See All Reviews
Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 30 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vast improvement from the Leapster Explorer I'm a big LeapFrog fan because I have seen both of my children learn from their products. My 4.5 year old daughter has a Leapster Explorer that she received last Christmas and she really enjoys playing with it. As a blogger, I had the opportunity to test out the Leapster GS and I was highly impressed with its vast improvements from the Leapster Explorer. The built in camera, video recorder, and 2 GB of internal memory are what make the Leapster GS a stand-out product. My daughter feels like she now has her own camera and video recorder (just like mama!), and can easily take photos and video on her own. The Leapster GS comes with free game apps, including her favorite one called "Escape of the Sillies". My daughter loves this app because she is able to become a silly monster character, by adding her own picture and recording her voice in the "silly lab". The game cultivates math skills, while face-morphing technology entertains and captures her interest as she is literally the face (and voice) of all the characters. I like the fact that the device is compatible with the Leapster Explorer game cartridges, so she able to enjoy all of her previously owned games on her new device. I also like the size and sleek design of the device because it is so easy for her little hands to manipulate and small enough to tuck into my purse. LeapFrog produced another great product that strengthens math, science, reading and logic skills all while having fun. I highly recommend this product for the parent who wants screen time to be educational. 07/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by LeapFrog does it again! The LeapsterGS provides hours of entertainment to the children in this house. We tend to minimize 'plugged-in' hours in our home, but for the past day or so I wanted to see how well my kids were able to navigate the LeapsterGS. Prior to giving free reigns, I set the appropriate age/grade level for each child, and my 4, 6, 7, and 11 year olds also had no problem finding their way around the device. It likely helps that we have a Leapster Explorer with a very similar operating interface. The included game the 'Escape of the Sillies' is a great game that incorporates some math learning with all of the great features of this device: camera, video, motion sensor, and voice recording. These new features make the kids feel like their 'toy' is more like the adult electronic devices. I was amazed at the content in the Splurge! game; being a ChemEng grad, I appreciated the amount of information the 'game' was providing children regarding the transformation of water between the 3 states. It was enough to keep them interested, but not too much that it was overwhelming. I love how much kids can pick up and remember from this type of activity. My only complaint with this item is that battery life is drained so quickly; I had 2 kids that were unable to get in their full hour of playing time. It would be so nice if LeapFrog moved to rechargeable batteries or something similar that are included when you purchase the item. We will soon be investing in one of the AC adaptors or charging packs. That and perhaps an additional device as the timer has already been used to eliminate arguing! Overall, we love LeapFrog products in our house and look forward to using the GS on a regular basis for expanding learning throughout this house. 08/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very fun learning toy for all ages! I received the LeapsterGS and 2 games free-for-review and I'm so glad that I did. Because my boys are already SO into their other handheld games, I'm not sure that we would've purchased it, which would be a huge mistake. The LeapsterGS is amazing...fun games, a built in camera, so much to learn, and all age-appropriate. In fact, I'm not sure who enjoys it more...my 4-year old, my 8-year old or me! We've played it for hours each day since it arrived. (Already replacing the batteries twice!) And, we've really only scratched the surface. I can't wait to see what other games are available...and we'll definitely pick up the ac adapter. 08/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My 3yr old son loves this. Although he rather play more with his sisters Leapster Explorer than his new LeapsterGS, he still loves it very much, he just doesn't like having to sit near an electrical socket to play it with since I don't use batteries, but an AC adapter. 09/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Notes on advantages I gave the Leapster to my 4 year old grandson with trepidation that it would be too advanced for his age. Not so!! He is enjoying the apps, taking pictures and even made a video (with assistance from his father). 10/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 The LeapsterGS is a hit with my kids! My two children (ages 8 and 6) each have their own Leapster Explorers (first generation), but they were blown away by the LeapsterGS Explorer! They adore the camera and interactive photography and movie making made possible by the digital camera, video cam and mike. They also really like the larger screen, calling it "the kids' iPad". The motion sensor gives a Wii-like aspect to the new games, which is cool, but their old LeapsterExplorer cartridges work with it too (I love that!). The abundance of apps and games online for the LeapsterGS that can be downloaded to the device are also big pluses for my family. All in all, I don't believe it is totally necessary to purchase a LeapsterGS Explorer if your kids already have a standard Explorer, but if you are shopping for a new or additional one DEFINITELY go for the GS! Disclosure: My family was sent one LeapsterGS Explorer for review. All opinions are my own. 09/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by GREAT GAME I WOUL RATHER IT COME WITH A WALL CHARGER THE BATTARIES GO BY FAST! 09/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! My five year old loves playing with his leapster. He's now a full fledged kindergartner and I find that leapster really supplements some of the things that they've started learning at school. It's a great educational toy, but presented in a really fun and engaging manner. I had to buy rechargeable batteries, because my son played so often we were always replacing them! 09/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great gaming system for the younger kids. My children love our Leapster GS and as a mom who limits screen time, I love the educational value. The games on this system go far beyond the drills and rote facts. I have been so impressed with the science and logic my kids have picked up. As far as the system itself, it's sturdy and built for kids. I love that it has a camera and video system built in and my kids love that they can each have their own account. The best gaming system I've seen for younger kids. 08/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Upgrades to the Leapster Explorer We've always loved Leapfrog toys. From the Leapfrog bouncy seat my kids had as infants through the LeapPad Explorer we received last year - these products have constantly exceeded our expectations. So, we were very excited to get the new Leapster GS Explorer for review a few weeks ago. The Leapster GS Explorer uses the same cartridges as the Leapster Explorer and the LeapPad Explorer. This is a big positive if you are upgrading from one of these previous systems. But, it also includes a camera, a video recorder, and a microphone. The design is definitely easier on little hands, and my kids, who love the apps, appreciate the larger memory (2 GB). There are a few negatives - The batteries run down quickly (although a rechargeable adapter will be available later) The downloaded apps are pricey The cartridges are also pricey But, overall, it's a great system that keeps my kids occupied and learning. It's especially great for vacations and is easy to pack. Please note that I received a game system and 2 games for my review, but all opinions are my own. 08/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Versatile Learning Tool We have a number of LeapFrog products that we like so we were really looking forward to checking out the LeapsterGS. We didn't have a lot of time to mess around with it before a big road trip we left for this summer, so we just handed it back to our 5 year old daughter as a surprise while we were driving. She was easily able to figure out how to use it, which surprised me a little. Hardly any time had passed before she was telling us stuff she had learned! I asked her what her favorite part about the system was and she said she really loved that she could take pictures and video with it. I, too, think that's pretty sweet. I had some more time to check out more aspects of the product for myself and I found it really interesting how they combined the game world with the real world through the camera "portal" for some of the games. I think the Tag-like e-book ability of this product is really cool - no pages to tear! =) Honestly, there are just so many really cool things that the LeapsterGS can do that I didn't remotely have time to explore and it would be crazy to write that long of a review anyway. I don't know how much apps cost, but this is the kind of "toy" that will keep our kids occupied for a looong time and I think is probably worth the investment, especially for travel! Pros: Works great, easy for kids to learn, headphone option - big plus ;), so many add-on app options!, makes learning fun and rewarding, a LOT of work has been put into this system. Cons: Like any battery powered product, you have to have extras on hand or risk not being able to use it. The batteries that came with it ran out, so we'll probably be using rechargeable batteries from now on, which is steep since it uses four batteries at a time. I wish we had a power adapter for the car, that would be perfect. The other con is that we only have one, so our kids fight over it :) Our 2 year old has lots of fun with it, too, even though it's meant for 4+. We received this product to review, but the opinions expressed here are completely ours! 08/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My son loves it My 3 yr old loves it!! We owned the Leapster Explorer and the Leap Pad...both of which my son loves!!! We just recently purchased this along with the Leap Pad 2 due to arrive later this week. My son is super excited. I love them both as they have different games and features. Both come in handy...and teach him different skills...love that the games are compatible! Can't wait to get the Leap Pad 2... Headphones are a MUST for any parents sanity!! Plus love the feature of the battery pack...a wise investment. No more taking batteries out to charge...just plug it in! Love the battery packs! Great new feature...we have the messenger bag...because we have two systems and many games...we needed the extra space. I recommend it even if you buy one...especially if you purchase the battery pack so you can tote the USB cord and A/C adapter! 08/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Great New Addition to the Leapster Family We have previous Leapsters, so we were excited to try out the new GS, which we received for free to review. It's quite a bit smaller than previous devices, which is better for little hands. It's also better for on-the-go play. The Leapster GS Explorer has gorgeous graphics and a zippier speed. The kids don't notice things like that as much as I do, but I think it impacts their overall engagement. My kids are most excited about the camera addition. I'm not so thrilled about the new battery compartments, which are the hardest of all Leapsters to get off. They slide off, but are very difficult to remove. I ended up handing it over to my husband, who also battled to get the covers off. I actually miss the covers with the screws. As with all LeapFrog products, I highly recommend using rechargeable batteries. It will save you a ton of money and, of course, is better for the environment. 08/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Versatile Learning Toy We have a number of LeapFrog products that we like so we were really looking forward to checking out the LeapsterGS. We didn't have a lot of time to mess around with it before a big road trip we left for this summer, so we just handed it back to our 5 year old daughter as a surprise while we were driving. She was easily able to figure out how to use it, which surprised me a little. Hardly any time had passed before she was telling us stuff she had learned! I asked her what her favorite part about the system was and she said she really loved that she could take pictures and video with it. I, too, think that's pretty sweet. I had some more time to check out more aspects of the product for myself and I found it really interesting how they combined the game world with the real world through the camera "portal" for some of the games. This review has the disclaimer that with being on the road we didn't have internet access such that I could make sure on all of my facts, so I'm basing this solely on my experience, but it appears that the LeapsterGS can be used like a virtual version of the Tag books learning system. I would imagine you can load books right onto it, which I think is super awesome - like a kids' version of a Kindle or something. Honestly, there are just so many really cool things that the LeapsterGS can do that I didn't remotely have time to explore and it would be crazy to write that long of a review anyway. I don't know how much apps cost, but this is the kind of "toy" that will keep our kids occupied for a looong time and I think is probably worth the investment, especially for travel! Pros: Works great, easy for kids to learn, headphone option - big plus ;), so many add-on app options!, makes learning fun and rewarding, a LOT of work has been put into this system. Cons: Like any battery powered product, you have to have extras on hand or risk not being able to use it. The batteries that came with it ran out, so we'll probably be using rechargeable batteries from now on, which is steep since it uses four batteries at a time. I wish we had a power adapter for the car, that would be perfect. The other con is that we only have one, so our kids fight over it :) Our 2 year old has lots of fun with it, too, even though it's meant for 4+. We received this product to review, but the opinions expressed here are completely ours! 08/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by We have always been big LeapFrog fans in my house, so when we got the chance to review a LeapsterGS I was thrilled! We got our LeapsterGS just before we left for a road trip, and it was a life saver. My daughter is 3, so she falls just below the recommended age range. However, LeapFrog has done a great job making sure that there are games that are appropriate for little ones. My daughter loves the Word World app, as well as the Sillies game. What I love is that she is being challenged. She is already starting to play games on her own that she needed help with before. I see many years of play ahead of us with the LeapsterGS! 08/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Positives: * The ability to put a personal picture with each profile. Excellent for multiple children. * The stylus is attached and attached well * Headphone jack so it can be used in quiet places * It speaks the instructions out loud. Great for the little non-reader * You can download apps and buy cartridges * A good size for little hands, but super durable * It has a camera and takes video! The Negatives: * Drains the batteries super fast. I would have preferred rechargeable batteries 08/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A+ Positives: * The ability to put a personal picture with each profile. Excellent for multiple children. * The stylus is attached and attached well * Headphone jack so it can be used in quiet places * It speaks the instructions out loud. Great for the little non-reader * You can download apps and buy cartridges * A good size for little hands, but super durable * It has a camera and takes video! The Negatives: * Drains the batteries super fast. I would have preferred rechargeable batteries 08/10/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Big improvement over Leapster Explorer With the introduction of the LeapPad in 2011, and now the LeapPad 2, the Leapster Explorer has been left in the dust -- in fact, my kids' Leapster Explorer has been gathering dust on our shelf. But with the introduction of the Leapster GS, parents will definitely be taking notice! This latest version of the Leapster had definitely "leapfrogged" its predecessor. Almost everything I didn't like about the Leapster has been resolved: * I found the Leapster too chunky; the Leapster GS is much sleeker and more streamlined. * The Leapster did not have a built-in camera (it was sold as a separate accessory, and it was pretty clunky and pixelated); the Leapster GS has a built-in camera and videocamera. * It was so difficult to change the Leapster's batteries (you needed to twist the locking mechanism with a quarter coin in order to open the battery cover); the Leapster GS battery cover simply slides open. What's more, the Leapster GS has a larger screen, faster processors (for faster response times), and more built-in memory (so it can hold more apps). It even has a built-in motion sensor so kids can play the motion-based games that they love on other videogaming platforms -- but of course, Leapfrog's games have an educational component so parents are much happier to let their kids play! Kids can use their old Leapster Explorer game cartridges in the new Leapster GS; in there are also new games available that utilize the new features of the GS (built-in camera so you can put your face on avatars, motion-based games, etc..). I'm glad to see that the Explorer GS still has the tethered stylus and the ability to create 3 separate accounts for 3 kids -- these are 2 features that I really loved in the old Leapster Explorer. However, I'm sad to see that the GS still does not use rechargeable batteries -- it requires uses 4 AA batteries, which, with constant game play, can go dead in about 1 week. * Disclosure: I received a Leapster GS and games to review, but the views and opinions expressed in this review are my own. 08/09/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Big improvement over Leapster Explorer With the introduction of the LeapPad in 2011, and now the LeapPad 2, the Leapster Explorer has been left in the dust -- in fact, my kids' Leapster Explorer has been gathering dust on our shelf. But with the introduction of the Leapster GS, parents will definitely be taking notice! This latest version of the Leapster had definitely "leapfrogged" its predecessor. Almost everything I didn't like about the Leapster has been resolved: * I found the Leapster too chunky; the Leapster GS is much sleeker and more streamlined. * The Leapster did not have a built-in camera (it was sold as a separate accessory, and it was pretty clunky and pixelated); the Leapster GS has a built-in camera and videocamera. * It was so difficult to change the Leapster's batteries (you needed to twist the locking mechanism with a quarter coin in order to open the battery cover); the Leapster GS battery cover simply slides open. What's more, the Leapster GS has a larger screen, faster processors (for faster response times), and more built-in memory (so it can hold more apps). It even has a built-in motion sensor so kids can play the motion-based games that they love on other videogaming platforms -- but of course, Leapfrog's games have an educational component so parents are much happier to let their kids play! Kids can use their old Leapster Explorer game cartridges in the new Leapster GS; in there are also new games available that utilize the new features of the GS (built-in camera so you can put your face on avatars, motion-based games, etc..). My kids are loving the Phineas & Ferb game, which teaches them about electricity, circuits, machines, motion and math. They can build a balloon launcher or experiment with circuits or design a marble run course to guide Agent P (who's stuck inside a marble) down to the ground. They're having so much fun! * Disclosure: I received a Leapster GS and games to review, but the views and opinions expressed in this review are my own. 08/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a fantastic device! I love the new LeapsterGS! We recieved one just before a long road trip and it was such a blessing. My daughter is 3, so she falls just below the recommended age range. However, LeapFrog has truly done an excellent job of making apps that are appropriate for younger learners. My daughter is already seeing success in games that she struggled with when she first tried. I love that she is being challenged, and she loves that she is having fun. Any games that involves the camera is one of her favorites, and she adores the Word World app. The cartridge games can be a bit expensive, but there are downloadable games that are much more affordable. I see several years of play ahead of us with this device! 08/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Addition to the LeapFrog Family! From day one, child one, LeapFrog has made products that I have consistently loved. Not only are they fun and interactive, they're amazingly educational. The Leapster GS continues that tradition, while raising the bar in technology, design and creativity. My boys (ages 3-1/2 and 6) have very well-loved Leapster Explorers and the GS is a whole new ballgame -- absolutely worth the upgrade. PROS - Sleek new design looks "cooler" and my 6-yo immediately said, "Wow, it looks like a DS!" - Bigger screen makes for better playing experience - Built-in camera, video recorder and microphone make for very customized experience in certain games - Cartridges from earlier version Leapster Explorer are compatible - Includes app Escape of the Sillies with customizable features and great math-building skills (my 6-year old's favorite app so far. Though when I asked again he said he loves all the apps he's been playing--Squirrel Summertime Games, Kat's Math-eriffic Magic Show, Busy Builder) - High-res screen is great for interactive Tag books and perfect for my 3-1/2-year old who can't read yet. eBooks on Leapster GS are great for travel entertainment so you don't have to pack as much. (I credit Tag with helping my son learn to read and this is a great extension.) - LeapFrog Learning Path- track your child's learning progress each time the tablet is connected to the computer CONS: - I would love to be able to buy it with rechargeable batteries rather than it be an option (we change batteries about once a week (4 AA) - Apps/eBooks are rather expensive - My youngest has trouble putting the stylus back correctly and gets frustrated (but I like that it clicks into place) Considering this is something both my 3-1/2-year old and 6-year old can play happily (though the 3yo can get frustrated from time to time with not understanding how to do something), I think it's a wonderful gaming system that grows with each child. I've been amazed to see how much my boys have learned with the Leapster Explorer -- math concepts, handwriting, reading, science, you name it! -- and I have no doubt the GS will continue to surprise and amaze us for years to come. Disclosure: I was sent a Leapster GS and two cartridges for review purposes. All opinions are entirely my own. I'm thrilled that this device lived up to all my positive LeapFrog experiences in the past. 08/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun and Educational Toy Leapster GS is a great educational game that keeps my 5 year old engaged and interested. I have to admit I enjoyed sitting with my daughter and exploring some of the games and features with her. My favorite aspects included: Built in storage for the stylus. It came connected and stored within the LeapsterGS. Great way to ensure it doesn’t get lost easily! Video and Photo capabilities – my daughter likes to capture her face for certain characters. Motion game capabilities. You can move the Leapster around during certain games. LeapsterGS comes with free content and a fun Escape of the Sillies game app where your child can use an image of their own face in the game. Screen size is great, the keypad is easy for my daughter to operate and the device is not heavy or bulky. Batteries seem to last a good while, and you can purchase a charger separately. We tried two fun games: 1) Splurgle, which teaches children about the different states of water (water, steam, ice) and incorporates logic and math questions as well. Disney/Pixar’s Brave is a fun game where kids play out the character’s adventure while learning about science. If you already own a LeapPad or Explorer, you may find some of the content to be a bit redundant across both systems; however, families with multiple children fighting over a toy can add the Leapster GS at a lower price point than the LeapPad. My daughter definitely enjoys both! We received the Leapster GS and two game cartridges to facilitate this honest review. All opinions are my own. 08/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Worth the Upgrade My boys (ages 3-1/2 and 6) have very well-loved Leapster Explorers and the GS is a whole new ballgame. The new technology, design, and opportunities for hand-held learning are wonderful. PROS - Sleek new design looks "cooler" and my 6-yo said it's not just for babies now. - Bigger screen makes for better playing experience. - Built-in camera, video recorder and microphone make for very customized experience in certain games - Cartridges from earlier version Leapster Explorer are compatible - Includes app Escape of the Sillies with customizable features and great math-building skills (my 6-year old's favorite app so far) - High-res screen is great for interactive Tag books (can be downloaded in app store). eBooks on Leapster GS are great for travel entertainment. (I credit Tag with helping my son learn to read and this is a great extension.) - LeapFrog Learning Path- track your child's learning progress each time the tablet is connected to the computer CONS: - I would love an option to buy with rechargeable batteries rather than it be an option (we change batteries about once a week (4 AA) - Apps/eBooks are rather expensive Considering this is something both my 3-1/2-year old and 6-year old can play happily (though the 3yo can get frustrated from time to time with not understanding how to do something), I think it's a wonderful gaming system that grows with each child. I've been amazed to see how much my boys have learned with the Leapster Explorer -- math concepts, handwriting, reading, science, you name it! -- and I have no doubt the GS will continue to surprise and amaze us for years to come. Disclosure: I was sent a Leapster GS and two cartridges for review purposes. All opinions are entirely my own. I'm thrilled that this device lived up to all my positive LeapFrog experiences in the past. 08/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun and Educational Toy Leapster GS is a great educational game that keeps my 5 year old engaged and interested. I have to admit I enjoyed sitting with my daughter and exploring some of the games and features with her. My favorite aspect included: Built in storage for the stylus. It came connected and stored within the LeapsterGS. Great way to ensure it doesn’t get lost easily! Video and Photo capabilities – my daughter likes to capture her face for certain characters. Motion game capabilities. You can move the Leapster around during certain games. LeapsterGS comes with free content and a fun Escape of the Sillies game app where your child can use an image of their own face in the game. Screen size is great, the keypad is easy for my daughter to operate and the device is not heavy or bulky. Batteries seem to last a good while, and you can purchase a charger separately. We tried two fun games: 1) Splurgle, which teaches children about the different states of water (water, steam, ice) and incorporates logic and math questions as well. Disney/Pixar’s Brave is a fun game where kids play out the character’s adventure while learning about science. If you already own a LeapPad or Explorer, you may find some of the content to be a bit redundant across both systems; however, families with multiple children fighting over a toy can add the Leapster GS at a lower price point than the LeapPad. My daughter definitely enjoys both! We received the Leapster GS and two game cartridges to facilitate this honest review. All opinions are my own. 08/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great choice for a first gaming system! After owning many LeapFrog products in the past, we were very excited to try out this device. We found it be fairly lightweight and compact enough to carry on-the-go. The buttons are large and easy to use for little fingers; navigation is simple. The system is sturdy and very well built; we loved the inclusion of an attached stylus that can't be easily lost and the option to use the headphone jack which my son often did. The product came with a set of batteries for immediate play but does have a rechargeable battery pack available as an option. I would have liked to see this included even if the M.S.R.P. of the gaming system was slightly higher. If asked what feature we liked the best, it would have to be the on-board camera and video recorder. My son had a blast taking and editing photos on-the-go and playing around with videos. As a parent of an active boy, I liked the fact that I didn't need to worry about him damaging it since it's quite rugged. Overall, a great choice for a first gaming system that provides lots of options for both cartridge games and downloadable ones, a great first camera and video recorder all in one neat and compact package. Disclosure: I received a product sample of the system along with 2 game cartridges for the purpose of this review. All opinions are strictly my own. 08/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Same great features of the LeapPad for less! LeapFrog was gracious enough to send my soon to be 5 year old daughter the new LeapsterGS free of charge to review and boy was she excited! She also owns a LeapPad and the new LeapsterGS has a lot of the same great features of the LeapPad (Built in camera/video, motion-based play, touch screen, tons of great educational games and apps) for less money. The games and apps are great, the system is not too bulky and easy to hold in little hands. I guess my only complaint I would have is that you'll be replacing batteries a lot, however, LeapFrog has an AC adapter on the site, so that solves that problem. I love the new sleek design and the graphics are as good as any. This really is a great gaming system. If you're looking for a great, educational gaming system for a great price, I would definitely recommend the LeapsterGS. The opinions above are honest and completely my own. 08/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Edutainment I’m a big fan of LeapFrog products as they are a great way to provide edutainment to children. The LeapsterGS came into our home and my four year old daughter took to it instantly. “The Escape of the Sillies” app actually had me laughing out loud when I added my daughter’s picture and voice to it. The device is built well and the perfect for little hands. It has a stylus that is attached securely and stores away conveniently. It seems to be able to withstand some drops and bumps, which are bound to happen. My youngest daughter “plays” with it too, but at a year and a half she is mostly just dropping it and poking at it with the stylus and the device seems no worse for wear. Great features on the device: • Built in camera, video recorder, and microphone. • It can be preset with up to 3 kids’ information and also has a guest option. • Adjusts to individual child’s skills. Progress is remembered to keep the interaction challenging. • Apps, ebooks, and cartridges are available for purchase to expand your content library. Area that could be improved upon: • Battery life. It would be great if it came with a rechargeable battery pack included. It is my understanding that this will soon be available for purchase, but I’d love it if it was just standard. I would recommend (and have) this device to friends and family. It is a great educational and entertainment tool that can grow with your child(ren) for a few years. I received a sample of the LeapsterGS and two game cartridges to facilitate my review. All statements and opinions are mine and mine alone. 08/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent edutainment! I’m a big fan of LeapFrog products as they are a great way to provide edutainment to children. The LeapsterGS came into our home and my four year old daughter took to it instantly. The LeapsterGS comes with “The Escape of the Sillies” app (which actually had me laughing out loud when I added my daughter’s picture and voice to it), the Pet Pad writing app, and your choice of one of their popular apps. The device is built well and the perfect for little hands. It has a stylus that is attached securely and stores away conveniently. It seems to be able to withstand some drops and bumps, which are bound to happen. My youngest daughter “plays” with it too, but at a year and a half she is mostly just dropping it and poking at it with the stylus and the device seems no worse for wear. Great features on the device: • Built in camera, video recorder, and microphone. • It can be preset with up to 3 kids’ information and also has a guest option. • Adjusts to individual child’s skills. Progress is remembered to keep the interaction challenging. • Apps, ebooks, and cartridges are available for purchase to expand your content library. Areas that could be improved upon: • Battery life. It would be great if it came with a rechargeable battery pack included. It is my understanding that this will soon be available for purchase, but I’d love it if it was just standard. • The apps and game cartridges are a bit pricey in my opinion, would love to see those prices lowered. I would recommend (and have) this device to friends and family. It is a great educational and entertainment tool that can grow with your child(ren) for a few years. I received a sample of the LeapsterGS and two game cartridges to facilitate my review. All statements and opinions are mine and mine alone. 08/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Same great features of the LeapPad for less! My soon to be 5 year old daughter absolutely LOVES the new LeapsterGS. She also owns a LeapPad and the new LeapsterGS has a lot of the same great features of the LeapPad (Built in camera/video, motion-based play, touch screen, tons of great educational games and apps) for less money. If you're looking for a great, educational gaming system for a great price, I would definitely recommend the LeapsterGS. LeapFrog was gracious enough to send my daughter her LeapsterGS free of charge and my opinions above are honest and completely my own. If you own anything from LeapFrog, you'll probably agree that you love all of their great products! 08/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My kindergartner loves his leapster gs. I really like it because it's able to capture his normally short attention span and I really feel like he's learning while having fun which is really important. There are some games that are challenging for him so there is some parental involvement needed occasionally, but usually its perfect for being able to get things done while your child plays. The only negative I would say is that it uses a lot of battery power (at least if you play it often) so I think I'm going to look into purchasing rechargeable batteries. 08/03/2012
1-30 of 30 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew251
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp