Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 133 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice I did a lot of research before purchasing the Lodge Dutch Oven. I love that it goes from the stove top directly into the oven. The handle on the lid is made out of the same stuff as the dutch oven. The 5 quart is a little large for our family of 3. I was a little concerned about maintenance. Just scrub with a brush and some water (no soap). It is heavy so anyone who has trouble lifting should not purchase. 05/14/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Got this to bake bread , does the job . We love all our Lodge cast iron cookware. It makes the best bread . 01/16/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great pot! I love this! It's a great every day pot for cooking any kind of food. I use it for pasta, soups, veggies, popcorn, etc. and it can go on a fire when camping too! 05/18/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great cooking pot Excellent pot to cook greens, peas and beans in! I use it at least once a week. 04/28/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great addition to our camping cookware I specifically bought this for use while tent camping. This past weekend was the first time I had used the dutch oven; it will be a staple on all of our future camping trips. The food was delicious and I love the set it and forget it nature of the dutch oven, all that is required is keeping an eye on the coals. The only draw back is that the lid is a bit small for keeping the number of coals needed for breads on top. It works, but is a delicate balancing act. I've noticed others with a flat lid, but I would think getting the lid off with out a handle could be a bit difficult when hot. I expect this will hold up as well as my other Lodge cast iron cookware. The inside is a bit rough, but I expect with use it will slick up like my frying pan did. Overall an excellent purchase and I look forward to using it many for many years to come! 05/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect to Bake Artisan Breads! No-Knead Crusty Artisan Bread Cook Time: 45 minutes Yield: 1 loaf Ingredients 3 cups all-purpose flour 1 1/2 cups luke-warm water 1-2 tsp sea salt, depending on your preference 1 tsp yeast In a large bowl, stir together the flour, salt and yeast. Add the water and using a wooden spoon stir together until the mixture resembles a shaggy dough. Cover dough with a plastic wrap and let sit in room temperature for 8-18 hours. Dough will bubble up and rise. After dough is ready, preheat oven to 450 F. Turn the dough onto a well-floured surface and with floured hands form the dough into a ball. Cover with the plastic wrap and let the dough rest. While dough is resting, put your dutch oven into the preheated oven for 30 minutes. After the 30 minutes are up carefully remove the dutch oven and with floured hands place the bread dough into it. (You can put a piece of parchment under it if your dutch oven doesn't have an enamel coating, but I used the cast iron LODGE dutch oven and the bread comes right out, parchment paper is not necessary.) Replace the cover and bake for 30 minutes covered. Then remove the cover and bake for an additional 15 minutes uncovered. Bread will be golden, crusty and delicious! Make sure to wipe out your dutch oven with paper towels, then take a clean paper towel and oil it with vegetable oil. No need to wash with soap and water after making bread, though you probably want to wash it after making stew or soup. After washing, dry thoroughly, then oil it with a paper towel. This dutch oven will last longer than you will! 12/06/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly as product literature describes Price was excellent (I checked the web) and the in store pick up saved shipping cost. Used it to make no knead bread. Worked great. Product is exactly as Lodge describes. See their website for details. I wrote Lodge about their pro logic dutch oven which cost signficantly more. They promptly wrote back saying it is the same product different design / look. So I bought this one. Remember iron needs some (minor / easy) special care. 12/17/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by PERFECT Lodge has great products that come preseasoned. Walmart has the best price I could find. This is my 4th piece of Lodge cookware, but I'll be buying more. 09/02/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best ever I love Lodge Cast Iron stuff! I have slowly changed all my pots and pans to Lodge! It is the best thing I have done as I know they will last a life time. Cleaning is simple and the pan/pot heats right away. I love it and will never switch to anything else. FYI: To all the women, this is cast iron so it is heavy! You will definitely need two hands to lift one pan/pot! 12/05/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this dutch oven ! Lodge cast iron is the best. I cooked a pot roast in it as my first meal and it was amazing. I plan to take very good care of this dutch oven and keep it seasoned properly so it will last me for years ! Thanks Walmart. Your price could not be beat. This was twice as much at another store. 02/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best you'll ever have! I put this in the fire for cooking, hang it on a grill overtop the fire, have used on propane grill, in the house on the stove, and in the oven for casseroles. No matter where or how this is working fantastically and is so easy to clean and season! Recommended for anyone that doesn't mind the heaviness of cast iron but is looking for something to get them through and pass on to their children! 06/23/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rough Inside The pot has a very coarse finish inside. Nothing like the inner surface of my old Griswald cast iron pans. When you try to wipe the inside with a paper towel it shreds the towel. Very difficult to clean. I contacted Lodge and they said they no longer polish their pans. I'm very disappointed. It is heavy but that's the only positive thing I can think of. 04/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! Made Chick Pea Chili with my new Dutch oven and I love it! Everything cooked evenly and nicely. Can't wait to try other dishes in it! 05/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This dutch oven is great! I was a little worried about buying it because it was so cheap compared to other brands I've seen [I think Creuset is like $100+ more?], but it is a very good product. I've had mine for about a year and use it all the time. It is very solid and well made, easy to use and clean. Also the lid fits on tightly, which is important for a lot of things that I cook. I've since bought other Lodge pots/pans and they are all very good quality. Just make sure you know how to clean and store it before using, cast iron is actually quite easy to care for once you know what to do. 03/14/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by There nothing that cooks like cast, no duplicating the taste of cooked foods or homemade rolls ! 12/27/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Other uses for Dutch Ovens The dutch oven that I purchased is going to be used to melt down lead and aluminum for my casting work. 01/09/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome medium-sized cast iron pot. I purchased this piece for use over an open flame and tailgating, but it is also great in the home oven. You can put soup/stew in the pot, invert the lid, and heat a few small things (hot dogs) on the upper part. It has little iron teeth inside the lid to hold them up. Great purchase and at half the cost of any kitchen store I tried! 11/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Dutch Oven My husband and I purchased the Lodge Dutch Oven to use in the brick oven outside. Perfect size for all our cooking needs. Follow the care instructions and it will stay black and shiny with no rust. After using the Lodge Dutch Oven we decided to purchase the Lodge Skillet. 09/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I wanted Great product at a great price. 11 lbs of American cast iron, no sissy enamel. So far have made chili, stew, gumbo and short ribs to perfection. Works better than expected, just read directions on cooking with cast iron. 11/08/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best deal for your $$ When it comes to cast iron you are buying a brand name, not the product itself. If you care for it properly you will have an amazing tool for cooking for years to come. This brand was the best value I found at time of purchase. It cost less than $5 (USD) to ship it to my house and it arrived quickly. I use it for soups, stews and broths. Once in a blue moon I use it for making spaghetti noodles (when I'm too lazy to pull out the big noodle pot, or when I'm only making enough noodles for two). I love, love, love my cast iron dutch oven. Though I will say, I don't think it's the brand that matters here. If you care for cast iron, it will be good to you for YEARS to come. 02/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Cookware We have become fans of cast iron cookware and this dutch oven is very good value for money as is all Lodge Cookware. You get the most superior flavoured food with cast iron, over any other cookware we have used. 02/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 The Best There Is Lodge makes the best ironware there is, and this dutch oven is no exception. Walmart has absolutely the best price, a third of what you'd pay retail and half of what you would pay on ebay. 02/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by a wonderful item IT WORKS WONDERFUL IF ANY ONE THINKS OF GETTING ONE THEY ARE GREAT AND A GREAT PRICE 01/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gift to Best Friend I purchased this for my best friend because he is a great cook and always brings me some of his creations. He only wanted Lodge" because he said it is the best. Ordering from Walmart was a breeze. They had the best price and it arrived exactly as scheduled....and the shipping was free! Very satisfied with my purchase! 01/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Great Product Solid, durable, made in the U.S.A. Nothing fancy, but gets the job done well. Used it only once so far, to brown a pork roast and veggies. The result was Mmmmmmmm.....Cheaper online than in the store. 01/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by typical great lodge quality. made in USA! 12/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by great indoors or out Wonderful preseasoned oven/pot! We have used it camping in the fire pit and at home on the stove. A wonderfully crafted item from here in the USA. 11/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best investments I've made I use my dutch oven for everything from braising to cooking apple butter. It's a breese to clean afterwards. 11/22/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic It's absolutely fantastic! It is so heavy duty. This is definitely my favorite piece of cookware now! 01/22/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by staple item Very durable and great. Also easy to clean. 01/17/2008
1-30 of 94 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw231
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp