is more than adequate for me. I live in an area with 'hard' water, so I do clean it every 3 months with white vinegar, but that is all I do for care besides a gentle wipe daily with a wet rag. 01/30/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by You get what you pay for Not a bad machine, but don't expect Starbucks taste with your drinks. The "espresso" it makes is really like super-strong coffee, it doesnt come out with the brown cream on top like with industrial-strength machines. The steamer wand doesn't go up and down, and is metal so it gets very cruddy and gross, wish it was made of plastic or rubber or something more easy to clean. Overall it does its job, if you don't have a lot of cash to spend and still want to make your own lattes at home, this will be good enough. 05/03/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by TERRIFIC !! I purchased at the store a Mr Coffee espresso maker and have been very pleased, I've been happily using it for the past 16 months. Then for X-mas I went online to gift one to my daughter and selected this Mr Coffee espresso maker, same price, slightly different design where the carafe sits back into a protected cubby (I wish they would have had this model available when I bought mine, just to protect the carafe from risk of breaking). My daughter is very, very pleased. I've owned expensive Italian models with brass fixtures, etc in the past and these Mr Coffees make terrific tasting coffee as well. Would recommend to anyone, and the bonus is the low cost of such an effective piece of equipment. 12/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saving me a ton of money I bought after reading some reviews thinking that if it doesn't work right, I can just take it back. I have had it over a month now and use it almost every day. I love it! It took me a couple tries to make the right mocha, but I nailed the taste. I haven't used the frother because I like my coffee cold, but the espresso maker works brilliantly. This product is inexpensive and works great for some one like me, who needs that morning cup of coffee! And its fast too! Espresso is made in the time it takes me to walk up stairs and get a cup of ice! If you want to save some money from buying coffee at starbucks, get this machine, a bag of the pre ground dark roast espresso beans(about 8-10) and some white chocolate powder or sauce, and make yourself a cheap delicious cup of joe! 10/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great gift. Got as gift for friend that is a new espresso drinker. Perfect for budding barista's! Easy to operate, looks great and with the $3, 1 yr. free replacement warranty, you really can't go wrong. Five stars. 08/30/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by leaked steam from a seam in the plastic i had one that worked for a year then had the same problem. this one leaked steam through a seam in the plastic from day one. i ordered the stainless steel model and returned the plastic one to a wall mart in my city. i am happy with the stainless steel model so far and its the same price. 08/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Cappuccino You Can Get This espresso/cappuccino/latte maker is just awesome. I live alone so I use this machine for one cup a time usually. The flavor of the espresso is as good as you can get with the expensive machines. The steam froth comes just perfect for cappuccinos and lattes. It says it can brew 4 espressos at a time, but I would say brewing two espressos gives richer flavor than 4 regardless of the amount of brew you put. Bottom line, if you are looking for a good espresso maker, even if you can afford the more expensive ones, buy this one. 07/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have own several of these machines and love it..do wish it would last longer..I have to purchase one at least every 2 yrs 10/24/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Value The Krups unit I've had for 18 years of faithful service finally gave it up and after looking at the hundred or so on Amazon and wanting to spend under $150.. with the desire for the same simplicity I checked out Walmart reviews Mr Coffee, it became my first choice and though it's only been a few weeks of daily use I find it makes a fine latte and am very satisfied. PRO'S: Like the Krups you don't need the foam attachment to make quality froth in adequate amounts, I find the attachment just makes big bubbles. It's compact like the Krups and stores atop the counter well. CONS: the steamer tube is a bit short in length and I find my trusty milk steamer cup difficult to use for a two cup brew latte. A 4 inch steam cup would work well. All in all if the service life is reasonable this is the BEST VALUE out there. Kudo's to Mr Coffee. 02/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mr. Coffee 4-Cup Espresso Maker The Frother works great if you know how to use it. Read the instructions and it tells you how to get more froth. Also is brews the espresso great. I can make a carmel macchaito that tastes just like if not better then Starbucks. 02/22/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent machine for this price range I have been using my machine daily for a month and I'm very happy with it. It brews a very good espresso in a reasonable time and couldn't be simpler to operate. The coffee even has the head, called crema, that you expect on a good espresso. The steaming function is also easy to use, but the non-detachable steaming arm is the reason for the 4 (not 5) star rating. It is more difficult to clean than a detachable arm. I do love this machine's small footprint - the last thing I need is another huge appliance on my counter. Don't forget, you must use good quality coffee that is ground for an espresso maker, to get good results from any machine. No need to spend more, this machine will do the job at a very good price! 01/25/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good value, does not last long We absolutely loved this little machine and bought it as soon as it came out. We are now on our second as the seal broke and steam goes everywhere when trying to make a capuccino. For the price, I guess it was nice that it lasted about 8 months, but we wanted something more long term. We only used it on the weekends, and at that only occasionally. Very disppointing, just do not have the money to buy a more expensive one. 10/04/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Okay I had a Mellita that was almost identical. The Mellita made the expresso much stronger than this one. With this one I need to use more coffee. Also the Mellita had an overflow drain that would keep the brewed expresso from spilling in case you forgot to put the pot in. This one some of it would end up spilling on the counter. The Mellita one lasted 5 years before it broke. I could not find it anywhere so I bot this one. It's okay, but doesn't make the expresso as strong. 07/12/2009
1-30 of 205 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew117
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp