Motorola MH230R - 23 Mile Range Talkabout 2-Way Radios, PAIR

Q&A
By: Motorola
Walmart #: 000512035
Motorola MH230R - 23 Mile Range Talkabout 2-Way Radios, PAIR
Rollback
$29.99
Was: $59.88  (You save $29.89)
FREE shipping on orders $35 +
If your order totals $35 or more and you select Value shipping, this item and any other qualifying items ship for free!
FREE pickup
Loading options...
Care plan (optional):
Sold by Walmart.com

FREE shipping available

 on $35+ orders
 

Shipping

Showing options for 20147
Type
Arrives
Cost
Value
Data unavailable
$4.97
Standard
Data unavailable
$6.97
Expedited
Data unavailable
$7.95
Rush
Data unavailable
$14.07

FREE pickup available

 

Pickup

Showing options for 20147
Location
Buy online for pickup
 
See 5 more sellers
Starting from $54.65
5 more sellers from $54.65 | Learn more
Showing 6 sellers
  • $29.99
    +$4.97 shipping
    Walmart.com
    |
  • $54.65
    +Free shipping
    pcRUSH pcRUSH
    Rating unavailable
    |
  • $62.19
    +Free shipping
    Circuit City Circuit City
    Rating unavailable
    |
  • $63.95
    +Free shipping
    iSave iSave
    Rating unavailable
    |
  • $64.99
    +Free shipping
    Limited Goods Limited Goods
    Rating unavailable
    |
  • $68.06
    +Free shipping
    ShopLadder ShopLadder
    Rating unavailable
    |

Other sellers on Walmart.com

In addition to Walmart.com items, we offer you products from our Marketplace Retailer partners to give you a wide range of choices.

  • Marketplace items are not returnable to Walmart.com or Walmart stores
  • Marketplace Retailers ship the items you buy from them
  • Tracking details (if available) can be found in your Walmart account
With a powerful range of up to 23 miles, this radio is perfect keeping family and friends in touch

About this item

The Motorola MH230R 23 Mile Two-Way Radio is a must-have communication tool for each and every outdoor enthusiast. With a powerful range of up to 23 miles, this Motorola 22 channel radio is perfect for keeping family and friends in touch - whether you're tackling a back country trail, or trying to brave a crowded shopping mall.

About this item

The Motorola MH230R 23 Mile Two-Way Radio is a must-have communication tool for each and every outdoor enthusiast. With a powerful range of up to 23 miles, this Motorola 22 channel radio is perfect for keeping family and friends in touch - whether you're tackling a back country trail, or trying to brave a crowded shopping mall.

Motorola 22 Channel Radio:

  • Find the best conditions for your rocky climbing outing
  • Tune into one of 7 NOAA channels on your Motorola MH230R 23 Mile Two-Way Radio for continuous local and regional weather broadcasting
  • Weather alerts will provide you with warnings of incoming weather to protect you from the danger of a sudden storm
  • Full 22-frequency capacity with 121 privacy codes to reduce interruptions
  • Motorola QT (Quiet talk) functionality allows the radios to be set so they can communicate with other compatible Motorola products, adding yet another level of distinction from other manufacturers
  • Designed to fit every lifestyle, the MH230 walkie talkie allows you the convenience of charging four distinct ways
  • Use the provided desktop charger at home or a mini-USB car cable on your way to soccer practice
  • Pack a mini-USB wall cable for recharge in the hotel during your family vacation or simply charge from your PC when no power outlet is available using a mini-USB PC cable
  • Mini-USB car, wall and PC cables are sold separately
  • Model includes 2 radios, 2 belt clips, 1 dual drop in charger, 1 charging adapter and 2 NiMH rechargeable battery packs
  • Specifications

    Battery Type: Nickel Metal Hydride
    Multi Pack Indicator: No
    Model No.: MH230R
    Shipping Weight (in pounds): 4.48
    Product in Inches (L x W x H): 6.21 x 2.14 x 1.15
    Assembled in Country of Origin: Imported
    Origin of Components: Imported
    Walmart No.: 512035
    Show
    Show

    Customer reviews

    Customer Reviews | 161 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

    4.0 stars

    161 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

    4.0 stars

    161 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

    88%
    Would recommend to a friend
    5 stars
    87
    4 stars
    45
    3 stars
    9
    2 stars
    6
    1 stars
    14
    1-5 of 133 total reviews
    88%
    Would recommend to a friend

    Age

    Gender

    good deal
    12/20/2010

    Customer review by BernieTheMac

    5.0 stars 12/20/2010 by BernieTheMac
    by BernieTheMac

    bought these for use on cruise ship and excursions. they work great, no matter where i was on the ship i could contact my partner. thru 10 storys of steel i was impressed.

    Was this review helpful? (175) (23)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    BernieTheMac
    palm bay
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:55 - 64
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:A few times per year
    Not bad for the price
    10/6/2010

    Customer review by Zel1

    4.0 stars 10/6/2010 by Zel1
    by Zel1

    I bought these AFTER reading the reviews. I wasn't expecting a 23 mile range, or for that matter 1 mile. These radios are well thought out, work well and are nice and small. I ordered 2 - 2pks of these for using on Fireworks Display setups & small events. They fill my needs for a small easy to use radio to communicate between the audience area, shoot site, gate, and security. They also have NOAA weather bands built in. So you can keep up with the latest weather wherever you are in N. America! I plan on adding another two sets soon. They come with a NiMh battery pack and a cool desk top charger base. If you need a radio with a real good 1/2mi range... These will fill the bill at a great price! None of the FRS/GMRS radios get out like they claim on the packaging under normal operating conditions. But I do like these little units!!!

    Was this review helpful? (93) (18)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    Zel1
    Springfield Missouri
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:45 - 54
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Male
    Usage:A few times per month
    Great find!
    3/11/2011

    Customer review by Marybr

    5.0 stars 3/11/2011 by Marybr
    by Marybr

    I did a lot of research before getting these radios, since I was planning a Disney World/Orlando trip with my fiancee, and we'd be some time apart while shopping. It worked wonderfully for the intended purpose. Even in a crowded outlet mall we could hear each other loud and clear several stores apart. Now I don't think it would get much further than that, but if you plan on using this one within short distances, I'd recommend it! Batteries last all day long and the volume adjustment is also great. It's quite simple to use and I really like it!

    Was this review helpful? (76) (25)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    Marybr
    Brazil
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Expected better
    8/17/2010

    Customer review by MomLau

    2.0 stars 8/17/2010 by MomLau
    by MomLau

    I researched 2-way radios for weeks before I purchased these for a camping trip. The reviews were decent. I knew there was no way I would get 20+ miles of range, but I couldn't even reach my husband 2 miles out on his boat on a wide open lake. It did go about 1/2 mile from the beach to our campsite.

    Was this review helpful? (50) (14)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    MomLau
    MA
    Would recommend to a friend? No
    Age:35 - 44
    Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
    Gender:Female
    Usage:A few times per month
    Fantastic
    12/2/2013

    Customer review by sahmnymommy

    5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by sahmnymommy
    by sahmnymommy

    We've had these for over a year now and they work like they are brand new. We have 12 acres. When the kids go out to play, they take one and we keep one. They work all over the 12 acres. The cradle is also the charger so when you put them up they are charging. They have never died on us. Great value for the money!

    Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
    Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
    Was this answer helpful?
    sahmnymommy
    Canandaigua, NY
    Would recommend to a friend? Yes
    Age:25 - 34
    Ownership:Longer than one year
    Gender:Female
    Usage:Once per week
    1-5 of 133 total reviews See all
    1-5 of 133 reviews

    Customer Q&A

    Back
    Questions & Answers 32 questions
    1-3 of 32 questions

    Ask a question

    If you would like to share feedback with us about pricing, delivery or other customer service issues, please contact customer service directly.


    Q&A tips and guidelines

    Q&A Exchange Guidelines

    When writing your question or answer, please follow these guidelines:

    • Do: Make sure your question is directly related to the product
    • Do: Be specific and provide as many details as possible
    • Do: Include the model number (if applicable)
    • Do: Write your question in English
    • Do Not: Include personal information (such as your full name)
    • All submitted questions and answers are subject to the terms set forth in our Terms and Conditions

    We reserve the right not to post your question or answer if it contains any of the following:

    • Any information not related to the actual merchandise or topic
    • Obscenities, discriminatory language or other language not suitable for a public forum
    • Advertisements or “spam” content
    • Email addresses, physical addresses or other forms of contact information
    • Critical or spiteful comments on other questions or answers posted on the page or their authors
    • Any imagery that demonstrates incorrect use of the merchandise
    • Anything that Walmart deems to be inappropriate, at Walmart's discretion

    Provide as many details as possible, including the model number (if applicable).

    Remember: Don’t include personal information (such as your full name).


    Preview Question

    Walmart does not sponsor, recommend or endorse any third party product or service, or any customer ideas or advice.

    Thank you.

    Questions will be checked against our question guidelines and posted within five to seven business days.

    Back
    by flyfire 9/16/2009
    5 answers
    • A. No.
      by Pkgmanjimm7/23/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (2) (4)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. check your local area, but most 2-way radios do not require a license
      by iminsane4/24/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (3) (4)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. no
      by BernieTheMac4/24/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (1) (2)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes, and No... To use the FRS channels (1-12) you need no license. To use the GMRS channels (13-23) you need a license. I doubt many folks actually do get a license...
      by Zel16/14/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (4) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. All GMRS radios require a FCC license to opperate. 22-chanel radios use a combination of FRS (unlicensed) and GMRS (licensed) frequencies. Channels 1-7 (FRS/GMRS shared frequencies) No license is required if the radio transmits with 1/2 watt of power or less (typically 3 miles or less). If the radio transmits with more than 1/2 watt of power, a GMRS license is required. Channels 8-14 (FRS frequencies) These short range channels do not require a license to use but are limited on range and 1/2 watt of output power. Channels 15-22 (GMRS only frequencies) A FCC GMRS license is required to opperate a radio at these frequencies, regardless of radio output power. Use of a radio in this range without a FCC license is a federal crime.
      by specterdragon6/14/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (10) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    Back
    by an anonymous customer 11/23/2009
    5 answers
    • A. most 2-way radios will work with this type. we use 3 different ones at my work
      by iminsane2/27/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (9) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. probably. but you will have to play with the codes
      by BernieTheMac3/15/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (6) (1)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes! I have a cobra and a generic unit, they all talk to each other. However you can use the privacy codes and "get lost" to the other radios...
      by Zel16/24/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (9) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes they do, as long as you're on the same channel.
      by MomLau6/24/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (6) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    • A. Yes - Most 22 channel radios will work together. Each channel represents a different frequency, so there are 22 frequencies on 22 channel radios. The frequencies are standardized by the FCC as follows: Channel Type Frequency 1 FRS / GMRS 462.5625 2 FRS / GMRS 462.5875 3 FRS / GMRS 462.6125 4 FRS / GMRS 462.6375 5 FRS / GMRS 462.6625 6 FRS / GMRS 462.6875 7 FRS / GMRS 462.7125 8 FRS 467.5625 9 FRS 467.5875 10 FRS 467.6125 11 FRS 467.6375 12 FRS 467.6625 13 FRS 467.6875 14 FRS 467.7125 15 GMRS 462.5500 16 GMRS 462.5750 17 GMRS 462.6000 18 GMRS 462.6250 19 GMRS 462.6500 20 GMRS 462.6750 21 GMRS 462.7000 22 GMRS 462.7250 Note: GMRS channels require a FCC GMRS license to use. Channels 1-7 can be used without a license only if the radio output power is 1/2 watt or less.
      by specterdragon6/24/2015
      Was this answer helpful? (12) (0)
      Was this answer helpful?
    1-3 of 32 questions See all
    1-3 of 32 questions

    Policies & Plans

    See any care plans, options and policies that may be associated with this product.

    Warranty Plan

    Walmart Product Care Plans
    A limited product warranty is included free for most items. With an optional Walmart Care Plan you can enhance the manufacturer's coverage from the date of purchase. Walmart Product Care Plans cover 100% of the cost for repair or replacement, including shipping charges for the exchange.

    We'll show you Care Plan options and pricing at checkout if applicable, or go to www.walmart.com/careplans for more information.

    Product warranty: 1 Year See details

    Supplier Warranty: MOTOROLA LIMITED WARRANTY FOR TELEPHONES, PAGERS, AND CONSUMER AND PROFESSIONAL TWO-WAY RADIOS PURCHASED IN THE UNITED STATES OR CANADAWhat Does this Warranty Cover? Subject to the exclusions contained below, Motorola, Inc. warrants its telephones, pagers and consumer and professional two-way radios (excluding commercial, government or industrial radios) (Products), Motorola-branded or certified accessories sold for use with these Products (Accessories) and Motorola software contained on CD-Roms or other tangible media and sold for use with these Products (Software) to be free from defects in materials and workmanship under normal consumer usage for the period(s) outlined below. This limited warranty is a consumers exclusive remedy, and applies as follows to new Motorola Products, Accessories and Software purchased by consumers in the United States or Canada, which are accompanied by this written warranty:PRODUCTS COVEREDLENGTH OF COVERAGEEXCLUSIONSA. Products and Accessories as defined above, unless otherwise provided for below.1. Decorative Accessories and Cases. Decorative covers, bezels, PhoneWrapê covers and cases.2. Monaural Headsets. Ear buds and boom headsets that transmit mono sound through a wired connection.3. Consumer and Professional Two-Way Radio Accessories.4. Products and Accessories that are Repaired or Replaced.A. One (1) year from the date of purchase by the first consumer purchaser of the product unless otherwise provided for below.1. Limited lifetime warranty for the lifetime of ownership by the first consumer purchaser of the product.2. Limited lifetime warranty for the lifetime of ownership by the first consumer purchaser of the product.3. Ninety (90) days from the date of purchase by the first consumer purchaser of the product.4. The balance of the original warranty or for ninety (90) days from the date returned to the consumer, whichever is longer.Normal Wear and Tear. Periodic maintenance, repair and replacement of parts due to normal wear and tear are excluded from coverage.Batteries. Only batteries whose fully charged capacity falls below 80% of their rated capacity and batteries that leak are covered by this limited warranty.Abuse & Misuse. Defects or damage that result from: (a) improper operation, storage, misuse or abuse, accident or neglect, such as physical damage (cracks, scratches, etc.) to the surface of the product resulting from misuse; (b) contact with liquid, water, rain, extreme humidity or heavy perspiration, sand, dirt or the like, extreme heat, or food; (c) use of the Products or Accessories for commercial purposes or subjecting the Product or Accessory to abnormal usage or conditions; or (d) other acts which are not the fault of Motorola, are excluded from coverage.Use of Non-Motorola Products and Accessories. Defects or damage that result from the use of Non-Motorola branded or certified Products, Accessories, Software or other peripheral equipment are excluded from coverage.Unauthorized Service or Modification. Defects or damages resulting from service, testing, adjustment, installation, maintenance, alteration, or modification in any way by someone other than Motorola, or its authorized service centers, are excluded from coverage.Altered Products. Products or Accessories with (a) serial numbers or date tags that have been removed, altered or obliterated; (b) broken seals or that show evidence of tampering; (c) mismatched board serial numbers; or (d) nonconforming or non-Motorola housings, or parts, are excluded form coverage.Communication Services. Defects, damages, or the failure of Products, Accessories or Software due to any communication service or signal you may subscribe to or use with the Products Accessories or Software is excluded from coverage.B. Software. Applies only to physical defects in the media that embodies the copy of the software (e.g. CD-ROM, or floppy disk).B. Ninety (90) days from the date of purchase.Software Embodi
    Did you buy this in a Walmart store?  Get a warranty for it here.

    Gifting plans

    Gift options are not available for this item.

    Pricing policy

    About our prices
    We’re committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we’ll match it. See more details at Online Price Match.

    Product Recommendations

    Your recently viewed items

    Clear this list