Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 88 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by not used for long trips This gps should only be used for very short trips the battery life is only 2 hours and the car charger that comes with the gps can not be used with the gps while the gps is in the vechile mount that comes with the product 08/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good deal this has been great so far. I haven't needed it much since the purchase but it will be very helpful when I do. Could have seriously used it a few times before I ordered which is what prompted the purchase. --was afraid the refurbished model would be a mess but it came in great shape. 07/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for directions Great for directions. It is great and reliable. 07/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Frendly user GPS very simple and precise Great GPS for the price frendly user very simple but the software update with the PC is extremly slow. 07/31/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Does alot except get you there quickly I bought this days before 2 trips from South Alabama to New Orleans. It arrived quickly so kudos to Walmart shipping. Everything was in the box and I updated the maps but it said I had the newest maps. When I left for my trip it tried to send me 30 minutes East when New Orleans is to the West of us but no biggy, I know short cuts, it didn't. When I drove arround New Orleans and it wanted to, yet again, send me a much longer way I decided to return the GPS, within a week of buying it. I had been on a cross country drive with a borrowed Magellan a month prior and in several states it gave me questionable directions (yahoo maps and mapquest both found better routes# but I had thought it was a low end model or settings were wrong. This time a new Magellan did the same to me andI doubble checked the settings. I missed the my speed vs posted speed indicator my old GPS had #different brand - it was stolen). The traffic alerts worked once but on the way back didn't so I can speak to a 50% success rate. One thing I liked was the spoken street names. In short though, I'm sure the Magellan gets you there, just won't be the quickest way so if you don't mind that... go for it. The fact that it is a refurb shouldn't influence you. The quality looked good. There was another review I read that question the car charger's instalation. I found no issue with it so don't let that stop you either. 08/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by HAVE NOT USED IT LONG ENOUGH TO ATTEST TO DURABILITY, BUT, SO FAR, SO GOOD. BOUGHT IT FOR WORK, AS WE ARE GOING INTO AREAS NEW TO US. HAD A FEW PROBLEM PROGRAMMING ADDRESSES, BUT THEY WERE MOSTLY USER ERRORS. IT DOES OCCASIONALLY TAKE ME ON UNFAMILLIAR ROADS, TO GET TO AREAS I AM SLIGHTLY FAMILIAR WITH, BUT IT GETS ME THERE. ONLY PROBLEM I SEE IS, THAT THE MAPS , EVEN WHEN UPDATED TO THE NEWEST ONES, ARE STILL OUT OF DATE. THEY SEEM TO BE AT LEAST THREE YEARS BEHIND. FOR EXAMPLE, MY STREET WAS MADE ONE WAY, THREE OR FOUR YEARS AGO, BUT IT STILL SHOWS IT TWO WAY. THE BANK THEY BUILT ON MY CORNER, THREE YEARS AGO, STILL DOES NOT SHOW UP. BUT THAT'S MAGELLANS' FAULT. HAD IT SHIPPED TO MY HOME, & IT ARRIVED IN A FEW DAYS. VERY SATISFIED WITH WALMART. PRICE IS VERY REASONABLE. 08/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Megallen GPS is a great item to own. Will get you to the exact place you need it to. Very easy to program and if you make a wrong turn or didn't turn it will let you know or switches the route and still gets you there. Would definitely recommend to everyone. 09/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good GPS for a good price! Doesn't use an SD or Micro SD card (no slot for it). But, it's a great GPS unit at a very good price. Calculates routes very well/ No problems. Magellan has very good reputation for their products.Thank goodness this unit has lifetime maps and lifetime traffic. Best customer deal going lately. 08/25/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great for lifetime maps and lane guidance We are moving from a 3 year old Garmin to this Magellan. The biggest reason I purchased this was because of the lifetime map updates. The Garmin one-time map updates are about the same price as this entire unit. You must register the unit and install the software from the Magellan website in order to get the updates. That's where trouble began for me. On my Windows 7 PC, the GPS wasn't being recognized. Therefore, the software didn't see the GPS so it wouldn't download the updates. I had to try 3 other PC's before I finally found one that actually was able to download and apply the newest firmware and map update. Well on to the functionality of the GPS. Many of my comments will be comparisons of the Garmin unit. When missing a turn, this unit simply tells you where to make the next turn, and does it gracefully. Or, it will tell you to "Make a legal U-turn." It doesn't nag you with "recalculating". This can be both good and bad. The lane guidance is nice to have, as we didn't have it on the Garmin. However, during our drive through downtown Minneapolis, it didn't seem to have the center lane signs correct in every instance. Nevertheless, I didn't miss an exit. Just don't rely totally on the lane guidance feature, and you'll be OK. There are two things I miss about the Garmin: the speed limit and vehicle speed indicator, and the more accurate reading of feet until you need to make a turn. On the Garmin, it tells you in feet (500, 250, 100, 50, etc.) before the turn. With this Magellan it reads out in tenths of a mile. It is something I'll get used to, though. I like the Points of Interest feature, although it seems that I had to prod the GPS several times to keep them appearing on the map. Perhaps you have to be zoomed out at a certain level before they will display. However, one thing I didn't like about POI is that it showed the ones that I had already passed first. When I picked a gas station, not knowing it was the one we had already passed, it had me backtracking. This caused us to lose time and mileage. As for the traffic feature, it didn't work for me at all. It only works in big cities anyway, and it totally missed some traffic slowdowns that we experienced in the Twin Cities. The traffic on our Garmin worked much better! In short, I would recommend this Magellan 2036T-LM if you're on a tight budget and need a decent GPS. I really couldn't tell that it was refurbished, because all the accessories are included. If you're looking for more features, I'd go for Garmin. 08/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great GPS/Great Value This was my first refurbished unit that I purchase and it works just like a brand new unit. Very easy to use and it comes with everything you need(car charger, window mount and etc). I would highly recommened this unit as it has life time map and traffic updates for $59! 08/08/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by the unit is fair the unit is fair,it works very good except the maps are not that accurate, as far as finding my house it is the worste of anly that I have owned. the only one that found my house was a Garmin and all the others said I lived on the right and I lived on the left. I did map ulpdates,too. the rest of the places that I asked was prettly much alright. I live in a moble home park I hope the police and fire have better ones LOL. 08/22/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by It's refurb for a reason 4.3" GPS with lifetime map and traffic for $60. Great buy right...WRONG. Bought 2 of these, one for myself and one as a birthday gift. Both units did not work. After charging the units, I got one to work for about 5 minutes, once. Both units would turned off after a couple of seconds of loading when I turned them on. Once the units turned off, I had to await for a couple of minutes before the units would even let me turn them back on. After several times of trying to start up the units, I gave up and returned them. Very disappointed in this product as I have an older 3" Magellan RoadMate 1210 which works just fine. 08/05/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Got a brick--Would not recommend. Spent about 2 hours attempting to have my computer recognize the unit. There are no drivers for it, they are embedded in software that you have to download because it doesnt come with disk. Each time attempted to connect got message that there is problem with device, disconnect and try again or use different device. Searched the internet for solution which is simply load the software and then plug in device. I love walmart because instead of having to talk to someone at customer support at magellan (which after reading enough, it is pointless) i promptly returned it today. 08/08/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dim display. Software glitches. Returned this item. Getting another Garmin. 08/03/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Nav. for a Good Price This nav system has good options and love the unlimited map and traffic. Not a robust as my TomTom, but works for the beginner *(which is what my mother is; as this was a gift for her - however, I did set it all up for her). Nice, easy to understand and simple interface....which is exactly what my mom needs to be able to operate it on her own. However, updating the maps with the Magellan software can be a chore. There is a lot of steps to disconnect and then re-connect the device, the do it once again before maps upload. Not hard, but not easy to update. You have to pay very close attention to the on-screen prompts of your PC to get it to work properly. For all of those having issues with the Magellan getting it to be recognized on your PC, I advise you to install the Magellan software FIRST, before plugging your unit into a PC and/or laptop. That should do the trick, as I had the same problem initially, but once the software was on my 64-bit laptop, it recognized the nav. unit just fine. I will have to continue to update the maps for this model navigational system for my mother as she would probably never figure out all the ins and outs to do so on her own. But of course, I don't mind. :0) All-in-all and good deal and solid unit. Just spoiled to my older model TomTom and could see more feature(s) potential for it overall....which could already be there on upper echelon model Megellans. 10/14/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by I was spoiled by my old one that showed all street names so it was easy to figure out an area it is located in. This one doesn't do that. It only directs you and I like having an idea of the area I am headed. 10/09/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Different system from other units I have had, entering locations a bit different. Unit seems to tell you that you turn in .1 of a mile but the turn is NOW. Slight learning curve, old unit had traffic lanes displayed, this one does not, would help. It does get better with use, I would recommend it for a 1st unit. 09/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roadmate gps This is a nicer updated version from my Magellan 3100 series. I like the "one touch" to get me wehre i need to go faster. the wider screen is a plus also. I also like that i can replace the battery. my other gps was fixed battery; so once it was gone the whole gps was trash! i like also, i can see the battery life on top right corner when i am on menu. so i always know when i need to charge it up. the adapter is much stronger and sturdier also than my old one. glad i made decision to buy this gps. I dont have time yet to access "all" its features; but i hear they are great! 09/30/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor value. Refurbished qualitiy very low. Right out of the box one could see that the refurb quality was not there. The faceplate was scratched up and the product had an overall used appearance. I was able to live with this until I plugged it in and it wouldn't boot up. At that point, I wasn't even about to battle the Magellan tech support line. Back to Walmart it went. To Walmarts credit, they have a great return policy. Rarely do I ever have to bring anything back but when I do they are pleasant and care that their customers are happy with their purchase. If they are not, a refund is cheerfully given. 09/30/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The product received was defective. Although Magellan was helpful, it took weeks to resolve. The product was worth the price, if it was not delivered defective. i would still recommend it if it worked when initially received 09/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Deal! The unit I received works just as good as the brand new one I purchased for my wife's car at a fraction of the price. Maps are as accurate as any GPS I have used in the past and the screen is clear and easy to read. I use this unit on my motorcycle with an aftermarket mounting bracket and have had no issues with it. So far I have not used traffic or map updates so I can not speak to their functionality. 09/24/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Deffective Product I bought this GPS to replace my old 5" TomTom because it's cheap and has lifetime map and traffic update. But I had to return it back to Walmart an hour later because it was defective. Couldn't get it to start after charging it. Tried it several times and finally gave up. The company should not sell refurbished products without testing them first. 09/21/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Arrived DOA but customer service was a pleasure I purchased this item for use and for places I dont now how to get to but map update didnt work. Called Customer serivce very helpful but the device wouldnt take and kept flashiing reset reset so sent it back to walmart and the customer service lady at my local walmart told me I was the fifth today so instead of getting another I purchased a garmin budget unit instead will post if thats another fail should be here in a few days 09/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by It is very accurate, and easy to use. 09/21/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by DOA!! Only got opening screen and error message. The manual and online help was worthless. I thought refurbished ment someone actually checked to see if the item worked. Not this one anyway. 09/20/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Defective product Bought this refurbished GPS considering a good deal. It arrived promptly but I could not get passed the very first page. It continued to give an error message. I reset and restarted few times but nothing changed. It seems that it was either not refurbished or not tested before shipping. It was a complete waste of time buying this defective product. I returned to a local Walmart store. 09/17/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Regarding map updates Has anyone encountered a problem with updating to map verison 4.8? I tried to update maps and the device seems to only say "saving update powering off to optimize performance" then it turns off then turns on and it keeps doing the same exact thing with saying its loading then shuts off turns on... it did that for hours before the battery turned drained. Advice? 09/15/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't drive more than 2 hours I was drawn to the model by the low price, but wish I would have listened to the warning posted by a previous shopper about this item. Not having the option to recharge while in use as you are driving is not a good thing. You know, sometimes trips are longer than a one-time battery charge. Good for trips around a metro area. Not so good for vacation or holiday road trips where one could easily be driving for six or more hours at a time. I should have spent a little more money and gotten another product. 09/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great GPS THe Magellan Gps system is great bargain and work great as new. It was a good deal and the right prize. THanks 09/13/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible Experience - Do Not Buy! I bought this product during an online sale. As far as the experience with Walmart, everything went smoothly as expected - the GPS arrived on time as advertised, and once it had charged up, seemed to work perfectly. Unfortunately from there on out, everything went wrong. I plugged the unit into my computer and tried to use the newly downloaded Magellan Content Manager to update to the latest firmware/map pack. Unfortunately, something went wrong during the update process and completely bricked the unit. While trying to find a solution for this online, I discovered a number of posts stating that this was a known and acknowledged issue, and yet had not been addressed in over a year! Finding that out, I emailed Magellan customer support and asked for suggestions. (I'll rabbit trail here to note that this was the only decent part of this product experience, as Magellan customer support was very courteous and always responded within 1 business day.) They responded with a possible fix that involved manually installing the faulty map pack. Long story short, this did not work, and they decided to have me exchange the unit. I packaged it up and sent it in (note that I had to pay the shipping costs for their own failed product...). About two weeks later I received confirmation that my replacement had shipped. A little long, but I'll go with it. What made me nervous however, was that they noted that my unit was being replaced with a refurbished unit. While I am not against refurbished units (where else do you get units that have been hand-checked for functionality), generally there is a reason that they cost less than new. Fast forward to today. After a total of 3 weeks from shipping the unit in, I've received the unit. The first thing I noticed upon opening the box was that the refurbished unit that was sent me (again, to replace my brand new unit) has been OBVIOUSLY used heavily. The casing is covered in scratches, the screen has an inch long scratch running across it, and the back has an obvious shadow from where the case sat in the vehicle mount. I'm in shock that they would actually send a unit in such horrendous condition to a paying customer as a replacement. I give the unit one star for failing to meet even basic expectations in all areas. I would give another half star for good customer service communication, but you can't do half stars, and it definitely doesn't deserve two. 09/12/2012
1-30 of 73 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw325
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp