See All Reviews
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 139 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This machine saves alot of time WOW! is all I can say about the durability, the ease of mixing, the time it saves in the kitchen. You can multi-task when you use this mixer...unlike hand mixers. Bread dough is a snap with this machine. It will do everything except roll it out on the board for you. Cookies, cakes, you name it, it's no trouble with this machine. With all the accolades this machine gets, there are some drawbacks. For one, it's incredibly heavy when you need to move it around. but, that is good when you are kneading dough and the machine is working it. There isn't enough space between the mixer arm and the edge of the stainless bowl. Sometimes it's hard to get dry ingredients in the bowl while it's mixing. (there is an attachment for this that works well) Sometimes when mixing, the stainless bowl gets locked too tight, and takes a little more effort to unlock. (especially when mixing bread dough) Above these few annoyances, this may be the best kitchen appliance I own. (The grinder attachment is a must have if you want to make your own gourmet ground meats.) I know $200 seems like alot of money for a kitchen appliance that doesn't automatically wash your dishes, but if you do alot of cooking, baking, etc. like my wife and I do, it's worth it in the long run. We know several who bought the other brands of mixers and ended up returning them or they broke after less than a year of use. 01/04/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Durable through the years The KitchenAide mixer I own was given as a gift from my Mother my first Christmas as a new bride. My niece was so impressed with the mixer when she was 12 that I gave her one when she married, 10 years later. I have carried on that tradition with 4 other nieces and nephews and 2 close friends. This purchase makes number 6. I believe in this product, it's durable and if something does go wrong, the company stands behind the product. 06/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Every woman's dream! I have always used this mixer in a commercial way.I have dreamed for one for years. Got as a gift from my husband and it is one of those things, once you get one you will never go back to anything else. The machine is quality built. Makes making bread a breeze. The lock down latch is so easy to slid and lift up the mixer for easy cleaning. Just an all around perfect mixer. Now I just need a new kitchen to go with it. LOL 12/23/2007
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do Not Buy If Serious Baker My mother knew that I needed to replace my mixer that I had gotten as a gift over 10 years ago from my grandmother at our wedding. She sent me a gift card for Walmart to buy the Kitchen Aid since my sister raves it's the best! I was so excited and baked and used it at least once a week for heavy cookie doughs and I also bake heavily on the side. It held up well until I started doing pizza dough. The chrome ring that covers the mechanism over paddle started to come loose and would come down on the dough while mixing and I ended up just removing it while mixing so it wouldn't break anything. Anytime I made the pizza dough it would also start moving on the counter so I had to stay with it to make sure it didn't end up on the floor. The last straw was just months out of my warranty the mixer made a grinding noise and then proceeded to not work. I called to see my options and the customer service rep was very polite but said for $35 I would have to ship it to Tennessee or AL and then for another $25 for diagnostic fees. After researching on the net I found that the gear box which is made of plastic melted and the motor would need to be replaced. This would cost $150 plus of course the $35 shipping. I could buy another Kitchen Aid mixer for that. I am very disappointed and now looking for other options. Please be aware that this is a major problem with this appliance. I was aware but hoped it wouldn't happen to me. I should have known better. Please use your hard earned money on another brand with at least a better and longer warranty as unless you buy a Hobart there does not seem to be alot of stand mixers that can withstand heavy use for more than a year. Mine is now in the trash! 01/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A "Classic" I have known about this mixer forever, I finally have one and it has totally lived up to my expectations. This mixer is a classic from my grandmother and continues to be as it name intails a "Classic". I have only owned it a short time as far as using it, but I am ordered accessories and for the use it has all ready had it is awesome. Thank You 12/26/2007
Rated 1 out of 5 by Be Careful! Not a top of the line! I've been using the same Kitchenaide mixer for 25 years and I wanted to get one for my daughter-in-law. After ordering this one, I realized that it is only a 250 Watt product as opposed to the 300+ Watts that are sold at better stores. I immediately cancelled the order and bought the good mixer from another store. The difference in power is HUGE! This mixer will bind up on bread dough and will not last nearly as long as the one I have. If you want a weak mixer, spend less than the $200 Wal-Mart is asking for this. Make sure you do the research before you buy! 12/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by How Did I Ever Live Without It? My husband bought me this KitchenAid for Christmas about six years ago. I didn't even take it out of the box, thinking I didn't need such a big gadget sitting on my counter. A few years ago I decided to try it, and I've had it sitting on my counter ever since! It's perfect for whipping up brownies and cakes, pancake batter, whipping cream, anything you need that needs to be mixed. It doesn't take up much room, either. I bought the cover so it stays clean and protected. I love this mixer! 09/22/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do NOT Buy KitchenAid Junk DO NOT BUY A KITCHENAID appliance. They use cheap junk for the internal parts. I purchased a KitchenAid Mixer. The gears failed within a couple months. KithenAid claims that the mixer is being "over-worked" when mixing simple bread dough. They will not honor the warranty on this mixer. 03/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A well made product I use one for making bread and other baked items. The design is standard that can not be done by other manufacturers. 09/16/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by NO HANDLE Recently I purchased this "Classic" model -- the third mixer purchase in recent years. One was for me, one for my daughter-in-law and now one for my daughter. I have been extremely disappointed to learn that the most recently purchased mixer has NO HANDLE on the bowl. I guess the handle has become a victim of the economic times. Generations have come to trust and desire Kitchenaid mixers, but the Classic just "aint" what it use to be. Now the user needs a third hand to use a spatula while holding the bowl that has no handle. I yell "foul" at Kitchenaid for removing this important feature without revealing the change to the consumer. Even in the "Watch It In Action" on their website, it shows the bowl with a handle. VERY DISAPPOINTED. 02/03/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service Problem Hi, I bought this from WalMart three weeks ago, essentially because it got rave reveiws here. My unit makes horrible screeching noises, sounding like there is no oil in the motor. The "latch" holding the head down does not hold either, meaning I have to hold it down myself. Kitchen Aid have promised to replace it once I return it, which means packing it up and getting it picked up and replaced by courier. Their 1-800 help line is perfectly HORRIBLE, takes a long time to get through, and two of the three people I've spoken to have not been polite, just repeating the company policy, not really answering my questions or listening to me. 05/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great mixer Have had one of these for 43 years...it is still perfect. Give these as wedding gifts. The best mixer ever. 02/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful mixer. I purchased this mixer to help me mix heavy batters and doughs that my old mixer could not handle and that I had to mix by hand. Now that I have acquired arthiritis in my hands I was finding it harder to mix the heavy doughs by hand, so I felt the purchase was justified. Fixing our favorite, chocolate chip cookies, was never easier or faster with this mixer. I should have purchased it earlier just for the speed it allows me to prepare dough. Being made in America is an added plus. 07/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best quality sold by Walmart I have three stand mixers - this tilt head model Kitchen Aid which was just given to me for Christmas, a lift head Kitchen Aid and a good quality older Sunbeam. All get daily use as I own a small bakery, and all have their individual pros and cons. With this particular mixer it can be annoying not to have a handle on the bowl, especially when working with cake batter that is poured out. A splash guard would also have been nice but is available separately, which was also the case with my lift head model. One positive regarding the manufacturer - my tilt head mixer was missing one of the five rubber feet. Called Kitchen Aid, they sent me out a whole new set of five feet. I've owned Kitchen Aid mixers for decades, going back to a WWII era mixer that was given to me when it was about 30 years old - and I used it for about another 20 years. Expect both of my Kitchen Aid models will be with me for a very long time as well. 01/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A good product Once we got a model that worked, it is a great mixer. 11/22/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this mixer... I have used Kitchen Aid mixers for many years. I'm a FACS teacher and have 3 of these mixers in my room. The only problem I have with these mixers is they no longer come with the bowl with a handle. It is very hard to pour anything from the bowl without a handle. You need to purchase a bowl with a handle for about $40.00 to use with the mixer. 05/25/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by A Chef Didn't Design This This mixer would be great, if only they had thought about the bowl. It's way too narrow. If you go to add ingredients while the mixer is running, which is a common thing to do, you can't do it easily because there is not enough space between the mixer and the bowl. I couldn't get all the flour out of the cup and I spilled some on the counter. I don't know how they didn't realize the bowl needed to be wider. It's like the designer had never actually used a mixer before. I'm returning mine today. 01/09/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by best kitchen appliance ever! I bought the cheapest kitchen aid mixer, the classic, about 8 years ago and i consistently say it was the best purchase i've ever made! i bake alot and i was using a hand mixer. i still have the hand mixer that i rarely use. i knead bread, whip cream/merigue, mix up cookies, cakes, etc. it is great for everything you can bake and it has had no issues at all in 8 years which is much more than i can say for any other appliance in my home! if you can get an extra bowl for it, i highly recommend it. 01/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Last mixer I will ever buy! I am in love with this mixer. I haven't had mine long and have used it for everything. It is great for kneading bread. My only negative thing about this mixer is that I didn't buy it years ago. 07/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I LOVE THIS MIXER This mixer is the basic KitchenAid stand mixer but it's more versatile than some have given it credit for. I have fibromyalgia and other limitations that make lifting heavy items challenging and this mixer doesn't exceed my ability to lift it or use all the features it has to offer. 03/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by very good product, works well, also i must mention on the wallmart website says 250 watts but on the machine says 275watts, once you take it out of the box you will see it engraved on the mixer A+ 03/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic mixer! I am extremely pleased with this mixer (as is my 6-yr-old because he likes that it makes pizza dough). I've made mashed potatoes, cake batter, icing and pizza dough with it and all recipes came out terrific. The attachments are easy to put on and remove, and I like the fact that the mixer is so quiet and operates so smoothly. 02/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well built in the USA With most items being imported from China, it is great to find an item made in the good ol' USA. Solid and well built. It does everything advertised and more. Many attachments can be purchased to increase the many used. I highly recommend this item!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 01/03/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love my mixer I like this mixer alot my husband bought it for me about 18 months ago. I wanted the more expensive model, since I like to bake bread. However, this model has worked fine for me. I use it at least once a month and sometimes as much as 4 times a week. Just depending on my mood. Sadly this model only comes in white. I would have liked another color. I also did not like the fact that the bowl didn't have a handle. Nevertheless, I have mastered the removal of the bowl without it. I just place both hands on the bowl and twist. Another quirk about this blender is that the bowl is quite small. When I want to add something it is best to just stop the blender and lift the top, unless I want to experience a messy counter. Overall I like this mixer and would recommend it. It is the kind of thing I would buy for my kids when they get their own place/get married. However, I must say I am still eyeballing the more upgraded model. I think this is a good starter mixer. 12/31/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally a reasonably priced Kitchenaid Stand Mixer I had been eyeing a Kitchenaid Stand Mixer for a long time. I totally had kitchen envy of friends and family who had one of these beautiful machines on their counters. However at $300 and $400 I never seemed to be able to find the money or justify it... And then I saw a rollback and a classic white beautiful stand mixer for $199. Be still my heart!! I jumped on the chance and am so glad I did. I am disabled recently, and using a hand mixer is just too difficult. Now I can mix to my hearts content! And shred chicken restaurant style in seconds! If you are hesitating, stop! And if classic white isn't your thing, they make appliance spray paint or you can buy decals! You can make it your style for a lot less $! Thanks Walmart for making my Kitchenaid dream a reality (and Thanks Mom too). 10/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Kitchen Appliance. I wanted to buy this item, because I have been wanting this item for a very long time and also because I have Rheumatoid Arthritis, but I love to make home made chicken potpie PA Dutch style. You have to mix the dough by hand, kneed it, roll it out with a rolling pin, cut the dough into squares, then drop them into your boiling pot of chicken, broth, veggies. My hands are starting to hurt now when I make the dough, but with my new appliance, the hardest part of the job is done and it saves my hands from the pain. Thank you KitchenAid. Annetta W. 11/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best! This is a great heavy duty mixer. Durable and built to last. I've fried out cheaper mixers but this one is fast, efficient and built to take the abuse. It is heavy, so it stays on my countertop. Its been used for various jobs, and always performs like a winner. 05/03/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Undecided whether or not I would keep this. I got this as a xmas present this year. I've always wanted one but never could afford it. Well, to make a long story short. After a month and 2 weeks later. I ended up taking it back. It quit working and we had METAL Filings coming out of it. So, I exchanged it for another one. The exact same model and everything. So will have to wait and see what happens if this one is going to do just what the other one did or not. 02/08/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by mixer I am happy with my mixer however, I thought it had a splash guard, it does not. 12/28/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bought this Kitchen Aid mixer recently and only used it once so far to make a cake and frosting. The motor is not as powerful as other superior models but it does the job well and for the price I can't ask for more. Saw the exact same model at Macy's for over $350.00 (-30%) which would be a total of $245 + tax) do the math. Walmart had a great price. Very happy with my purchase. http://www1.macys.com/shop/product/kitchenaid-k45sswh-stand-mixer-4.5-qt.-classic?ID=136769&PseudoCat=se-xx-xx-xx.esn_results 10/14/2012
1-30 of 112 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw335
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp