Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 58 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by uber hard to put together nice looking bed, but super ridiculously hard to put together. To attach the footboard and rails you have to hover the three assembled pieces and manuever them into the headboard and 3 bed slats simulataneously. after propping the pieces on books and after lots of cursing I finally managed to get it together by myself. Would recommend two or more people for that portion. also use a power drill to attach the slats to the headboard. most importantly, what it doesn't tell you is that there are only three slats, a middle slat and two side slats and since this is a platform bed, you'll need to purchase a full set of slats separately which would have been helpful to know before purchasing... 12/07/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great looking bed I wanted a platform bed, and after reading the reviews of this one, I decided this was the one for me. As others have said, it looks much more expensive than it was. It looks great in my room, and I will be adding the nightstand and dresser to match. Everyone complained about the assembly, but it's not too bad. The directions aren't as easy as they could be, but I found them to be good enough to get everything put together exactly right. It did take about 4 hours altogether, and I did need help from another person at one point. This bed really was worth it, and I'm surprised it is so great for the money. It looks great and is very sturdy! 08/23/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but expected better the reason i gave the bed 4 stars then less through out is because when it was shipped site to store which didnt take as long as usuall cause it was fed ex site to store it had a few nick and inditions in it wasnt bad enough to take it back but it could have been better without those mess ups it would have been fantastic VERY HARD TO PUT TOGETHER it me and my dad and a lil help from my girl friend and lil brother it took a lil over 4 hours to put together u will def need 3 or 4 people to put together the footboard i wouldnt recommend gettin this unless u got it shipped to your house overall design was nice VERY LOW TO THE GROUND if your older and haveback problems this bed is not for you 02/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loving our new bed It took about two hours to put up. The hubby said it wasn't to bad. I only had to help him for a few moments but other than that he did it by himself. Love the way it looks in our room. Just beautiful. 04/10/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by A nice bed This bed has a modern, sexy feel to it. My friends always tell me how jealous they are of it. I would recommend a foam mattress instead of a box spring. This bed is really hard to put together and impossible to put together alone. Some of the pieces may come chipped, but the number that comes in the package replaces the pieces for life for FREE despite the reason they broke. I plan on keeping this bed until I finish college and I recommend it for you! 07/15/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great... BUT The bed is a very good bed if you are looking for something affordable AND sterdy. Since this is my first time out on my own, I figured this bed would be good enough to hold me over till I started making some real money and get a bed that doesn't required assembly. It took me (by myself) 5 and a half hours to put the bed together. It's definitely a bed that you'll rather have someone help you with because there are pieces on the bed that required two people to hold on to it and screw in the screws, so maybe that's why it took me so long. So with that being said it's NOT impossible to put it together on your own because I did it'll just take a little bitt more time!!! (remember that ladies!!..lol) Overrall I'm happy with the finished product. Its look make it look more exspensive than it really is so that makes me feel much better about the purchase!!! 03/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Modern Style Bed!! Assembly was a little hard, but once figuring out all the pieces it was really simple. One suggestion...it says not to use a power drill for assembly, but there are way to many screws not too, and it made the assembly much faster than screwing them by hand. I love the finished product. It is very modern, and that's the look I love! Great product. 01/26/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by I have had this Laguna Bed for over 4 years now. I brought this bed 4 years ago and it is still kicking. Not only that I put it together by myself and read the instructions fully before assembling it. In fact I brought the complete set which was the dresser, and night stand too. If you read the information here on the website it does say that the only thing that is Pine Wood is the Headboard. They were right because the rest of the bed is particle board. That was my only disappointment but other then that I have no problem with and it is still in my bedroom. View the photo and you will see for yourself. 07/20/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lots of pieces, but worth it in the end! I bought this bed when my hubby & I got our new house. I needed an update from '80's black & chrome furniture...but wanted a lot of my old artwork & accessories to work. The Laguna bed fit the bill. it took quite awhile to arrive, and when it did come the headboard had some serious chips & dings....and the slats were damaged in transit so I never got those (we have a memory foam mattress so we went with plywood for a base & it's probably for the better anyway). They enclose a pen to cover the scratches & it does work well to hide them. I bought $2 worth of wood putty to deal with the dings. Overall I am VERY happy with walmart whose customer service addressed my issues in a fair way & the look of the bed is really nice! My hubby read the instructions, labeled everything, and put the bed together with a drill in about 1.5 hours. No overly complicated if you follow the instructions, but you have to have the dowels in a certain way, so that might be what put people off. he also used a drill against instructions & was carefull not to over tighten anything. We slept on the bed last night (after 6 weeks on the floor!!) and it was sturdy, quiet & comfy! READ THE INSTRUCTIONS , follow them, use a drill carefully, and assembly will be EASY! 05/16/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect/Beautiful ! I loved this product! I got this bed for my 15 yr old son (along with the 5 drawer dresser) Simply Beautiful! With the help of my son and his father we had the bed up in no time (It really wasn't that hard, Might i add i'm pregnant) So if I can do it any body could (with the help of 1 or more people) The hardest thing was when I put the dresser together with my son (try doing that with someone that's real anxious to get a job done) but overall I loved the finshed product! 02/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love It! We've had this bed for about 8 months now. It definitely took some time and effort to assemble the first time around, but in the end it was worth it! Just be patient and make sure you assemble the headboard before you attach it to the bed, and set it up far enough away from the wall! It's a pain to move once it's all put together - it becomes very sturdy and heavy! And we just moved, so I can also tell you that it comes apart and goes back together very easily! With a partner, it took maybe 10-15 minutes to put together the second time around! And it still looks great! I love this bed! 07/22/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful & Modern I have purchased the Laguna Black Woodgrain nightstands (2) , double dresser and queen bed. The shipment is packaged well to prevent damages. I only had one chip in the entire shipment and called the customer service # and they shipped out a replacement. The assembly took me and two others about 2.0 hours to complete. As with all the furniture in this line nothing is labeled and the instructions are similar to Ikea's (pictures no words). One review stated it only came with three slats but this is incorrect. The bed comes with a set of slats that do not need to be nailed in as they are roped together and can just be laid down. This bed does not look good with a box spring. The end result came out nice. 04/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by OMGGGGGGGGG I had to lable everything before I put this bed toghter. The hard parts were nailing the footboard to the slats. 2nd was the headboard, have to hold the headboard in place to get the nail into the right hole. I started crying from working on this LAGUNA PLATFORM QUEEN BED. Also it was about six hours to put together, because I was stoping and going. Maybe because I was crying. THIS PRODUCT WILL BE VERY EASY TO PUT TOGHTER WITH TWO PEOPLE. Ending product was well worth crying over. 02/19/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great bed especially for the price. I read the reviews before buying, so I expected the hours it took me to assemble it. It was worth it. It is a nice looking, solid bed that I'm glad I purchased. I'm thinking of getting the cocoa one for the guest room I like it so much. (I got the wolf mattress and the green bed set from Walmart too. Now I'm all set.) 08/01/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bed looks beautiful. Important info you should know: 1. As others have already stated, slightly difficult to assemble. Use a low powered drill. My father who is a prof contractor, used glue to reinforce some of pieces. At one point, 3 people are needed to lift the frame. 2. The description does not say the base of the bed is about 3-4" away from the back wall. Since the headboard curves it pushes the bed out. Still beautiful though. That's where I gave it a 3 out of 5. I would definitely recommend this product. Just keep the above info in mind. 05/11/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice bed Great looking bed for the price, i have this bed almost a year now, came in with a few defective parts, but i quickly got them replace by the company in less than 48 hours, only real major problem i had with this bed was my 8 year old daughter kneel on the edge of the frame she is about 45lbs, been that the outer frame is like a floating frame held up with brackets it broke and the bed was leaning down on the back edge, thank god I'm a capable guy, i quickly took the bed apart and re-enforce it with better hardware i bought from home depot with absolutely no change to the outside appearance of the bed, now she can kneel on the edge even stand on it and it wont even damage it, my wife and i really love this bed, my daughter too, so i goner buy my daughter one for Christmas and yes i will re-enforce it before i let her use it. 11/04/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great looking bed frame... The bed frame looks great... took me and my father in law like a whole hour to put this together. It scratches very easily, so you should be very careful when putting it together...and try ur best to follow step by step...cuz if not, then u have to restart it all over again. :-/ 02/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Looking For A Bed I have been looking for a new bed for months. I have just recently move so it forced me to make it more of a priority. I also needed a new mattress. I decided on this bed for the modern look and that is was a platform bed that would work well with my new mattress. I am overall very pleased with the bed. I took me about 3hrs to put together, only due to me doing it alone (which I would not recommend) Two people could and assemble this in a couple hrs or less. All parts where sent and hardware with extra pieces. One great positive about the assemble was all parts were labeled which made it much easier. My only negative is some of the pieces were scratched nothing i can't fix and most are hidden. Overall very satisfied with my new bed looks great..and great bed for the price... 02/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Great Bed for Guest Room! Was able to put together all by myself. Read reviews and saw that others were a bit frustrated with putting this product together. But I still went on and ordered it anyway cause I am a very handy person and am no stranger of putting together furniture and creating projects for myself around the house (e.g. bookshelves, built bars, kitchen tables, hang floating shelves, assembled grills, pendant lights, etc. etc.). While I was building I could see how a person that does not put together things very often could get frustrated. The directions leave out a lot of fine details that an inexperienced person may need while building. My suggestion would be if you're not very handy, have someone that is experienced help you with this. Also, I see where people got frustrated when attaching the side slats to the headboard and foot of the bed. After a few attempts and a lot of sweating, I figured I'd use some shoe boxes (plastic storage) from my closet and some books to help prop the slats at each corner and middle of the foot. This worked like a charm and I was able to get all the pins right into the holes they were supposed to fit into. After that it was smooth sailing. It took me a total of approx. 4 hours to build (on my own). Started building at 5pm and finished at 9pm. Totally great price for the value and style. I love what I see everytime I peak into my guest bedroom! And my guests that have come by and slept on it love it as well. Goodluck with building yours, you'll love the end result. 12/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great bed!!! I recieved this bed a month ago, and I have tempurpedic mattress, they two do a great job for my lumbar support!!! I love the styl and color. It looks very good, not cheap at all. Just one thing, I weight 110 lbs, and works well for me, but if you are a heavy person, I just want to warn you that support undernease of the bed is very small. there just two thing pieces of wood at the middle. Yet, since I am light, it is not an issue for me. 05/12/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Laguna Queen Bed, Black Woodgrain after I read the reviews, I decided to purchase the Laguna Queen bed in black. I was surprised to see that it came two (2) days early than expected. when it did arrive, the instructions were not cleared and I got frustrated. I am a girl and it took me a while to assemble it together. After everything was done, it came out NICE. I love the color. it is easy to clean. 07/17/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by TERRIBLE Putting together this bed was absolutely awful> My boyfriend and I broke up about 8 times over the course of putting it together, which took many, many hours. It was never comfortable, and now I am in the process of trying to find someone to take it away for free... and no one wants it!!! 08/24/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Bed!!! Made up of particle board, looks elegant, a little tricky to assembly. I would suggest to ask a friend for help. It took me 2 hrs along with a friend to assemble it completely. I had a missing part and I contacted tvilum customer care at helpline-us@tvilum.com and got a quick response that they will ship the missing part. Overall happy with this one!!! 10/12/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Can get a better bed for 40 extra bucks Good to see in pictures but was slightly disappointed to see it in real. Had a hard time putting it together . I recommend putting together headboard separately and then attaching it to the bed as it sits at an angle. 10/07/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst Investment...hard to put together As for my husband was away in the army, I took it upon myself to buy us a new bed...when it got to my home, it was in 3 boxes and several pieces. I said let me give it a shot I did on putting it together, obviously it did not work. I had to contact the company on the instruction packet and ask them to come out to my home to put it together the man was super old, it took him 3 hours, he was sweating bullets in the winter...and I had to pay him $90,,,BTW the bed is not such a good quality after 3 months one of the bottom wood pieces just broke off...so now my issue is I moved so I had to take it completely apart into pieces my husband is home now...but we are having a tough time putting it back together with no instructions...its not a good buy now I am 8 months pregnant and sleeping on my mattress... 09/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice~~~ Looks sleek~~~have help though~~~ I was a little worried about the instructions after reading several of the reviews. The trick to this I have found (Please do not get mad) is to ask a man who has put together furniture before. I did this and it took him less than 2 hrs. He did this over the course of two days and said it was not too bad. It looks more expensive than it is and does not require a box spring. I already had a box spring and mattress set so I am using both, this makes the bed a little higher of the ground and softer. The zebra comforter in the photo is from walmart (bed in a bag). I will probably buy the dresser that goes w/ this when/if i have $. The only reason I did'nt give it all 5,s was there were a few knicks by the headboard. not noticeable though. 09/20/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Bed / Nightmare to Assemble If you plan on assembling this item by yourself I strongly suggest you chill a bottle of wine in the meantime bc you will certainly need it :) I wish I was kidding but I'm quite serious. This took me four hours to assemble by myself and I was so beyond frustrated at one point I completely understand the tears of frustration from others. The instructions could definitely be written better and I recommend you assemble the headboard first to get it out of the way. For the price it was definitely worth it and looks great in my bedroom. Also purchased the matching six drawer dresser which was 100x easier to assemble compared to this. Shipping was quick, item is very sturdy and arrived with no damage whatsoever. Nice quality product 08/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good bed, not the easiest to put together This bed is very comfortable and sturdy. It's extremely heavy so not easy to move. It was difficult to put together but not impossible. It took about 2 hours to complete it, but was worth it! 04/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I ended up purchasing the whole Laguna Black set. I first started with the nightstand. When I received it, the box said Made in Denmark, I was really expecting China...so that was a plus already. The material seems to be very solid. The way the instructions are setup can be difficult if you've never done build-it-yourself furniture before, however as long as you understand what they want you to do, assembly isn't that difficult, but it is time consuming. With the nightstand, I noticed you needed a little woodshop skills as they use dowels for additional strength along with gluing. If this sounds too difficult already, you may want to pass on it or have a friend help you. You build the drawers first and then the frame and so on. The night stand took me about 30 minutes to put together. The tall dresser and the horizontal longer dresser are constructed the same way, there are just more drawers of course. For the bed, I didn't have any assistance and there is one step that is VERY difficult to do by yourself, which involves the border around your mattress that kind of sits on top of the frame. They want you to assemble it first and then put it on the frame, well my bedroom is not gigantic so I didn't have the room, I ended up attaching the boards to the frame first and winged it that way. It did take me about 2 1/2 hours to do the bed, but it was definitely worth the effort. I really like the modern look of this set and its plain, the only thing they needed to add was a mirror and this set is amazing for the price that you pay. Other than that, it seems like this denmark company has quality compared to other build it yourself furniture I have bought in the past, and so far everything is solid. The drawers could have been a little bit deeper, but its more of a preference than a complaint. It does also come with slats and you do not need a box spring for it. The beds seem to sell out really fast, so if you are wanting this, buy it as soon as its restocked. 04/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great bed worth every penny. the only thing that i would suggest is that you have someone help with assembly. the assembly took me about 4-5 hours. the bed sleeps and looks great. i still am very happy that i bought this bed. no squeaks it is very sturdy and it holds my husband and i with a combined weight of 360lbs. the only con is the bed sits fairly low to the floor, other than that i would recommend this bed to anyone in need of a bed. i have been an owner of this bed for 1 year and i am still satisfied. 5***** 03/27/2012
1-30 of 57 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew253
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp