See All Reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 23 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic set, works great. Works great. I was worried after seeing the reviews but for the price thought Id give it a try. My boy and his friends play with it every day. Yes cars go off the track if you go too fast around the corners, its what makes it fun. Go the right speed and you fly around the track. My son is 7 and seems to be the perfect age. I have a 4 year old that has a hard time, always just holds the trigger and it goes off the track. 06/16/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good For the money this is exactly what I expected. Its snaps together a bit rough but still not big deal. Works fine and the cars go way to fast for the track so takes some time to learn where to throttle up and down. It is setup for a figure 8 track but we don't always put it together as it says and you can change it a bit. 09/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The cars are supposed to fly off the track This review is partly in response to the reviewers that rated this product low because the cars would not stay on the track: The cars are not supposed to stay on the track at full speed. Part of the long-term enjoyment of this type of toy (slot cars) is learning when to go full speed and when to let off the trigger so that the car slows down for the corner. The better one is at modulating their speed the quicker they will get their little slot car to move around the track without falling off. For the price, you cannot go wrong with this toy. We own the large set (44' of track that includes loops and other novel components) from Kid Connection and we couldn't be happier. I am glad that Walmart offers this small set for sale because it allows us to inexpensively replace cars or other track components that become broken over time (being played with by a 5-year old rough and tumble boy). 06/08/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good track for the price and a youngster Bought it for my five year old and he loves it. 08/18/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not sturdy at all My 4 yoa received this as a birthday gift. He loves to race cars and was very excited with this toy. We have had issues with the attachment pieces though, they are not sturdy and two of the supports have broken. The cars won't stay on the track at full speed and are constantly jumping the curves. It's difficult to teach a 4 year old not to push a button all the way in to keep the speed slower. Everyone gets frustrated after a short time. Track was not well thought out and you sould be able to run the cars at the speeds they are capable of. Even with its flaws, he still wants to play with it regularly, hence the reason I gave it two stars instead of one. 11/04/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed Disappointed, however, I had bought 2 sets, one for each grandson. I ended up putting the two sets together to make a large oval...this worked MUCH better than the figure 8 suggested on the box. I also overlapped the orange guardrails making them stronger. The track is flimsy and prongs tend to break. Duct tape underneath helps. New batteries are too strong and cars run off the track. As the batteries lessen in strength the boys are able to work with the set easier. NOT MADE LIKE THE ONES I GREW UP WITH. 12/28/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by My son love it! My four year old son love this racing road but probably it's better for older children 10/26/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Pure Garbage! The cars won't stay on the track, stay away from this product! 11/02/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Built well but I must say up front I'm impressed with the quality of this plastic toy compared to a lot of the plastic junk hitting the shelves these days. However, the issue I've had with it is that the track is to small or the cars are to big/powerful for this size track. It really takes a steady hand an a few tries or more to get a consistent loop going without the cars flying off the track. Don't get me wrong every kid gets a laugh out of a crash on a track like this but when it is every time around the corner they tend to get bored quickly. A small bit of redesign and even if the price jumped up $5-10 it would be a great track. 12/26/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great track Son loved it 12/01/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fun for a while! My son is autistic and received a gift card for attending summer school. He bought and played with this for a while but one of the springs broke. He was also disappointed that it needed batteries and the batteries did not last very long. 07/07/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by did not work cars did not run at all 01/03/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good starter kit It's not the best set, but for the price, it was a great starter kit. My son wants to play with it every day. Likes: while the cars can fly off the track easily, my son adapted. The cars move quickly and light up. My son loves the set. Dislikes: Battery operated - batteries last about 2 days at 1-2 hours per day...wish it was AC powered. The cars pickup shoes for electric fray easily and sometimes don't make great contact. The lap counter can also cause the cars to hang up at the lap counter section. 12/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great car set for my 5 year old grandson great race set 12/20/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by good for young kids very nice birthday present 11/30/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's just OK! The stickers don't stay on the track so don't waste your time! The side rails don't stay on so they are in a ziploc and I am debating throwing them out. My child likes this product. It's just ok! 01/02/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not bad Very affordable. Not bad on quality. Nicer than I expected. 01/02/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Over you get what you pay for Set runs on 3 "C" batteries. Cars are fast but leads to the problem for kids that they like to just press down on the control and let them run. Problem there is they will spin and fall off the track. Assembly is fairly ease but seems to come apart easily as well. Flimsy guard rails. Overall fun for the kids. 01/01/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by cheap junk will not last This item will be last maybe 1 or 2 weeks if not played with. The cars continue to fall off the tracks the stands do not hold up the tracks made to cheaply. pass this one by and return it fast. 01/01/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great price Bought this for our 3 1/2 year old grandson, he loved it. I think my sons and husband had more fun with it. Its not the top of the line but for the great price it was a big hit on Christmas night. I thought the batteries would not last that long but they are still going. To help the little ones we tied a rubber band under the push button to slow down the cara so they did fly off the track. Even though they loved that to. Enjoy. 12/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great racetrack for price Grandboys got many many expensive toys and electronics for Christmas. This little $15 race track is their favorite. They are 4,6,9 years old. My son had a huge similar track 35 years ago so I bought this for nostalgia and memories. It's just the same as his was but smaller. It's cheaply made but it's price is cheap so they can enjoy it for as long as it last and chunk it when it is no longer used. The boys race and race and race. 12/27/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by I have history with this type of track.. I was reminiscing with my mother a couple of weeks ago about the race track my brothers had when we were kids. It was a figure eight track, two cars and two plungers controls that you plugged into the track. I remember my brother letting me play ONLY when my other brother wasn't there to play with him. I was not allowed to play with it otherwise. I was soooo jealous and I was BETTER than my brother, who is 2 years older than me. Anyway, I told my mom I'd always wanted one for myself. I'm in my 40's now and have an 8 year old daughter. Well, well well... along came Santa. On Christmas morning, which is today, there sat my daughter's presents from "Santa" (which my mother sneaks over to our house every year, bless her 70year old heart) my daughter enthusiastically approaches the wrapped boxes and looks them over. "MOM! This one is for YOU!" .. well, "Huh? I haven't been a good girl..." Well there it was. The racing track I'd been so jealous of so many years ago. We put it together and it pretty much went together as I expected it. The little pieces that hold the Start/Finnish sign in no way shape or form seem to actually hold the sign up as it does in the picture, the directions were too dark to see just how it was supposed to connect. The rest went smoothly. Daughter decorated the cars, spot on talent I'd say. Anyway... Let the races begin! Oh heck yes.. we had problems keeping the cars on the tracks. THAT was to be expected! Its all a matter of mastering how much juice you're going to give the cars to keep it on the track. We got the hang of it pretty quick, but there is a problem with the little lap counter. Unless you go quite fast over it, you won't trip the switch that counts the laps and your car will get hung up on it.. if you go too fast, you'll go off the bridge. I didn't care! It was fun fun fun! My daughter and I just got done playing with it and I realized an hour sped by, much like her car did as she was racing past me on the track. I seen the price and I didn't feel guilty about my mom getting this for me.. haha We loved it. It COULD be better, but not for the price. It's a great little toy to kill some time with your favorite little person. Sure brought back the memories for me and made some new ones while we were at it. Love it! 12/25/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Christmas Gifts for Great Nephews I ordered 2 race car sets and as soon as I completed my order I received an email stating that my order was ready for pickup at the store. My experience was great! 12/23/2013
1-23 of 23 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew363
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp