Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 49 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good features for the price So far this grill has done what we expected and done it quite well. We wanted a grill that was versatile without being too expensive or too big. So far it has been used for steaks, a Boston butt and a fresh picnic shoulder. It's not a smoker but it's big enough to keep the heat to one side and the meat to the other to get a longer, slower cook. Pros: Charcoal grate adjustment with a very useful range Ash canister (first I've had, worth the extra cost) Overall solid feel once assembled Width/depth of bowl allows longer cooking Side shelf folds down Cons: Assembly (lots of bolts/washers) 02/25/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Grill...Unless it Gets too Hot! So I got the grill in the mail within 3 days of ordering ( I live in Hawaii so I was really impressed)...It wasn't all that complicated to put together and once together it looks amazing and fit perfectly on my lanai...We cooked on it twice and it was great, being able to adjust the coals was a HUGE selling point....Now the third time the grill got a tad bit too hot and the pan that holds the charcoal did buckle and bend a bit but not so drastically so that it can't be used and in truth it can be replaced for about $10...I haven't replaced it and I'm not going to anytime soon...Use number 4 and everything was great. For the price that I paid and the quality of the grill I couldn't have asked for better.... 02/23/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Grill - Great Price I have used the grill several times now and I love cooking with it, I bought a charcoal chimney lighter and it really gets the coals ready fast. The assembly part is a little tricky alone, having a helper makes it a lot easier. The only reason I could not give a full 5 stars on overall rating was the plastic handle on the lid cracked during assembly and I was just using two fingers on the wing nut. It could of been built out a better material. But as I said earlier its's a great grill for the money and it has a large cooking surface. 04/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely Great Grill We wanted something bigger than the regular kettle. It was between this one and the Weber classic kettle. Went with this one because of the side table and bigger grill size. Only con was the extremely tedious assembly (though hubby and I had fun putting it together) definitely takes 2 people and make sure you keep track of ALL the screws/washer/bolts there are LOTS and trust me YOU NEED EVERY LAST ONE of them. Once assembled the grill looks OFFICIAL and when fired up works great. Absolutely LOVE the charcoal grate adjuster, the greatest invention! Grilled ribs and hot dogs last night and had no complaints from hubby and our 8 yr old son!! Absolutely recommend this grill. Great buy for the price and so far this is better than the kettle grills. 04/05/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Kingsford Deluxe Grill This BBQ is a great value. The coal height adjuster, ash catcher and large grill space are all great features to find in a low cost BBQ. The one set back for me is the grill height. I'm 6' 7" and have to bend down quite far. 03/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by loVe our Grill!! I am very happy with our grill! It's nothing fancy and it does its job just right! We cook out almost every night, it's a wonderful deal. A few people said things about how its a two man job to put together and how there are a ton of screws and bolts, which yes there is a a lot but I was able to put it together by my self (and yes I'm a women) so it should be any problems for any man to do it. 05/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome bought this about a year ago for father's day (2010) for my daddy but was never used until memorial day this year (2011) and im glad to say we enjoyed our food, it was great, and would recommend this grill to anyone :) 06/03/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by You better be patient on this one I can't tell you how frustrating it was assembling this grill. The main problem was that the holes that were pre-drilled into the base tub did not match the written instructions but you can't figure that out while you're assembling. More then once I had to go against the written instructions and in some cases this meant backtracking on more than an hour's worth of work. I found out when all was said and done that the warming rack couldn't be installed till I myself drill holes, because they didn't drill them toward the back but at the front of the base bowl .... it doesn't work that way. Also, once assembled you figure out that the whole front control apparatus was wrongly predrilled to be on what was technically the back side of the base bowl. Similarly, because of pre-drilled holes you were forced to put the side table on the left side, where the handle was supposed to go. This means that the little knobs to mount the tools on the side table are worthless because it forces them to the back of the side table. Then because the side table was wrongly forced onto the left it meant the wheeled legs really needed to be switched to the left side too so you could roll it by lifting the handle now on the right. One would have to disassemble the whole bottom assembly including the legs and table and handles and remove all legs to make this fix. That would have taken over two more hours and then reassembling from the beginning. You've got to be kidding me! I just didn't have the patience - forget it. I just left it as it was and its virtually impossible to roll the unit by lifting the side table. So though the unit is nice material, its far from the mark for how it should have been and how it should have gone together. By the way, they don't give you even one single extra nut or bolt - so be careful. 07/25/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect size My husband loves this charcoal grill. We have always done charcoal grilling, but you can't find many charcoal grills anymore, they all seem to be gas. We originally looked at the larger Kingsford grill in stock at the store and almost purchased it, but then saw this smaller version online. It is the perfect size for just the two of us. It took much longer to put together than indicated on the instructions, but you end up with a quality product. 05/10/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Kingsford Charcoal Grill Satisfactory for the price. Ordered on line. Recieved item when expected. Assembled easily. Have not actually used it yet,but I will say it will give great results to whatever is grilled. 07/03/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cheap If you are a serious griller, do not buy this product. The first warning sign was the vent on the side to control the fire did not match up perfectly. If you are a serious griller, you know this will burn your meat up quickly. When I got to the point of putting on the top of the grill - what do you know? The top and the bottom do not perfectly match - another bad sign for a serious griller. When you put the lid down to control the fire, this baby will do absolutely NOTHING! On my way back to Walmart to return and buy a REAL Weber. I hope they have not "cheapened" their steel. This one is VERY flimsy. 05/01/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by DAMAGED I bought this grill for my dads birthday....we finally found one with all his requirments. So we bought it got it home and out of the box and it was bent up really bad on the side the enamel was chippin off. We took it back to buy another one......got it home and i'll be dang if it wasn't damaged in the same very spot. This was very dissappointing. I paid good money for a product drove out this high priced gas to be disspointed twice. I mean if you spend this much on something you expect good quality. We didnt make it far enough to see how it cooked =(. I will be returning the second one purchased and looking else where for another grill with better quality. I hope my review will help you in making your decision. 05/07/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worse product ever Leg covers would not fit properly. One of the wheel covers cracked. Handle cracked before was even screwed on. Lousy directions...only pictures, nothing explained, Would have to say that this product was by far the worse product I have ever bought. Taking it back to the store for a refund. 03/22/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by too complicated to build not worth it good overall product. On sale for $39.94 in store but when you open the box, its in a million pieces. I dont have the time or patience to spend 3 hours building this thing when I can get an Aussie Walkabout at Home Depot which is bigger and same price and pre-built. A return is coming on this unit just as soon as I can box it back up 02/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Nice Grill !!!! Nice Grill, took couple of hours to assemble, used it all summer for 5 BBQ parties, worked great, Great Customer Service from walmart. 10/17/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by I'd pass The assembly was horrible. Holes didn't align properly and there was a lot of pieces. We are fairly handy and it took a couple of hours to assemble. 08/31/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kingsford Charcoal Grill It's a great product - grills food as I like it - would recommend it to my friends - great buy. 08/29/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by good value like the size, double racks, side shelf. Took a very long time to put it together though. 08/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sweet deal Arrived quickly, a little trifling to assemble. But, once assembled, its worth every dime. Nice, broad cook area w/ porcelan coated grate ~ adjustable charcoal rack for slow cooking poultry. I've always had high-end kettle style grills, but this one is actually much nicer and about half the price. RECOMMENDED! A+++ 08/20/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Rocket Science It holds hot coals; it has a grill, lid, and vents. It cooks more food than you think and it tastes just as good as expensive grills. Unless your cooking for the football team or trying to impress your friends, this is a good buy. Requires 100% assembly. 07/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Greaat Grillll! I love this grill my brother put this together i did not take to long and then i was ready to grill. I put it in my backyard and put the charcoal in, it got my food so deliciousssss. The handy pan at the bottom of the griil came in handy after the flames were done. It turned to ash and then I scraped it in the pan and emptied it. So dont pour water on it or in it it will rust it out. So if you want your grill to last a longtime take care of this product you will be grilling forever like me. I Luv this Grill, Happy Grilling. 07/20/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by It took my fiance 3 hours to put this grill together and 4 different pieces were damaged right out the package but he was still able to get it all put together. It looks ok but a little cheap but it does a great job. I would recommend this grill to someone that needs a medium sized grill at a low price. 07/14/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by follow instructions: I am very impressed with the BBQ Grill. I have used it to make hot dogs, hamburgers and short ribs. I've been using a gas grill and now I know why I decided to go back to charcoal. The grill is easy to put together, just pay attention to the pictures and follow instructions. It seems like the grill should last a long time. I feel like this product is very well worth the money spent. 07/09/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Price, Complicated Assembly A good larger-than-small sized grill that would be good for couples or small gatherings. The brand name and price got my attention and the overall size convinced me to purchase it. The instructions say that it takes approximately 45 minutes to assemble... Well, being well-experienced in assembling furniture, etc, I thought this might take about 1.5 hours. I worked on it for 3.5 hours and had to stop (at about step 10). My guests who had arrived for the cookout, finished the assembly in about 30 more minutes. All frustration aside, I cooked chicken/scallop/shrimp kabobs and they tasted great - no weird first-time grill use taste. I recommend using a charcoal starter chimney. Inexpensive and very efficient to start the coals. 07/07/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Product was shipped to our house and it was damaged.Had to return to a store near us and the clerk was very helpful call a few stores in our area to pick one up. That one was in good condition. 07/03/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great grill The grill works great. I love the fact that it has the ash catcher and the side table. The only thing is I put a full 5 lbs of charcoal in at once and the bottom grate bent a little. Not a big deal but it lowers it. 06/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Grill I had been looking at this grill for a couple days and went and bought it tonight at Walmart. From my experience this is a great grill for the money. It even has an adjustment to regulate the height of the charcoal which is about impossible to find anymore these days. After reading these reviews about the assembly time I looked on the box and it says " FREE ASSEMBLY" I took them up on it and it saved me the 2-3 hours of putting it together. I would recommend this grill to anyone. 06/24/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Charcoal Grill This is the best charcoal grill I have ever owned. The assembly took considerably longer than the 45 minutes stated in the instructions, but they were very easy to follow, with great graphics, and no parts were missing, right down to the last nut and bolt. It is a high quality product, with lots of nice features that are normally found on more expensive grills. Visually, it is a great looking grill, and I expect to get many years of use out of it. 06/23/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Value This is a very well-made product worth every bit of the $70 paid. It has features of much higher-end grills, (e.g., ash catcher, double warming rack, side table and bottom shelf) without the higher-end price. Now it is light-weight, but for me that is good because my husband is not the griller in the family and if I need to move it around, it is easier for me. The only somewhat negative comment I can make about this grill is that it took me HOURS to put it together - NOT the 45-minute approximation mentioned in the instruction booklet. However, again, it is very well made, meaning for every screw installed, there is an accompanying large washer, small washer, another wire washer and a wing nut. Literally over 100 pieces of hardware goes into this thing! So - before you start putting it together, especially if you are NOT the handyman/woman type, grab a few beverages of choice and pack a lunch, because you'll be needing it! If I purchase another one of these grills - I would definitely consider having it shipped to the store and paying extra to have it assembled. Used it last night and the night before - worked great and very easy to clean!! 06/22/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by A very basic grill:you get what u pay for I ordered this as a temporary grill until I could get afford to replace my Weber grill. It arrived with the handle broken, but Walmart immediately sent out a replacement part. Putting it together was a bit of a chore, too. This grill is not great quality and does not even compare to the Weber line of grills. But in the interim, it does a decent job of grilling and is a very basic charcoal grill. In my opinion, you get what you pay for. If you're considering this grill, pony up for a Weber or something of that quality...it will last longer and serve you better. 06/18/2010
1-30 of 47 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw368
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp