See All Reviews
Koda iStereo 50-Watt Clock Radio Speaker for iPod
Koda iStereo 50-Watt Clock Radio Speaker for iPod
$24.00
List Price: $49.99
You Save: $25.99 (52%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 502 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very pleased with this unit The sound meets my expectations and the unit works well with my iTouch, as well as (via MP3 cable) my mini iPod Shuffle. It allows you to equalize the sound, which is a big plus, but the radio is strictly FM. I wish it had a sleep feature and that the remote was more readable (you need a magnifying glass to read the fine print on the buttons). However, one button neatly switches from radio to MP3 to iPod, and my complaints verge on nit-picking. 11/26/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value, Nice Sound! Rich, deep bass with 50 watts total power. As small as it is, this unit weighs 12 lbs. Has remote with MP3, tuner and Ipod settings. It also charges Ipods and has adaptors for most. The 3.5 mm jack hooks to computer/ laptop for external speakers as well as playing other compatible devices. Tuner is very sensitive and has 30 pre-sets. Cons: This is not an alarm clock (has no alarm). 24-hour clock time only, Ipod connecter disconnects easily. Limited range on remote and the remote controls most higher functions. The combination of great sound and appearance with a 30 buck price tag make this a 5 star buy. I bought 4 more for Christmas presents. 11/26/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME SOUND RECEIVED THIS AS A GIFT LAST WEEK I HAVE BEEN PLAYING IT IN MY DORM AND THE SOUND IS AMAZING!!! SOUNDS JUST LIKE A BOSE SYSTEM EXCEPT THIS IS AFFORDABLE :) 10/07/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stero sound This is a very nice unit -- looks classy with the woodgrain. Sound is great with bass and treble control. The remote control is a little trickly. You have to be right in front of the unit for the remote to work properly thus the rating of 4 stars for meets expectations. In all, I am very pleased with this Ipod dock and the price was an extra bonus. Buy it, you'll like it. 10/12/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works with new iPod touch We use this in our kitchen for the FM radio & to play songs off our iPod touch. I saw a review on here saying it doesn't work with the new touch...IT DOES WORK WITH THE 3RD GENERATION TOUCH. Overall, I am very happy with this stereo I paid $29 for (woodgrain looks very classy). My only complaint is that the clock only displays military time. Also, this doesn't bother me, but be aware it does not have AM radio and there is no alarm. 12/24/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT SOUND THIS KODA HAVE THE BEST SOUND FOR THE PRICE. I ALSO HAVE TO SAID THAT I WORK GREAT AND IT LOOK GREAT IN MY LIVING ROOM. IT SOUND LIKE IF THERE WAS A BIG STEREO IN MY LIVING ROOM THANK YOU WALMART FOR THIS PRODUCT. 02/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unbelievable Value Found this thanks to a bargain alert website and boy am I glad I did. I figured for twenty four bucks why not give it a try? I bought one, received it in four days (great shipping) and today after hooking it up I bought another one to put in my family room. The sound isn't audiophile quality, but it easily beats other units I've heard selling for 4 to 6 times what this cost me. Rich deep bass, just a little muddy on the mids and clear highs. I've yet to get above 20 on the volume. Grab this one now while it's at this price - you won't regret it. 06/12/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Remote/ Why one should purchase. Before I bought this radio, I read the reviews. It's priced very cheap. One of the complaints is that the remote has problems. I hardly ever use the remote, and you don't have to really. You can turn the radio on, and use the volume controls on the radio. To change songs you can do all the functions with your ipod. It sounds GREAT. It really looks nice too. The price is awesome. I have had mine for about 3 months. The reason why I am writing a review is when i was reading no one mentioned that the remote wasn't needed for basic use. I hope this helps you out. I am buying another one upstairs! :) 05/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! Guaranteed better than Bose Sounddock!!!! This is my second purchase of this iStereo. This one will be for my second room or office. When I first auditioned at the store, it was only by chance I tried them out - they looked nice, wasn't sure what to expect... but after a few minutes, considering the price, I got it and I'm very happy with this purchase. It is plenty loud, bass is decent and the mids are accurate, as well as the highs. I use it with my Iphone3G- no problem. All controls on the remote works perfectly with the iPhone. After a few months, I was confident enough to bring this unit to my buddy's house and compare it to his Bose Sounddock Portable [$300+]. We compared the same songs side by side. I can confirm that the iStereo's highs are better- as well, the mids are stronger... but the Bose had lower bass. The iStereo's bass is a little punchier - still strong. The iStereo also was a little louder than the bose at near max volume. Even my buddy said, "they both sound good". Then --- I told him what it costs: @ less than 1/10 of the cost, he was miffed! Anyways, this is an awesome buy! --- they have dedicated silk dome tweeters and a respectable 2.75" midwoofers in a MDF-medium density fiberboard cabinet: which is what most quality speakers are made of. It is also about the same size as the sounddock - just a little deeper. The amp is also plenty powerful... with no distortion at 70%volume:which is very loud already. At max, it starts to break up. Cons? - well... they are not audiophile speakers, but for $24, they are awesome! They can't compare to my Audioengine A2's, but definitely beats the Bose Sounddock: which is lots more than both systems. The Bass can become a little boomy at heavy bass songs - but definitely not bad... as you can fix by using the remote's bass and trebble control. The remote is awesome too: - small: high quality: same build as the Bose Sounddock [which has a remote only with volume up,down,forward,backward,and folder option] - whereas the iStereo remote has Source[radio,aux,ipod] controls, back-menu,volume,memory,stereo/mono,mute,eq-reset,repeat,---even a dimmer for the lcd display!!-wow! PS. at this price... it is about the same price as a iPhone charger plug!!! It'll charge you iPhone, iTouch, iPod!!! May as well get this if you need a charger dock! Get it! - for $24, you can't lose! 05/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nearly perfect The sound is so rich and full that people can't tell if I'm playing my 120 watt stereo or this iPod dock. The bass is especially impressive, full without booming hollowly as so many inexpensive speakers do. It's hard to believe I only paid $30! The cons are that you cannot change the clock from military time to a 12 hour format and that there is no alarm. Neither is a big deal for me. If the number is higher than 12, just subtract 12 to get the PM time. My iPod touch has a built-in clock with an alarm that works just fine through the speakers but users with other iPod models might miss the alarm feature expected with a clock radio. 01/05/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Military time only I was disapointed that this item only shows military time. No where in the description is this mentioned, nor in the instruction booklet. I emailed the mfg and they informed me. The unit sounds good, is larger than a normal clock radio and useless as an alarm clock unless you like military time. 11/20/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sounds great! Great sound, looks good, $24.00 no-brainer w/ free shipping, yes some of the comments hold true, ie. 24 hour clock, fairly loud lowest volume, need the remote to change modes (just like my wife's Bose. which this sounds almost as good), not a clock radio to wake up with unless you set up the alarm fuction in your ipod, so be respectful of the remote and all will be good...and did I say $24.00 w/ free shipping? Duh! 07/16/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Value, A Few Quirks Really like the sound and ability to control from remote, but have a couple of peeves: 1. Remote battery was dead (had shipped to store through the website). Ended up having to tack on five bucks for a replacement battery, not to mention the hassle of going back to the store. 2. The lowest volume setting is not very low at all. The unit is too loud to be used while in iPod mode (my work environment is a fairly quiet bank) as you cannot control the volume output through the iPod (the Koda unit takes control of the volume). I am able overcome this by running the included cord from the iPod to the Audio Input of the Koda (and then turning down the volume on the iPod). This works, but looks stupid. I could also go into iTunes and adjust the volume on my songs by -20 to -30%, but I shouldn't have to do this! Other than these two issues, I am very pleased with the look and sound of the unit. It is heavy enough that you know there has to be some quality on the inside. Would be an ideal unit in an environment where noise is not as much of an issue (ie workout room, garage, etc.) 05/12/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Can be used as alarm clock I had trouble with site to store shipping, Walmart gave me free 2 day shipping to fix the problem. This is a good product for the price. It is not an alarm clock by itself, but luckily I have a teenage daughter that set the alarm on my iPod and that wakes up the clock. 04/24/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good value for Money Excellant product for just 30 bucks..I am not very happy about looks but I did not buy it for the looks..I bought this product for good sound for cheap price and that is exactly what it is.. I would recomend it for guys as they go for sound not the looks..Ladies I guess you would want to stay away. 03/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A shocker For $29 bucks I had set my expectations on the low side and I'm pleased to say I could not have been more surprised. This thing would be a deal at 4 times the price, in fact I have a Phillips model in another room of my house that costs 5 times as much and doesn't sound half as good. What are they trying to do, wreck the " You get what you pay for" principle? Why so cheap and so good? What am I missing? You can't wipe that kind of delight off your face easily. Being a male, I completely ignored the instructions but nonetheless was able to make this thing perform. After my initial hunt and miss approach, I plan to fully re-con the manual to sharpen my operating skills. I'm sure to be delighted with all the little tweaks I will discover in reading the instructions. You should stop reading my dribble and go buy a truckload of these before they vanish into bargain history. They make an excellent gift for anyone who uses an i Pod or any other portable audio device for that matter. They'll think you spent a fortune, trust me! Did I mention that this thing manages to look expensive and while it's no replacement for a hi-end audio system, it comfortably fills office and bedroom-sized rooms with very palatable sound. Come to think of it, I need to order a few more myself. I have more rooms! The remote is a little bitty thing you could easily loose if you're not careful and take extra time installing the button battery (which is included), it is possible to install it upside down and that takes a bit of mastery to remedy. The remote is feature-packed covering all the unit's vital options. An attractive blue LED screen sits midway between to brown speaker covers and the cabinet has a handsome woodgrain covering. Its hard to imagine this might clash with anything. come to think of it, it could make some of your other stuff stuff look cheap. When it finishes cycling through my iPod Classic 160, it's on the iTouch. Walmart shipped it to me without a hitch and as usual, I have no fear of them standing behind what they sell. So enough of my meandering; I'm off to buy another, maybe 2 or 3. I have kids you know. 03/05/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Powerful speakers in this tiny box; I am very pleased with my purchase. 02/17/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good value for the money Pros: Has a good solid heavy quality feel to it. The sound is better than most in its' price range (bought on sale). The wood finish and overall appearance is nice looking. Has an external-source MP3/AUX mini-plug input. Has a composite video-out port for IPOD video. Has a full-function remote (including display brightness adjust, separate Base/Treble control, IPOD control, source select, radio station tuning). This unit can play loud. Cons: Military (24-hour) clock display. Tiny lettering on the remote/buttons. FM-radio only (no AM). Unit is heavily remote-dependent (don't damage/lose). A little difficult to tune a station (2 decimal place frequency tuning). Lowest volume-setting is a little loud. 02/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by great deal i was very surprised when i picked up my package from walmart. the radio was originally for my mothers desk at work, however, now it will be her home radio. the radio is too big for her desk. great sound and lots of bang for your buck!!! was a great gift, my mother was so excited...even if she cant put on her desk... 12/30/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Is It... We had been looking and found this GREAT Value! Looks great, sounds great, and for the PRICE I say you are DONE SHOPPING... Bought the (1) iStereo and thought, what the heck, give it a try. Now, we are going to purchase 2 more. Has 30 channels of FM Pre-programmed stations, MP3 input, iPOD connect and if ya have iPOD Video there is an output to connect your iPOD to a Television for watching your iPOD movies. The sound quality is NOT Bose quality BUT is really good, better than the iHOME products (we had one!). We have been using this for a week and it is a hit with one exception - all control is done via the REMOTE CONTROL so do NOT lose your remote! At the end of the day - for $29, we could NOT find a better value and I think you will agree! 12.24.09 12/24/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Go for it! This player has classic look and excellent sound quality . I had another ipod speaker by Jensen which is much inferior quality to this one. With this price, great quality and value, I would say go for it. There are some other expensive iPod docking station speaker systems by different manufactures, but their sound quality is almost the same with this one. I am completely satisfied with this speaker. This speaker rocks! 12/15/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Piece of poo I was expecting a very nice product. I had just recived an ipod touch 3g for Christmas and so with the gift card i got this thinking this would be a great docking station for the price. But when i got it i set it up as the instructions said to but when i put my ipod touch i put it on the dock and selected a track to be played. All that came out was static even the radio doesnt work. Overall i think you should buy a name brand docking station. 01/23/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not so good. My first purchase of this product resulted in a dead remote. I exchanged it for a new one; the remote works, but does not control the ipod. The box has a nice sound and is really low priced, but you can't control the ipod with the remote and if you turn the power off with the ipod playing, instead of turning off the ipod, the box just turns itself back on! Probably want to spend a little more and get a box that works. 07/19/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by only for i pods Does not charge mp3 players, and the clock only works in military time. 04/12/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by This won't Work wirth Ipod Touch new generation This item doesn't work with latest generation of iPod Touch. Older generation works fine. Sound is impressive. I have HTS, but this produces great sound for the price and "room filling". FM is not picking up lot many stations. Overall, this is a very good value, but i am going to "RETURN" this item, since it doesn't work with new version of iPod, i doubt it would work. 12/22/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average iPod Speaker Setup... I could have sworn when I got this they said it had a alarm clock--be warned: it does not. Other than that, it produces good sound. Remote only works from straight in front of the setup. Remote control your ipod only if the ipod is connected to the top of the device (not via the audio out cable). This setup doesn't really allow for an iPod case to be used with the system, meaning you have to take your iPod out of the case to put it in the system. Overall, very average. I will likely sell it and continue to play my iPod through my normal speakers/audio out. 07/16/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Value Very powerful with clear mids and highs. In some ways, exceeds the Bose systems. Bass is just okay, but for the price you can not beat it. Note that the sound power is rated in RMS watts which is the most accurate method. Hard to believe that you can get this much audio for so little money! 06/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value. 06/15/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Close not quite a full cigar 24 hour clock.....what's up with that? Clock resets to 00:00 everytime I plug the iPod in. Good sound for the price and it recharges. 05/02/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Love the Sound Great Value, Great Sound PROBLEM: remotes doesn't work ! 01/24/2010
1-30 of 429 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw467
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp