Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 114 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great quality Hibachi I love cast iron because it holds the heat (put mine on concrete pavers for safety)for a long time, it cooks so well, and is heavy duty. I paid $79. Very happy with this Hibachi. I first checked all the local stores in my area hoping I could just walk in and purchase it and take it home. This was not the case. I found online that Walmart had the best price and free shipping. It did NOT come within the shipping time frame, and I had to wait longer than expected,(was disappointed for the wait as it was a gift to my husband) but I did get it before the the 4th of July and was happy to have it for the occasion, and have used it daily for summer BBQ. This is a high quality product and will last a lifetime, and you will be able to hand it down to your kids, & grand kids. I Would recommend, in fact a few friends said they want one when they saw us cooking on it. 07/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by It's a tank. Impressions: It's built like the old indoor cast iron stoves that were used to both heat the house and cook on. Only this little guy is portable and obviously for outdoor use. As an avid griller and BBQer I have seen and used many smokers and grills. For the money you will not find a finer, better built grill on the market. Although the size of the grill is quite small, it's quality is top notch. This thing will probably spend more time on Earth than me. Cost: Before buying the grill I researched many of the smaller grills on the market. They range from $20-$150. However, the quality of the grills, even the $70-$150 models is sub-par when compared to this little guy. If you buy it from walmart.com or A.....com it will cost half the price you'd pay if you buy directly from the company. It's not a short term piece of equipment like some of the lower priced "name branded" models. Design/Cons (sort of): One of the most unique things about the grill is the design/construction. It's only about 7-9 pieces total, counting the screws/bolts, but it all fits together perfectly. If I had to find any weak point with the grill, I would say the handle and balance of the grill could be a little better for transporting. At 30lbs it's a heavy little sucker and it tends to tip forward when you pick it up by the handle. As you move forward with grill the front gate will swing open. It doesn't fall off, but it makes it a little awkward for transporting. In fact it's not really a big deal, because you can just pull the door off and place it in the grill. Which might pose a problem when the grill is hot if you don't have gloves. However, I've never faced this issue and always just carry the grill with the door attached. 01/08/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 We got this for my husband for Father's Day. He says it's totally heavy duty, old-school hibachi!! He loves, loves it, and we take it to the beach, river, backyard and it's awesome. He loves the whole charcoal thing:-) 07/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by IT' a great grill cooks food great watch out for hot dog they roll away 07/19/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Be prepared for falling food !!! It should have been designed to where the draft door will not slide off (create moveable or adjustable stops at each end. The coal door should have been hinged so it doesn't fall off accidentally. Most importantly the food grate should have a lip around the edge so food (like dogs and brats) do not roll off. Lastly a tool needs to be provided to remove the coal grate for easy cleaning underneath. It is extremely difficult to remove without tipping the grill itself. The product is very well constructed but poorly designed. Obviously not by a person who grills often. I would only recommend this to my friends if an improved version were created and would not buy it again unless it was improved. 04/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by THIS IS BY FAR A GREAT PRODUCT AND WILL LAST I READ THE REVIEWS FROM OTHER SITES AND WAS IMPRESSED. I ORDERED ON A THURSDAY AFTERNOON AND IT ARRIVED ON SATURDAY MORNING . FOR REASON OUT OF MY CONTROL I WAS NOT ABLE TO USE IT FOR 10 DAYS. BUT WHEN I DID, IT COOKED THE BEST STEAKS THAT I HAVE COOKED IN YEARS. THE CAST IRON GRATE WAS EVENLY HEATED COMPARED TO THE WIRE RACK ON MOST GRILLS. I CAN HARDLY WAIT TO TRY DIFFERENT WAYS OF COOKING DIFFERENT ITEMS. I WISH I HAD BOUGHT ONE OF THESE YEARS AGO. THIS WAS JUST OVER $60 WITH FREE SHIPPING WHEN I PURCHASED IT. YOU CAN FIND IT AT OTHER SITES FROM $89 TO $129. OR MORE I HAVE OF LOTS LODGE CAST IRON PRODUCTS AND I AM MORE THAN JUST SATISFIED WITH EACH AND EVERY ONE. COOKING WITH CAST IRON GIVES THE BEST FLAVOR BECAUSE OF THE EVEN HEAT TRANSFERRED TO THE FOOD WHERE AS THESE SO CALLED WIRE RACKS THE FOOD OFTEN STICKS . I SHOULD HAVE REALIZED SOONER THAT A CAST IRON COOKER WOULD DO THE SAME LIVE AS OTHER CAST IRON UTENSILS THAT I OWN LIVE AND LEARN . IF YOU DECIDE TO BUY ONE OF THESE YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED. ENOUGH SAID 08/25/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Purchase No doubt, This is a great product, but the icing on the cake is Walmart ships it free saving $28.00 compared to Amazon or dealing directly with the the manufacturer! How does Walmart do this? 06/10/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My only complaint and others have voiced this as well is that there is no method of keeping the air or vent door from just falling off the hibachi. Other than that it is a really great piece of gear and I'd recommend it to anyone. 10/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Big Little Grill-Love it. Had the best steaks ever. Can't wait to use it when the family & I go camping. Spray oil on both sides of the cooking grid before cooking easy clean up. Walmart - love your prices on outdoor cast iron. 04/17/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome little grill Cast iron holds the heat. Nice flat, wide grilling space keeps burgers from falling into the fire. Easy to clean (don't use soap!) Portable. 06/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Grill If your looking for a cast iron grill then you must already know that they can rust easily but they last forever. Knowing about rust issue I called Lodge and they told me to spray paint the whole grill (not the top cooking grill) with black outdoor grill paint to eliminate rust issue. I sprayed 4 coats of paint on the grill. Even though Lodge Seasons the top cooking area I still noticed a slight shade of rust in very small spots after the grill sat outside a while so I cleaned the top with vege oil then put more on and baked the top in my oven for an hour. Then I did that two more times. All is well now but it is recommended to season the top once in a while especially after a summer of use. So all that I have said is normal for a cast iron grill, thats why I gave it a 5 star if you like cast iron and cooking on charcoal. If the cast iron issue bothers you then go for the tin grill. 06/17/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It is a LODGE The best cast-iron portable grill out their Perfect for tailgating or at hunting base camp for any cooking job.. And it is a LODGE product the best cast iron cook weir on earth. and Wal-Mart's price beats all others 10/11/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I expected quality from Lodge and that's what I got. Perfect little grill that should last a lifetime or two. Great for up to four people. Plus I got it at a Walmart price that was less than half of what other stores wanted and it was shipped to my door in three days. 09/29/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Little Hibachi Grill As with others, this is a great little grill and priced very nicely at Walmart.com It takes me back many years when we had campouts and cookouts. I use mine multiple times a week, burning both wood and charcoal in it. I actually put it in my gas grill so I can use the gas grill lid to keep the heat in and also to help smoke whatever I'm cooking. Positives, is it is quick to heat and stays hot for a long time. The top grill part is easy to remove and keep clean. I only use 10 or so charcoal pieces to start then I will typically put pin oak to generate any additional coals if needed. Negative as others have mentioned it is heavy and the handle is not balanced to keep the grill from tipping while carrying. Also the grate that holds the coals seems to already be rusting even though I thought it was suppose to be "seasoned". Maybe a stainless grate for the coals is a better solution. Overall, I am very pleased with it and would by another one if I had too; though this is built like a tank so I don't think that will happen anytime soon. 08/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Typical Lodge Quality This product shows the same quality materals and construction of the same item I had 20 years ago! Walmart price was spectacular! Free shipping clinched the deal 03/30/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Being cast iron, the grate gets really hot. That cooks the meat instead of just smoking it and gives it the grill marks I like and gives it a great taste. I don't like when steak, chops, etc. are placed in a grill then covered and smoked until they are done. 08/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great Lodge product. 6 pieces fit together quite well and everything is held together with only 2 bolts with lock washes and nuts that hold the bottom to the oval shaped sides. There is a heavy duty steel wire handle, a lower cast iron grill that holds the charcoal above the floor of the grill allowing air circulation and the draft door to create a variable sized opening letting you to control how hot the fire is. The draft door itself just sits on the bottom and slides left and right for everything from a tiny hole to one of about 4" wide and about 1" tall. Finally the top grill is adjustable in distance from the flame but only by turning the griddle upside down. While this achieves the desired effect of making the cooking surface closer to the flame, you also end up with the 4 "legs" that are part of the cast iron top, pointed up. The product lives up to the claims of being broken in and if you make sure the grill is hot, meats won't stick. 09/18/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by OOOOOOH YEEEEEEES! Okay folks, I'm into cooking with cast iron. And its Fathers Day. So my family blessed me with the Lodge Sportsman Cast Iron Grill. My review? Well, that little thing is the BOMB! THE BOMB! Wonderful, Wonderful! I cooked 4 filet mignons and several boneless/skinless chicken breasts. All the meat was perfect. Just the look of the meat made ya hungry. Its been 30 minutes since we all pushed back from the table and you could still cook on the Sportsmans Cast Iron Grill by Lodge. By the way, I only used 16 charcoal bricks to get the job done( 1 layer across the bottom) and the grill is still ready for action. Happy Fathers Day and God Bless you all. 06/16/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This grill is grate, I love it. This lodge grill works grate, this is my second one we almost wore out the first one witch we have had for about 15 years, I love to grill, Dutch oven a lot during the summer. I would tell anyone wanting to buy this item to do so. 06/19/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeds expectation. Husband couldn't wait till Father's Day to try it out. We had the most tender, juiciest barbecue chicken breasts hot off the grill last night. He loves it. 06/14/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Grill Everything I expected in a cast iron grill. Sturdy, heavy, and easy to maintain/clean. Adjustable draft door for maintaining heat and fuel loading door for adding additional charcoal/wood. Remove when carrying as they do not stay on unit. Can cook three one pound steaks at a time. Nice grill for a couple. 04/12/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sometimes a company creates a perfect product! This is an exact replacement for the grill we raised our kids with for 15 years. When our youngest got married, we gave it to them, and now 20 years later we wanted to go back to the basics and found that Lodge was still making this perfect grill. The secret to its success is the ability to control the heat, the speed to have hot coals, and durability of the product itself. We've washed in the ocean, rivers, lakes, and everywhere else. Never warps and continues to do its job, no matter the use or abuse. An American legend. 04/09/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Biggest Little Grill Ever!!!!! I've had my Lodge Sportsman Grill for a little over a week now. I cook on it nearly every evening. I have so much charcoal left over it's crazy. I only use 16 pieces of charcoal per cooking. I know it's crazy! I generally cook 2 steaks or 2 chicken breasts or 8 kabobs. The fire lasts and lasts. I love my LSG. If I couldn't ever replace it,..... I wouldn't take $500 for it,..... PERIOD. It's that Great. 05/09/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Old School, Heavyweight Cast Iron Unlike so many cheap hibachi that are flimsy and disposable this one is old school and heavy. Will last forever. Pay $30 for a throw away that has flimsy grill and holds no heat or pay $90 and get one to last a lifetime with heavy grill and solid cast iron coal well that holds heat for hours (yes, hours). One coal chimney full of coals fills this perfectly and cooks steaks, chicken, burgers and corn for a group, all on one coal load. Love this hibachi! Had to cook in batches but you could always get two if cook time was limited. The coals lasted longer than we needed, cooking an assortment of foods for an hour or so. The hibachi was still throwing off enough heat to toast marshmallows hours later. We use real hardwood charcoal, no cheap stuff. Yes it does make a difference in taste and heat. 04/21/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great little grill! I purchased this grill in order to get ready for this summer. I have tried this grill out a few times since it arrived and it works great! The only thing I can say that is negative is that the handle is not balanced. When carrying the grill by the handle it tips forward a bit. Everything else is awesome! It gets good and hot and holds the heat. Food is perfectly seared and tastes great! When done cooking I shovel the hot coals out into a metal bucket and spray the grill down with veg oil. I'm looking forward to lots of great grilling for years to come. 04/03/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product... This is the 2nd one I've owned.... Think the Lodge Sportsman's Grill is one of the best on market for this type of product... Really enjoy using it.... It is just right for cooking for 2 individuals... Small amount of coals need and retains the cooking heat... A lot easier than getting the big grill ready for the small amount of food we cook on it, less waste, coal wise that is... 04/02/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality product I own several Lodge products and know them to produce quality products. This little grill is just another one. It is made of sturdy cast iron and will last a lifetime if you take care of it. The price is definitely fair since you will never need to purchase another one. Unless, like me, you plan to purchase one for each of your adult kids. Made in the USA. And Walmart had the best price. 03/27/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Out of the box sturdy and pre seasoned. Christmas gift for the hubby and he loved it. Will be using it for outdoor grilling and camping. Thank you walmart for having the best deal on this item ! 12/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect size! Great for small grilling jobs. Saves on charcole. Cooks great! 11/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This grill is so heavy and well made, love it!! This grill is what you would expect to come out of the Lodge factory. It's extremely heavy not easily handled by an elderly person maybe, but very well made. We expect it to last a lifetime to tell the truth. It's small enough to take to the park and clean easily. We love it's size and it keeps us from firing up our huge gas grill, for just a couple of steaks or a few hamburgers, and you get the great charcoal taste on the food. We couldn't be happier with it. 11/05/2012
1-30 of 96 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw102
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp