See All Reviews
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 21 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by I bought this product to program microcontrollers. This usb to serial adapter comes with a mini driver installation disk. The drivers on the disk are not compatible with Windows Vista/7. Luckily, I discovered that a driver is availible for 64 and 32 bit versions of Windows Vista/7 online. To install the driver, go to http://www.prolific.com.tw/eng/downloads.asp?ID=31 and click on PL2303_Prolific_DriverInstaller_v110.zip. I gave this item 4 stars because it works perfectly, but it was a pain to find the driver. I hope this helps. 01/15/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Glood for the price. Had a little trouble with the device initially. Would not install properly. Windows 7 64 bit. Loaded flawlessly on XP. About to return the item after following all review information that was listed here. Saw the website on the packaging and went to that website. They had all the proper drivers that you will need. Reloaded drivers and works great! Website is: www.sabrent.com. They had the proper drivers for Windows 7 64 bit. 09/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly as advertised Converter cable came with a "mini" CD disk (first time I've seen one) but installed on my CD player without a hitch and works perfectly. Definitely would recommend. 04/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by no problem with Windows 7 Works on my new computer running windows 7. 11/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It was very good for me. I purchased a uniden bcd996xt scanner and the serial cable that comes with it is/was useless for today computers because all modern computers have usb instead. The proper cable was being sold for 30$ at amazon which is way to much money. I read a review about how someone got an adaptor instead of the whole cable. I figured I would experiment with Walmart since they have a fantastic return policy . I ordered this adaptor for a 1/3 of what the other cable cost. Got free site to store shipping and when I attached it to my computer it immediately searched and installed the proper drivers. So it was plug and play for me. Saved me time and $. I have a five year old HP desktop computer quad core with 16 gigabytes of ram and running Vista. 08/23/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Outstanding Easy to install. Insert mini disk, choose your version of Windows and away you go. Worked perfectly on both Win XP and Win 7. Drivers were immediately recognized on 10 yr. old Toshiba and brand new Dell. After install, be sure device is plugged in for your progarm to regognize it as a serial port. One of the few things in America that operates well...the first time! 09/17/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Com port You have to watch which com port is linked to the adaptor, and this is controled by which USB port it's pluged into. Changing USB ports, changes COM port. 06/13/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works great with my Windows 7 netbook but couldn't get Windows Vista 32 bit PC to install driver. Down load new driver from website and still wouldn't install. Netbook interface is great. 01/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works as it should! Works just like it is suppose to 12/22/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Adapter Works Great. Software harder to figure out Took awhile to figure out that I could use the Windows Vista 32-bit driver for a Windows 7 64 bit machine, but the adapter worked great when I figured this out and installed it. The device reads on a COM port instead of USB as far as the internal software goes (in Device Manager). 08/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by worked great Worked right out of the box with windows 7. Pop in the disk, drivers loaded set the terminal emulator on com 3 and away it went. Easy. 06/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Needed to connect new tech to old tech This product is exactly what I needed to connect old tech to my new laptop which came with multiple USB ports but not one Serial port. 02/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does what it says Not always sure that a laptop will recognize this coversion device, especially one this inexpensive. This works just great! I use it to transfer waypoint information via a web-based program to several handheld GPS units. Great deal! 02/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by worked great for dealer programming applications u may have to find the old vista driver if u upgraded ur system from xp to wim 7 tho 02/15/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not So Fast!!!! Needs a driver, Couldn't get it to work with a Vista OS. No Support for cord. Returned it. 11/16/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by such a deal i bought this for use with my garmin etrex legend gps. i couldnt use the mini disc on my desktop due to the drive opens vertically so i just downloaded the drivers from their website. no problem at all installing the drivers in a xp and vista os system. considering best buy,staples etc.. wanted $39.99 for the same adapter just a differant brand this one was well worth the wait for delivery (5 days). all my maps and updates from the garmin website downloaded and installed just fine. 11/09/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Necessary Adapter Product is great. Installing the drivers for Windows 7 64 bit is a bear. Persistence & Google will help. Read the other reviews also. Once the drivers are in the adapter if flawless. Well worth the price but patience is needed to get the drivers right! 10/22/2010
1-18 of 18 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw392
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp