Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 28 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Good Alternative I just got this grill. I have a charcoal grill but hate it because it takes too much effort to get it started. It also takes a lot of guess work to regulate temperatures. I am not a fan of all the smoke either. I was considering a gas grill, but I am afraid of using those propane tanks. So, this was my only other option. I really like this grill. I cooked some hamburgers on this grill and I love it! I was able to go inside and tend to some things while this grill was cooking with no fear of coming back to find black burgers and flames jumping. I made a little cup out of foil and placed in it some soaked hickory wood chips to give it that flavor. That worked great! The only problem I had with the grill was that there are three temperature settings and when on the highest setting the grill just did not seem to get that hot. So, it took longer to cook then I was expecting. The positive side of that is there is not fear of burning up the food. Overall, I am very satisfied with this grill. I am thinking of getting another one for those times I want to cook enough food for a huge party (i.e. 3 slabs ribs, a case of burgers, a pack of hot dogs, and a package of chicken leg quarters). It sure was nice cooking on a gril and not needing to spray the out of control flames with a water bottle, which leaves charcoal ash all over my food! 05/13/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome Grill! I never thought an electric grill would work just as good as a gas or charcoal grill. I couldn't get anything other than an electric grill because of the policies in my development, but it works just as good and maybe better because it has the rotisierre which works great. The size is perfect for my small patio area. I researched many electric grills on line and in the stores and this was the best choice. Great price and quality. The one thing is the pan underneath the element is a little difficult to take apart to clean. 06/08/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Condo Grill Meco 1500 watt electric grillis the best for us Condo residents who can not purchase a gas or propane grill. It cooks meat and fish in short time providing a true outdoor flavor. Yes we enjoy and would purchase another unit. 02/27/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by A solid grill I have always used a gas grill. Moved into a Condo and was forced to buy this. It is great, what I have cooked so far is exactly like my old gas model, except it cooks a little faster. 03/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful!! I will never use a charcoal or a lp grill again! I have cooked, chicken, steaks, hamburgers, ribs, pork on this grill.. This grill smokes the meat while it it cooking, without any flare up. The taste of all the meats that I have listed are mouth watering GOOD!! This is by far the best grill I have used. And I did have a Ducane($750) and have always used a Weber 11/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good value for your money My wife and I like the convenience of an electric grill because of the ease in getting the grill started and little to no mess to clean up afterwards. This grill was easy to assemble and was up and running about 40 minutes after coming out of the box. Previous reviews have commented on the highest setting not being hot enough, but I was able to get 'grill marks' on the meat so am pretty sure it is hot enough. Really like the window in the cover that allows you to see what is going on with your food without lifting the cover. Adding in the rotissere make this grill a real value. 06/21/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Meco Grill I've owned 2 Meco grills before - both for about 6 or 7 years each. They are an absolute no muss/no fuss grill. Turn the knob and 10 minutes later you are set to grill. The design of the grill is such that it also works like a smoker, especially if you add wood chips. This grill makes the best "can" chicken of any grill I have ever owned. There is only one thing I wish they would improve: if you grill with marinated food or baste your food with olive oil, etc. (like many grill meisters do) the reflector plate under the heating elements tends to rot away after about 2 years. You can replace it for about $30 but it would be better if they had a drainage hole on the plate. Nonetheless - a great, easy to use grill! 06/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by good product for the money we live in an apartment so an electric grill was the only thing we can have. The grill got in ahead of schedule, and took about an hour and a half to assemble, hint, predrill the wood before trying to install the hooks, it will be a lot easier. the grill works great, and tastes nearly as good as a charcoal grill... 06/06/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by good product We used our gas grill year round when we owned our house, but since now that we are in an apartment, this electric grill works great. It was easy to put together, the shape of the grill holds more than other electric grills we had, its sturdy and the price was very good. The only draw back is that it didnt come with a thermometer and you have to keep an eye on it to regulate the temperature. The oven thermometer helps. 12/01/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by electric grill Easy to set up, us and clean. Cooks with great results and no danger of gas. 07/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love the grill and especially the rotisserie This is my third electric grill. The first one that I bought ten years ago was excellent. When it finally burned out, I found that it was no longer being manufactured. The one I bought last fall was a disaster. I decided to try one more brand. The Meco 1500-Watt Deluxe with the Rotisserie turned out to be a great deal. The only negative that I have discovered is that the assembly instructions were a little hard to follow. After a few miss-steps, I got it together and gave it a trial empty "burn-in" cycle to get rid of any paint or lubricant odors. I used this opportunity to fine-tune the power controller by using a meat thermometer stuck in through the rotisserie support. I can hold cooking temperature within about +/_ 30 degrees F. I have now used it to cook steaks, hamburger, salmon, tuna, shish kabobs, roast pork, grilled pork chops, chicken thighs, chicken breasts, shrimp, scallops, and (best of all) rotisserie chicken. I only bought bought the rotisserie attachment because Walmart offered it in a special sale at the same price as the basic grill. Wow, am I glad that I have the ability to tilt the heating element vertical and us it for indirect heating for both broiling and rotisserie cooking. Thanks Walmart and Meco! 10/07/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 Bad Experience Grill was missing several parts. The instruction manual was incorrect (it was for a different grill). It was a big hassel trying to put the grill back in the box to return it to the store. The grill was much smaller than it appears in the picture. 05/31/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best grill ever This grill does the job very fast. Excellent heat control. Cooker is alittle small to use rotisserie. Meat has to be small in size 12/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what we were looking for! We weren't interested in charcoal and didn't want to keep gas tanks in the attached garage so eletric was what we are looking for. We've done ka-bobs and burgers and they both came out great. The grill produces lots of heat and things cooked in a reasonable amount of time. Next will be vegatables and a chicken on the rotisserie. I couldn't be happier with this grill and at $188! 06/04/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works as well as expected Need clearer explainations on the assembly instructions. The pan was hard to remove although it may have been because the bracket was bent. and did not fit the slot well. 05/31/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Product seems a bit cheap and one part was missing Heating element doesn't fit well, causing some big frustrations during assembly. Also, one screw was missing in the parts bag, also frustrating. Overall, the product seems ok, but quality control is obviously lacking. 09/22/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by I have several electronic grills in the past several years. This time I thought I would go all out and get all the bells and whistles.I haven't tried the rotisserie as of yet, but as for the grill itself, I have found the cooking area to be very small. If (as in my case) their are only just the two of you, this will be adequate. However, should you have other people over, or just wanted to add a side dish, it doesn't really make it. 08/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for a couple Needed to purchase a grill to be used on a screened porch. Had a gas grill for >30 yrs & concerned that an electric grill may not be worth the effort. Am surprised with its ability to heat, sear and adjust for slow cooking chicken & fresh vegetables, as well as high temp cooking for burgers & kabobs. Cooking an entire meal on the grill for more than 2 would be tight. Meat only would be do-able. Have not tried the rotisserie yet. Pretty easy to keep clean. Our only snag was assembly. My husband is mechanically skilled and has needed tools, but assembly took him at least 3 hrs. Instructions were written for a few different models and did not distinguish which model a paragraph referred to. Missing many screws though all other parts were packaged. Despite the assembly problem, we are pleased with our purchase. 07/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by love it! We had one for some 18 yrs and the cord was fraying. So decided to get another one and walmart offered it, so we bought it thru them. It works great and i'm so glad electric grills are still being made. 07/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Even though I have used this grill only once, I am very satisfied with the results. 06/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent grill Makes everything taste great, juicy & tender. Temperature is adjustable, so you can cook long and slow for some things or hot and fast for others. Wood chips can be spread around the heating element for a little extra smoke flavor, although with most things it's not necessary. Very happy with this grill. 06/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT ALTERNATIVE FROM CHARCOAL GRILLS We live in an area that doesn't allow for open flame grills so this works perfect for our situation! Easy to clean and very attractive and compact on our patio/balcony. Quite tedious to put together but overall completed in about three hours. Certainly recommend this to anyone who likes the char grill taste! On the down side, I cannot find the appropriate cover for this ~ even with the side tables folded in. 06/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this. Love this, the Rotisserie works great. Place a few hickory chips in the bottom and you get the smoky flavor you want. But we did a whole chicken on the rotisserie without anything but basting it with butter, and it was fine just like that. Assembly was easy, too. Love being able to UNPLUG it so the kids can't play with it. And it's always good to cook on without any fuss like having low gas, etc. And I really don't like messing with those big tanks. Great product. The little gold hooks are just simple hooks. You could get better hooks if you want, but they work fine. 06/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Never runs out of propane It was more expensive than the gas grills the same size. I gets hot enough to cook anything. 06/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great grill, just throw some wood chips on the tray under the heating element and it gives your food that great smoke flavor like a charcoal grill. I've always cooked on charcoal grills but now we live in a condo where gas and charcoal is prohibted so we purchased this grill. It has had no problem cooking everything I've put on it, 14oz steak tenderloins to 4lb whole chicken on the rotisserie. And I don't miss buying coals and lighter fluid. We are very happy with our new grill. 03/28/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works Good Sorry I bought this as a gift so I've never seen or used it. The person I gave it to has used it 3 times & said it does a great job. That's all I know. 02/16/2012
1-27 of 27 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew390
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp