See All Reviews
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 23 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Buy for smoker under $300 It came in 10 days from day ordered they did not charge tax for some reason (and I didn't ask why) on the smoker even though they charged me tax on the $28 cover?? . Some assembly required... You have to put on some parts like the legs and burner and handle. About 30 to 45 minutes. Most of my time was spent on figuring out how to get the thing out of the boxes so it took me 60 minutes to complete. I think this smoker is a piece of art and I kind of wanted to take a picture of it so I did. I know what it looks like now, it reminds me of the big black monolith in 2001 /2010 space oddessy. So smooth so black and so huge! I love the extra space in this smoker. It has room on its 4 racks for 12 baby back ribs or 72 chicken thighs or 20 tri - tips. I followed other people suggestions and bought an 8" cast iron pan to put on the wood chips. I wasn't worried that a little smoke came through the door edges because you can compensate with the back vent. I found that it holds 225 degrees perfectly on a hot day at the lowest setting. On a cooler day the same setting would be around 200. I heard the other reviews that the thermometer in door was not accurate. I found mine to be within 5 degrees accurate to a good oven thermostat. I might just be lucky. I found that wood chunks are better to use than wood chips because they last a lot longer in this thing. The hose for the gas tank was shorter than expected and could not hook it to the side handle when not in use, so I just hooked it the front handle. Get a good cover to keep it dust and rain free, I found one that covers it well from the same site for $28 ( I will review it separate ) and the tank I bought with fuel for around $55 at the grocery store. So expect to pay about $300 for this thing after you pay for a cast iron pan. The smoker takes practice and my first few smokes did not turn out so well. After 3rd smoke the food tasted much better. I like to add only 1 or 2 chunks soaked in water for the whole smoke, otherwise it doesn't taste as good. I also through in a few charcoal briskets in there that also adds good flavor too. 5 hours for ribs at lowest setting, 3 for tri tip at lowest setting, chicken 50min to 1hr on high to get the skin crispier. Start the smoker on high first for 7 min to get the temp up and then set it lower. Try different woods because I found I don't like hickory much. Mesquite is good even for ribs to me. Make sure you have an ice cold beverage in hand and a fly swatter cause you will attract everything that flies and crawls to that smoker. After you smoke remove food and turn on high for 7 min to burn away excess fat and scrub down the grills with a wire brush. Have fun and don't forget to preseason the smoker as per instructions. 08/26/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 1/3 or less the price of anything close!!! Only $600 or more will buy anything close to this cooking capacity or quality. I did the research. Walmart’s free shipping arrived 2 days early! Very fast! Assembly was straight forward and about 30 min. 1 person. Piece of cake. Did the 2 seasoning preps with the cooking spray, added the $12 iron skillet for the wood chunks/chips as recommended by many and replaced the built in thermometer with an $8 replacement. Cooked pork butts and ribs. They turned out awesome as temp control is easy and consistent as others have stated. This thing can BBQ a load of meat at a time. One of these can cook for a large gathering. I used soaked wood chunks as the chips produced too much smoke too fast in my initial testing and seasoning. Get the iron skillet, replace the thermometer and use chunks instead of chips and you will produse excellent BBQ with this very large capacity unit! I'm thrilled! 08/01/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great smoker! This is a great working smoker! I have modified mine with a smoke stack from the Master Forge vertical smoker to add better venting of the smoke. Original back vent works great but my modification was for the look. Make sure to pick up a Maverick ET732 to help keep a eye on temps from the comfort of your couch. Also you might want to use a 10" cast iron pan for the wood since the original wood tray allows the flame to ignite the wood. Just put the cast iron pan on top the original wood tray. Change out the water tray as well with a metal lasagna tray from Walmart since the original water tray is small. Yes you have to do work on the smoker to make it perfect but is well worth it for the size and price of this smoker. 07/19/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great smoker for the price This smoker is built well and seems to be solid. It holds temperature very well. I did add stove gasket to door but that is a common need for this kind of smoker. Being able to smoke whole racks of ribs is great. Very satisfied. 03/18/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for Large Meats Like Turkery, Hams etc Unit assembled with just a #2 Philips. Instructions are clear. After seasoning it I did a pir of 8lb ovenstuffer chickens. They fit next to each other on the same shelf with plenty of room left over. Holds temperature nicely with no problem regulating 250 to 275 deg. the burner is barly to medium. Full open the burner will heat it up to 400 deg. so I am sure that in the cooler months this will have plenty of reserve for late fall and winter smoking. The temperature guage is accurate enough for the weekend user. It was with in 10 deg of my fancy dual probe remote monitoring $60 thermometer. The 4 trays are more then you need. I set mine up with 3. NO complaints and I would purchase again. 07/24/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Held Temp like I wanted it to I am happy with this purchase so far. I wanted a smoker to hold its temp for a while now and a gas one seemed like the only easy way to do this. Well, it held at 225 for 4 hours or so for spareribs and they turned out great. Did use an aluminum roasting tray for water instead of the tiny water pan that came with the smoker. Used everything else as is, though. 07/11/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by As advertised I bought this on a hunch. I have a 26.75 Weber kettle and a Pit Barrel Cooker. I wanted a dedicated smoker. What made me nervous was propane. I have never been a fan a gas grills because of temp control. Usually, low on gas=350 degrees. Low, on this smoker, was 200, for me. So, after seasoning it then smoking a slab of ribs for 6 hours. Then, the following day smoking a Boston butt for 20 hours!! I am almost out of propane. 26 hours+1 1/2 hours of seasoning. Meat had a "neutral " flavor to it. Next time I will add more charcoal and wood chunks to the "chip tray". It is a large smoker for the money. For what you are paying, it is not a disappointment! 04/14/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent for the price I purchased this smoker because of the size. It is large and gives you plenty of room for several different items. Internally, it has 4 racks and wide enough to fit whole racks of ribs. When i unpackaged the smoker, i noticed the door was bent and wouldn't seal near the hinges. I contacted masterbuilt and they are supposed to be sending a new door. When i fired it up to season, i noticed several leaks around the handles, door and top. I'm going to purchase some high temp sealant and a seal kit for the door to make it better. 05/12/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Cooker for the money This is the second Masterbuilt smoker I've had in 5 yrs. We use it 3-5 days a week . The previous smoker performed flawlessly ., so when the burner box finally rusted out I bought a new one. The only problem is that the wood chip pan rusts out every year. So this time I bought the extended warranty for $25.00 for three years. A replacement wood chip pan cost $50.00 . The first one was free from the company but the next 3 I had to pay for. So the $25.00 extended warranty will be worth it. Also the last smoker was over $100.00 more than this one as is exactly the same except for the stainless steel door. 05/11/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One great smoker! I love this smoker, it has plenty of room to hang sausage, you can smoke a lot of meat at one time, i have smoked sausage, pork buts, ribs, chickens, and a lot of other meats in it and it always does a great job! The key to any type of smoker is using a meat thermometer so you know exactly when the meat is ready. 04/14/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product for the price Read all the reviews and figured it was the best deal for the money. Wal mart had the best price plus free shipping. Great product. 09/24/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice smoker for the money Large enough to cook a brisket or ribs. Smoked a chicken for Thanksgiving and a brisket the weekend after. Best brisket I've ever cooked. Door leaked a little at top right and left corners but nothing to worry about. Metal is a little thinner than I would liked but still worked okay. A little hard to regulate heat at first but after playing around with it got it to maintain 225 for 8 hrs. 12/06/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Smoker! This was an early Christmas gift for my husband. He had shopped around for months. His old smoker was ok but he needed an upgrade. It arrived 4 days after we ordered! The look on his face when he saw the size of the box was priceless! Then when he and our grandson removed it from the box and he saw the heavy duty jumbo size smoker it was like a kid at Christmas! Everything about this smoker is perfect! From the racks to the heavy duty door! He could smoke enough meat and poultry for the entire neighborhood or a family of 4! Best purchase ever! 12/04/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by smoker is ok but very cheaply made the legs on this smoker are pretty flimsy i actually had a weld break on one leg putting in the screws -- but upon calling cust service they agreed to send replacements-- also the unit had a dent in the bottom as well as a break in the metal where the drip pan goes -- the door closes but its misaligned with the rest of the smoker [out of square] not bad enough to return but not what i expected i guess i could bring it back but don't want the hassle of returning it -- i have not tried it out other then to season it per instructions and it seemed to work OK doing that the overall appearance of it workmanship wise is pretty shoddy but i guess you get what you pay for its a smoker not a car but i expected better 02/19/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by BIG Smoker. Works great. Seems durable. Thermometer is a little iffy. Overall very pleased. 02/10/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! Lot's of room to cook for a crowd The smoker is exactly as described by the manufacturer. It works great, keeps an even 230 deg on lowest setting. The chip pan works fine. The water pan has to be refilled after a couple hrs but not a big deal. I really like it. The only problem is that once we got it home and started to assemble it we found that it was dented during shipment to our local walmart. It's a sturdy steel box and properly packed. From the condition of the box it looks like it was handled carelessly Since they don't stock this at the local store I would have had to wait for another one to be shpiped so I kept it. 09/04/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by havent used it yet, construction looks pretty good, door hinges welded on sorta cheap, the measurements are off to it isnt 4.4 03/31/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by good smoker for the price Had to buy a separate box for the wood chips so they didn't burn up 06/29/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by for the price you can't go wrong. very easy to put together.i would get a cover for it. on line you can purchase a cover for 28.00 to 30.00. I bought a larger water dish for the smoker Also I bought a 10" cast iron skillet. I put it on top of the firebox that came with the smoker.this way I can burn wood chunks.i only used the smoker once so far. I smoked some chicken quarters.came out very good. 06/28/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Looks great! Do not know how it will hold up! I just received the smoker - like the space, the price and the versatility and ease of storage. Time will tell about the quality. 06/24/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great smoker for the price. Door leaked smoke, but I used the Frost King smoke seal and solved the problem. 07/24/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product This is a great product I am very happy with it . There is a little smoke that leaks around the door but If I seal it it mite get to hot . It holds a steady temp with no problems . I have not changed it at all . And I don't know if i will in the future, but for now it works great so why mess with it . 07/14/2013
1-23 of 23 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw105
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp