Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 98 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this heater i have this one and the older model that is 4 yrs old and still strong they heat up small and large areas with in hrs and shut off just like your thermostat i wouldn't use it in a unsealed garage but other then that it works awesome 09/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by THIS IS THE NEWER MODEL This model (#5338) is the next generation for model #755320, also sold on Walmart.com. In other words, this is the newer version. Not sure if Lasko will eventually phase out #755320, but as of this writing, they continue to sell it. Both tower heaters are almost identical, aside from a couple of minor differences. One difference is that this model (#5338) has "SaveSmart Technology" which can potentially save energy by power cycling while trying to heat an area. Another difference is the appearance of the buttons on the base unit and on the remote. I've had both models, #755320 and #5338, and essentially, there is no difference in their performance. They are the same in size and dimension, they both oscillate, they both put out the same amount of heat, and they are both rated well across the web. Model #755320 has over 500 consumer reviews on Walmart.com because it's older, not necessarily better. Since this model (#5338) is the newer version, I would recommend buying this one due to potential technological improvmements. It's also slightly "greener" and possibly more efficient due to it's power saving mode. By this time next year, I'm sure this model will have over 500 good reviews as well. 11/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice for a large, chilly room I use this in a great room. It doesn't heat whole downstairs, but keeps me nice and warm in the area I'm using. The oscillation keeps it from over-heating a single spot. The remote is awesome. 10/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This heater will be used in our 5th Wheel RV. We chose this one because it won't take up much room & it rotates. It also has a remote, which will be great to be able to turn it off in the middle of the night without getting out of bed. And the price was right. 10/20/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent heater for an average size room excellent heater that evenly heats a room as it rotates back and forth. 10/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pretty Amazing I've researched before for my Dad and this was on the list, but I moved to Montana and am living in a furnished corporate apt till Spring. It's in an old (chopped up mansion home circa 1900# building with high ceilings and drafty with a not very good forced air system and the thermostat is in the upstairs apt. So, it was like 60 in the cold corner. I got this yesterday and ran it till around 10 last night. Within 30 minutes it raised the temp to 63 from 60 and within two hours had it up to 65/66 and it's 13 degrees outside. This am kicked it on and within 3 hours raised the ambient temp to 67 degrees from 60 where it is sitting for about three hours. This is pretty amazing. It's quiet and it's top is just above my knee, I love the rotating feature and it has a remote #haven't used/needs AAA batteries# or manual digital controls. This could be a nice feature for older individuals. The cord is about 8 feet #I have few outlets) so works good from that standpoint. It has a low high feature. On previous models this has meant either 900 watts or 1500 and I think that still holds true. It kicks on at high and then drops as it reaches temp to hold or you can manually set. Has a nice digital thermostat, At the store there were two of us and the sales clerk took one out and tested it for us. Reviews in some places have complaints about the loud beeps when you push the buttons. Give me a break. That would be nice if you are using the remote so you know it's communicating. If you are older with bad hearing, loud is good. This was well thought out from an engineering standpoint. I am impressed. Extremely. Now let's see on longevity and durability. Oh and very inexpensive for what you get also. There is a smaller one and you save about 12/13 bucks. Don't bother. It also says for a medium size room. It is having a positive impact on my 800 sq ft apartment with high ceilings. I'm sitting here warm and toasty... Big Thumbs up. I will report back on quality durability. 11/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great portable space heater! This Lasko space heater is fantastic. It's just what I've been looking for. My kitchen and living room have high vaulted ceilings, the rest of my home doesn't. It's always hard to keep those rooms heated as comfortably as the rest of my house. The Lasko space heater does a great job and is fairly quiet. I like the oscillation feature, it really helps to move the warm air around the room. The remote control is sturdy and seems to be well made. I like the digital contols also. They're very easy to use. The remote clips onto the back of the heater, below the recessed handle. It's a great idea, so you don't lose the remote when not using it. The space heater heats up very fast. The outer shell stays very cool. The front grill does get very warm, but then again that's where the heat comes from. It has no odor when running. Only the first time using it. About 15 minutes or so of use. You get that new electric appliance smell. It's not a very strong smell and fades away quickly. I've had other heaters that smelled for months. The Lasko space heater is very well constructed, sturdy and durable. Plus it has a 3 year warranty. If you need fast heat in a medium to small room, I don't think you can find a better heater in this price range. Walmart's prices are definately very competitive. 11/07/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great heater for the price very efficient...heats up my large kitchen (which is open to an even larger living area) very effectively. Thermostat isn't 100% accurate, but I didn't expect it to be perfect. Timer feature is great so I don't forget to turn it off. There are cheaper heaters out there, but I'm not sure too many would do as well as this one. 11/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for large rooms! Impressed with how good this heater is! The price was low and the quality definitely exceeded my expectations. Happy with this purchase. I can move the heater from room to room and it works great. I have two toddlers and its cool touch features has definitely come in handy. 11/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome! doesn't cost alot to run, remote is handy, just wish cord was a bit longer. other than that it's a great space heater 11/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The most awesome ceramic heater I ever used I would be freezing without this little heater right now. I live in a new "green" house, but it is on a slab - and a heat pump plus a slab just don't mix - unless you want to see $200 electric bills. I set my HVAC thermostat on 70-71, and run this little heater in any area of my home and stay toasty warm. Used in the bedroom, it gets so warm I have to turn it way down. Used in my kitchen/diningroom/living room area - on oscillation, and set on the energy saver setting of about 72, I stay warm for the most part. It's not meant to heat huge areas, but it SURE DOES THE JOB! I am a real skeptic - and did my homework before buying this thing. I logged on today to check availability for another one. I'm on my way to pick up one for the back of the house. This way I don't have to keep moving this one at night. $50 well spent - and I am a daily meter reader - I want to know what kind of energy my home is using....this little heater will keep you warm for a very minimal amount of money! If you don't believe me, buy one and just try it. If you get one that doesn't work like I said it would, then you got a lemon. Take it back and get another. I promise you that you will be happy with this little heater. If you're not, I'm sure you are familiar with the return policy. #not that you'll have to worry about it though# 12/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I bought this same model last year after checking Consumer Reports for the best heater available. I love this heater because you can set the temp you want in the room and forget about it. It has a lot of good features like current temperature, programming for different needs at different times of day, oscillation, and remote control. It's also a great value compared to other heaters. When I wanted a space heater for another area this year, I bought this one. 11/25/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good heater GOOD: Auto and 'smart' features (only I'm not sure what the difference is yet) are completely thermostat run, so energy efficient. It also has traditional 'high' and 'low' settings. Hot heat. Gets the job done in a reasonably sized bedroom. Circulates the air well. Has an oscillation mode. Automatic shutoff timer is nice. I always set it at night so that if I'm in a rush in the morning I don't have to worry about it. The remote is convenient. Has an overheating sensor. The whole unit stays relatively cool, even the front grille - it just blows the hot air out. BAD: The remote range and sensor is sometimes a little glitchy - sometimes I have to move around to get it to work. I wish the buttons on the remote were a little bolder or at least painted a different color so they would be more visible. In the dark, it looks like HAL 9000 with that red light, but it's not overly bright. Doesn't have a tip-over sensor, but I don't think any ceramic heaters nowadays do - that doesn't mean they shouldn't. OVERALL: It's a dependable space heater for a good price. It got me through single digits last winter. 10/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by an excellent heater for small to medium areas. Very happy with the heater I purchased. Have a great room and kitchen/dining area approx 7-800 sq ft, open space, stays at 68 degrees with machine on and at 70 degrees. Very surprised it could keep the area that warm. Impressive. 12/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressive!! Keeps Us Warm Quietly Purchased at Walmart, very impressed how well it works! It is VERY quiet and really does heat up our entire living room. We are trying to stretch our oil this winter and try not to run the furnace so often. This little tower unit does the job...keeping it on for a good part of the day can get the temp up to 70 degrees in our living room. I love that the unit stays cool, has a remote (that works great), is very quiet, osilates, and most importantly can heat up a room! Price at Walmart was very reasonable. We would definitely recommend and are planning on purchasing another for downstairs. 11/26/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worked great the first two times I used this in our open living area in the mornings and it warmed us right up. Was quite happy for the 2 days it worked. On the third day, the digital display went all weird and wouldn't show actual numbers, and the unit would not come on no matter what we tried. Unplugged it and waited several times, but it would never work again:( Returned it to the store. 10/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by OK, but After looking at a great deal of these space heaters, most of them Lasko, both in stores and on line, I bought this one at my local Walmart. Most of these seem to be very similar. I bought it to add some heat to my bedroom because my wife likes to keep the rest of the house and her room colder than I like. It seems to work pretty well for this task. I've not had any issues with breakers blowing or hot cords or plugs that some others have mentioned. I do have two disappointments. First is the remote control. You can kind of see it on one of the product pictures above. Like many things, instead of printing clear names, they chose instead to use symbols that don't mean much to most people. But the worst part is that the buttons are matte black and the symbols are just raised areas. They didn't run paint over them or anything. I have so so vision for an old guy and even with the light on at the head of my bed and my glasses, I just about cannot see them. The remote should be clear, and for my money lighted, like many TV remotes so I can see it in the middle of the night when I need to make a change. Second, this model does not allow you to use fan only, which at least one of their cheaper models did. We own a couple of Lasko fans that look just about like these. Seems it would be nice to have that feature so you didn't have to move one out and the other one in as the seasons change. 10/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this space heater I always come to the reviews before I purchase a product. After reading many of them I decided this was the space heater for me ! I use it primarily to heat the bathroom before showers. I thought it may be too large for such a small area, but it's perfect. I'm cold natured due to blood pressure medications, so I also us it in other rooms in the house i'm going to be in on cooler days, so I can keep the rest of the house at an energy saving level. I appreciate it's energy saving option, as well as it's oscillation option I've never seen on a space heater until now. I've used space heaters on a daily basis for 17 years, and this is by far the best I've ever had ! It's very high tech. I've never used a Lasko product before now, but I attend to do so in the future. Thanks Lasko ! 02/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best heater for under $50 available, hands down!! I originaly bought an Optimus quartz heater that had good reviews & took it back the next day because it simply didn't heat my bedroom at all. I did some more research & decided to get this Lasko 5538 heater & I'm extremely glad I did. It has digital controls & it will keep you warm, no problems. My room is now toasty on Christmas day!! If you need a heater that performs well for less than $50 you'd be a fool to buy anything else besides this model. 5 stars ***** 12/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT We have 3 of these heaters and keep them in office, TV room and bedroom. The remote is a wonderful feature for the bedroom and TV room. The rotating warms a large area without hot spots. It warms up where ever we are quickly. Would recommend to anyone looking to not have to turn on the whole heating system. 11/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Heater Real happy I bought it , I turn the heat off at night and this keeps the bedroom toasty even when its freezing outside . Left on high 24/7 it would cost me $77.00 a month at .0711 kwh , I expect it to cost me < $20.00 per month to operate . Love the occillation which speads the heat out and the digital readout . This is a good product from Lasko . 10/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far we have been very happy with this heater. Love the oscillating feature and the programmable setting. Really love the remote though! Perfect for turning the heater on in the bedroom, on a cold morning without having to get out of bed. 10/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works Great. Heats my complete upstairs to comfortable temperature. 10/09/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by My first one shorted out but i liked it when it was running that I exchanged it for another one. This one runs wonderful. It kept me nice and toasty. I used it a lot in the winter. I like the energy saving feature, the auto shut off and the room temp display. 06/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great item! I bought 2 - one for master bathroom and the other for lowest level guest bed. They heat quickly. I love the remote and timer to program shut off. Great heater for such a great price. 11/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product, Great Price Was not disappointed with this product. Yet to see anything wrong so far. Price not too bad...~$50. 11/26/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great heater - remote is a problem I owned one of these lasko tower heaters for nearly 7 years and it worked flawlessly until this year. I think it just wore out. I use it to heat a room that is a cool spot in the house. The last one had a great remote, kind of a circular one. It never failed. I ordered one of thee heaters to be shipped to my home to replace the last one. The heater worked fine, but the remote didn't work at all. I took it to the local WalMart to gt a replacement and this one came with an energy effecient feature and a newly styled (plastic) remote. The heater works great, but if you push a wrong button, it will not respond again until you take the batteries out of it and put them back in. I am handicapped so the remote is very important. I'll be calling Lasko Monday to find out what is happening. I think it has to do with the "green" feature on the remote. My old remote does not work with this model. If I can resolve this issue, I will give this heater a 5 star rating! 01/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product for the $$. 11/27/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty good heater It's a good heater but do NOT depend on the auto cycle to keep room temp as advertised. I put the heater on the "auto energy saver mode" set for 64 degrees. The room temp according to the heater shuts off at 70 degrees.....not the "3 degrees" above the set temp as the instruction booklet says. But I can live with that. As an experiment, I put it on 65 degrees and sure enough the room temp went to 71 degrees before it shut off. It is quiet so when it cycles on and off during the night it does not wake me or my cat up. I'd give it a 5 star rating IF it worked as advertised. 11/24/2011
1-30 of 91 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw132
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp