See All Reviews
Marcy ME-708 Upright Exercise Bike
Marcy ME-708 Upright Exercise Bike
$94.50
List Price: $119.00
You Save: $24.50 (21%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 445 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike for the price! I was shopping around for an upright exercise bike that wasn't too large to keep in my small house, and that was quiet enough to still hear the tv while I used it. After reading some of the reviews, I was hesitant, but purchased this bike anyway - so glad I did! I don't find the seat uncomfortable at all - in fact, it's wider and softer than my street bike seat, but you could easily fit the seat with a cushion if necessary. The bike makes virtually no noise at all - it's perfect to use in the mornings or evenings while my daughter is asleep, or while I'm watching tv. And it doesn't scare the dog like my treadmill does! The tension adjustment knob is easy to turn and allows an easy ride or a tougher ride, depending on your preference - and it's easy to switch tensions mid-ride for a customized "spinning class" type of workout. I can see how this bike could be a bit unstable, or rock a bit when used on very plush carpet, but with hardwood floors I don't have any issues. The bike is a good size for me, I am 5'8" tall and it is plenty high enough - and the seat is adjustable to a bit higher than I require, so it would work for someone a little taller than me as well. My big size 9.5 feet fit well in the foot pedals. The computer is simple and nothing fancy, but alternates between elapsed time, speed, distance and calories, and also has an odometer to see the total distance of all workouts (not that i'd ever use this feature, but kind of cool) The manual recommends that 2 people assemble the bike, but I did it alone, in about 30 minutes. Not a lot of pieces and very easy to assemble - and they include all the tools you'll need. Plus, there's a really small exercise/stretching/weight loss guide in the back of the manual... nothing mind-blowing, but perfect for a quick reference. I really can't think of anything negative to say about the bike, I couldn't be happier and it's all I need in a compact bike to use daily in front of the tv, especially for the price! Highly recommended! 06/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Bike=Worth Every Penny I was hesitant to buy this bike after some of the reviews, but I'm really glad I did. PROS: Easy to assemble Great workout for your legs & butt - upright bike targets these areas, that's why the handles are made so you lean over. (Plus you can keep your arms bent or do push-ups when you slow cycle to give your legs a break & it works out your arms!) & regular old cardio Completely Quiet Great tension adjuster Small size is perfect for my tiny apt. & I can watch tv & be done working out before I know it. I don't have to put together a cute gym outfit, drive off in my car & sweat in make-up in front of strangers who are quietly judging me or waiting for me to finish. $$$-Great Deal CONS: The seat is really HARD. I remedied this by wrapping a throw pillow in a sweater & putting that on the seat. I'm pretty sure the calorie counter is being generous. Most research says you burn about 1/3-1/2 of what it says. OVERALL REVIEW: I LOVE this bike & get a really great workout. I've been using it 40min/day for over a month & my body has firmed up noticeably. I could not be happier with this purchase & I highly recommend it. 02/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product I *highly recommend* this product. It's easy to put together (even for a single gal), VERY quiet, and a GREAT price, especially with the super cheap shipping options. Considering how much exercise equipment usually costs, the value of this bike is unbeatable. I've had it for a few months, and it gives me a nice low-impact workout on days I can't get outside. It's compact, and at only 5', it fits my small frame perfectly. I do recommend tightening all the hardware once a week. The computer is also very basic (I wish the screen lit up), but that's what I expect for the price. I also have a sneaking suspicion that the calorie counter is wrong (burning 600+ calories in an hour?!), but even if it's wrong by 50%, it's still a pretty good workout. If you're hesitating because my review is only the third, this product must have been listed before, because when I bought it a few months ago it had hundreds of reviews, and the average rating was four and a half stars. 10/20/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Big value for a small fee I did alot of looking and comparison shopping while looking for an exercise cycle, and getting the Marcy ME-708 was the way to go. First time using Walmart's "site to store" service and it couldn't have been easier. The box that the cycle came in was easy to load and would fit just fine in the backseat or trunk of an average compact car. Putting the cycle together was not a problem. Everything needed for assembly is included. If your able to read English, its not a problem. Assembly took me about 45 minutes, but, I was watching television at the same time. And speaking of watching television, I can use the cycle while watching t.v., break a sweat, and wear myself out without having to turn up the volume. The ME-708 is amazingly quiet. And the on board computer is very helpful in tracking calories burned, speed, distance, timer, etc. This cycle has alot of extras you'd expect from a higher priced unit. Padded handle bars positioned for upper body support to fullfill a good cardio workout and a not too uncomfortable padded seat.( its an excersise cycle, not an overstuffed sofa ) It's a good product for the money, and very user friendly. 08/29/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's fairly decent While I do feel I get a good workout, I think it'd be better if the handle bars were adjustable Like the seat. If your not too tall its ideal. I myself am only 5'5" and I have to hunch over to reach the handle bars. This would not work for someone with large feet either. I wear a ladies 6 and I have the strap on the widest setting. Now considering the price its a good deal, but if you want more than the basics I would invest in something a little more expensive. 12/10/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Marcy 708 exercise bike This is an excellent product that works perfectly. Light weight is a big plus for moving between places. The seat was somewhat wider than an ordinary bike seat. I find it fine despite what other reviews have said. Maybe Marcy updated it? Free home shipping was really fast. Assembly was a breeze -- and the tools are supplied, but does require two persons when assembling the cable. A trick they don't tell you in the instructions is that there is a small nut you have to adjust on the cable connection to allow enough play to connect the two sections together. Until you figure that out -- it's impossible! Other than trying to figure that - the rest took about 15 minutes to assemble. Sockets will really speed up the assembly process. The display unit is one of the best I've come across on a "basic" exercise machine. Overall -- an amazing deal. 12/02/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Basic exercise bike fits small space. I wanted a basic exercise bike which would fit in my small living room. This one is perfect. It was reasonably easy for me to assemble, and I am a 65 year old female. One thing that threw me was the set of illustrations for connecting the tension cable. Once I figured out that you had to read them from right to left, instead of left to right, it made sense. Although it is compact, it feels very sturdy and gives me a good work out. I am very satisfied. Good value for the price. 10/10/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it, Love it I just received this bike, and I love it. It doesn't take up much space, and it is the quietest exercise equipment I have ever used. I had a little problem hooking the tention cable, but once I figured it out the rest of the bike was easy to assemble. It is a great value for the price. 10/13/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good equipment for a good price Pretty simple to assemble, a few minor complications that were pretty easy to figure out. Seat isn't as hard as some people said in other reviews. Not the most comfortable, but not hard as a rock by any means. Computer tracking device works great. I like the odometer function so I know how far I've "ridden" altogether. 70 miles in a week :) Overall, LOVE IT!!!! 02/03/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by good work out it took nine days for it to arrive. when I recived it the base was broken the seat is very very hard no matter what i put on it my butts still hurt I only would recomend it because it gives a good workout but the seat is very uncomfortable. 12/03/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Much More Than I Thought!!!! I read several reviews on several websites about this product. When I received it, I was quite pleased with it, It took my husband barely 30 minutes to put it together. It looks good and the resistance levels are so easy to manage on the bike. This was a lot more than I expected for the small price that it was. If I had any drawbacks about it, I would say to invest in a seat cushion, because if you are riding the bike for more than 20 to 30 minutes like I do @ 2 times a day, you will have a sore rear end...lol Also, I have the bike on the hardwood floor, which makes it very unsteady when riding. I will be purchasing a floor mat to put underneath, but if your bike will be on a carpet area, then it will be fine. Good Luck with yours...I will be enjoying the workout on mine!!!! 11/08/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good buy Good product for the price. The problem I have is that the handles are kind of low for my hight. I am 5'7 and the handles are a little low after adjusting the seat. This makes my back uncomfortable after a while. Otherwise a really good buy for the money. 11/03/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sweet Awesome! I lost 80 lbs! 05/08/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by I'm Short and This Doesn't Work for Me I'm 5'4" in my tennis shoes and unfortunately this bike doesn't work for me at all. This is the 5th exercise bike I've owned and probably I've ridden over 10 different brands in my lifetime. This one was the absolute worst. First the good: 1. Free shipping site to store. 2. For the money, I was surprised at how sturdy this bike is. It's not the best made one I've ever used but for what I paid, I felt I did get my value that way. 3. It's very quiet. I can use it in the den that's next to the master bedroom at night after my hubby goes to bed and it didn't disturb him at all. The Bad: As I said before I'm short. If I put the seat down where I can more easily get on the bike then it feels like the pedals are directly under the seat of the bike making it very uncomfortable to try to pedal. Rather like an adult trying to pedal a tricycle or something. Like your knees are somewhere around your ears. If I raise the seat to get a better angle at the pedals then I have a devil of a time getting on the thing. Once I actually tipped it over while trying to get on it with the seat up a few notches. I don't think it is a good idea to stand on the pedals and use them to get on the bike. I'm almost sure that would eventually ruin them. Sure, it might work for a few months (after you can no longer return it) but I'm betting that eventually standing on them will ruin them so I refrained from using them to try to mount the bike. The absolute WORST thing by far for me is that because I'm short in stature with short arms and legs to match, I found that no matter what position the seat was in, I had to lean pretty far forward to reach the handlebars. Even with a pad on the seat, this put so much pressure on a certain.....personal part of my anatomy that after about 15-20 minutes it was so unbearable I couldn't do any more than that. I tried using a cushion but it didn't really help that much and I refuse to have to buy another seat for the bike because if I have to spend more money on it to make it "work" for me then I may as well just buy a more expensive bike that suits me better. If I loved the bike, I'd invest in a better seat but I don't and I'm returning this bike in a few days. I've ridden the bike maybe 7-8 times in the 10-12 days I've had it for approximately a total of about 2 hours at the most. 04/10/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed Seemed like a great machine for the price, but it's not. Resistance, even at 8 (highest setting), is very low. I'd have to ride for HOURS to even feel a little burn. Not challenging at all. If you want an exercise bike for the rainy days or when its nasty out, this can be suitable for you. But if you want a machine that will challenge you every workout, invest in another bike. 12/06/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by DECENT BIKE BUT DONT LAST LONG... OK SO I THOUGHT I'D SHARE MY REVIEW I'VE HAD THIS BIKE SINCE NOVEMBER OF 2009 IT JUST BROKE IN MAY OF 2011. SO IT ONLY LASTED ABOUT A YEAR & A HALF. IT'S A GOOD BUY IF YOU WANT SOME THING SIMPLE & DONT WANNA SPEND A LOT OF MONEY. BUT MAYBE YOU SHOULD PAY THE EXTRA 20 DOLLARS OR SO FOR THE WARRANTY IF YOU WANT IT TO LAST MORE THEN A YEAR OR SO.... I HAD TO BUY A NEW BIKE HOPEFULLY THIS NEW ONE WILL BE A LOT BETTER & LAST MORE THEN THIS... 06/01/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Grinding and Rattling Used bike for maybe 8 hours total and it started rattling like crazy and you can feel grinding while peddling. Seems like really cheap bearings. Should have expected for what I paid. 12/28/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great beginner bike This bike is easy to put together overall, took about 30 mins or so. Tools are included, which is nice. Its a very good quality bike for the price. Its quiet, and thats great for me since I like to ride while watching tv. Its sturdy too, as I am about 300 lbs. My only complaint is that I wish the handlebars were a little closer. The seat is wide and pretty comfy as bikes go. I would highly recommend this bike, especially for us heavy folks, as it doesnt move around and can take the weight. 09/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extremely Quiet!! makes virtually no noise, which was my main concern. easy to ride & easy to adjust. fits me comfortably, I'm 5'2", 130 lbs. no fancy bells and whistles, but for about $100 less than other bikes, I can do without the fancy stuff. also, it's small and doesn't take up alot of space, which I love. I can easily move it from room to room if I want. excellent buy for less than $100. the only con, it would be nice to have a holder to put my bottle of water in, but I'm sure I can figure out a way to attach one. 04/23/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by It works My 9 year old daughter and I do actually Exercise since it's in our family room ready to go. it's fun to watch TV and get the exercise out of the way in the comfort of home:) 02/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Exercise Bike Easy ship to store and pick up.Easy load and unload. Easy to put together.It says you will need two people to strech the cable and attach to proper position. You can do it with a prayer and a firm insisting grip! :) Seat can become hard while getting use to it. Use a pillow or gel seat pad if nessary. Whatch tv and ride! If you like to exercise buy it! 05/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Look no further I was looking for an excercise bike and based on the reviews decided to buy this one. I am so happy with this bike. It was VERY easy to assemble and I did it alone. One downfall in assembly was connecting the tension cable. It would have been impossible if I hadn't read about adjusting the nut on the cable so it would pull together easily. Besides that, it is perfect! I've used it every day and LOVE it. It makes no noise at all and provides an excellent workout. BUY IT! You won't be sorry. 02/21/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by seat is a killer! It's a shame because I like this bike. Great size, price, sturdy, easy to assemble and move around the house, and would get the job done if the seat wasn't so hard!! It's hard, small, uncomfy, and just way too painful, and im only 130lbs 5'2"! My bottom was so sore I couldn't even ride it the next day. I even went to walmart and brought a gel seat that's made for outdoor bikes and I could still feel the hardness on my butt bones!! And I don't have a small butt! My bottom was so tender I've tried a pillow and I still felt hard pressure from that hard ole seat. The seat is like a rock...what were they thinking! It has to go back! 05/17/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Flimsy product I added this bike to my gym at home with an expectation to use this bike once a week. I find this to be a very flimsy product. The balance on this bike is not good . I had to add felt pads to balance the bike. Still after that it moves little bit. I am returning this and will buy a little expensive produt to get what I want, which is a sturdy exercise bike. 03/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Exercise Bike! I bought this bike for convenience purposes since I work over an hour away from my home and don't have much time to make it to the gym. The bike is ultra quiet in my small apartment, and is easily wheeled around to any room. The monitor requires batteries (not included) and seems to be quite accurate, though you do not have the option to put in your own height and weight. All in all, it is very sturdy, and I could lower the seat down far enough to fit my small frame (5' 1"). A great buy for its value, and good quality item! 11/17/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am enjoying my bike. It was easy to setup. I received the bike with a damaged lock bolt for the seat. Walmart told me I had to return the bike, but I was determined to get a replace part since I had already assembled the bike. I called the number provided in the assembly booklet and the replace arrived in the mail in just three days. A very good product for the price 10/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by still loving it! I got this bike well over a year ago and I still love it! I did buy a seat pad for it. It's still quiet and moving nicely. It doesn't take up a lot of room (I keep mine in my living room) very easy to move and I did put this together myself no troubles in doing so. I would totally buy it again! 01/14/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by For the price, this is a great bike. Although this is a pretty inexpensive piece of equipment, it is a great bike. Mine was packaged well and was very easy to build. The bike has good resistance from easy to hard, and the screen has many different modes and options. After about 2 weeks, it started to make clicking noises so I got the tools out and re-tightened everything and now it is good-as-new. I would recommend this for everyone, but it is very light weight. I don't know what the weight limit is. 06/19/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Arrived broken (twice) I have always had good luck with site to store shipments..........but not with this bike. I ordered it, it arrived with the body of the bike badly cracked and broken so I returned it, ordered another one and it arrived broken almost exactly the same way the first one was broken. I returned it also. There obviously is a serious packaging/shipping problem with this bike. 11/07/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall A Good Bike Well I've had my bike for about a month now. So far, this bike has been good for my workouts. I was a little disappointed that the hardest resistance is weak. BUT, nothing that ankle weights couldn't fix. The ankle weights give you more of a challenge and definitely help burn more calories. I HIGHLY recommend this, if you are looking to burn more calories and have more of a challenge. I found a good set online Walmart site as well. Cheaper than in store prices. Anyway, the bike is very quite, a little squeaky sometimes after awhile pedaling. The seat is fine, it is uncomfortable at first but you definitely get use to it. But what exercise is comfortable? If you are trying to lose more calories in the ab area, tighten your stomach as you pedal. After cardio I highly recommend running in place lifting your knees high to give you that extra ab burn. Way better than sit ups and GREAT for abs! The bike was easy to assemble. I also love the fact that the bike takes up little space and so lightweight to move around. Overall a good bike, except for those looking for hard resistance, but then again ankle weights solves the problem. Definitely a great bike for those seeking a light workout or leg rehabilitation. :) 06/17/2011
1-30 of 405 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew148
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp