Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 19 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Price was right and deliverly was quick. The life time updates sold me. I am replacing a Garmin. The Megellan has much more information displayed in a better format. Very pleased with the gps and the ease of ordering and the quick delivery. 03/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by as good as any gps I have used This is a refurbished GPS. It looks new and functions very well. Sometimes it confuses which side the the road has odd or even addresses. So what it says is on the right may in fact be on the left. The One Touch menu is difficult to program. This is my second Magellan and I still have not figured out a reliable way of entering an address into the "One Touch" menu. The users manual is very limited. My other GPS is a 1470 series with the same One Touch menu and the same problem trying to figure how to enter data. 02/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best GPS Unit in my opinion This is my second Magellan RoadMate. The first one I had, the battery wouldn't charge anymore. I did not hesitate to purchase another Magellan RoadMate. I am a traveling nurse and am not familiar with the area since I am transplanted from another state. My Magellan RoadMate has gotten me to 99.9% of the places I needed to be. I would highly recommend this product to anyone who wants a GPS. 04/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I like Magellan better than the last 3 Tom Toms! The Magellan is light and easier to attach to your car than a tom tom. I'd recommend Magellan to anyone who hasn't been satisfied with their current GPS system. 03/15/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Magellan RoadMate 1424-LM - Great Value! When I saw the Magellan RoadMate 1424-LM with life time map update, at this unbelievable price, I just had to try it. The price for a full featured road GPS is truly a value. The features are comparable to more expensive models, but the best part is the lifetime map update. However, one knock on this model is the display. Even at full brightness, it is not as bright as other Magellan RoadMates that I own. In bright sunlight or when the sun is coming from behind you the display is almost unreadable. And, the display is very dim even if you just mount it on the windshield. However, if you have if out of the direct sunlight it is much more visible. I wish there was a way to increase the brightness. Additionally, the unit is not as sturdily built as other RoadMates. The housing is more lightly built than my Magellan Model 1412 which is a much more ruggedly built model. The mounting bracket for the Model 1424 also appears to be of a more flimsy construction that the factory one for the Model 1412. I guess Magellan has to cut these corners in order to offer a RoadMate at such a low price with life time map updates. Also, they probably figure you will break the unit and replace it because of its low price before it costs them too much for the life time map replacements. In other words, Magellan expects this unit's "life time" to be short. 04/14/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 OMG! Unit went bad within 3 weeks and had to send to Customer Service(?) with an RMA. Repeated "cut and paste" verbage replies to virtually all my inquiries. (been 3 weeks now, they said 7-10 days). Finally got an email today saying the 1424 is discontinued and want to offer me a refurb lower end model. I didn't buy a refurb, I could have went to ebay for that. Very unhappy with the product and especially the so called customer service. Save yourself a major headache ... keep shopping. 06/12/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by The gps worked somewhat but did not tell you when you were at your destination. It would say your destination is in about 800 feet, which would have you looking everywhere for your destination. Also did not call out the road names. Have a TomTom that is old that works better. Would not recommend Magellan to anyone. 05/30/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by older version of Magellan was always accurate,this model has let me down serveral times as to turn direction etc. 05/08/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love it! It was a great purchase. 02/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am pleased with my purchase,have not used it yet I really like Megellian better than the one my friend has. I do not like that little car on the map. It confuses me as to where exactly on the road I am and I like the womans voice the best. thanks again. And yes, I do reccomend this product 02/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by maps are good. voice is really annoying and hard to understand at times. 02/27/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't try to update it! It only lasted one day. I foolishly tried to update it's software and maps before researching this on the internet, and the unit immediately bricked. So I took it back to the store, no Magellans for exchange so I got a Tom Tom with store credit. Still works so far, WITHOUT updating the unit. 05/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gives great directions. Easy to program. Lots of great features. I especially like getting map updates free for life! 06/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent service my product arrived promptly and in good condition. I am pleased 06/01/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by AT times you could be be 2 miles down the road before it shows where you are. Other than that, I have NO PROBLEMS with the unit.. 04/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Magellan GPS is a very good product easy to set up and learn. Although low cost it is an excellent product! 04/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the free map updates!! Directions are great, along with turn by turn directions! 04/06/2012
1-18 of 18 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw132
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp