Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 16 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sturdy, but the size once assembled is very large Be aware that once this is assembled that it is a very large product and it is questionable that when it is folded up if it can fit into a truck of a car (depends on the size of your car). Also when walking with it you can't go down a normal hallway and turn into a door as it has to large of a turn radius. It is also heavy to lift, I strained my back just lifting it out of the box. There is no question that it is sturdy, it has a very thick frame. Also be aware that while it is advertised as a stroller for twins that it comes with only one infant car seat holder, you have to buy another infant car seat holder for $29.99 plus shipping if you have twins. When putting it together they drilled a hole in the wrong place on the handle and I had to hand drill a new hole thru the frame. It took me 1 1/2 hours to put together not counting the drilling. There are not alot of parts to put together, but the instructions are not very detailed and the pictures they show in the instructions are not very good pictures. While I am sure it is difficult to make a practical size stroller for twins, it seems that it could be designed in a more compact method. The size of this stroller will limit how often you will want to use it. I was hoping the it would be more practical. I picked this stroller after spending hours of researching them on-line. The reason I picked this double stroller was the seat recline and all the others I looked at did not. With some adjustments the seats do recline as advertised which is important with infants. There is no question it is sturdy like a tank. It's like a humvee for kids once it is together. It is much larger than what the pictures look like. 07/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Single Mama of toddler twins I absolutely LOVE this stroller. I have had 4 double strollers since my daughters were born. The double Snap and Go, the Maclaren Twin Sport, a Baby Trend Navigator Double Jogging Stroller System (with two car seats) and the Contours Optima Tandem. The Double Snap and Go obviously worked out OK while they were just under 6 months old but it was a pain to collapse and maneuver. The Maclaren TwinSport was nice but being that it was a hand me down stroller and I couldn't afford to get a new one, it was not an option for me. The Baby Trend Double Jogging Stroller System was great, until I had to go shopping. It was 3 feet wide and getting into stores or aisles in the supermarket was very difficult. I needed a reliable tandem stroller where my twins were able to have their own space but still have face time with each other. This stroller has been BY FAR the best one! The seat positions change, I can adjust everything fairly easy, putting it together was easy and done by me (single mom good with screwdrivers). The collapsing of the frame was OK, wish it can be flattened with seats but it's fine. I do not have a car so walking is my only means of transportation. This is a great stroller! 11/30/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by A Bit Disappointed When I found out I was having twins and needed a double stroller, I was on a mission to find the perfect one! I hated bulky stroller expreiences that I had with my other two children so I was determined to find a good fit.After an extended search I came across the Tandem and just about immediatley fell in love! I put it together bymyslef and that was pretty simple. However loading and unloading this carriage into the car is quite a project! You practically have to take the whole thing apart , as if traveling with twins isn't hard enough. It is so hard to fold after the two seats are out I usually wind up so frustrated I'm ready to leave it in the parking lot. If I had a dime for everytime my husband complained about loading this stroller in the car I could hire a nanny. Then you finally get it folded and it's still gigantic!....and I read if you want it more compact to take the handle off!!!!???? Are you joking me! Ok my next gripe, is the sun shades. They don't stay extended. If the seats are tilted back for a sleeping baby I'm constantly trying to fix the sunshade because it always collapses. And if you pull it too forward it disconnects from the back! Drives me nuts. And last it's starting to feel wobbly. It's still super heavy even though it's supposed to be lighter than the older models. I've only been using it about 2 months....and sparingly at that, it's too hard to go out with little twins. Overall this carriage is nice, I love the many different positions but that's really it. I haven't had any other Dble stroller to compare it to, so It would be unfair to say not to buy it. Some more color options would be nice too and more stores should carry it. Overall it's ok. I'm definatley disapointed with it...after being so excited to use it. What a let down. But it's not terrible enough not to recommend, but it's nice to know the pros and cons. I read some complaints that bigger babies don't fit in it...I hope I don't have to add this to my dislikes. My lil guys are only 4 months so no problems with fit as of yet. PS THey need to make a rain cover!!! The universal ones DO NOT fit properly! 11/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fits in the Trunk of my Corrolla!!!!!! I had to talk my husband into getting a double stroller, putting it together and was so worried that it would not be all I had hoped for. We took it for our first test drive downtown and LOVED it! Our 19 month old enjoyed the cup holder and kicking the foot guard and our newborn love the fact that his carseat attaches to the carseat bar and we never had to wake him up. Two tips. 1 - you have to pull the red handles at the tops of the seats inorder to get part that attaches to the base lined up. We couldn't find that in the book and had to call twice for help and the customer service was awesome. 2- if you have a small car just take the handles off and the stroller will fit in your trunk - exactly - then tuck the seats on either sid so it doesn't move around. We also had to try it out at the Mall. Two hours of shopping before our 19 month old had had enough (usually she is out of the stroller in 20 min). If you put the older kid in the front facing out with a drink in her cup holder she is set! All in all we don't know what we would do without it. 08/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't live without! I think I am slowly becoming a stroller snob. In the past couple months since Addie was born, I have had the chance to try out a ton of different strollers, but the best part was being able to try out the Contours Optima Tandem stroller, and keep it to replace our older, over-used, and bulky double stroller. We originally bought it before Ben was born, and we only bought it because it was compatible with the infant car seat we had at the time. I was ecstatic to find out the optima actually was compatible with our new infant car seat we bought for Addie. That was the first highlight of the stroller. In fact, it is compatible with most infant car seats that are currently on the market. There is a full list of the car seats that can be used you can view it on the Kolcraft site for the stroller. So when the Optima came, I couldn’t help but rip it out of the box, and make up some family trip we needed to use it on. Which just so happened to be the zoo, an awesome place to try it out. Before we left for the day, I put the stroller together… all on my own! Which I am not the most technically savvy person, especially when it comes to building baby gear. Typically I run right to my husband and tell him he has something to put together. So this really was a huge accomplishment, and it goes to show how easy assembly is! When we got to the zoo for the big test drive, I realized how smooth and easy to maneuver it was. I mean, on a day that the zoo was packed I was dodging kids left and right. Not typical for a larger double stroller. Which I was super pleased by! Making life with more than one child super easy. Then there is the storage space. We went from a double stroller we struggled to stuff our diaper bag and accessories in, to a HUGE full sized storage area that I didn’t need to fight to get my diaper bag in and out of. And we won’t have a giant diaper bag, just a simple smaller scale diaper bag. Another one of my favorite options on the optima is the seating options. There are so many! You have the both seats fitting forward, facing each other, facing apart, the option for the car seat, etc. It turns into 6 seating options, and with my kids, sometimes they need to be apart, or NOT facing each other! Then comes the cup holders. It may not sound like a huge deal, but to me and my husband it is, because when we are out together, at least with our old stroller we always fought over the cup holder. Because there was only one… But in this stroller there are four! Two for the kids… and two for adults, as well as a space for storage on top, which I typically throw my cell phone into, and it fits perfectly. And there is a great one year warranty on the stroller. Which is a huge perk for parents. Although two full months into use, we have had no issues or anything break on our stroller, and our kids are pretty rough on it! Overall, I think it is a great double stroller for parents! 07/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Couldn't Live Without! I think I am slowly becoming a stroller snob. In the past couple months since Addie was born, I have had the chance to try out a ton of different strollers, but the best part about being a Kolcraft Mom was being able to try out the Contours Optima Tandem stroller, and keep it to replace our older, over-used, and bulky double stroller I have secretly loathed for almost two years now. We originally bought it before Ben was born, and we only bought it because it was compatible with the infant car seat we had at the time, also made by Graco. I was ecstatic to find out the optima actually was compatible with our new infant car seat we bought for Addie. That was the first highlight of the stroller. In fact, it is compatible with most infant car seats that are currently on the market. There is a full list of the car seats that can be used you can view it on the Kolcraft site for the stroller. So when the Optima came, I couldn't help but rip it out of the box, and make up some family trip we needed to use it on. Which just so happened to be the zoo, an awesome place to try it out. Before we left for the day, I put the stroller together... all on my own! Which I am not the most technically savvy person, especially when it comes to building baby gear. Typically I run right to my husband and tell him he has something to put together. So this really was a huge accomplishment, and it goes to show how easy assembly is! When we got to the zoo for the big test drive, I realized how smooth and easy to maneuver it was. I mean, on a day that the zoo was packed I was dodging kids left and right. Not typical for a larger double stroller. Which I was super pleased by! Making life with more than one child super easy. Then there is the storage space. We went from a double stroller we struggled to stuff our diaper bag and accessories in, to a HUGE full sized storage area that I didn't need to fight to get my diaper bag in and out of. And we won't have a giant diaper bag, just a simple SkipHop Duo, and for those of you who are diaper bag snobs like me, you know it is not a large diaper bag! Another one of my favorite options on the optima is the seating options. There are so many! You have the both seats fitting forward, facing each other, facing apart, the option for the car seat, etc. It turns into 6 seating options, and with my kids, sometimes they need to be apart, or NOT facing each other! Then comes the cup holders. It may not sound like a huge deal, but to me and my husband it is, because when we are out together, at least with our old stroller we always fought over the cup holder. Because there was only one... But in this stroller there are four! Two for the kids... and two for adults, as well as a space for storage on top, which I typically throw my iPhone into, and it fits perfectly. And there is a great one year warranty on the stroller. Which is a huge perk for parents. Although two full months into use, we have had no issues or anything break on our stroller, and our kids are pretty rough on it! Overall, I think it is a great double stroller for parents! 07/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tons of options makes a happy Mom! I absolutely adore this stroller! It is lightweight and has what seems like a million different seating options! My kids love to face each other 90% of the time, but it's nice to be able to easily switch and have them face away from each other if one or both is in a bad mood. I would absolutely recommend this stroller to anyone with 2 children. There are plenty of cupholders and an impressive amount of storage even with 2 children in the seats. 07/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tons of options makes a happy Mom! I love how many seating options this stroller offers. It is so easy to switch between the options - only takes a few seconds! It's also extremely lightweight, but doesn't feel like it's going to break at any second the way a lot of other lightweight strollers have felt to me. My kids seem to find it very comfortable as they are consistently falling asleep in it! You can read my full review (if interested) on my blog here: http://measamommy.com/?p=3019 07/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by FINALLY A GREAT DOUBLE stroller for a GREAT price! I have a 22 month old and a 2 month old and I researched and read just about every review on the market in regards to a double stroller. I didn't want my children to be stuck one behind the other and the one in the back not be able to see anything but the child's head in the front seat. I didn't feel that my 22 month old was old enough to do a sit-n-stand [And I've pushed one of those and they are JUNK!] and while I'd like to be about to sink $500+ bucks into a stroller, the reality is that it wasn't going to happen. This stroller has been AWESOME! It turns on a dime. Turns better than my Chicco SINGLE stroller. I can steer this with one hand while I'm holding my newborn and my 22 month old is sitting in the front. The ease of folding it up is awesome! Takes an extra minute or so to remove the car seat holder but I love it. And as long as you READ the instruction booklet and actually turn the forward seat towards the handle bar, it folds up very well. I love that the wheels are actually rubber instead of cheap plastic. My 22 month old doesn't mind sitting in the seat. The ONLY complaint I have is that the foot rest doesn't go higher and lower. It goes up and down, but the height of it doesn't change and her legs are pretty long so her feet hang over. That is my only gripe otherwise, I LOVE this stroller and I've had SEVERAL people stop me and ask me what kind it was. I have yet to be disappointed with a Kolcraft product. Thank you for ACTUALLY listening to your customers and fixing things that aren't great with the prior generations of this stroller. 06/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Must have Stroller! The stroller amazingly fits both my toddler as well as my infant perfectly. I just love the different seating options & I love that I'm able to easily sit my carseat in the carseat base. And not to mention how cute the Berkley print is. There's no denying the fact that you need a double stroller with 2 under 2 and this stroller is MUST HAVE! I absolutely love it. It folds easily & is a lot more compact than I would have thought. The only downfall is that you have to remove one of the seats to "compactly" fold it. However removing it is as simple as a push of a button. I highly recommend! 06/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Must Have! Like many others, I waited and waited for this stroller to come out...and...I must say that I could not be happier! I also did A LOT of research on the specs of this stroller versus others. I already own the Chicco and this one is just as good, if not better! I was originally worried about transporting and collasping this stroller. However, it is a beeze! I have a two week old and two year old, and I just pop those seats in and out and fold it away! It takes about 3 extra minutes, but is worth it. I can also easily steer the stroller with one hand while holding my newborn (had to do this at the dr's office with both children). Everyone was impressed with how easily it manuevers and fits into "tight" areas. If you're considering this stroller, I would say look no further! As a mom, consumer, and shopper, I would say you are certainly getting your bang-for-your-buck with this stroller! Oh, and I was reluctant about the red color---it is actually mostly black and "handsome." :) 06/15/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by looks great! haven't tested but read about it. I posted this stroller on my blog after reading about it and the new changes. I'm excited about it. It looks like a really great stroller with versatility, and a reasonable price. I am curious to whether or not the seat lays flat for a newborn. 06/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lightweight and easy to use! This stroller is very easy to use. It is lightweight, and not bulky. I love all the seating options and that both kids can face me! The storage basket is very roomy. I also love that the seats recline so far back, that is wonderful for naptime. The only con is that it is difficult to roll once folded up. You have to actually pick up the stroller and carry it. But since it is only 35 lbs this is not a big deal :) 05/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thin, Perfect Tandem Stroller Assembly directly out of the box was easy enough for me to do on my own – and I am not a “handy” person. Once set up, it is super simple to customize to your needs. If you have more than one child in “stroller age” (like I do) then out of all the tandem strollers I have tried this one is one of the least “double stroller like.” I love that the handle bar is thin – well everything about this stroller is thin! There is no “snack tray” for the kids but that means the stroller has more room to fold up thinner. And I can’t say enough good things about the way you can change the way the seats face! I love being able to talk to Lucy, my 5 month old baby, while I push her around! And when I face the seats towards each other, Lizzie and Lucy talk to each other and crack each other up, it is so cute! Kolcraft certainly paid attention to detail when they constructed the Optima. There are two cupholders for me and one for each child seat. I love that the cupholders are vented – no pools of water from cup condensation! And it has a plastic hook that keeps the stroller folded as you lift it into storage. It also has an easy to use brake system. It took me a bit of time to find out how to recline the seats. By lifting up the large, red, plastic levers on the top of the canopy, you can the seat back pretty far. I had Lucy laying down almost horizontal when she fell asleep the other day. The footrests are also adjustable. Lucy can lay back, horizontally, with the footrest up and take an afternoon nap. Or, Lizzie or David can have the footrest down almost 90 degrees and sit like a chair. The button to adjust the footrest was easy to miss since the snap-over cover kept covering it up. I had two issues with this stroller. First, I got pretty stumped when I was putting it together fresh from the box because the instructions kept saying to unscrew the front wheels from a bar. As you can see, there is no bar to unscrew them from and I realized it must have been a typo. So if you purchase it just know all you have to do to assemble the front wheels is snap them in place. The next issue is transporting it. I am so glad it is only 35 lbs because the basket bar sticks out just enough to where the rear wheels cannot roll after it is folded up – the basket drags on the ground. So in order to transport it in a folded position you must carry it. Overall I am very excited about the brand new Kolcraft Contours Optima tandem stroller! It is lightweight and changes to suit my needs. Plus, I can’t get over the cute red and black colors! It is currently sitting in the back of my Honda and I will use it as my go-to stroller. 05/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally - a great double stroller! With a 2-year old and an infant, a nice double stroller is essential for us, but I've had a very difficult time finding one that meets my (rather lengthy) list of requirements. I was excited to try this stroller after owning 5 others that didn't fit the bill. I LOVE this stroller! The kids are super comfy in it, and I love all the seating options. It steers easily (can actually push it one-handed!) and rides smoothly and quietly. I assembled it myself in about 15 minutes (even with a little "helper"), and I'm not remotely handy. The only minor drawback is the few extra seconds it takes to remove the seats before folding, but overall it's a small price to pay for a stroller that is both stylish and comfortable and makes both me and my kiddos happy! 05/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally - a great double stroller! With a baby and a 2-year-old, I have to use a stroller any time I leave the house, so it's very important to me to have a nice one. I've tried many (this is the sixth one I've owned!), but each has had a major flaw that made it more of a pain than a convenience. I was so excited to give this one a try - and I LOVE it! The kids seem super comfortable, as the seats are nice and plush. Love the versatility of all the seating configurations and the fact that my Chicco Keyfit30 fits in the infant seat adapter. I can push it with one hand while holding a shopping basket in the other, and it rides really smoothly. My only minor complaint is that I have to remove the seats and infant seat adapter before folding which adds a couple of extra seconds, but lets face it - taking two little ones out is not a quick and easy process anyways, and all the benefits of this stroller definitely outweigh the one small con. 05/19/2011
1-16 of 16 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew470
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp