Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 61 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazingly Easy to Assemble! I bought this after looking around for a portable hoop for my daughters to use for practicing during the summer months. It is an exceptional value for the price and the best two things about it are: (1) I assembled it by myself and it just took a couple of hours. All pieces were included, fit together perfectly and with minimal effort; and (2) it just takes 1 person to adjust the height when assembled. My 10-year old can even do it safely. Most other systems under $200 required 2 adults to assemble, or even to adjust the height. 06/14/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by okay for the younger kids We like this hoop because the height can be altered which works for our kids (ages 7-14). There was a bolt missing from the box which made assembly include a trip to Home Depot. Assembly is fairly complex but the bags of hardware were well marked. All bolts included, the hoop is still a little wobbly but suits our purposes. We are not hard core basketball players but enjoy shooting hoops. The kids have played non-stop so it serves the purpose. 07/04/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent Hoop System The assembly of the hoop was straightforward, you just need to pay attention to the poles and brackets as the holes seem to be the same but are not. An average person could complete the assembly by themselves in about 2 or 3 hours. The backboard is all plastic with the "shatter proof" plastic front glued into the black plastic frame. The metal side supports screw into the plastic frame which I am leery of this lasting for the long term. The backboard is a bit more wobbly than I was expecting and I don't see a good way to level/adjust the backboard as the break-away rim does not allow you to tighten anything real tight. The basketball is deadened quit a bit by the backboard so it is easier to make bank shots compared to a professional "glass" backboard. The base is thin plastic but it didn't leak when I filled it with water and it has a nice indent in the top for storing a basketball. The height adjustment system works well and the height can be adjusted easily by one person but it adds to the wobbleness of the pole/backboard as there is a bit of play in all the adjustment system poles and brackets. The minimum height is 8' as opposed to 7'6" like a lot of other systems. I'm guessing you can't get too much better of a hoop system for under 200 bucks. 06/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Gave this goal to our son for his 13th birthday. Excellent Choice. Although it says you need two adults to put this goal together, I did it alone in about 2 hours. Several height options and easy to adjust. I would recommend using sand instead of water for weighing it down. 04/18/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Great I wanted a hoop to shoot on and also to have one on one with. I specifically wanted one that I could adjust easily. So I got this one. It was not too hard to put together but you do need all the tools that it tells you. You also need a second person who is fairly strong. Filling the base with sand was not easy at all. Because it weighs so much now, it is not easy to move and would take at least 2 people. Once I got the hoop where I wanted it, I started to shoot. The hoop was NOT sturdy at all and it wobbles every time you hit it. It took a couple tries to get the rim to be at the point where I wanted (in terms of the balls go in after bouncing off the rim). The backboard is good but it is easy to make it in. All you have to do is throw it hard. If the angle is right then it goes in. But my biggest problem with it is that the height doesn't adjust. Whenever I put it on a higher setting then 7 1/2 feet, it just falls down when you shoot. I have been thinking about the best way to improvise and make it stay up, but for $180, that shouldn't be necessary. One good thing is that the rim is very good for dunking. I would NOT recommend this hoop to ANYONE. I should have selected a higher quality hoop (NOT BUILT BY LIFETIME). Do not buy this hoop unless you only want to put it on the lowest height. I would return mine if I could. 07/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product. Easy assembly. Time saving tip. My kids and I have used this product frequently over the last 3-4 mos. before writing this review. This is my first home basketball system. Previous review assembly comments are correct: clear manual, easily assembled-2 hrs myself, well labeled parts, etc. Manual claims 362 LB. sand capacity, but 350 LB is all that can realistically fit. Backboard is not glass, so bank shots are somewhat damped. Very easy to adjust height of basket. TIME SAVING TIP: reviews claimed 2-2 1/2 hrs to fill sand. I was able to fill the base in aprox. 30-35 minutes. I cut off the base from a 128 oz Hawaiian punch jug (any strong plastic jug with wide mouth will work) and used packing tape to secure a piece of scrap vinyl flooring as the funnel spout around the mouth of the jug. With my son holding and me pouring, the sand flowed incredibly well! IMPORTANT: Make sure the sand is dry to avoid clumping. Two of my seven bags clumped slowing us down and we still filled the base at break-neck speed. Enjoy! 10/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product! This basketball hoop is great in all ways and my son enjoys it very much. It took my 10 year old son to assemble it in about 2 days without our help and it seemed pretty easy for him. The instructions were pretty easy to understand to. Also this product comes with a nice basketball and pump. So now my son plays with it everyday! 05/17/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by For light to moderate use it looks like it will hold up. With the tank full of water it is very difficult for one person to move it, one half to two thirds full still seems to give it stability and maneuverability. Follow the directions closely for attaching the pole to the backboard as it can attach in a way that is not correct. 08/22/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great system for the money I bought this for my kids. I assembled it in about 1-1/2 hours by myself. If you follow the instructions it's fairly easy. The height adjusts easy and fast. Everything feels solid and I'm not seeing any wobble in the rim or backboard as others have reported. For under $200 it's great and the kids love it. 02/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great basketball goal. Very easy to assemble. The instructions are clear and the hardware is sorted into individual bags that you open in the order you need them during the installation. Our total assembly time was about 2 hours. The goal is easy to move up and down with the handle, between 8 feet and 10 feet. The backboard itself is very light yet very durable. The minimal weight keeps the goal from being too top heavy. I'm very happy with the purchase for the price of the goal. I would recommend this to anyone looking to purchase a portable goal. 05/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Money well spent! -$180 for the product - 2 to 3 hours of assembly time -I love it, I love it! Thanks Dad!! (Priceless) Thanks for all the tips on the Q&A part of the site. Especially helpful was the tip suggesting to raise the backboard to the full height before attaching the height adjustment spring. Also having 2 sets of wrenches (both socket and open ended) were helpful in a speedy assembly. -My 9 year old was outside most of the day taking shots. 04/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Goal for kids We got this goal for our two children (7 and 5) and it has been great. It took longer to assemble than expected. Probably about 3 hours with 2 people, but there were some interruptions and breaks. The goal itself is very sturdy and stands up well to all of the kids playing on it at once. It is easy to adjust the height which is very nice. The only improvement I would suggest is in the base. You can fill it with sand or water, but then there is no way to remove it. There is no drain. You have to turn the entire goal over and let it come out of the one little hole. Since we move it around quite a bit we decided to leave it empty and instead we laid a few bags of soil on top. It is still very sturdy, but much easier lighten up when we are ready to move it. 01/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by It was very time consuming to put together. It's adjustable, but I wished it would lower a bit more. 08/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Basketball goal! This Goal exceeded my expectations! I was expecting it to be kind of wobbly and very hard to get together after reading some of the reviews. But you can rest assure that this goal is very well made and durable. It is amazingly sturdy to be portable. I read some of the reviews about putting it together and the times ranged from 2 hours to six hours. I put it together by myself in about an hour and a half including filling the base with water and I was paying ball. I can't stress enough how well this thing is designed I am very impressed and I feel like I got more than my moneys worth.!!! 04/15/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great hoop, just a pain to put together. it took me 4 hours to put together, although i had to se an adjustable wrench instead of a socket wrench, which would have been easir. the directions arent that great either. i love the hoop and a good price, but you need the right tools, and to read the directions really thouroughly before you start. 03/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great basketball goal! Our family has enjoyed this basketball goal since we got it for Christmas. The assembly was fairly straight forward, but it does help to have an extra hand on a couple of steps. The parts bags were labeled to make things a little easier to find. The raise/lower feature is VERY EASY to use. The goal goes up and down with little effort. The height adjustments are also very accurate. I've had good luck with LifeTime products and this is another I would highly recommend! 01/28/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hoop I got the hoop for my little kid and the best part is the height adjustment system. It is a little difficult to put together especially the bolts and nuts that hold the back board and the height adjustment components together... But its better to be tough than filmsy... I messed up one of the first part and bent an L bracket, I called the manufacturer and I received the part in 2 days... Overall a good buy! 07/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value This was a birthday present for my 8 y.o. and she loves it! It took the two of us about 2 hours to assemble and the instructions were easy to follow. It is a great value. It is very easy to adjust the height; my daughter can do it herself. I only filled the stand halfway with water and it is easy to roll to and from my garage to the curb. 04/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but must review instructions carefully At age 64, the help of my tool-wise 10 year old buddy, allowed us to complete the project in 2.5 hours. Some of the pictures in the instuctions are too small, but overall careful reading prevents errors in assembly. We found that 2 adults weren't required, as long as both know how to use hand tools. Having a socket set saves time. 04/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Basketball System The Lifetime portable basketball system works great. The packaging of parts and assembly directions were well organized and easy to follow. All the needed parts were there, no extras, but amazingly no missing pieces! 01/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great B-Ball Hoop Picked it up from the store, box easily fit in the back of our van. Install took a little over 2 hours because I had "help" from my 3 kids. Directions were easy to follow. Filled base w/ sand and we were good to go. The rim does slant upward slightly, but I'm going to place a few washers between the back of the rim and the backboard to adjust things around. I was concerned w/ the plexiglass backboard but after several days use it should hold up fine. This is definitely a great hoop at a great price for shooting hoop and for my kids to learn on (oldest is a 10yr-old son followed by 2 girls). I wouldn't want a group of high school boys having a dunk contest on it but it will work well for a neighborhood pickup game. 06/08/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Only a few things to say. Assembly definitely required 2 people and I have no idea how anyone could assemble the product alone. We used 280 lb of sand to anchor the base rather than water, and it is definitely sturdy that way. Assembled, the backboard seems a tad small. The height does adjust easily from 8 to 10 ft using the handle located at the back. All in all, I think this bball pole is a good value for the money, and am pleased with it as a choice for my son. 04/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 This is a great value This hoop system is a good value for the money spent. I was able to put together myself, although it did take an entire afternoon. The directions were clear and it did state to use two people but it is simple enough and one person can do it easily. My 7 and 8 year old enjoy as well as I do since it is so easy to adjust the hoop height. 04/11/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This basketball net system took many hours to put together. when it comes to putting together the upper part of the system they have you lean net on a table...this is very awkward and NOT a 1 person job. When changing the height of the net, the piece that is supposed to hold the net up, is made of plastic and keeps slipping. This means the net falls back down. This should be metal!!!!!!!!!!!! 06/15/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The goal is very nice quality and easy to adjust, but there were a few missing bolts/screws/etc. 04/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ordering off the internet was so much easier than fighting with the crowds! Thanks Wal-mart!!! Merry Christmas!!! 12/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Goal Great Buy ! 05/04/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hard to put together They should have given specialized tool/ranch to tighten those nuts and bolts. One of the nuts in pole has become free, as soon as I installed it. I am afraid it may be a hazard but since it's been only 2 weeks it;s hard to say what will happen in coming years. 06/26/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Two days later, Still NO ASSEMBLED NET Buyer Beware. I am very proficient at assembling products. Last week I assembled an elliptical single handed. Two days, scraped knuckles and a twisted ankle, this thing still is NOT UP! The directions are horrible. The pictures do not show correct placement of the bolts. After complete assembly, I raised the system and all it did was hang there. I'm so disappointed (and my 5 year old has been CRYING for two days). Just SAD!!!!!!!! 04/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by OMG I Love this basketball System. But Its Too Hard to fix. i need alot of help. 06/17/2011
1-30 of 53 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw104
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp