Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 74 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dimensions are smaller The dimensions listed are the outer edge. The inside of the pan is 9 inches. This only matters if you desire a bacon press for making sandwiches. You can only cook two steaks at a time. The two handles is a wonderful feature. The grill groves are very deep so the fat drains away. You need to take the time to get the pan hot so your food will cook fast. 02/09/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleased with purchase I had grill pan similar to this one years ago and I threw it away after using a few times because the seasoning came off of the grill-ribs and rusted pretty badly. I am happy to report that the new one that I purchased last week has a good seasoning finish that is holding up. The first two steaks that I cooked were burned on the outside and raw in the middle but this is my fault because I had the electric stove turned up to 9 the first time and 7 the second. This afternoon I cooked another steak that was very near perfect because I had the stove top set to 4; next time I'm going to try 3 1/2. I went to the Lodge website and read their recommendations for care and use. Their directions for cleaning were the same as how my mother told me to clean her iron skillet 30+ years ago; use hot water only with a plastic brush after it has cooled; no soap, no dishwasher, no S.O.S. pads. After cleaning towel dry and allow to air dry thoroughly before storing. The Lodge website also said that it was best to heat the skillet up in stages. I can't remember if the instruction was a general rule for iron cookware or if it was an instruction that was specific to use of the grill pan. I have been taking the temperature up to about 50% and let it set at this level for 5-6 minutes and then take it up to the cooking setting and leave it alone for another 5-6 minutes before beginning to cook. If you decide to buy one of these grill pans I hope that you enjoy yours as much as I'm enjoying mine. 06/02/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mmmm mmmm !!! When you can't grill out, this is the next best thing !! Hamburgers and steaks taste delicious cooked in this pan. American made in Tennessee !! 11/21/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Do not hesitate, great buy!!!! Meets all expectations. Cooks great and cleans easy and I can not believe the low price. I always shop for USA made items, and the fact that this is made in USA is just icing on the cake-got to keep jobs in AMERICA! 06/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent addition to collection I have spent many hours and many dollars on cast iron cookware. While it amazes me that people think that cast iron is so hard to clean and food "Sticks" because they don't know how to care for it, Lodge has made both very easy with their "Preseasoned" cookware. While the pre-seasoning is just a START to non-stick, it WILL improve with age if you take care of it the way it is SUPPOSED to be cared for. I have never owned a Lodge until this product, but I must say, I was really impressed with their pre-seasoning. While it wasn't perfect, it seared a nice ahi tuna fillet to perfection and the fish didn't stick. The next attempt at burgers, I got a little antsy and didn't let the sear finish on the second side, so I went to flip the burger and parts of it stuck. Again, a fault of MINE for not being patient to allow the food to release from the pan. however, the burgers still came out wonderful and very flavorful. For the burnt on part of the burger that stuck, I did what I have always done in my cast iron pans: While the pan is still hot, I added some VERY HOT water to the pan, boiled for a few seconds and used a vegetable brush to brush down the pan following the raised ridges. As always the food released from the pan. I rinsed the pan, wiped down with a paper towl and put back on the burner (now turned down to medium low) and let it sit for a few minutes to thoroughly dry out. Rubbed LIGHTLY with a thin layer of grapeseed oil, turned off the burner and let the pan cool down completely before putting away. I use the pan everyday, sometimes many times a day, and it LOOKS like it is brand new, and the seasoning has only gotten better. I like this so much, I am buying my sister one for Christmas this year, though I will make sure it is thorougly seasoned before giving it to her. Buy it, if you know what you are doing or are willing to learn the nuances of cast iron, you won't regret it. 09/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Cast Iron I have always been a fan of cast iron. I have used this grill pan more that my George Forman Grill. It does not dry out my food, it truly gives the grill marks and I am so comfortable to cook with this pan opposed to the open grill/griddle plate that goes on the stove. Just clean it as usual and dry before you put it up. wonderful. I am looking forward to purchasing more cast iron products. 06/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by love this grill This grill is a favorite of mine to use. Wouldn't suggest it for a large family, but for the two of us it is perfect. It holds three to four hamburger patties or two steaks. I really like the way it cooks and the grease doesn't cook onto the meat like a flat pan. Don't use any dish soap when cleaning it. I just clean it after using it with warm water and a recommended brush. Dry it and spray with pam and it's ready for the next use. 03/11/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice pan after you season it. This is like any other cast iron pan; you have to season it to get the best results! The pan itself is very solid, and weighs almost eight pounds! After seasoning it twice, it got more stick resistant, and has worked out well! And, the price was great from Wal-Mart.com. 09/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cast iron skillet/griddle easy to use and clean, leaves nice grill marks 08/05/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Cast Iron pan for MOney This pan is wonderful. Once this pan has been seasoned it is great! Nice to use for burgers and chicken, especially in WI during the winter when you can't get outside to grill. HIghly recommend 04/22/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by good value...just didnt realize with a ceramic top stove cast iron is NOT recommended...so big deal..you can still throw it in the oven, on a grill on on a portable electric burner. Be sure to study how to care for cast iron!! 02/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCEEDS MY EXPECTATIONS !!! I am on the "Young and the Restless/Bold and the Beautiful" diet. This skillet is excellent in preparing steak, fish and chicken. I am wanting to look my best for my upcoming trip to Hollywood in August 2009. 11/03/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Useful Grill Pan! I like this grill pan because it's cast iron; grills just enough for 2 people (without having to fire up the outdoor grill); gives great taste to grilled veggies and comes pre-seasoned! Easy clean-up: w/ warm water (carefully)while still hot (no soap); scrub residuals off; dry & evaporate water on burner; then rub on a little oil to reseal and prevent rust! Sounds like a lot to do but just takes a few minutes! 05/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome pan to add to my cast iron collection. Heavy, but not too heavy. Great to use when I don't have the time to use the grill! 09/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Square grill skillet This is a great product. It makes wonderful grilled salmon! I could have bought this exact same product for ten times what I paid for it. This skillet is just as good a quality. My husband wanted one so I got it for his birthday and he is very satisfied with it. 08/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by cast iron Love the cast iron cookware. Really no need for any thing else to cook with! Lodge is American made and very high quality. 05/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME!! I have been wanting one of these grill pans for some time now. And well, I do not know why it took me so long to get it! I absolutely love this pan. It is heavy, but my chicken and chops come out tasting so wonderful, full of flavor, and looking great. I would highly recommend this pan. And I did not realize just how easy these pans could be to clean. I have a fairly stiff bristle brush that I use to clean it. Use hot water and that brush, and you're done! Love it! 10/03/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by grill marks with out the barbque It cleans up well fun to cook on it .For all meats,Make sure you gease it well before the meat goes on it. 11/15/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lodge Products are TOPS! I have been a fan of Lodge products for a long time. This grill pan did not dissapoint. I have been dabbling with hot sandwich's while I do research before I open my own business and this grill pan fit the bill for me. Not only have I used it to make Panini's, I have grilled several other foods for that "grill" mark look and they too have come out with the desired effect. I never considered buying a grill pan in the past concerned with the cleaning horror one my expect from having to clean between the grills. I was really surprised how easy it cleaned. The preseasoning by Lodge is fantastic! I make sure I don't overheat the pan and I wash with hot water only have the grill has had a chance to cool off a little. With good heat control and prompt cleaning with water only, you too will enjoy the same visual effect the Lodge Grill Pan leaves on meat and other frilled foods you cook in this pan for a VERY long time. You can find me on Facebook under SWLALeChienCookers, an outdoor dutch oven cooking group in LA 10/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible! This pan makes the best paninis!!!! On a glass top stove! So glad I did not go for a panini maker. This is so much easier to store and clean. Just let it warm up sufficiently. I have been using a regular fry pan on top to put weight on the sandwich, but I just picked up the grill pan cover yesterday and can't wait to try it. Great product and now may become a cast iron junkie now that I know this works on glass tops! 03/15/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Far too heavy Bought this for camping but it was too heavy for me to lift easily. We did not end up taking it to camp after testing it at home since we were concerned it would break our dual burner Coleman camp stove. If you are looking for an extremely heavy grill pan, this would be great for you. 05/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Outstanding This product delivers as promised. It was priced right and delivered on time. I have used the product about 6 times over the past 2 weeks and am extremely pleased. 04/15/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cast iron is bit heavy otherwise it is ok to cook with. 12/01/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Completely RUSTED!!!!! I bought this product from the store and before I even used it, it rusted on the bottom for water getting in the cabinet. I figured it was no big deal until I cooked in it and washed it; completely rusted on one side of the pan. UGH!!! I was so upset by this b/c I grew up watching my grandparents and parents using cast iron pans and they NEVER rusted. 01/16/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by grill pan...very cheap I bought this pan as an alternative to outdoor grilling, since the weather has been terrible recently. While it works, I am quite upset that the pan got discolored within 2 uses, and is now chipping. This is quite unsafe and I will not use it again. I do not recommend this fry pan. It was cheap, and I guess I got what I paid for. 07/06/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Avoid buying at all costs. This is the worst cast iron pan I have ever owned. After using it the first time, the food remnants burned to the bottom of the pan, taking three cycles to clean off, including oven cleaner and SOS pads. After attempting to use the pan again for cooking, I was able to and while the results were not as disastrous, I still had to scrub it with SOS pads to clean it out. I have better things to do with my time and energy than spending 2 hours cleaning a pan. Avoid purchasing at all cost. 03/05/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXECELLENT PAN WHEN USED CORRECTLY! EXCELLENT grill pan at an exceptional price. I've read other reviews that mention smoke and sticking, clearly they have the heat too high. Let me give you some tips. 1. Cast iron spreads heat quickly and evenly, so you do not need to use the same type of temperatures that you would with a stainless steel or copper pan. You need to adjust your temperatures so that your pan does not smoke or cause the meat to stick. My meat did not stick and there wasn't a smoke problem. I made filet Mignon and it came out better than I've EVER been able to make it at home with my stainless steel pans. The BEST advice I can give on using this pan properly is to adjust your heat! You WON'T need high heat for your steaks, use medium, you will still get great grill marks. AND it cooked the BEST steak I've ever made at home! I can't believe it was only $18!!!! I made a medium rare steak cooking 2 minutes per side!!! DELICIOUS!!! 10/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Investment! Wish I’d had one of these years ago! Great to cook or bake in and was very easy to clean up. I remember mom using cast iron as a kid but never knew the cooking benefits, I Love it! 08/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by very good Can be used on induction oven top 08/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous! I use my gill pan frequently. This is one of my favorite pans! Let food cook thoroughly on the down side before flipping or it definitely stick. That is true of all cast pans. Lodge is made in the USA! I would advise to continue to add to the seasoning for several uses though. 07/19/2012
1-30 of 62 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw227
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp