See All Reviews
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 77 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A product better than expected. Easy to install, good price (lower than the factory), expandable (up to 14 sensors), reliable (tested many times, and no false alarm till now). For a system of a professional security co., when alarm triggered they'll call you to ask if you are home or need they call the police. The Mace system can call you then you can choose from 1. listen through the phone to hear what's happening; 2. use the phone to warn the intruder with the loud-speaker of the Mace system; 3. or call the police, your neighbor....just the same, no matter you get the information from a security co such as ADT or from a DIY system such as Mace. So if we can do it by ourselves, easy and cheaper, why should we pay monthly charges? Highly recommend. Have bought extra sensors from Wal Mart to expand the system. 04/09/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good product I have to admit that I was a bit sceptical at first, but after installing the system (5 motion sensors and one door sensor) it works better than I imagined! The fact it calls me on my telephone first and then the other 4 numbers I programed makes it a plus. I have a door sensor at least 300 feet from the control panel and it doesn't have any issues. Improvements would be to have a backlight on the LCD screen, because it's somewhat difficult to see, and on off button on the motion sensors. I simply pull the battery out of my bedroom sensor when I want to turn the system on at night while I'm sleeping. Would be nice to have two remotes instead of the one they send, but I was impressed by the range of the remote. I really don't think anyone could go wrong, it's a good buy. 11/03/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product! We purchased this system after a door salesmen from APX came and put they're product in our house. The offer was good ($45per mth.), BUT! we had to be roped into a 4 YEAR contact. We had 3 days to decide, and they would refund our money. My wife and I were very uncomfortable with this contract. Then my wife said, can you do it cheaper? I said, give me 4 hours and $100. I purchased the Mace system and and a couple extra sensors, it does almost everything there's did except a back lighted touch screen. No contract, no getting a city permit (which they don't tell you) for the alarm. And I like that I can decide when to call 911 (no charges for false alarms,usually $50 a pop). AND the system they installed, the network people could listen into my house at anytime. That is unsettling and creepy. I love my Mace. Art from KY. 08/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it!! This was just what I was looking for. The price was great. The product works very well. I was concerned because of my plaster walls whether or not the base unit would "see" all my door alarms. I installed the base and all door and motion sensors on my two story home. It took about two hours and was sooo easy. Programmed the base unit to contact my cell and neighbors phones. Love the key chain remote. Highly recommended to anyone who needs some kind of security at a low price. 05/04/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by home security The Alarm does exactly what it says it does. I did have trouble activating it by phone, it was no big deal tho. It comes with a remote that arms or disarms it. I had one incident so far, and the Alarm called my cellphone rite away. I didnt want to add a land line and pay tha extra money a month so I bought a Magic Jack for $20 a year, this Alarm works good with it. 03/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressed I read all of the reviews for DIY home security systems, and ended up purchasing this one. It was a very easy setup. A little time consuming, but no stress. I couldn't find anywhere whether this would work if you do not have a landline, as I do not. It will sound a high pitched alarm if armed and a door or window is opened. If in the "home" mode a nice door chime sounds if the door or window is open. A huge plus, because I have a two year old. As I mentioned earlier, I do not have a landline phone, so it will not call anybody if the system is triggered. I am a stay at home mom, and I rarely leave the house, so this works for me. I have peace of mind now at night, when my husband is away on business and don't wake to every little sound, because my alarm didn't sound!!!! If I had one complaint, it isn't as loud as I hoped. It will make your ears ring, but I was hoping for a louder more disorrienting sound. Has a backup battery in case the power goes out. FYI Never let your potential burglar know what kind of alarm you have, I didn't use the "mace" warning window stickers it came with. I ordered ADT ones from ebay as well as 2 yard stakes. 110 Decipals LOVE IT! 11/24/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does everything it claims to! I bought this product on sale for $79. At that price I was skeptical that it could do what it claims. Set up was easy. Programming was easy. After setting up by following the directions I started testing. The system triggered by the motion detector just how I expected. The door sensor worked perfectly. The alarm is loud enough to scare anybody. The system called my cell phone just as expected. I have tried all the options with the cell phone over and over and everything works just as they claim. I was able to monitor, broadcast, arm, disarm and end the call. I was able to call the system and do all the above also. The only thing I don't like is the door chime in home mode is too loud to use in the office to let us know there are people around. I have bragged about this product to different businesses and home owners that I know. 12/25/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great system! But animals set off motion sensor! Bought this alarm system about two months ago to keep my teens in the house and their friends out!! Works great - to a point. It seems we have a family of bunnies living under our deck (that is monitored by the motion sensor). These cute bunnies are setting off the sensor in the middle of the night. Maybe 5 times in the last 2 weeks. We have to get these bunnies relocated ASAP and close off their entrance under the deck. Other than this, I do have piece of mind that my kiddos are tucked nicely in their beds! I figure if the bunnies set off the sensor, surely the teens will. (At least the rain doesn't set it off!) 09/04/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Controller Purchased Controller w/remote, Door/Window sensor and Motion Detector. Also purchased 11 additional D/W sensors. Controller would not sense when Door/Window sensor on door was closed, kept saying "close please". Called Mace and left message with representative- No Response! Called again next day and spoke to rep. Said sounded like Controller was bad, suggested open additional D/W sensor and try that, still did not work. Sent ALL back! 07/21/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by good and bad Buying the thing was easy. Picking it up wasn't. The darn Walmart door alarm kept beeping. Installation was easy. Programming the thing was difficult. Getting it to learn additional sensors was difficult. You have to get creative and go beyond the lousy instructions. The 20 second recording time is NOT enough to get a meaningful message off to police. Now that it's working, it will do the job. The sensors are VERY VERY sensitive to the slightest movement. 09/24/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product this product works as great as the commercially monitored alarm systems. the additional benefit of this product is that you don't have a monthly payment. if alarm triggered the system will call your cell phone to let you know that alarm has triggered off. it does the job. i highly recommend for this product. ideal to set it around the perimeters as well as inside the house. however, the accuracy of this product might annoy you after a while, because any moving object in front the motion detectors will set the alarm off. birds, rabbits, squirrels, etc. this unit has two modes to set on. Home mode and Alarm mode. home mode works as a buzzing signal to let you know as the motion detector has detected a moving object, and Alarm mode works as a commercial alarm system, which can be armed and disarmed either with included remote control or by pressing the button on the dial pad. remote control feature i found to be a very convenient asset to the system. buying this system will do the job not less greatly than paying $30-50 per month for commercially monitored systems. the principle of both is nearly the same. commercially monitored systems calls to the monitoring units and privately monitoring system will call your cell phone (up to 2 numbers) and you can call the police. perhaps you'll do a better job for your own benefit than relying on others to care for you inasmuch as they would care for themselves. and if you have camera security system in addition to this security system, then you can actually see what's going on your property. get this product and save yourself bucks! 02/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Care-giver's and entire family's!! A must have!! I am a care-giver who takes care of my mother, this Security system is excellent for so many reason's #1. you can have the system Armed when you are not home and if someone brakes in, it will call you cell phone and you call Police or your next door nieghbor, that is cool and no monthly service fee's!! #2 if I am out to do daily task's, it helps keep my mother in who at times has left the place and we almost lost her due to her illness, so wether you have a loved one who has Altimerze? or just is elderly, this is an extra percaution and something good for peace of mind! Grate product!! We have friend's who saw ours and bougt as well. Modern tech, it's so cool!! Antonio Disneyland area! California 02/14/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Junk I was unable to set up a password. I followed the instructions and tried multiple times. Without the password you cannot set up the unit. Returned item at store. 05/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by very helpful We had considered going through adt and getting that set up but it was too expensive! This does almost the same thing! It calls the numbers that are programed if triggered. I programmed 911 as the last number and it really work! Awesome! 03/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome product Product was easy to install.A little time consuming to set up but only to ensure the accessories work.It does everything the web page says it does.My sister paid 500 bucks for her system and 20 bucks a month for a company to monitor her system.This mace system cuts out that middle man,plus you save a couple of hundred bucks and you could set it up to call you directly to your mobile phone.I have it set up to call dad first then mom then son.Pretty cool.Does not have backlight,but for the price it rocks.You can buy additional sensors at mace.com,and this product is about $60 more at mace.com just an fyi .Cheaper at Walmart. 10/03/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mace Security System Have used it for about 1 month, and I love it. I had one intrusion already, and it scared them off right away. I since changed the lock on this rental, and have not had a problem. I really like the remote, so I can keep the control unit hidden from easy access from destruction. It calls me within 2 seconds from the alarm going off anyway. If I forget my remote, I can call the unit, and then turn it off before entering. 06/22/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good value, needed one workaround This seems to be a good alarm system for the DIY person. It's a very good price point, and offers some nice features like the phone number dialing and remote control capability (ability to listen/speak/disarm system from the phone). This feature was most important to me, that is why I bought it. Two things I wish Mace had done better. I wish they had an audio alarm sensor like Skylink so it could alert you when your smoke detector goes off. 2nd, I wish they would allow you to arm/disarm individaul zones. What I wanted was to be able to arm the system during the day with the motion detector on, and at night with it off (so my kids don't set it off). When I contacted Mace, they came up with a stupid solution (delete motion detector from system and add it back via LEARN every day). I came up with a better one. I had an AC/DC converter that you could set for different voltages with a 9V battery plug on it. I plugged the adapter into an outlet where I wanted the motion detector that also happened to be controlled by a wall switch, and powered the motion detector off the 9V battery connector on the AC/DC adapter with the adapter set to deliver 9VDC. Now with the flick of a wall switch my motion detector is either on or off. It works like a charm! So with this workaround I really like the system. I just wish they had a way of detecting when my smoke detector goes off! 05/16/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mace Alarm System The Mace system is very easy to use and the installation was a snap, I tested a few times and everything works well, no false alarms at the moment and I have it for about a month. It's a very cheap but effective solution to have security in home without paying a monthly fee. PS: I bought an extra window sensor and all cost about a $100 (Comes with 2, 1 win/door, 1 Motion) 05/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXTREMELY SATISFIED!!!!! THE INSTRUCTIONS WERE VERY EASY TO FOLLOW. ALARM IS LOUD AND SENSITIVE! DOES EXACTLY AS STATED. DO NOT HESITATE TO PURCHASE!!!!!!! 02/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Do you leave your home alone? Buy this. I was looking for something like this a long time ago. I don't know why Walmart does not have it all the time in stock. It is easy to setup and easy to use. If you leave your home alone just arm it before you leave with the remote (one key to press only); and if somebody enters your house it will call you (3 numbers); you can listen what's going on there and talk to; and disarm it. You can arm it also if you forgot to do so when you left. I'm electronic engineer, very-very picky with electronic devices; tough criticizer; and I’m proud of this guys. What I suggest is to disable the panic alarm if you believe you don’t need it; it’s extremely loud; want to try it… tap your ears first. 03/16/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too bad I wish the unit had the ability for an external alarm. I saw someone asked the question, but it went unanswered. Otherwise just fine. 07/01/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by I recommend it, but, only if you have a LAND LINE I recently purchased this product online, after opening the packaging I became disappointed when I noticed on the back; REQUIREMENTS: Land Line with "Tone" Dialing. We no longer have a land line, & prefer it that way, our home computer's are "wireless" & I'm not interested in getting "Magic Jack". The product marketing is deceiving because, 1) it's NOT mentioned in product details, 2) it's NOT on the front of packaging, 3) on the front it reads; "WIRELESS HOME SECURITY SYSTEM, Calls Your Cell Phone" & other details except "LAND LINE REQUIRED". I just checked to make sure I didn't miss that valuable information, it's not there, however, found it when searching the Q & A's. In my opinion that's not where one should find product details. I will be returning it. 09/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product!! This product gave me so much more "bang for the buck" than I expected. 03/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great reviews on this Item that's why I purchased. This siren will hurt your ears if it's on too long. Directions on setting up this unit were pretty straight forward and using motion sensor still need to install window sensor. I tried window sensor and it works great even if it wasn't installed yet. I have to say this is the ticket it called my cell and you can program 5 total phone numbers for this unit to call anyone. I recommend this unit to any who needs some excellent protection at a modest price. More security for your home and no monthly fees, installation fees Etc. Etc. 02/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product A+++++ I bought the mace security system about a month ago,I hooked it up in less than an hour.Pretty easy instructions to follow,it comes with one door/window sensor and one motion sensor,and 1 keychain remote,i hooked up the door/window sensor with no problems,i dont have any use for the motion sensor,would have been nice to have 2 door/window sensors,I have bought 2 more door/window sensors since then and they are very easy to sync up with the base unit,the local alarm on the sensor units themselves are not very loud but the main alarm is quite loud.If wanting to buy addtional sensors,i would buy off of wal-mart.com or ebay,do not order directly from the mace website,they charge double if not more than that per sensor.Also,programming is quite simple and if the alarm is activated in can call up to 5 numbers,this option works very quickly,about 30 seconds after alarm i get a call right on my cell phone,pretty nice.I work graveyard and this gives me a piece of mind when my wife and kids are home and i am at work.I would recommend this product. 09/11/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is an Awesome Unit! It does evwerything I wanted it to do and more. It was easy to install and it works great. The only down fall is that you can not shunt a door or window if you don't want it armed with the rest of the system. You have to remove it from the system or wire in a switch at the sensor. Other than that, it's great! AC 08/24/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by damaged poor packing Good product but was packaged poorly. Unit was faulty. Gave false alarms. tech support confirmed it was defective. I ordered a new one and I'm going to give it another try. 06/05/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy set up but some limitations Pro: Easy set up. Call into your cell when alerted. Remote turn on and off via cell phone. Con: siren only has one volume. siren, keypad and panel are molded into one - the keypad which means the burglar can easily unplug the phone line. 10/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Home Security System! I love this Security System so far. It was easy to install, easy to set up, & easy to use. I love that it has all the features of a high priced system, without the monthly bill, or hidden fees. You pay for the System & that's it! You can program up to 5 different phone numbers, set a "siren" alarm or set it on "silent", it has a "panic button", & a fair amount of other features. When the alarm calls the numbers programmed, there are 4 different prompts you can use: Monitor Room (listen in from the phone), Broadcast Into Room (be heard on the intercom of the system), End Call, or Disarm System. I also suggest, if you have animals, to install the Motion Detector Sensor(s) high enough that it won't detect the movement of your animals. I have cats, so I installed the Motion Detector Sensor(s) about 4ft high, & haven't had any issues with the cats setting them off. **The only complaint I have, which is definitely minor, is the LCD display on the unit does not light up. So, seeing it in the dark would probably prove to be difficult. Other than that, I am BEYOND SATISFIED with this purchase! 09/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great system Overall, this is a great product for the price. It has numerous features of higher priced products but costs only about $75. Everything works well, it's easily programed, and simple to understand. As a security professional, I'd recommend this to anyone who wants a basic self-monitored system. 01/06/2012
1-30 of 74 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw195
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp